Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy St Patrick's Day!

• 17-03-2019 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,411 ✭✭✭✭

jMpqfY-QVMnM2dMK30k2XGmGpPmVy8ueVervBTAeTKHCke_txXHxQyyokF4HUEJk55uw8h1R74p1AtlJBICsG5ntFQi_EMvZaIl3h1uuXQ=s660

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Begorrah, to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,239 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Arrahh, surah, begorrah, we're a grand auld race.

*Cue Darby o'gill references*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Happy St Patty's Day, you bunch of cunds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,411 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I'm sick of all the Irish stereotypes. As soon as I finish this drink, I'm punching someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Drink Sensibly :p Enjoy

Google have a pretty cool doodle for the day that's in it.
    st-patricks-day-2019-5201574015008768.5-law.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

i hate ST Partricks day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I’ll be on an Aer Lingus flight from JFK to DUB overnight, starting on the 17th. I wonder whether they’ll do anything special, such as break out the Bushmill’s? I’ll report back.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 TightyWhiteys

ZX7R wrote: »
    i hate ST Partricks day!

I thought I was the only one!
    Never liked it meself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

isn't it Patty's Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Begorrah and begog and shuckle me shelleighs. Happy St Pattys to all you constantly drunk Pattys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

jMpqfY-QVMnM2dMK30k2XGmGpPmVy8ueVervBTAeTKHCke_txXHxQyyokF4HUEJk55uw8h1R74p1AtlJBICsG5ntFQi_EMvZaIl3h1uuXQ=s660

Just another day, nothing to see here.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

A Very Happy Paddy’s Day to all of yis mad Boardsies!!
    st-patricks004.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

St. Patties Day is number 1 day.

Parade for the children. Drinking for the adults. Lots of fun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I wouldn't have the attention span nor the motivation to look at a parade for hours on end in the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My four year old ran in to our room at 630 to declare Happy St Patricks day at the top of her voice. Apparently I have to colour her hair green as she is in the local parade later with her preschool friends. Might leave that job to mom.

A nice day lays ahead nonetheless

Happy St Patricks Day people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,410 ✭✭✭✭flazio

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Drink Sensibly :p Enjoy

Do you know any pub stocking this "Sensibly" beer you're talking about?

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

This ****e always makes me laugh:

Very twee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

Ah happy St Patrick's day to all.
    As usual there's moaners about any special day, I hope yous all have a happy day in your own way too!

With that animation, you're making it difficult to drown the shamrock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's just about to start

53658730-10156777280457535-4058489858425880576-o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

Great to see our Christian identity celebrated around the globe. Have a great day everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Great to see our Christian identity celebrated around the globe. Have a great day everybody!

We're not really celebrating Christianity, we're celebrating heavy drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

bnt wrote: »
    I’ll be on an Aer Lingus flight from JFK to DUB overnight, starting on the 17th. I wonder whether they’ll do anything special, such as break out the Bushmill’s? I’ll report back.

Why would an English owned airline do anything specific for patty’s day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

wouldn't once every 4 years be enough for this clapping ourselves on the back/'shure everyone loves the Irish, aren't we great ' Nonsense ?
    Shamrock doesnt go on trees after all and the White House doesn't know what to be doing with all the crystal bowls .

Oops69 wrote: »
    wouldn't once every 4 years be enough for this clapping ourselves on the back/'shure everyone loves the Irish, aren't we great ' Nonsense ?
    Shamrock doesnt go on trees after all and the White House doesn't know what to be doing with all the crystal bowls .
    If we could just find something that he did on February 29th then that'd be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

GelStPattys.jpg

irish-car-bomb-st-patricks-day.jpg?1518247968

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

vicwatson wrote: »

Very edgy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The same to you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Just had a lovely bit of ham. Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Shouty Byrne and Annoying O Kane in the parade, with Dribbles Cahill on commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

"Our"? Speak for yourself.
    You're as bad as that muppet varadkar and his gods children sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

I must be getting sentimental and less cynical. Watching the NYPD St Patrick's Day parade from New York on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

Because there are literally thousands of Irish people and Anglo-Irish people living England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

AND give out British whisky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Oops69 wrote: »

No. If we have access to the White House we might as well use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

What's St. Patty's day? Now go get your four leaf clover ta tay ta tay... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

There was more holiday cheer at JFK than on the flight itself - I think it was mentioned once. Now to get a Dublin Bus early on a Bank Holiday. Ummm .... :(

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,411 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's not English owned.

It is owned by IAG which is a European entity of which Aer Lingus is an Irish run and administered airline as part of the group which include Iberia and British Airways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Because there are literally thousands of Irish people and Anglo-Irish people living England?

and Saint Patrick was not Irish...British with a Roman background

Graces7 wrote: »
    and Saint Patrick was not Irish...British with a Roman background

Who's name wasn't even Patrick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Who's name wasn't even Patrick?

And there was at least 4 of him.

It's not English owned.

It is owned by IAG which is a European entity of which Aer Lingus is an Irish run and administered airline as part of the group which include Iberia and British Airways.

Don't forget Vueling ;)

IAG Registered office Madrid

IAG Head Office London

[Qatar Airways bought 9.99 per cent of IAG in January 2015.

Its next biggest shareholder is Standard Life Investments, which has slightly more than 6 per cent of the group.

US institution Europacific Growth fund is third with 5.26 per cent, while another US backer, Capital Research and Management, comes fourth with 5.05 per cent

Factually owned by more than just "European Entity's" :rolleyes: