Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should changing a tyre be part of EDT or the driving test?

• 28-03-2019 9:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭

I say this as I watch a wheel being changed by a breakdown company for male driver who wouldn’t be afraid of bigger tasks. I wonder is it pure laziness also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭gr8 m8

Hello

I know that some BMW cars these days don't even have a spare tire anymore! Just a can of that sealer you pump in through the valve and a small compressor that plugs into the cigarette lighter to blow the original tire back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

gr8 m8 wrote: »
    Hello

I know that some BMW cars these days don't even have a spare tire anymore! Just a can of that sealer you pump in through the valve and a small compressor that plugs into the cigarette lighter to blow the original tire back up.

My own main deal driver doesn’t have a spare wheel either, just the stuff you describe.

This car had a spacesaver type wheel.

Hello again.

I know that if I was doing the test again and I knew someone with no spare tire in their car then I would be getting a lend of that car for the test so that I wouldn't have to bother with it!

Also, if you have to change the tyre, would you be expected to know about fuses, change light bulbs and other little things like that? Where would you draw the line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

Hello again.

I know that if I was doing the test again and I knew someone with no spare tire in their car then I would be getting a lend of that car for the test so that I wouldn't have to bother with it!

Also, if you have to change the tyre, would you be expected to know about fuses, change light bulbs and other little things like that? Where would you draw the line?

Ah here changing a tyre is a simple thing, what are you rambling on about

What I mean is that they are all simple things! I'm just wondering what makes one job more important than another.

Meaning that to add changing a tire to the test would be so that the tester can be evaluate that you can do it and the car is safe after completion!

But if a light bulb blows or a fuse goes then they could argue that the car isn't safe either but it is still drivable. A car with a puncture on the side of the road is safer than a car driving in the dark with only one headlight!

Just saying is all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

What I mean is that they are all simple things! I'm just wondering what makes one job more important than another.

Meaning that to add changing a tire to the test would be so that the tester can be evaluate that you can do it and the car is safe after completion!

But if a light bulb blows or a fuse goes then they could argue that the car isn't safe either but it is still drivable. A car with a puncture on the side of the road is safer than a car driving in the dark with only one headlight!

Just saying is all!

Tell that to someone on the side of the motorway especially at night.

You are not supposed to change a tire on the motorway. You are recommended to move away from the car and call the motorway rescue!

I know that I would just change it myself but in the test when they tell you to reverse up to a wall to check the break lights, if they are not working because of a burned fuse and I didn't know how to replace the fuse, I would drive to the garage with no brake lights instead of getting them to call out with a fuse!

Honestly, I was just wondering and thinking out loud.

Had to get a breakdown lad out once because a nut was stripped. It's not always completely straightforward. And a proper puncture in cars with no spares will lead to the same, a friend had a tyre blow on the motorway when I was in the car, don't think the tin of sealant was going to do much. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭dennyk

I say this as I watch a wheel being changed by a breakdown company for male driver who wouldn’t be afraid of bigger tasks. I wonder is it pure laziness also.

No, makes no sense to add it to the test or driver training; being able to change a tyre has nothing to do with safe operation of your vehicle, and not knowing how doesn't impact anyone else's safety, it only inconveniences you and puts some of your money in the pockets of some breakdown company.

Also, how do you know your man there didn't have some disability or medical condition or something that would have made it difficult to change a tyre himself? Or it could be his jack was broken or he didn't have the proper tools on him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To contrast. I've seen people change wheels in stupid places. It might be an idea to make people focused on what's going on around them, instead of the 1 insignificant thing they are trying to do. And the risk that can cause to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

My father taught me to drive, and I didn't get to turn the engine on until I could do all those things, check the oil, fill the windscreen washer, check the tyre pressure (and, for some reason, explain how gears and the brakes work).

However, I've had to ask for help changing a tyre before, as I just haven't been physically able to undo the nuts for love nor money. These days after I get the tyres changed I check I can undo them before leaving the garage.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Thoie wrote: »
    However, I've had to ask for help changing a tyre before, as I just haven't been physically able to undo the nuts for love nor money. These days after I get the tyres changed I check I can undo them before leaving the garage.
    Although I get the theory of how to change a wheel, I don't think I would physically be able to undo the nuts either.

I'd also worry that I wouldn't tighten them enough and the wheel would roll off! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Laziness, really? When my car had a holder in the tyre that the sealant couldn't plug, I had no choice but to call the local the company who had to collect the wheel, and leave the car on an airbag until they sorted it at the shop.

Anyway, there are a hundred other reasons why he might not be able to safely change a wheel.

Personally, I've changed 3 wheels for people since Christmas (a friend, taxi driver I was in the car with, and a guy pulled in near where I lived who damaged the nut), and it's not a problem for me to do it.

But you couldn't pay me to change a wheel on a motorway or fast road without a van made of strobe lights 100M up the road and a spotter watching out.

It's way way too dangerous to do on many roads. Safest things you can do it get out of the car and call breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Every able bodied male/female should be able change a tyre, it's no excuse not to be able, especially in rural Ireland where help might not be readily available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Trampas

If you’ve to change the tyre can you bring your own spoons to lift it off the wheel or will the test centre supply them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

declan2693 wrote: »
    Ah here changing a tyre is a simple thing, what are you rambling on about
    Not always, nuts are put on so tight with a air gun at garages your standard car wheel brace will not do it.
    sometimes i have to put my full weight on brace, no way my wife could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Every able bodied male/female should be able change a tyre, it's no excuse not to be able, especially in rural Ireland where help might not be readily available

While the task is relatively easy to do, there are plenty of things that can go wrong, and the mistakes can easily be fatal.

It's like saying everyone should be able to wire a plug. Yeah it's simple enough, but you could kill your whole family if you screw it up and burn the house down.

Aside from that, doing it on the side of the road is very dangerous.
    declan2693 wrote: »
    Tell that to someone on the side of the motorway especially at night.

Terrible advice. The last place in the world you should try changing a wheel. Out of the car, behind the barrier and call breakdown.

While the task is relatively easy to do, there are plenty of things that can go wrong, and the mistakes can easily be fatal.

It's like saying everyone should be able to wire a plug. Yeah it's simple enough, but you could kill your whole family if you screw it up and burn the house down.

Aside from that, doing it on the side of the road is very dangerous.

Terrible advice. The last place in the world you should try changing a wheel. Out of the car, behind the barrier and call breakdown.

With proper training anyone that's able should be able to change a tyre under safe conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

I once came across an ADI who had I puncture on a lesson. I had time and offered my help. It was declined politely and I was told someone was on their way to change it for them. I didn’t think it was a particularly good example in front of the pupil.
    I’d have used it as a lesson.

Posy wrote: »
    Although I get the theory of how to change a wheel, I don't think I would physically be able to undo the nuts either.

I'd also worry that I wouldn't tighten them enough and the wheel would roll off! :pac:

Most are fine, it's just one garage had tightened them so much neither I, nor a few passing men, were able to undo them.

Your own strength (with an iron/brace) is perfectly fine for tightening them, they don't come off that easily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

You can't have it in the test as it's not compulsory to have a spare tyre. It would also make the test far longer.

BTW, you can get a telescopic wheelnut wrench. Gives you extra leverage when taking the wheelnuts off. I have one, makes life a bit easier.

https://www.halfords.com/workshop-tools/tools/spanners-wrenches/halfords-extending-wheel-nut-wrench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

With proper training anyone that's able should be able to change a tyre under safe conditions

So who gets to judge at the driving test who is physically able to change a tyre?

Cienciano wrote: »
    You can't have it in the test as it's not compulsory to have a spare tyre. It would also make the test far longer.

BTW, you can get a telescopic wheelnut wrench. Gives you extra leverage when taking the wheelnuts off. I have one, makes life a bit easier.

https://www.halfords.com/workshop-tools/tools/spanners-wrenches/halfords-extending-wheel-nut-wrench

I have one too, but poor aul Archimedes himself would have balked at the length of lever required that time :)

looksee wrote: »
    So who gets to judge at the driving test who is physically able to change a tyre?

wouldn't that be obvious by the fact they can change a tyre, there's tools that make it very easy to change a tyre these days. Unless someone has a physical condition that prevents them from changing a tyre there should be no reason why an able bodied cant do a simple task such as change a tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Pretzill

I have no spare tyre (on my car anyway) - (a can of guck which I hope I never have to use) - I wouldn't change a tyre, I'm not lazy, just not very strong and I would be ages doing it, getting my blood pressure up etc. So in with the guck, pump it up and drive to the nearest garage, for me. If I had a spare, I would certainly give it a go, but I know I'd struggle loosening the nuts.

Interesting set of replies here. I was talking to the guy in question this morning as i was putting the bin out, he mentioned it has happened to him again, which it did, and that he was again going to call out the brakedown service to change it, the reason given for not a case of being unable to do it rather he is unwilling to get himself dirty and the breakdown guy gets a fee from the insurers for doing it while it costs him sod all, so in his words 'it's a win win for me'

As for not having a spare wheel, in those cases if you don't have a can of sealant and the tyre is shredded then the only answer is to tow the car to a tyre centre.

What i was referring to was able bodied people with cars that have spare wheels.

Air guns loosening/tightening wheen nuts can actually cause them to break so i prefer the old fashioned method of using a wheel brace myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭wildwillow

It is not as important nowadays to know how to change a tyre as they are much less likely to puncture and one can get help quickly and easily.

Many moons ago while on holiday I had to change a tyre on the outskirts of a coastal town in Cork.

It was about 6pm and I was a young mother at the time with two small chidren in what passed for car seats at the time. The car was large and heavy with the spare wheel was stored under the boot, covered in mud.

I proceeded to do the nesessary which was just as well as not one person stopped to help.

No place open so had to continue without a spare. I found a phone box and rang ahead to the hotel and asked them to send someone to meet me if I hadn't arrived at an agreed time. I was worried I would get another puncture.

I always make sure I can open the wheel nuts and know how to operate the jack. Have not had a puncture in years but my car does have one of those light weight spare wheels.
    Always have a good torch too, although with mobile phones it's not as important.

The owner of the garage where I bought my first car insisted everyone kept spare fuses, bulbs and a fan belt in the glove box. He also didn't let a buyer out without showing them how to check for oil, water, tyre pressure, brakefluid and acquainted them with the sparewheel and jack.

Thankfully cars are much more reliable now and we can get help quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Tyre change and bulb change should definitely be on the test, amazing how many drivers can't manage 2 working headlights these day.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Air guns loosening/tightening wheen nuts can actually cause them to break so i prefer the old fashioned method of using a wheel brace myself.
    Even using a wheel brace you can over tighten wheel nuts. I recently invested in a torque wrench and you'd be surprised at how "loose" you have to tighten them up if you follow the manufacturer's recommendations.

Whenever my car gets new tyres, or goes in for a service and I suspect the wheels may have been removed and replaced, I loosen and retighten them as a precaution and it's usually a struggle releasing them even with a long wheel brace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

bladespin wrote: »
    Tyre change and bulb change should definitely be on the test, amazing how many drivers can't manage 2 working headlights these day.

The issue with this is some bulbs are an absolute pain to change and can require removal of other parts.
    On this note I do think as part of EU required safety tests, making sure a bulb is relatively simple to change should be mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

There are people who would be physically incapable of changing a tyre so I suspect such a rule would fallfoul of anti-discrimination legislation.

Marcusm wrote: »
    There are people who would be physically incapable of changing a tyre so I suspect such a rule would fallfoul of anti-discrimination legislation.

He wasn't incapable, just pure lazy it turned out. He was of the approach why do it if it's covered by insurance (Breakdown cover)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I cannot change a tyre. It's lack of physical strength rather than not wanting to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

For people saying that they cannot physically change a tyre, is this a problem of the wheel bolts being too tight to remove? Or is it the lifting of the car on the jack that is the problem? If it is the first, this is a problem of the tyre shop/mechanic that has changed the tyres or had the wheels off last. The torque that these bolts should have is not too tight. It should be relatively easy to remove with the included tyre iron/spanner included in any standard repair kit in the boot.

As for the OP's question on whether this should be a part of the EDT process. I think that the best practise should be gone through, things such as breaking the nuts loose before lifting the car are important. And other thing about where and when it can be done and when it shouldn't are important. So perhaps 5 minutes could be spared at some stage to cover this.

But I don't think people should have to physically complete the job as part of EDT lessons, or the test. Most new cars do not have spare wheels at all, so perhaps this is a dying art anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Lads - you're changing a wheel, not a tyre. Changing a tyre requires specialist equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Lads - you're changing a wheel, not a tyre. Changing a tyre requires specialist equipment.

Have you punctured a wheel before?

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

bladespin wrote: »
    Have you punctured a wheel before?
    No, but when I suffer a tyre puncture, I remove the wheel and put on the spare wheel. I leave changing the tyres to the lads in a tyre depot. I can change the tyres but risk damaging the alloys so I leave it to those with the appropriate equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Although this is true i doubt anyone in the thread misunderstood what the title implied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

well thats one way to get the pensioners off the road

Had to change a tyre for a pensioner earlier this week. They drove so far on it that it delaminated. To top it off the wheel brace and jack were missing.