Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2009 petrol Avensis automatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

3 photos, reg hidden, no mileage listed, no greenlight check, probably 50% less than actual price should be...I'd not think much to be honest of that ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mileage not listed and cheap asking price would suggest it's pretty high mileage and probably tired. Many petrol auto Avensis were rental cars at one stage or another and some rental companies kept them on their fleet longer for tourists looking for an auto. Seller also has 2 other cars for sale so he's bit of a trader or wheeler dealer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Thanks. So this ad is dodge so let’s ignore.

In general though are these cars ok?

It's not that the ad is dodgy it's just basic information is concealed by the seller intentionally. They are a reliable car and the petrol ones while rare don't give much bother but you will pay more for a good example even at that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Funnily enough that car is only up the road from where I work. The seller would certainly dabble in a bit of wheeling and dealing, and might sell a horse or two on the side..

Sound lad all things considered but the car probably isn’t the best way to spend €2k. I haven’t seen it mind. And to be fair he does get a few genuinely half decent yokes but I haven’t bought a car from him since last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Just to let you know everybody on DoneDeal selling a car is a wheeler dealer, in my experience at least.

Nikki Sixx wrote: »
    Just to let you know everybody on DoneDeal selling a car is a wheeler dealer, in my experience at least.

Not that it matters anyway..

You’re buying the car, not the person

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Sounds like a solid citizen. The ad. is terrible btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Sticker residue still on dash, Almost certainly an ex taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Belfast

The seller has 2 other cars for sale.
    both badly done.

https://www.donedeal.ie/all?userId=2947976

Ok. Thanks for advice.

Let’s forget about the seller.

Are these cars ok?
    Would they be alright on petrol?

What kind of driving do you do?

Less than 10,000 km a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

In general they are reliable but they have a weakness with the check strap fatiguing over time as it cannot support the weight of the doors.

The solution is to replace the doors, we've had ours replaced twice but Toyota covered the cost of it both times. It appears as though cars after the 2012 facelift don't suffer from this problem as much.

https://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/175765-door-crack-on-2012-avensis-tourer/#elComment_1431166

Thanks for that. Strange enough issue there :)

I think the crowd selling this avenais are not great either?

https://www.adverts.ie/17619075

If what I heard is true then....

I think the crowd selling this avenais are not great either?

https://www.adverts.ie/17619075

Six grand! Jaysus

Yeah.

In regard to petrol version.......do they come in a 1.6 and 1.8.

Presume the 1.6 is fairly sluggish.

Yes 1.6 also but petrol auto is 1.8 only.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Yes 1.6 also but petrol auto is 1.8 only.

Are the 1.8’s relatively OK on petrol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Tax is €750 a year on the auto

U sure it’s not 570?

It’s €570 alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

My bro in law has a 09 and it's €750, maybe the model changed that year

They did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Yeah mk3 came out in 09 facelift in 12 and again in 16!

My bro in law has a 09 and it's €750, maybe the model changed that year

That’s the 03-09 shape.