Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Driver allowed continue working on condition females sit in the back seat

• 10-04-2019 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭

You couldn't make this story up.

A Non-National Taxi driver who sexually assaulted 3 young women is allowed to continue working provided women don't sit in the front of the Taxi.

The Judges in Ireland are really taking the piss.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/taxi-driver-who-sexually-assaulted-three-young-women-remanded-on-bail-on-condition-no-female-passengers-sit-in-front-seat-38000923.html

A taxi driver who sexually assaulted three young women within two weeks has had his case adjourned to allow for the preparation of a psychological report.
    Mansoor Uddin (41), a married father of three, sexually assaulted two of the women on the same night after demanding that one of them get out of his taxi when he saw her trying to get a photo of his identification.

Sgt Cronin agreed with Seamus Clarke SC, defending, that as part of his bail conditions a female passenger is not permitted to be a front seat passenger in Uddin's taxi.
    She accepted that he is a Pakistan national who is married with two teenage daughters and a younger son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Dr Brown wrote: »

A Non-National Taxi driver who sexually assaulted 3 young women is allowed to continue working provided women don't sit in the front of the Taxi.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/taxi-driver-who-sexually-assaulted-three-young-women-remanded-on-bail-on-condition-no-female-passengers-sit-in-front-seat-38000923.html

Non-National or not, that is a ****ing ridiculously stupid decision by the Judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Non-National or not, that is a ****ing ridiculously stupid decision by the Judge.

It was the only decision the judge could have made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Did the article mention he was a non national or was that you throwing that in for the fun of it?

Having said that going by your posts on another thread it seems anything that isn’t a white god fearing christian is not good enough for you!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

The incidents happened in 2016, and he is still driving now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

isn't there a regulator? I genuinely can't believe this is happening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

It doesn't say anywhere in that report that he is a non national, why are you making this up?

How so?
    Sonics2k wrote: »
    What?

The judge does not have the right to remove his licence. Only the gardai can do that. And only after he has been convicted and exhausted his appeals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The judge does not have the right to remove his licence. Only the gardai can do that. And only after he has been convicted and exhausted his appeals.

The Judge should have jailed him. No problems then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I read about this story yesterday. The taxi-driver should be deported out of the country. We don't owe anything to anybody coming into this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

I stated in another thread that none of my female friends will get in a taxi with a non national, generally black fellas. They were called racist by some members on here.
    I can assure you they are not racist, just looking after themselves.
    So the fact this fella is still allowed to be a taxi man really beggers belief and will strengthen my friends resolve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Surely someone convicted of such crimes should not be allowed drive a taxi? It is utterly bizarre.
    Apart from that why is this man in Ireland?
    Do we need to import Taxi drivers from Pakistan?
    There is another taxi driver from Pakistan due in court for sexual assault around Christmas.
    There was/is a recognised pattern of this behaviour in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

No, but the judge can dictate bailing conditions. No woman in front should have been not working as a taxi driver. That's assuming that it's acceptable to have alleged sex offenders out on bail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Think it would be safer all around if he put all his female passengers in the boot for safe keeping.

I read about this story yesterday. The taxi-driver should be deported out of the country. We don't owe anybody coming into this country anything.

How do you know that he is not an Irish citizen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭quokula

Pissartist wrote: »
    I stated in another thread that none of my female friends will get in a taxi with a non national, generally black fellas. They were called racist by some members on here.
    So the fact this fella is still allowed to be a taxi man really beggers belief and will strengthen my friends resolve.

How does this prove anything about non nationals? Maybe it says something about people from Lucan. Or 41 year olds. Or just men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Then how come the judge was allowed tell him who he can and cannot have in his front seat?

She has that power?

If anything happens, it's on her, especially after those people came forward.

There should be a picture of the judge and a full explanation from her. That's the disgrace.

Instead, an anti-immigrant rant.

kneemos wrote: »
    Thread.

Indeed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Surely someone convicted of such crimes should not be allowed drive a taxi? It is utterly bizarre.
    Apart from that why is this man in Ireland?
    Do we need to import Taxi drivers from Pakistan?
    There is another taxi driver from Pakistan due in court for sexual assault around Christmas.
    There was/is a recognised pattern of this behaviour in the UK.

So you didn't read the article then? :rolleyes:

Then how come the judge was allowed tell him who he can and cannot have in his front seat?

She has that power?

If anything happens, it's on her, especially after those people came forward.

There should be a picture of the judge and a full explanation from her. That's the disgrace.

Instead, an anti-immigrant rant.

It is not on the judge at all. the judge has done all they are allowed to do. Your anger is misdirected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

Just seen that article, what a disgrace!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

How do you know that he is not an Irish citizen?

He is from Pakistan not Ireland. Commit a crime then out he should go. We don't need to be bringing in anyone like that into the country.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/taxi-driver-who-sexually-assaulted-three-women-stopped-victim-taking-photo-1.3854917

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

They are literally the definition of racist.

Cordell wrote: »
    No, but the judge can dictate bailing conditions. No woman in front should have been not working as a taxi driver. That's assuming that it's acceptable to have alleged sex offenders out on bail.

The judge did dictate bail conditions. What she could not do is deprive him of his livelihood as part of those conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

''She accepted that he is a Pakistan national who is married with two teenage daughters and a younger son.''

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/taxi-driver-who-sexually-assaulted-three-women-stopped-victim-taking-photo-1.3854917

Non national or not, how the **** do the Regulator allow him to continue driving a taxi while out on bail.

He is from Pakistan not Ireland. Commit a crime then out he should go. We don't need to be bringing in anyone like that into the country.

It doesn't say anywhere in the article that he is from Pakistan! The only place it refers to is Lucan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Fair enough its their decision, however they would probably have no problem getting into a taxi with a white british person who is also a non national.

It is racism no matter how you look at it.

It doesn't say anywhere in the article that he is from Pakistan! The only place it refers to is Lucan!

from the end of the article
    She accepted that he is a Pakistan national who is married with two teenage daughters and a younger son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yea I don’t think race or nationality comes into this.

It’s the most recent in a long line of morally suspect decisions being made in the court.

Does his right to earn a living really exceed his risk to public safety ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

quokula wrote: »
    How does this prove anything about non nationals? Maybe it says something about people from Lucan. Or 41 year olds. Or just men.

If non-nationals were more likely to commit sexual assault, is that something that should be discussed?

Seems to me that the government, the EU, the Irish/European media and a lot of citizens want to have zero discussion about immigration.

For those interested there is already a thread in the Legal Discussion forum that explains why the judge did what she did and why she did not do what others here are asking. Apologies in advance to the Legal Discussion mods.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057971506

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

from the end of the article

Yeah but it didn’t say that in the first few lines that they read...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Amirani wrote: »
    So you didn't read the article then? :rolleyes:

He pleaded guilty. He Will be convicted. Full marks for pedantry though.

Undividual wrote: »
    If non-nationals were more likely to commit sexual assault, is that something that should be discussed?

Why do you think it wasn't mentioned in the article whether this man was a non-national or not? Seems to me that the government, the EU, the Irish/European media and a lot of citizens want to have zero discussion about immigration.

It was mentioned that he was a non-national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

For those interested there is already a thread in the Legal Discussion forum that explains why the judge did what she did and why she did not do what others here are asking. Apologies in advance to the Legal Discussion mods.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057971506

He should be made display a sign stating that he is out on bail for sexually assaulting female passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

The judge did dictate bail conditions. What she could not do is deprive him of his livelihood as part of those conditions.

Or maybe deprive him of the opportunity to do it again?

Cordell wrote: »
    Or maybe deprive him of the opportunity to do it again?

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

"She accepted that he is a Pakistan national who is married with two teenage daughters and a younger son."

Clearly does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Ah, I honestly did not know that. I assumed a Judge would have that ability given the nature of the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Woman is attacked walking home and people will say what was she doing out at 2 in the morning by herself. Another woman gets a taxi and this happens. Years ago you would feel really safe in a taxi, not so much now.

As an aside, standards have gone way down. I got a taxi in Dublin recently and the taxi driver effed and blinded without any attempt at controlling himself about his ex wife bleeding him dry and he was so angry and agitated, I had to ask him to drop me out half way on the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭quokula

Undividual wrote: »

Seems to me that the government, the EU, the Irish/European media and a lot of citizens want to have zero discussion about immigration.

Where is the evidence that non-nationals are more likely to commit sexual assault? One taxi driver?

Fair enough its their decision, however they would probably have no problem getting into a taxi with a white british person who is also a non national.

It is racism no matter how you look at it.

Would you say that to a Rotherham victim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

You seem surprised op. This is Ireland, the land of equal opportunities, whether your guilty or not. He shouldn't have even got bail.

quokula wrote: »
    Where is the evidence that non-nationals are more likely to commit sexual assault? One taxi driver?

Rotherham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Mickeroo wrote: »
    They are literally the definition of racist.

I don't think so they are just looking out for themselves as the other poster alluded to.

The statistics would indicate there may be a problem with Non-National Taxi drivers in terms of these sort of offenses.

https://www.herald.ie/news/woman-consented-to-sex-in-taxi-rape-suspect-tells-gardai-37694287.html

https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/cab-driver-gets-eight-years-for-party-rape-27957399.html

https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/taxi-man-charged-with-passengers-rape-is-denied-bail-31301475.html

I don't think so they are just looking out for themselves as the other poster alluded to.

The statistics would indicate there may be a problem with Non-National Taxi drivers in terms of these sort of offenses.

https://www.herald.ie/news/woman-consented-to-sex-in-taxi-rape-suspect-tells-gardai-37694287.html

https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/cab-driver-gets-eight-years-for-party-rape-27957399.html

https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/taxi-man-charged-with-passengers-rape-is-denied-bail-31301475.html

What statistics are they? you haven't linked to any.

I read about this story yesterday. The taxi-driver should be deported out of the country. We don't owe anybody coming into this country anything.

Yeah, we should stick posters in the window like in England in the 1960's..'No Irish or blacks need apply' that would show them!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Agree fully. But I would imagine its almost impossible to deport someone from this country given the lengthy legal process. And he is probably a citizen at this stage. So to deport him, you'd have to strip him of Irish citizenship which again I think is impossible. So nope, all the legal cards are in his favour.

But, sexual assault should mean a lifetime ban from being a taxi driver. I hope even liberal lefty types recognise that.