Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda hand held speed camera

• 14-04-2019 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭

someone was driving my car and they passed a couple of gardai at their squad car with the speed gun yoke pointed at the road. the person isnt sure if they were speeding, might have been 5km over. anyway the question is, do those hand held guns take a photo of the cars? do they issue fixed penalty notices from them or just the GoSafe vans?

thanks for your help

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

No they issue postal fines probably not for a couple of kilometres over the limit.
    Guards have the ability to wave you over if belting along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

With speed gun they have to stop you to show you the reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It might have been a speedgun but also a gun to check insurance, rolled out last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Silent Running

biko wrote: »
    It might have been a speedgun but also a gun to check insurance, rolled out last year

Is that hand-held ANPR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

No they issue postal fines probably not for a couple of kilometres over the limit.
    Guards have the ability to wave you over if belting along

With speed gun they have to stop you to show you the reading.

which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

biko wrote: »

Knowing how government ICT works, it will be a mess.
    Wrong info left right and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Knowing how government ICT works, it will be a mess.
    Wrong info left right and centre.

Probably doesn't support 3 digit years of register so anyone with 131 onwards is grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Those hand held devices for checking insurance are Samsung mobile phones that connect to the pulse system.

The Garda has to manually enter the reg of the car.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-trial-apps-designed-to-keep-them-out-on-the-beat-464189.html

It's technology that you would have seen in 1990's us cop shows.

b1ytwtax2eg01.jpg

Probably doesn't support 3 digit years of register so anyone with 131 onwards is grand :D
    The Garda Siochana have probably sorted out the Y2K issue by now :D

..... Probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Well around June the next generation Laser is being rolled out. The Laser / camera will be small enough to fit in a motorcycle pannier. It can then be set up on a tripod to clock vehicles and take evidential pictures. It will be "non intercept" so you will get a ticket in the post. Don't say you haven't been warned. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Well around June the next generation Laser is being rolled out. The Laser / camera will be small enough to fit in a motorcycle pannier. It can then be set up on a tripod to clock vehicles and take evidential pictures. It will be "non intercept" so you will get a ticket in the post. Don't say you haven't been warned. ;)

Next gen.... They're still using gen 1

Gen 10 is currently available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

I believe that laser is so powerful it can be seen on the moon too :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭bs2014

Anyone on the m7 and m8 tonight will have noticed the rip of garda cars and speed vans. I literally may have got done twice in 15 mins.
    1. Didn't spot speed van at 60k zone on m7....braked but not sure if in time....we prob sitting at 80
    2. Then down st portlaoise I was belting on admittedly over 140 when I noticed a Tucson (out of all cars) in my rear view mirror sitting up slipway. Fortunately he didn't come after me so praying I'm at least safe on this count. Is it certain the guards have to come after you