Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terror threat on the rise in Ireland

• 14-04-2019 10:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭

It seems the "New IRA" have become a fairly big threat in the last while. Today's Sunday World has them declaring Ireland and it's security forces as fair game in their campaign. This is the same group suspected to be responsible for the letter bombs sent to the UK last month. They are also suspected of planting the car bomb in Derry earlier this year. There are 200 people associated with the group that are considered security threats North and South.

Are you concerned about the potential of terrorism coming back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Erik Shun

MrFresh wrote: »
    It seems the "New IRA" have become a fairly big threat in the last while. Today's Sunday World has them declaring Ireland and it's security forces as fair game in their campaign. This is the same group suspected to be responsible for the letter bombs sent to the UK last month. They are also suspected of planting the car bomb in Derry earlier this year. There are 200 people associated with the group that are considered security threats North and South.

It never really went away....there are always groups lurking in the background waiting for an opportunity to rise up.
    With Brexit...and the possibility of certain parties pushing for a United Ireland... it'll give the UVF and it's ilk their opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From the article
    Sources believe the New IRA, formed in 2012, was the largest dissident group, adding its members were a mix of older people who been members of the Provisional IRA and younger dissidents, some of whom were only infants, or not yet born, when the Belfast Agreement was signed in 1998.

The New IRA is strongest in Derry and is effectively a combination of several groups, including the Real IRA and Republican Action Against Drugs; the latter specialising in beating and kneecapping suspected drug dealers.

And while it is a much smaller group than the Provisional IRA, with far less public support and a much weaker capability, the New IRA made its mark through a campaign of violence, up to and including murders.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Contrived situations the guards have the ability to crush any terrorist organisation if they want.
    It's no coincidence we have an ex RUC man in the top Garda job in the south.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Contrived situations the guards have the ability to crush any terrorist organisation if they want.
    It's no coincidence we have an ex RUC man in the top Garda job in the south.

Which basically means an ex loyalist terrorist. We really stand more danger from them now that the Gardaí have been infiltrated by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Which basically means an ex loyalist terrorist. We really stand more danger from them now that the Gardaí have been infiltrated by one.

irishgeo wrote: »

Yeah, ok. Naive much?

Smithwick Tribunal..!!!!
    Anybody in and doubt which side Harris is on have a read of the report.
    You will know where Harris loyalties are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a feeling this thread will descend fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

If the Brits are stupid enough to put armed troops on the border, or a heavy handed police deployment, its almost inevitable I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Smithwick Tribunal..!!!!

There should be a Harp tribunal.

How can that sh1t be fit for human consumption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Republicans still have the lust for blood it seems. I see they stopped the psni being involved with some youth group in Londonderry. And then they wonder why the city is such a dump regarding anti social activity.

If derry girls was real life the wee girls would be parading around the bogside wearing berets and sunglasses every weekend.

Drew Harris is a direct political appointment by the British government they need him in this job in the event of a hard boarder, all the new ira threat it's crap is just false flag nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

I think you've always got a minor threat of that bubbling away below the surface. It's nothing new.

This Brexit idiocy in the UK has stoked all sorts of issues in Northern Ireland but also the extreme right elements in England.

It's just depressing to see what the last few years of toxic Westminster and tabloid politics have coughed up. It's just all pure bile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's a bit early for this but I suppose it's after noon so I can start drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Drew Harris is a direct political appointment by the British government they need him in this job in the event of a hard boarder, all the new ira threat it's crap is just false flag nonsense

How can the British govt make a direct political appointment to the Irish Gardaí?

Jeez, such puerile nonsense.

P.S. It's border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Silent Running

timthumbni wrote: »
    Republicans still have the lust for blood it seems. I see they stopped the psni being involved with some youth group in Londonderry. And then they wonder why the city is such a dump regarding anti social activity.

If derry girls was real life the wee girls would be parading around the bogside wearing berets and sunglasses every weekend.

....Oh you mean Derry. I was wondering where you were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

It's the only word with six silent letters I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

What a load of horse****e from you ,a Langer who knows f all ref Derry, dissidents,or real life,lived in Derry ( Creggan) for 20 yrs,it's not an anti social dump,Dublin,Cork, Limerick,much much worse,ref drugs situation less in the 6 counties than in the free state,having grown up kids in the Creggan, and grandkids,being an ex republican (ex)I for one can speak from experience,and not like yourself get my facts( sic) from the internet ,coo the **** on and comment on something you actually know about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Nothing like a bit of fear and scaremongering to sell some sunday rags.

Yeah, ok. Naive much?

yeah, i am sure the guards below him etc are just going to roll over and let him away with it if he was.

if you cant accept a northern man as head of the Gardai, a united ireland is a very long way away.

What a load of horse****e from you ,a Langer who knows f all ref Derry, dissidents,or real life,lived in Derry ( Creggan) for 20 yrs,it's not an anti social dump,Dublin,Cork, Limerick,much much worse,ref drugs situation less in the 6 counties than in the free state,having grown up kids in the Creggan, and grandkids,being an ex republican (ex)I for one can speak from experience,and not like yourself get my facts( sic) from the internet ,coo the **** on and comment on something you actually know about

Oh I know enough pal. And I’ve lived here all my life. Different perspective I suppose but I know that dissident republicans are lowlife specimens. Do you as an ex republican not agree with this? Sure you lot would never have blown up kids... (oh wait.....)

It’s not really that difficult when you try hard.. lol

And just to add in I’m not comparing Londonderry with limerick ffs. I know its a dive. I’m comparing it with other NOrn Iron places and let me tell you Doire has got a problem with anti social behaviour never mind the republican brain boxes who want to bomb everyone to their way of thinking. They have learned well from the IRA.

yeah, i am sure the guards below him etc are just going to roll over and let him away with it if he was.

if you cant accept a northern man as head of the Gardai, a united ireland is a very long way away.

The Garda nearly rolled him over last week.

Fingers crossed.

And he's ex-RUC, not simply a "northern man" (though still not Irish which should be a prerequisite for the job).

Fingers crossed.

And he's ex-RUC, not simply a "northern man" (though still not Irish which should be a prerequisite for the job).

yes the last 3 irish people to get the job have really helped the guards along.

people screaming for a change in the mentality of the guards and then jumping up and down when an outsider is appointed. you cant win.

He is not just an outsider, he an Ex RUC man with a dubious history to say the least

Fingers crossed.

Obviously you haven’t read up on the GFA too much. Your country agreed and signed up to it. Did you not get the memo?

Like I've said, not just an outsider but a former member of a terrorist organisation who's main aim was anti anything Irish. That should rule him out of the job before anything else.

Obviously you haven’t read up on the GFA too much. Your country agreed and signed up to it. Did you not get the memo?

I've read it ,Smithwick Tribunal is a more interesting read out Garda commissioner didn't come out of it too well

He is not just an outsider, he an Ex RUC man with a dubious history to say the least

you got any reliable sources and not a bunch of fake news bull**** from the nut jobs..

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.rte.ie/amp/990804/

Do you consider Rte a credible news source?

I've read it ,Smithwick Tribunal is a more interesting read out Garda commissioner didn't come out of it too well

In the event of this fictitiously titled “United” Ireland would Protestants be allowed to work? Would we need to wear a red hand marker around our arm?

I'd love to see a united Ireland where your religious beliefs didn't matter you could just be whatever you like, treated with respect in a true republic for the people.
    Think you might have Ireland confused with 1930's Germany

I'd love to see a united Ireland where your religious beliefs didn't matter you could just be whatever you like, treated with respect in a true republic for the people.
    Think you might have Ireland confused with 1930's Germany

Yet it appears some here disagree with the appointment of your head of police because “well he’s not one of us really/ a British spy/ a loyalist terrorist etc and other inane ramblings.

It’s pretty pathetic and one of the many reasons I’m so against a so called united Ireland.

Yet it appears some here disagree with the appointment of your head of police because “well he’s not one of us really/ a British spy/ a loyalist terrorist etc and other inane ramblings.

It’s pretty pathetic and one of the many reasons I’m so against a so called united Ireland.

At least we can agree on one thing. Though for far different reasons, I'm as against it as you are.

I have a problem with Harris his evidence to the smitwick tribunal was described as "nonsense".
    The entire retired Garda sergeants union were against his appointment

I have a problem with Harris his evidence to the smitwick tribunal was described as "nonsense".

And would that be like anything to do with ya know the old religion thing by any chance? Just throwing that one out there...

Ireland is already united, fictitious boarders forced on us by a empirical British empire.it's only a matter of time before the remnants of the "empire" are gone

Actually wasn’t there someone on another thread who questioned his appointment as head of police based on the fact his father was murdered by terrorists?

I found this one of the strangest, fecked up posts I have read on here. And there have been many.

Actually wasn’t there someone on another thread who questioned his appointment as head of police based on the fact his father was murdered by terrorists?

I found this one of the strangest, fecked up posts I have read on here. And there have been many.

My problem with him was he was too entrenched in British security services and he clearly had conflicted interests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

There is some irony in a card carrying member of a group that have viciously discriminated against and used their control of the state to systematically dominate their neighbours based on religion comparing yourselves to Holocaust Jews.

I guess that you can't see further than the fear that given the opportunity those you have treated like sh!t for so long are going to dish the same back out to you.

You really should be congratulated for your efforts in dispelling the belief than NI Unionists are all unreformable sectarian nutters with baseless victim complexes. :rolleyes:

Ireland is already united, fictitious boarders forced on us by a empirical British empire.it's only a matter of time before the remnants of the "empire" are gone

I bet you really like fantasy football. You are probably the worlds best manager in your own imagination.

The issue in the historical island of Ireland is that the remnants come in the form of roughly a million real living, breathing human beings. The plantation worked to a certain degree. This isn’t India where the British simply went home. Unless you are advocating we all have our land and businesses confiscated and be beaten onto a boat.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    There is some irony in a card carrying member of a group that have viciously discriminated against and used their control of the state to systematically dominate their neighbours based on religion comparing yourselves to Holocaust Jews.

I guess that you can't see further than the fear that given the opportunity those you have treated like sh!t for so long are going to dish the same back out to you.

You really should be congratulated for your efforts in dispelling the belief than NI Unionists are all unreformable sectarian nutters with baseless victim complexes. :rolleyes:

Read the posts. It is others suggesting your head of police should not have been appointed because he wasn’t one of you. I suspect you agree. Deal with it.

It really isn't and you're just talking like one of your politicians now. People have reservations because of his links to the RUC and their links to assisting in the murder people they viewed as Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

If they are the crowd responsible for sending those letter bombs last month then we don’t have anything to worry about, they couldn’t even spell “Ireland” correctly on the envelope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

In the event of this fictitiously titled “United” Ireland would Protestants be allowed to work?
    In the middle of last century there was a huge controversy when shock horror a protestant got a job as a librarian in Mayo, and extremely few protestants got state jobs in the Republic at the time. DeValera himself said that if he had one job to give, and two applicans, one protestant and one catholic, he would always give it to the catholic first.
    In fairness, times have changed.
    I have a problem with Harris his evidence to the smitwick tribunal...

You probably have a problem with the Smthwick tribunal because in its report on 3 December 2013, it found there had been collusion between members of the Gardaí and the IRA. Even Taoiseach Enda Kenny declared the report to be "shocking".

I bet you really like fantasy football. You are probably the worlds best manager in your own imagination.

The issue in the historical island of Ireland is that the remnants come in the form of roughly a million real living, breathing human beings. The plantation worked to a certain degree. This isn’t India where the British simply went home. Unless you are advocating we all have our land and businesses confiscated and be beaten onto a boat.

Never played fantasy fussball.
    Never said anything about people " going home"
    I would like a untied republic , where people who feel loyalties to the British monarchy are free to continue that way and respected in a free democratic Republic.
    So please don't assume my opinions or intentions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

By Counsel taking instruction from Martin Callinan.

The same Martin Callinan who did everything in his power to discredit Maurice McCabe. The same Martin Callinan who directed a subordinate to dispose of 8 to 10 bags of papers kept within the conference room at HQ, on the day he retired as Garda Commissioner.