Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car with no tax or NCT - caught by Garda

• 08-04-2019 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭

Howdy,

Friend got caught driving around with no tax (expired 6 months) and no NCT (expired 1 year ago). He had insurance.

The Guards seized the car rightfully.

I've been saying it to him for months to get both sorted so hate to say I told him so but there you go.

He's taking the points and fines and wants to move on.

It's only an old junker anyways so he's not going to pay to get it back.

My question is, is there some kinda of daily / weekly holding fee that he will be charged while the car is impounded? Or does he need to let the Guards know that he doesn't want it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭JustARandomGuy

davo2001 wrote: »
    Howdy,

Friend got caught driving around with no tax (expired 6 months) and no NCT (expired 1 year ago). He had insurance.

I've been saying it to him for months to get both sorted so hate to say I told him so but there you go.

My question is, is there some kinda of daily / weekly holding fee that he will be charged while the car is impounded? Or does he need to let the Guards know that he doesn't want it back.

There is a daily storage fee, but its dependent on The impound site. He’ll also need a tow truck to get it out of there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

There is a daily storage fee, but its dependent on The impound site. He’ll also need a tow truck to get it out of there

That's the thing, he doesn't want it back!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Leave it there then.

So there won't be any ongoing fee for keeping it impounded? That basically what I'm trying to find out.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭beertons

A friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

"friend" :)

Correct, a friend, I keep both my cars taxed, ncted and insured.

Are people not allowed to have friends anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It seems people don't know the answer to your question OP.
    Probably easiest to get in touch with local council and ask around until you have found the dept that handles impounded cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

Your friend would generally need to sign a waiver stating he is handing it over and no longer wants to claim the car. Either the impound lot or the local station to the impound lot should have the waiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭Cordell

Will he still be liable for tax arrears and any impound storage fees?

*asking out of curiosity, for a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

Cordell wrote: »
    Will he still be liable for tax arrears and any impound storage fees?

*asking out of curiosity, for a friend.

Not sure, could be a garage by garage scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭irisheddie85

I know in Galway city a local recovery/scrap yard handles the impounding for the guards so if you don't want the car back they tend to take it as scrap. You won't get anything off them but scrap value will cover the impound fees. I assume it's similar in other regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

davo2001 wrote: »
    Howdy,

...and that's all he is liable for if he doesn't want to reclaim his Car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

€125 for first 24 hours and then €35 a day according to the Garda in the electric scooter video, then if not collected after 3 weeks scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

There are Maximum Fees which Towing Companies can charge for Towing and Storage.
    None of these Fees are 'compulsory'. If the Owner doesn't want their Vehicle back then they only are liable for any Road Traffic Offence Penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

You don't need to contact them if you don't want it back, just leave it there and they will eventually scrap it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

conor2469 wrote: »
    You don't need to contact them if you don't want it back, just leave it there and they will eventually scrap it.
    Without you posting source this could be a expensive risk for OP to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Seve OB wrote: »
    "friend" :)

490938f7d922321fa975e80f86de0aff.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    490938f7d922321fa975e80f86de0aff.jpg

Already covered that buddy, on you trot unless you have something useful to add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

I assume your friend didn't have the funds to Insure and NCT the car ? That's a smart move considering the car was a hunk of junk. On the other hand they now need to pay a fine, lose the car and probably have higher insurance in the future, considering they had no insurance for the past 6 months !!

The moral of the story is they always get you in the end !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hal3000 wrote: »
    I assume your friend didn't have the funds to Insure and NCT the car ? That's a smart move considering the car was a hunk of junk. On the other hand they now need to pay a fine, lose the car and probably have higher insurance in the future, considering they had no insurance for the past 6 months !!

The moral of the story is they always get you in the end !!

They had insurance though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

They had insurance though....

Fair play to them. Moral of the story, read the original thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

biko wrote: »
    Without you posting source this could be a expensive risk for OP to take.

I'm speaking from my own personal experience.

I sold a car to someone. two days later it was confiscated from them at a checkpoint for no insurance. Since the car was still in my name I got a letter from Gannons telling me that my car was to be collected and that I owed them X amount so far and X more per day.

I rang the Gardai and explained the situation to them. He said that its no longer my problem and to just leave it, he said I could ring Gannons if I wanted and explain it to them too but that I wasn't obliged to.
    I never bothered, that was three years ago.

Also, I have since had another car end up in Gannons yard (Stolen recovered) and there was no mention of that poor little uninsured Almera years previous.