Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camera in Bedroom.

• 02-04-2019 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Im a college student and I moved to a house with a family at the start of the school year. When I moved in, the landlord told me that there is a alarm sensor in every room in the house. The sensor in my room from what I remember did not have a camera (it was a normal cheap motion-activated sensor)

I come back to my room today and for some reason the sensor grabbed my attention and i notice it looks different. I investigate and it has both a motion sensor alongside with a camera on top of it

I am sure they installed it when I was not in the house and did not inform me. I do not remember when they did that as I never paid any attention to the sensor (it could be yesterday or months ago).

What can I do?

PS: I get changed everyday in that room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Talk to Gardai, make sure it’s a camera and make sure you photograph it as evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

That's freaky. Post a pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

That type of crap could be being streamed on the internet

Cover the lens with something removable (blutac) and call the guards this evening

Though you would want to be sure it's a camera or you'll look a right clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Just to give a little input.
    Our alarm sensors all have cameras in them.
    However Phone watch did not install these in the bedroom.
    If they are Phone watch ones these are only accessed on an alarm activation, by phone watch I think.
    But wouldn't want one in a bedroom!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Post a pic of it for a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 crispybacon323

Mr.S wrote: »
    Are you sure it's a camera?

I cant post pictures because im new here >.>

"You cannot post with images, URLs or attachments because you are a new user."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

Host it on tiny pic and post a link here with a space on the address.

893bet wrote: »
    Host it on tiny pic and post a link here with a space on the address.

imgur[dot][com]/a/xyeDPTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Isn't there a forum on home security ?
    Post this their and ask for advice. Maybe someone will offer you their email by private message and they can confirm what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭NTC

Doesn't look like it is on your wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭7znbd9xmoiupye

looks like a camera to me. the green light on seems to show it is on whatever it is

Looks like a stock photo to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

That's not an actual photo of it is it?

I can’t get on the link can someone post it up? Cheers

NTC wrote: »
    Doesn't look like it is on your wall

its not my wall. i thought it would be better if i pulled it off google images as my phone camera isnt that good.

How did you know what to look up ?

Right this would seem to be a wind up for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

That looks very much like the Phone Watch sensor.

Heres the actual photo
    imgur[dot][com]/a/c3gPEWI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

I was in an airbanb in Spain last year and they had these in all the rooms. I read on the site that it activated when the alarm went off. I really think my privacy was more important than that but its normally done by self install. I wouldn't trust it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

That's a phonewatch sensor. Only phonewatch have access to it's "feed" and only on alarm activation.

sunny2004 wrote: »
    How did you know what to look up ?

because I went to the alarm company website and found a similar one in the "products" section.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Just take a picture with your phone, and we will not comment on the quality.

beertons wrote: »
    Just take a picture with your phone, and we will not comment on the quality.

already done. link is up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

PhoneWatch features the newest and best technology. Our system is designed to offer best immediate response, and so our PIR Motion Sensors feature built-in Cameras. PIR Cameras take snap-shot images when triggered giving instant visual confirmation of a break-in.

https://www.phonewatch.ie/offer/

So yes it is a camera that takes pictures if there is a break in. Personally I wouldn't be happy about one being installed.

antodeco wrote: »
    That's a phonewatch sensor. Only phonewatch have access to it's "feed" and only on alarm activation.

Them and myfreecams :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Think that's the Phonewatch one. Ours are identical but I'm not sure if other companies use the same ones.

They weren't installed in the bedrooms though.

Are you on the groundfloor with a window?

I've often wondered if someone bored in Phonewatch could have a browse.

My question is what can I do in this position? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Stick bluetac over the lens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭BowSideChamp

antodeco wrote: »

That's a laugh. And who is looking at the OP in the control room of phone watch??

The OP should call the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Pretty sure they only take still images and you can't stream it. We have something similar in our hallway. You can take a photo through the app on my phone but it wouldn't be discrete if anyone was in front of it as the flash goes off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

That's a laugh. And who is looking at the OP in the control room of phone watch??

No one. Doesn't work like that.

If someone wanted to spy on you you can buy tiny cameras, concealed cameras, all sorts of cameras that aren't a very obvious camera.

If you are concered pop a bit of blu-tac on it. I wouldn't be overly comfortable with it myself.

Would you calm down. It could be completely innocent.

Installer: do you want photo capture sensors in all room for added security?
    Owner: ah sure why not
    Installer: Grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭keyboard_cat

Looks to be a honeywell evohome camera so can be accessed by the landlord on his laptop or iPhone not sure if it would provide a video stream/photos unless the alarm sounds but still wouldn’t be happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Any Camera / sensor with camera in any bedroom is a total no no.especially if it's not your house.**** that.put blue tack all over it or black duct tape.if they don't like it tell them your concerns.
    I wouldn't involve the guards.you'll.
    Look. insane.especially if its proven to be a phone watch monitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭BowSideChamp

jon1981 wrote: »
    Would you calm down. It could be completely innocent.

Installer: do you want photo capture sensors in all room for added security?
    Owner: ah sure why not
    Installer: Grand

Yeah completely innocent until the OP is all over the internet.

Give him a loan of your tinfoil hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Prominent_Dawg

Can someone post the pic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Looks to be a honeywell evohome camera so can be accessed by the landlord on his laptop or iPhone not sure if it would provide a video stream/photos unless the alarm sounds but still wouldn’t be happy with it.

Nah, they're a bit different. It's exactly the same as a Phonewatch one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Cop on, this happens regularly.

I somehow think you too wouldn't be very happy about someone installing a camera in your bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Probably best stop jerkin off for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Can someone post the pic ?

here:)

Cop on, this happens regularly.

I somehow think you too wouldn't be very happy about someone installing a camera in your bedroom.

Calling the cops without first talking to the landlord is alittle crazy, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

There’s a camera in a bedroom here so no tin foil hat needed.

Op, talk to the landlord and say you want it removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Op, talk to the landlord and say you want it removed.

And what if the landlord says no it stays or you go? Just put blue tack over the Camera bit no guards no fuss.
    if the landlord comes storming in asking why then you know he s been watching you on camera !

And what if the landlord says no it stays or you go? Just put blue tack over the Camera bit no guards no fuss.
    if the landlord comes storming in asking why then you know he s been watching you on camera !

It stays or you go is a clear indication he’s a peeping Tom. Very odd to not mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Very simple, get a permanent black marker and color in the lens. Would never be visible to the landlord, unlike blu tac, and would prevent the camera seeing anything.

If the landlord mentions it, you know they had access to the feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

What position? The camera only triggers if the alarm is set off. That's it