Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jenny Greene calls it a day at 2FM.

• 11-03-2019 7:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Chr_Fanboy

With news today that Jennifer Zamparelli is the take over the 10 till 1 show on RTE 2fm, what does this mean for Jenny Greene? She seems to be pretty liked in RTE so possibility Tracey Clifford to get the boot with Jenny Greene to move to afternoons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Chr_Fanboy wrote: »
    With news today that Jennifer Zamparelli is the take over the 10 till 1 show on RTE 2fm, what does this mean for Jenny Greene? She seems to be pretty liked in RTE so possibility Tracey Clifford to get the boot with Jenny Greene to move to afternoons?

Pity about Jenny Greene. Always liked to listen to her. Mixes new music with classics from nineties and noughties too.
    Zamparelli is a knob. Loves innuendo and herself so that's all she'll talk about. I hoped she'd get demoted, but Jesus she's obviously there for life now.... what's the world come to?
    Tracey Clifford should get the boot. Tries to hard to be cool. Another knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,490 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Jenny Greene is easily one of the best on 2FM.

An awful lot of the 2FM crew are just insufferable - but I always enjoy her.

I hope she's not demoted to some graveyard shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

I've had a bad feeling for a while that Jenny Greene would be pushed out the door when Nicky left

Dan Healy has been pretty ruthless over the past 6 years running 2fm

Hector, Colm Hayes, Rick O' Shea, Will Leahy, Ruth Scott and Larry Gogan have been moved on over the past couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭TheLonelyOne

Sad to read her statement that she has decided to call time in Donnybrook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Jenny who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

greenpilot wrote: »
    Jenny who?

Jenny Greene, it says so in the thread title.

Try to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Just kidding....she got shafted by RTE. She should have fought her corner like Sharon Ni B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Thinks herself as above evening radio now. She's not good enough for a daytime slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Mainstream Irish Radio is the absolute pits lads, the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Best of luck to her.

Her Electric Disco show was like Larry Gogan's the Golden Hour for my generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Thinks herself as above evening radio now.
    She does?

All the best to her - one of the few presenters I like (for the awesome Electric Disco though, not the other yoke).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Would Jenny Greene move to Spin103 or 98FM or even move back to FM104?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭The_Wanderer

I think she would have been capable of holding a daytime show on her own merit.

Now we have that other Jennifer who I cannot stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭The_Wanderer

gamecube wrote: »
    I've had a bad feeling for a while that Jenny Greene would be pushed out the door when Nicky left

Dan Healy has been pretty ruthless over the past 6 years running 2fm

Hector, Colm Hayes, Rick O' Shea, Will Leahy, Ruth Scott and Larry Gogan have been moved on over the past couple of years.

And that view has just been confirmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Does 2fm make any money, pay it's way? What purpose does it serve that's not covered by umpteen commercial stations?

Useful for the odd international soccer or rugby match that Radio1 won't cover because of the GAA commitment that seems to insist that obscure fixtures should be covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I really like listening to Jenny - compared to a lot of female voices on the radio, hers was extremely easy on the ear.

Jennifer Z though, I doubt she'll be able to hold a show... her shtick gets tiresome quickly.

Poor decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Would Jenny Greene move to Spin103 or 98FM or even move back to FM104?

Why would she do that when she has a job for life in RTE. She'll go to one of the digital stations and live high on the hog like Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Why would she do that when she has a job for life in RTE. She'll go to one of the digital stations and live high on the hog like Larry.

With a listenership of two guys and a pig, somewhere in Co. Leitrim.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Maybe she isn't an RTE lifer. Not every presenter has a permanent job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Being made to play Sidekick Simon to Nicky Byrne was an insult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

I think most (maybe all) of the current presenters on 2FM are on contracts and are not actually employees of RTE. Otherwise, there are a number of presenters who would not have been let go from 2FM - I'm thinking of the ones who did not end up on RTE Gold!

As regards my suggestion of a possible move to Spin103, 98FM or (back to) FM104, I just thought they would be the best fit for Jenny post-2FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

I think most (maybe all) of the current presenters on 2FM are on contracts and are not actually employees of RTE. Otherwise, there are a number of presenters who would not have been let go from 2FM - I'm thinking of the ones who did not end up on RTE Gold!

As regards my suggestion of a possible move to Spin103, 98FM or (back to) FM104, I just thought they would be the best fit for Jenny post-2FM.

She won't be short of offers that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

Lunchtime slot on Today fm would be a good fit. She's a very competent presenter and dj so she won't be out of a job for long.
    Interesting that she mentioned John Clarke in the statement, given his news at the weekend I wonder had she been in contact with him.
    One thing I haven't seen is when is she leaving or she gone already out on gardening leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Glad she's gone from the radio, her fake laugh made me want to vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

i found her one of the few mainstream presenters on radio I liked.
    RTE are a shower of gimps losing her like that while keeping utter sh1te on flagship shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

goose2005 wrote:
    Being made to play Sidekick Simon to Nicky Byrne was an insult

100% her voice was like butter on a Friday night, I used drive to Mallow and I'd listen to her on 2FM on the way happy out playing all the classics I wouldn't even have thought about, great DJ had no business playing second fiddle to that twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Hailee Miniature Script

jvan wrote: »
    Lunchtime slot on Today fm would be a good fit. She's a very competent presenter and dj so she won't be out of a job for long.
    Interesting that she mentioned John Clarke in the statement, given his news at the weekend I wonder had she been in contact with him.
    One thing I haven't seen is when is she leaving or she gone already out on gardening leave.
    She'd be a vast improvement on anyone who is on Today FM's weekday schedule between 9am-9pm, tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

You'd really wonder what goes on in RTE. Jenny Greene is a real DJ, not some fluffy presenter. She was highly listenable on air. You could tell she knows her music inside out and she's a very solid presenter with an excellent radio voice.

2FM is supposed to be a music station. She is a phenomenaly good music presenter and is one of those DJs who can take you around a genre and make it almost education.

You need people like that for good music radio, otherwise you might as well listen to Spotify!

Sometimes I really like listening to a real muso who knows their stuff.

I wish her well and look forward to hearing her on a station that actually appreciates her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I like Jenny Greene, i would often be travelling home from visiting family on a saturday night and listening to her show was always excellent whilst driving for a few hours.

On the radio these days it was a pleasure to listen to someone who knew their music inside-out.
    Now who are 2fm left with Eoghan Snowflake Gender Fluid McDermott or Lottie I didnt get hired cause of my dad Ryan. They are the tip of an insufferable bunch of presenters whose only knowledge stems from Instagram, Twitter & Facebook, their actual presenting skills are dire and their voices are not radio friendly as they screech and shout half the time.

I will be sure to check Jenny out wherever she lands.

Anteayer wrote: »
    You'd really wonder what goes on in RTE. Jenny Greene is a real DJ, not some fluffy presenter. She was highly listenable on air. You could tell she knows her music inside out and she's a very solid presenter with an excellent radio voice.

2FM is supposed to be a music station. She is a phenomenaly good music presenter and is one of those DJs who can take you around a genre and make it almost education.

You need people like that for good music radio, otherwise you might as well listen to Spotify!

Sometimes I really like listening to a real muso who knows their stuff.

I wish her well and look forward to hearing her on a station that actually appreciates her.
    its like today fm, they are "content creators" not dj's and for some reason the higher ups of these stations, think people actually give two hoots about Eoghan McDermott's pontificating and sjw crusade or like Louise Duffy who chats to the news team about their opinions on some latest popular tv show....just give a brief intro to song/relevant news to the band theyre playing and there you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dazza181

Thank god shes gone. That fake laugh.. like a Hyena!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Acey10

What's happening with Nicky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Having had more time to think about it and actually read Jenny's statement I'm more annoyed at what she alludes to in her statement(which I hadn't read when I posted in the other thread) about being moved back to evenings. She spent along time to get a show on daytime radio and now she's been shafted(I mean Nicky Byrne isn't going away for ever) and I don't listen enough to 2fm in the mornings to have an opinion of Jennifer Zamperell, but was breakfast republic her first radio job ? I ask that because if it was, then that means she's never done a radio show solo. I'm not a radio expert I'm just someone who listens to a lot of it, but to me there is a different dynamic to being part of a team than being solo. Also what happens when Nicky comes back to 2fm ? Where's he going to fit in then ?

And, to the poster in the other thread who said Jenny greene is a poor radio presenter clearly haven't listened to her on radio enough or radio in Ireland in general and also I don't think she calls herself a radio presenter/content creator(I despise that term btw) either. She's a radio DJ which seems to be a dying breed in Irish radio.

So, I would be very surprised if she doesn't get a new gig very soon as she is too good to not be working in radio in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Acey10 wrote: »
    What's happening with Nicky?

Westlife reunion tour.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

greenpilot wrote: »
    Just kidding....she got shafted by RTE. She should have fought her corner like Sharon Ni B.

How was she shafted?

I liked her.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Having had more time to think about it and actually read Jenny's statement I'm more annoyed at what she alludes to in her statement(which I hadn't read when I posted in the other thread) about being moved back to evenings. She spent along time to get a show on daytime radio and now she's been shafted(I mean Nicky Byrne isn't going away for ever) and I don't listen enough to 2fm in the mornings to have an opinion of Jennifer Zamperell, but was breakfast republic her first radio job ? I ask that because if it was, then that means she's never done a radio show solo. I'm not a radio expert I'm just someone who listens to a lot of it, but to me there is a different dynamic to being part of a team than being solo. Also what happens when Nicky comes back to 2fm ? Where's he going to fit in then ?

And, to the poster in the other thread who said Jenny greene is a poor radio presenter clearly haven't listened to her on radio enough or radio in Ireland in general and also I don't think she calls herself a radio presenter/content creator(I despise that term btw) either. She's a radio DJ which seems to be a dying breed in Irish radio.

So, I would be very surprised if she doesn't get a new gig very soon as she is too good to not be working in radio in Ireland.

Maguire/Zampwhateveritis was on the English apprentice and eliminated mid way through and described as an "ice queen" which fits the schtick she portrays who now, couldn't get anything in England, now RTE jumped for her and she's apparently a comedian (most of her roles are the mean girl who "tells like it is") and other things....She's probably got the same agent as vogue Williams and amy Huberman who keep getting opportunities despite not being talented/entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Maguire is vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I think she was good, but ever so slightly over rated on here tbh! Maybe it’s her peers, including her replacement that make her seem an awful lot better than she actually is. But imo, she wouldn’t get near a prime time slot on 2FM in its prime (mid 1990’s) or Today FM (mid 00’s). She’d do well to get “an evening slot” in those eras imo.

I wonder does this mean the end of her involvement with the RTE concert orchestra too? As much as I thought it a bit unfair that she was never considered more than a sidekick on “the Nicky Byrne show”, on the flip side I thought it seemed ludicrous that her name was front and centre of the RTE orchestra / dance music gigs the last couple of years.

I attended one of the gigs and while the Orchestra and the vocalists were really impressive, Jenny just seemed to stand there with a laptop waving her arms about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Maguire/Zampwhateveritis was on the English apprentice and eliminated mid way through and described as an "ice queen" which fits the schtick she portrays who now, couldn't get anything in England, now RTE jumped for her and she's apparently a comedian (most of her roles are the mean girl who "tells like it is") and other things....She's probably got the same agent as vogue Williams and amy Huberman who keep getting opportunities despite not being talented/entertaining.
    Maguire is vile.

How is that on a thread about someone leaving a station, so many feel the need to denegrate other presenters?

Jenifer has done very well on the radio, Bridget and Eamonn has to considered successful whether you like it or not and also as a host on DWTS.

She might not be your cup of tea but you are choosing to ignore the evidence to lambast her as you have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I think she would have been capable of holding a daytime show on her own merit.

Now we have that other Jennifer who I cannot stand.

Yes I don't understand why 2fm would not give her a slot on her own

How is that on a thread about someone leaving a station, so many feel the need to denegrate other presenters?

Jenifer has done very well on the radio, Bridget and Eamonn has to considered successful whether you like it or not and also as a host on DWTS.

She might not be your cup of tea but you are choosing to ignore the evidence to lambast her as you have done.

hey maybe, heres a suggestion, people don't like the replacement...and https://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/rte-sitcom-bridget--eamons-9265379 numbers for the second season decreased for her "comedy" show (cant find season 3) but then again whoever selects/commissions RTE's comedy output has to be questioned....and people are getting annoyed at RTE putting more of the same faces in multiple roles/chances for new shows....

DWTS Ratings which she hosts falls " However, the first episode of season three drew 118,000 fewer viewers than the previous opener."
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/how-many-people-watch-dancing-13826622....hmpph rousing success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

RTE putting more of the same faces in multiple roles....

RTE have a long repeated history of doing this. An individual seems to do well in one presenting role and suddenly you just can't unsee them. They're getting every gig, regardless of suitability! So someone who excels at current affairs (e.g. Pat Kenny) is shoe-horned into light entertainment, just cos he's "the face" of the moment.

Gerry Ryan is the obvious example but there's been loads of others - Pat Kenny, Miriam, Tubridy, Kathryn Thomas, Ray D'Arcy, The Seoige sisters, Carrie Crowley...

Jen is ok but needs a partner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

JoeA3 wrote: »
    RTE have a long repeated history of doing this. An individual seems to do well in one presenting role and suddenly you just can't unsee them. They're getting every gig, regardless of suitability! So someone who excels at current affairs (e.g. Pat Kenny) is shoe-horned into light entertainment, just cos he's "the face" of the moment.

Gerry Ryan is the obvious example but there's been loads of others - Pat Kenny, Miriam, Tubridy, Kathryn Thomas, Ray D'Arcy, The Seoige sisters, Carrie Crowley...

lol was waiting for Carrie Crowley.

She is on Fair City now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Westlife reunion tour.

They need someone to make the tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Do we think it's likely that Jenny will be heard on the airwaves outside of Dublin ever again?

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SeanJ09

Worst thing is this means Lottie Ryan will be a permanent part of the morning slot on 2fm now.

Gerry's great great great great grand children will always have a job in Montrose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Officially removing it from my presents now. It's bad when the only show I'd consider listening to on the station is Chris & Ciara. The rest absolutely wreck my head.