Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housing Crisis

• 09-04-2019 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

This is not another dole/forever home bashing thread so just want to nail my colours to the mast so to speak.

I've been on the dole three times in my life, I'm in my 50's btw, and each time couldn't get off it fast enough. I also grew up in a council flat so I wasn't born with a silver spoon........

Anyway watched Primetime tonight and they did a segment on the housing crisis and the HAP scheme. A young lady was interviewed and I just couldn't get over the sense of entitlement and total lack of responsibility for your own circumstances and those of your kids.

1. She said I can't live with me ma, we don't get on. So because of this family tiff the state must now fund 2 homes, assuming the ma is also in social housing.

2. She was offered a 2 bed apartment on HAP but would've had to pay €125 a month herself. She couldn't afford this. I mean €30 a week for a 2 bed apartment! Can she not get a job while her child is in daycare? 3 hours a week at min wage......rent sorted.

3. Second apartment she viewed was fully covered by HAP but she was worried about the bills. I'm not sure what this means, maybe expecting govt to pay this as well.

4. Didn't want to be on HAP as well the home wouldn't be hers. Let me tell you honey it's only yours when YOU buy it.

5. Where was the kids dad. No responsibility here either.

Nobody asks the tough questions like:
    Do you have any responsibility for this situation?
    What have you done to try to patch things up with your ma?
    Do you work?
    Have you ever worked?
    Why not? I know the answer to this one. It starts with the phrase I have some "complex needs".

Sorry for the rant. Feel a lot better now. :D

Nite nite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,705 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Stop talking sense, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

Stop talking sense, lol.

Have a glass of warm milk now so feeling much better 😊

In summary, all of the entitlements and none of the responsibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

She didn’t want to be taken off the housing list because if she took a HAP place she could have the rent raised or have to leave at the landlord’s request.

You can see why she wouldn’t have wanted to take those places.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Jayyysus ya won't get far on social media with that attitude OP ;)

Good luck to ya now!

Interview with landlord was even more shocking.

Why any LL would ever go near HAP is beyond me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Scum. Sub-human scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Pronto63 wrote: »
    Interview with landlord was even more shocking.

Why any LL would ever go near HAP is beyond me!

I know someone who took on a HAP tenant, accidental landlord type. The tenant was grand but the owner was always complaining about the amount of work that was expected of them to keep the place up to HAP standards.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Pronto63 wrote:
    This is not another dole/forever home bashing thread so just want to nail my colours to the mast so to speak.

It will be though.;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

She can't patch things up with her man because she wouldn't be homeless if she did.

That's a life long rift I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

Will soon make up with her ma once she gets a place to live!
    kneemos wrote: »
    She can't patch things up with her man because she wouldn't be homeless if she did.

That's a life long rift I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,684 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

How is it acceptable for normal hard working family to have to put up with the rental situation where you can be subject to rent increases, be evicted etc yet not acceptable for welfare types. When you consider that the working tenant is paying their own rent and the welfare tenant is having most or all paid for them, it is just mind boggling.
    And they have the brass neck to come on TV and put these views across.
    I actually laughed out loud when the chap came on and said he needed to sell the HAP scheme better. He wouldn't need to sell it to me.
    I'm beginning to think these people are actually right and that tax payer is the nutter in this country.
    people need to take a stand. Get real on the legit homelessness and come down hard on these pretend homeless. If free rent is not good enough - f uck off and pay full rent and be removed from all housing lists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

4. Didn't want to be on HAP as well the home wouldn't be hers. Let me tell you honey it's only yours when YOU buy it.

I'm sure what she meant was that she (or, more importantly, her kids) wouldn't have anywhere near the same level of long-term security with a privately-owned house as they would with a council-owned house.

The state should be building homes - and renting them to people at an affordable price - and not handing over huge amounts of money to private landlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

The Council should from their records be able to identify two homeless women who don't get on with their mothers. And they are made to switch mothers. Now they will have loving homes to go and live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Its shocking the state can only provide poor Sarah Jane with €450 per week for rent (HAP) + €237 One-Parent Family + child + €35 children's allowance + medical card etc. I can see why she is crying it must be with laughter.

https://twitter.com/RTE_PrimeTime/status/1115709947474534400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

This person is just abusing the system because they can, the system needs to change to stop these sorts breeding and then expecting someone else to look after them forever.
    Unfortunately it won't change, we have very liberal polical parties and none will ever made any tough decisions on the parasites in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

There should be no discussion on this.

Ones like this, the minute they complain & go on about their 'rights' & 'entitlements', all that jazz...

This is the minute that they get shot into the Sun.

Instant cure.

Life is only as complicated as you make it really.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Sometimes I get the notion that I should quit my job and brazenly try and get everything I can from the state.
    I would do for a year and document everything and post it somewhere online,

The Council should from their records be able to identify two homeless women who don't get on with their mothers. And they are made to switch mothers. Now they will have loving homes to go and live in.

Bet she wouldn't get on with her new ma either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That’s exactly what it is!

I've been on the dole three times in my life, I'm in my 50's btw, and each time couldn't get off it fast enough. I also grew up in a council flat so I wasn't born with a silver spoon........

Anyway watched Primetime tonight and they did a segment on the housing crisis and the HAP scheme. A young lady was interviewed and I just couldn't get over the sense of entitlement and total lack of responsibility for your own circumstances and those of your kids.

1. She said I can't live with me ma, we don't get on. So because of this family tiff the state must now fund 2 homes, assuming the ma is also in social housing.

2. She was offered a 2 bed apartment on HAP but would've had to pay €125 a month herself. She couldn't afford this. I mean €30 a week for a 2 bed apartment! Can she not get a job while her child is in daycare? 3 hours a week at min wage......rent sorted.

3. Second apartment she viewed was fully covered by HAP but she was worried about the bills. I'm not sure what this means, maybe expecting govt to pay this as well.

5. Where was the kids dad. No responsibility here either.

Nobody asks the tough questions like:
    Do you have any responsibility for this situation?
    What have you done to try to patch things up with your ma?
    Do you work?
    Have you ever worked?
    Why not? I know the answer to this one. It starts with the phrase I have some "complex needs".

Sorry for the rant. Feel a lot better now. :D

Nite nite.

They do, because just like yourself they’re quite fond of looking down on people less fortunate than themselves. They’re not interested in the answers to the tough questions though or coming up with viable solutions, they tend to be more interested in acting the prick under the guise of feigning concern for the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm sure what she meant was that she (or, more importantly, her kids) wouldn't have anywhere near the same level of long-term security with a privately-owned house as they would with a council-owned house.

The state should be building homes - and renting them to people at an affordable price - and not handing over huge amounts of money to private landlords.

Or literally, beggars can't be choosers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It would be interesting to see if young pregnancies are down over the last few years. 15-20 years ago it was nearly a right of passage to get pregnant around aged 20 and then get your free house.

This seems to be the first generation where they are being told, eh no, get your own home.

TBH I couldn't give a s**t about these so called "homeless". I care about the fact that people who work full time cannot afford to have their own home. That's where the system has failed, not "works at full time yummy mummy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Social housing priority should be given to working parent(s), not scroungers who have never worked a day in their entire lives and are trying to game the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

They do, because just like yourself they’re quite fond of looking down on people less fortunate than themselves.

Someone sitting pretty with her three or four kids, free house in Dublin, and generous state benefits is, in all reality, far more "fortunate" than some poor sod of a taxpayer commuting and working 11+ hours a day in the hopes of maybe someday being able to afford a home and family of his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

I live in a council house but its no all its made out to be

Granted the rent is €30 a week but the bills are crazy at the moment. Plus im waiting 2 months on the council to fix the bulb in the bathroom some issue with being in arrears.

I might fall in the dark and claim off them its getting so bad lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

It would be interesting to see if young pregnancies are down over the last few years. 15-20 years ago it was nearly a right of passage to get pregnant around aged 20 and then get your free house.

This seems to be the first generation where they are being told, eh no, get your own home.

Are they though? Will that woman from Prime Time be told to get her own home? Not a chance, she'll be pandered to and the more kids she has, the bigger the house she'll get.

I work full time and in the next month could seriously be couch surfing or paying rent that I absolutely cannot afford to pay. Where's my HAP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Someone sitting pretty with her three or four kids, free house in Dublin, and generous state benefits is, in all reality, far more "fortunate" than some poor sod of a taxpayer commuting and working 11+ hours a day in the hopes of maybe someday being able to afford a home and family of his own.

There isn’t that much difference in real disposable income.

In fact if you looked at disposable income in Ireland it would be relatively flat until the top 5-10%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Granted the rent is €30 a week but the bills are crazy at the moment. Plus im waiting 2 months on the council to fix the bulb in the bathroom some issue with being in arrears.

What bills are crazy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Needs more subtly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,665 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

john4321 wrote: »
    Its shocking the state can only provide poor Sarah Jane with €450 per week for rent (HAP) + €237 One-Parent Family + child + €35 children's allowance + medical card etc. I can see why she is crying it must be with laughter.

https://twitter.com/RTE_PrimeTime/status/1115709947474534400

Nice couple of replies on that.....the often asked question about the Dad, which never seems to be asked by the people who make these pieces for PrimeTime....doesn't suit the narrative I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

Try paying €400-600 a week rent.... the bills are also crazy at the moment! A friend of mine is renting and he can’t afford to top up his electricity meter. He has worked since leaving school over 15 years ago and just works to pay his rent, thing is he never once complains just gets on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

petes wrote: »
    What bills are crazy?

Electricity - supplement is pittance, sky tv, my phone, car insurance is just too dear driving without it now, its the only choice we have lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Electricity - supplement is pittance, sky tv, my phone, car insurance is just too dear driving without it now, its the only choice we have lol

Troll.

That person wants a council-owned property or even a housing association home because it is secure, government policy is to rely on HAP mostly because the councils cant build large scale social housing anymore for a variety of reasons and the housing association can't do it fast enough.

I can almost guarantee that the woman in question will get a job of some sort once she gets social housing.

The people who put themselves forward on a program are self-selecting and do not represent anyone but themselves RTE have to fill the program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Social housing priority should be given to working parent(s), not scroungers who have never worked a day in their entire lives and are trying to game the system.

This.

But unfortunately, the €2.4 billion that will be spent building brand new homes and apartments around the country in 2019, will be primarily for the people gaming the system, and the projected sizeable numbers coming in from abroad to game the system. Just as a reminder, 20% of all families in Dublin who declare themselves homeless arrive in the country from outside the EU. It's no wonder that they come here though; with many more billions of euros to be spent by Irish tax-payers on free houses/apartments in the next 3 years.

Our only push back is in the upcoming local and European elections. We should remind those knocking on our doors that the focus should not be only on the segment of society who are gaming the system. Focus should be on the people who are making an effort to contribute to society, but are knocked down by high rents, unaffordable homes, and terrible local services .... just because of the fact that they are working. They cannot compete against government agencies, councils, and 'NGO' housing organisations who are pricing them into poverty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,665 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I assume you are trolling?

If not, then why are you in arrears? You even admit that €30 per week is not a lot, so why are you behind?

And here's an idea, can you change the bulb yourself??? Its not rocket science. Or have you a friend or family member who would know how to change a light bulb?
    why wait on the state to do it for you.

I despair.

There isn’t that much difference in real disposable income.

Well, there should be! Somebody who is working full-time should have more disposable income than somebody who never intends to lift a finger.

Also, "real disposable income" ignores that houses have become an enormously valuable asset that many working people can only dream of.

An average 3-bedroom semi in Dublin costs around €450k, well above the maximum borrowing range of €320k for a dual-income couple on average salaries.

How are regular working people supposed to afford homes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Kivaro wrote: »
    This.

But unfortunately, the €2.4 billion that will be spent building brand new homes and apartments around the country in 2019, will be primarily for the people gaming the system, and the projected sizeable numbers coming in from abroad to game the system. Just as a reminder, 20% of all families in Dublin who declare themselves homeless arrive in the country from outside the EU. It's no wonder that they come here though; with many more billions of euros to be spent by Irish tax-payers on free houses/apartments in the next 3 years.

Our only push back is in the upcoming local and European elections. We should remind those knocking on our doors that the focus should not be only on the segment of society who are gaming the system. Focus should be on the people who are making an effort to contribute to society, but are knocked down by high rents, unaffordable homes, and terrible local services .... just because of the fact that they are working. They cannot compete against government agencies, councils, and 'NGO' housing organisations who are pricing them into poverty.
    Do you have a link for these "projected" sizeable numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

They do, because just like yourself they’re quite fond of looking down on people less fortunate than themselves. They’re not interested in the answers to the tough questions though or coming up with viable solutions, they tend to be more interested in acting the prick under the guise of feigning concern for the children.

RTE dont.......

and the biggest one is "Where was the kids dad?"

Its hard to blame the people involved, it is successive government that have fostered this dependence and allowed people to game the system and media such as RTE who refuse to ask any tough questions that dont involve blaming said government that have led to this

Many a true word spoken in jest! Love your sense of humor!

Well, there should be! Somebody who is working full-time should have more disposable income than somebody who never intends to lift a finger.

Also, "real disposable income" ignores that houses have become an enormously valuable asset that many working people can only dream of.

An average 3-bedroom semi in Dublin costs around €450k, well above the maximum borrowing range of €320k for a dual-income couple on average salaries.

How are regular working people supposed to afford homes?

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/17-sycamore-road-finglas-east-finglas-dublin-11/4324702

If you are seriously looking I drive by there a lot, lovely area good public transport, excellent schools, mature area its got a lot going for it.

Now you can see why there’s a “housing” crisis! Short term pain for long term gain. Coupled with the many homeless “Charities” and you can bet we’ll have a homeless crisis for decades to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

I'm one of those "poor sods." I work full time, and I'm trying to upskill to get a higher paying job. Ultimately though, I will never afford my own home, not with how things are now. I can't even afford rent at the moment. So I'm saving to go back to college at night to upskill. I have qualifications but nothing that has helped me increase my pay or job title unfortunately.

It's actually horrifying to sit here as an adult working hard, working full time, and knowing I'll never own a home and I'll probably never be able to afford to have a family if I wanted one. Thankfully I don't want children, but I'd be fecked if I did.

I could realistically be signed off work sick or even go on disability because of health problems that affect my work, but I wouldn't do that, I prefer to work.

But at the same time, I can't massively begrudge single mothers. With the price of childcare, they'd be working purely to pay for said childcare, they wouldn't afford private rent on top of that. The system is broken when it's financially better for a single mother to stay on welfare than to work.

That's not the mothers' faults, it's the government's fault. Obviously we shouldn't have kids we can't afford, but when the cost of childcare and rent prohibits single parents from working, I can't blame them for fighting for a home.

mariaalice wrote: »
    https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/17-sycamore-road-finglas-east-finglas-dublin-11/4324702

If you are seriously looking I drive by there a lot, lovely area good public transport, excellent schools, mature area its got a lot going for it.

Many people on the housing list would turn their noses up at that.

But it'll do some poor sod of a taxpayer, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

That’s exactly what it is!

Less fortunate ?
    She's making €2,888 CLEAN a month for nothing, she is a lot better off than me !!

After Tax I earn €2,500 and I have 2 kids and pay a mortgage - fair enough I live in Spain, costs are less ... but this is ****ing crazy!!!

0/10 trolling attempt, try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

Plenty of non EU scroungers in the country also OP playing the same game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Snotty wrote: »
    This person is just abusing the system because they can, the system needs to change to stop these sorts breeding and then expecting someone else to look after them forever.
    Unfortunately it won't change, we have very liberal polical parties and none will ever made any tough decisions on the parasites in this country.

Exactly... Weak politicians from successive governments and a system ripe for abuse.

Spongers gonna sponge...

Housing crisis me bollóx...

I'm one of those "poor sods." I work full time, and I'm trying to upskill to get a higher paying job. Ultimately though, I will never afford my own home, not with how things are now. I can't even afford rent at the moment. So I'm saving to go back to college at night to upskill. I have qualifications but nothing that has helped me increase my pay or job title unfortunately.

It's actually horrifying to sit here as an adult working hard, working full time, and knowing I'll never own a home and I'll probably never be able to afford to have a family if I wanted one. Thankfully I don't want children, but I'd be fecked if I did.

I could realistically be signed off work sick or even go on disability because of health problems that affect my work, but I wouldn't do that, I prefer to work.

But at the same time, I can't massively begrudge single mothers. With the price of childcare, they'd be working purely to pay for said childcare, they wouldn't afford private rent on top of that. The system is broken when it's financially better for a single mother to stay on welfare than to work.

That's not the mothers' faults, it's the government's fault. Obviously we shouldn't have kids we can't afford, but when the cost of childcare and rent prohibits single parents from working, I can't blame them for fighting for a home.

Now this is a ****ing crying shame, here is a productive member of society being treated this way - disgracegul.
    Imagine if they wanted kids ? presumably there kids would also be future productive members of society and would pay tax etc.

Govt. thinks it's better to fund wasters that game the system that will each have ~4/5/6/7 kids that will also grow up to be little parasites.

Imagine Ireland in 50 years time, 3rd world ****hole I'd imagine!