Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Don't Get the Sean Cox Thing

• 13-04-2019 1:47am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭

I feel genuinely sorry for the man and his family and i wish them the best. But there are victims and families destroyed by violent crime every day and they are forgotten because it wasn't connected to the world of British soccer.

If you get random attacked and suffer severe injuries pray that it's outside a British soccer ground because otherwise you're on your own and no will give a ****.

Again, no disrespect to Mr Cox and his family, I just find people's attitude to this rather strange. I wish him a full recovery. What was done to him was disgusting but it goes on all the time in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

The mans life - and that of his family- were utterly destroyed. It's great that Liverpool as a club did this thing in recognising what happened to him as a fan, attending a game and having the unthinkable happen.

Some enterprising people devised this charity match to raise funds for his care. I imagine it will be long arduous and costly. It's a good thing and people can empathise and rally behind it.

Liverpool fans shur..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭CarlosHarpic

Sure it's great the support he got. But the point is no one would care if it happened outside a pub in Finglas.

Every since Live Aid charity seems to only function when celebs are involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Sure it's great the support he got. But the point is no one would care if it happened outside a pub in Finglas.

Every since Live Aid charity seems to only function when celebs are involved.

And it only happens in finglas and not other towns

Idiot

And it only happens in finglas and not other towns

Idiot

That's a rather strange rebuttal considering you could have taken issue with other aspects of my post apart from me picking the first location that came into my head.

Tell you what. I'll give you a map of Ireland and a dart and whatever town you throw it at I'll pick that instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

That's a rather strange rebuttal considering you could have taken issue with other aspects of my post apart from me picking the first location that came into my head.

Tell you what. I'll give you a map of Ireland and a dart and whatever town you throw it at I'll pick that instead.

To say nobody would care if it happened outside a pub in finglas is stupi

To the same extent. No most wouldn't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Imagine being the person who made this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I don't know what I expected when I logged into Boards at 3:20am but I never expected anything as pathetic as this!

Embarrassing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Boils down to resources for fundraising I suppose. And Liverpool FC and their associates have plenty. Plus it's good PR. I see what you're saying OP but it's a private initiative, not from the public purse, so these things will never be equal across the board.

It's like when people question why so much focus on Madeleine McCann despite all the other missing children... the McCanns have the resources and know the right people. And we'd all avail of the same in such a situation if we could.

Boils down to resources for fundraising I suppose. And Liverpool FC and their associates have plenty. Plus it's good PR. I see what you're saying OP but it's a private initiative, not from the public purse, so these things will never be equal across the board.

It's like when people question why so much focus on Madeleine McCann despite all the other missing children... the McCanns have the resources and know the right people. And we'd all avail of the same in such a situation if we could.

The Maddy McCann thing is a good example as it whips up the same kind of bespoke altruism in the same easily media manipulate types who wouldn't care if it was someone down the street.

The irrational hated of John Delaney being another example. You'd think he was responsible for genocide they way so many are acting.

Most people these days need the media to select their priorities for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

I feel genuinely sorry for the man and his family and i wish them the best. But there are victims and families destroyed by violent crime every day and they are forgotten because it wasn't connected to the world of British soccer.

If you get random attacked and suffer severe injuries pray that it's outside a British soccer ground because otherwise you're on your own and no will give a ****.

Again, no disrespect to Mr Cox and his family, I just find people's attitude to this rather strange. I wish him a full recovery. What was done to him was disgusting but it goes on all the time in society.

Whose attitude do you find strange?

The media and the people who get caught up in the razmaraz of it only because of the circumstances surrounding the assault.

If the man was attacked under different circumstances his plight would be a cursory mention in the media and then forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

The media and the people who get caught up in the razmaraz of it only because of the circumstances surrounding the assault.

If the man was attacked under different circumstances his plight would be a cursory mention in the media and then forgotten.

These matches are fantastic events; Liverpool have massive support here, and many men like him would’ve travelled over too; it’s very relatable. But other non-soccer incidents get plenty of media attention (not all, in fairness, but it’s hardly possible).

An Italian student was left wheelchair bound after an attack in Fairview park in 1999, and there are still occasional mentions of the case in the media, because the consequences were so devastating.

The Swiss girl Manuela who was murdered in Galway, was also talked about for a very long time. I think that certain cases are particularly sad, and this is one.

I’d much rather read/hear about Sean Cox’s progress than listen to Kardashian related muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

The people belonging to him are right to raise as much money as they possibly can before he becomes yesterday's news. Especially when you read his wife saying "He's finished at the NRH, Sean could do with being there for another year but unfortunately you only get a certain amount of time there so we will fund his rehabilitation in the UK.". That's fecking terrifying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

It's times like this that makes me think that free speech should be abolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

Liverpool fans shur..

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Since Hildborough Liverpool club and fans take it very personally if something happens to a fan attending a match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

We've reached peak edginess:

Innocen mans life destroyed at football match, has fund raising match organised by fellow supporters, but we shouldnt care, because others' have their lives destroyed also.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

JaCrispy wrote: »
    :confused::confused:

giphy-3.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

The Maddy McCann thing is a good example as it whips up the same kind of bespoke altruism in the same easily media manipulate types who wouldn't care if it was someone down the street.

The irrational hated of John Delaney being another example. You'd think he was responsible for genocide they way so many are acting.

Most people these days need the media to select their priorities for them.

There's nothing irrational about the hatred of John Delaney. Incidents in Turner's Cross last night will only fan those flames too.
    On topic I see where you are coming from but why be bothered by it and you've gotten some decent explanations already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

There are people who suffer devastating incidents every day. In this instance, family, friends and fellow supporters of the club he loved did something to alleviate the burden. It's a demonstration of decent humanity. Anyone is free to go and do the same for another person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Robert McGrath

ted1 wrote: »
    Since Hildborough Liverpool club and fans take it very personally if something happens to a fan attending a match

I think this is a major part of it. The club themselves officially getting behind the fundraising effort is what has amplified it so much and differentiates it from a scrap outside a pub in Finglas. And after Heysel and especially Hillsborough, they are a club that is understandably sensitive when it comes to incidents involving a fan going to a match and not coming home ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Seriously, people show humanity towards another person and it's all about other people who don't receive the same.

If the people who know the guy outside the fictional pub don't do anything that's their issue.

These people and the people at Liverpool shou be commended

ted1 wrote: »

As long as they are not the Italians killed at Hysel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

As long as they are not the Italians killed at Hysel...

Played yer hand now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

I say absolutely say fair play to Liverpool FC and everyone getting involved

Football is a sport where the big club's make vast sums of money and pay players at the top volume obscene levels of income(grand whatever , they can afford to and people love this sport )

But I'm proud they are giving back.

Its supporters that cause the club's to be so successful via money

He was attacked attending a Liverpool FC match

If anything the players , ex players , those associated with the club could have done nothing but no, being good and honourable people they are donating , getting out playing football , signing autographs all in the hope of helping the family raise money

It's a sign to me Liverpool is a family club(take it or leave that comment) but it's all been positive

Do I think it's part of a PR thing ?

Genuinely no I don't , yes it brings positive PR but it hasn't being held in that manner .

I say fair play to Liverpool and the ex players

Best of luck to Sean with his recovery.

Medical costs are bloody expensive and nobody had to do anything so the family really appreciate the support

Roma are also involved and again fair play.

Football is giving back to the community and I won't judge that because others get attacked etc but Liverpool have stood up and I genuinely respected that.

On a side note , whilst I don't think it will stop thugs in the sport ,,,,it may send a message to some fools out there that one punch , weapon or whatever can ruin someone's life so if that stops 1 thug in the future the better.

I don't think the thugs meant to ruin his life , but they did and that's the facts and this publicity sends that message to the world.

Best of luck to Sean and his family !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

There was the case of an Italian man who was randomly attacked in Fairview 20 years ago and left paralysed. I remember it happening at the time and he was back in the media 20 years later to thank people for their support. Granted he never had the big fundraising mechanism behind him that Sean cox can avail of but he must have received some support over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Grayditch wrote: »
    Played yer hand now.

So disappointing too, thread he started was going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

This thread is bollox,but i hate the fact that theres a go fund me page for effing everything these days.man falls down blind drunk on holiday s.oh a go fund me page needs to be set up, god help him. **** that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

In an ideal world we would help everyone who needed help. No one, not a single person, would get left behind. But that’s not the world we live in. But at least we can help some people though events and fundraising like this.

Going to a football match should be a fun, safe day out. You definitely don’t expect to be beaten to within an inch of your life and have permanent disabling injuries. Liverpool don’t want that type of behaviour happening in their club, and well done to them for supporting this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

This thread is bollox,but i hate the fact that theres a go fund me page for effing everything these days.man falls down blind drunk on holiday s.oh a go fund me page needs to be set up, god help him. **** that.

You have a choice; donate if you want to and don't if you don't want to.
    No need for the hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

Can’t you just be glad that Sean’s getting this positive assistance from so many people?

Imagine Sean’s kids reading this thread..

Try to be a good person.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Grayditch wrote: »
    Played yer hand now.

Shot his load more like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There was a couple of Ray Darcy radio show the other day who crowd funded a trip around all 178 of Ireland's train stations ffs!

At least people giving to the Sean Cox Fund are doing something worthwhile, and helping a family in dire need.

Not helping pay for a few anorak's crazy notion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

We've reached peak edginess:

Innocen mans life destroyed at football match, has fund raising match organised by fellow supporters, but we shouldnt care, because others' have their lives destroyed also.

Jesus wept.

I don't think that is the what the OP is saying and you are twisting things.

It's possible to have fully sympathy and support Sean Cox , which any right-thinking person should have and to also ask why in society certain cases get pushed hard while others are forgotten about.

Sean Cox isn't a unique case but (thankfully for him) he has much more support than others in the same situation.
    I don't begrudge him that and I hope he recovers but we can and should be able to ask questions too. It's not obscene to ask these questions.

Odd that you and others would think this as if we must all stay on script.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Holy smoke, why would you go to the effort of making such s hateful thread.
    Poor man and his family deserve every but of help they get.
    Hopefully nothing like this ever visits you or yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Mean spirited way of thinking. Disrespectful title. “The Sean Cox thing”.

Sean Cox deserves a fundraising drive because of his circumstances ; his life was changed in an instant and will never be the same. People identify and emphatise with him as it could be any of us. I don't know Sean, I dislike football, but i donated to the appeal because he deserves every chance to get the best medical attention to aid his recovery.

There is another local go fund me, where a young Dad was injured on a charity cycle and is niw in a wherlchair and his family want to have their home adapted for him which again is costly. I donated to that even though i dont personally know the family, because again, it could happen to any of us.

I agree that there are riduculous go fund me topics- "Johnny was bullied in Mc Donallds- lets send him to Disneyland", but as said above, no one has to donate and we can all use our oen money to support what we personally believe in.

I wish Sean Cox and his family all the best as Sean adapts to his new life and I wish them every success with the fund raising.

Thought I was hallucinating when opening AH in the dead of night. Unfortunately not, this thread is a product of a nasty mindset.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Jesus I thought I was bitter and twisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

There are fundraisers every week in pubs and clubs all over the country. The only difference in this was scale.

OP nothing is stopping you organising a big fundraiser for anyone you want. Go get a list of assault victims and get the ball rolling. Use your time better instead of moaning on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭firemansam4

If this happened to a member attending your local soccer or gaa club at a match, I'm sure the fans and members of the club would do everything possible to help, I'm sure it would be a big deal to anyone involved in the club.

Its the exact same thing happening now with Sean Cox but on a much bigger scale due to the size and following of Liverpool.

I for one think its great to see the support he is getting from the fans and club, and hopefully it will all help him recover ASAP.

dan1895 wrote: »
    There's nothing irrational about the hatred of John Delaney. Incidents in Turner's Cross last night will only fan those flames too.
    On topic I see where you are coming from but why be bothered by it and you've gotten some decent explanations already.

The hatred of Delaney and FAI is ott hysterical and has been engineered to distract the masses from a genuine cause for public outrage: that being the National Children's Hospital.

The media circus around Delaney has all the knuckle scrapers distracted from an actual real financial scandal. "Leo" is pleased.

I have a rash on my leg, should I set up a go fund me page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I was at the match and brought the whole family and it was excellent to see the legends haven't lost it, unlike some of the dregs of society that plague this forum.

tests one's faith in human kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

The hatred of Delaney and FAI is ott hysterical and has been engineered to distract the masses from a genuine cause for public outrage: that being the National Children's Hospital.

The media circus around Delaney has all the knuckle scrapers distracted from an actual real financial scandal. "Leo" is pleased.

Go away out of that to ****. You know people can have an opinion on two stories at once, yeah?

Your thread is very mean spirited and says a lot about you so if you think I’m a knuckle scraper for thinking JD is a bit of a bollocks I’ll take it as a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

petes wrote: »
    I have a rash on my leg, should I set up a go fund me page

It’s called a penis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Why do people keep throwing insults at the OP? It's just a point of view - they're not dismissing the man and his family.

For peak edginess and just plain nastiness for the sake of it, check out the "Hate crime? Really?" thread.

Collie D wrote: »
    It’s called a penis

That's being sorted with cream but it is expensive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭CarefulNow!

You not getting this Sean Cox thing says more about you than the insults I can post here... Waster