Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kodiac v Tarracco v 5008

• 08-03-2019 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭

So was just looking for peoples opinions?

Test drove the Kodiac and the Tarraco within the last few days. Looked at the 5008 but they didnt have a diesel Automatic available for test drive.

Price wise i found the 5008 to be the better value when you included the spec on show but am wary of the resale value in reality for a Peugot and dint get a test drive so not sure, 130bhp on a 1.5 diesel seemed a little low.

The Tarracco was far better specced than the Kodiaq for the equivalent price biut not as much as the 5008.

And the Kodiaq spec isnt bad in reality for say €45k but again not as much as the other 2, i found the Kodiaq a nicer drive than the Tarraco on the short test drive but in reality over time does it become less and less noticeable.

Just looking for a little advice from owners of all 3 of them on what their thoughts and experiences were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I'd go for the Peugeot, wouldn't worry about the resale value, I'd go for the 2litre 5008, 1.6 is too small IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

All like with like prices?

All 7 seaters?

7 seater in a car this big is a must if you worry about resale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

All like with like prices?

All 7 seaters?

7 seater in a car this big is a must if you worry about resale

Yes all in around the €45k mark and all with 7 seats.

For that money the Peugeot is the best specced followed by the Tarraco and the Kodiaq.

We were edging towards a kodiaq since last year but the emergence of the Tarraco has given us a dilemma and when I looked into the spec available on the 5008 for the same money even more of a dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

All 4x4 ? (I know the 5008 does not have it)

freddieot wrote: »
    All 4x4 ? (I know the 5008 does not have it)

Actually for that money the Tarracco was the only 4 x 4 if memory serves me correct.

A friend of mine has the Kodiaq so I’ve driven it quite a bit and the Tarracco is practically the same.

I’m interested in people’s experiences of the 5008 as it’s a bit of an unknown for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

They're FWD as standard though, a nice to have but pushes both cost and fuel economy north and you'd have to question the need depending on main use.

In reality they're all good cars, the difference will be in taste really. Things like a virtual dash which the 5008 has make it feel a bit more tech, handling wise I've only driven the 4X4 SEAT and FWD Kodiaq but I think from a driving dynamic point of view the 5008 comes third. If things like a roof that has coloured lights at night is more impressive to you then you'll prefer a 5008.

The Tarraco has isofix in the front passenger seat and the 5008 has three in the rear but the Kodiaq only has two - might be a factor.

But again none of them are going to be a bad choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

The Tarracco has a nicer interior than the Kodiak but the Peugeot's dash is the best of the 3. All very good cars. Just choose the one you will be happy to have.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

How much is Tarraco auto? not on website

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    How much is Tarraco auto? not on website

Depends on the engine, the SEAT website is going through an update at the moment.

MarkN wrote: »
    Depends on the engine, the SEAT website is going through an update at the moment.

Petrol auto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Mark's review on the Tarraco..have to say I really like the look of it. The dash software looks fantastic.

It is a pity on non of these vehicles they haven't brought out a hybrid or PHEV version yet

At least the video above done a proper review and let you know what you would get in stop/start driving. Most of the time the review just read the BS number from the sales book

The Honda CR-V has a hybrid now. Probably doesn’t have the lust factor the same as the others but great space, reliable etc

Not with 7 seats

SAme as Outlander, 7 seats not available once you swap to Hybrid/PHEV

Sorry just meant crossover style vehicles not specifically 7 seaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yogi37

AMKC wrote: »
    The Tarracco has a nicer interior than the Kodiak but the Peugeot's dash is the best of the 3. All very good cars. Just choose the one you will be happy to have.

Which has the most space. Am going to be going for 7 seater later this year. I am motivated by the extra space due to size of family. I had been setting my sights on the 5008 as I heard it had the most interior space for the 7 seaters of that price range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭AgriLad

What about a Tiguan?

We have a new model one here, very nice car. 45k would buy a very high spec Tiguan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

You can get a 7-seater Kodiaq sutomatic for l€38k in Ambition style.

How big are the seats in the back of this, the first row? X-Trail or bigger?

I know the 5008 has 3 separate seats doesn't it? do they rest offer the same?

How big are the seats in the back of this, the first row? X-Trail or bigger?

I know the 5008 has 3 separate seats doesn't it? do they rest offer the same?

Separate seats unique to 5008. They all have an adjustable middle row as you’d get in front seats.

What would peoples opinions be in regards to petrol or diesel in any of these?

My default was always diesel but just wondering would petrol be better for future proof?

the kelt wrote: »
    What would peoples opinions be in regards to petrol or diesel in any of these?

My default was always diesel but just wondering would petrol be better for future proof?

Depends on what type of driving you are doing.

Really a hybrid or PHEV is hugely missed in this market place. The Volvo XC90 is PHEV but its 100k

Separate seats unique to 5008. They all have an adjustable middle row as you’d get in front seats.

Do you have space to put in 3 car seats so for kids? in the Kodiaq and Tarracco?

If by car seats you mean will you fit three isofix next to other other, in the Kodiaq, no. Tarraco you could make it work but an adult would have to sit in the middle row (or third) as you’d be using the front passenger isofix. The next stage up seats such as 4 years + would probably work and normal boosters would be grand.

It's two boosters and a maxi cosi axiss.....

Tried to get into Seat dealer but got stuck on M50

Seat Ireland came back and no price list, fecking joke.....how do you get an idea of the spec and options for auto's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

Seat Ireland came back and no price list, fecking joke.....how do you get an idea of the spec and options for auto's?

It's up on the SEAT configurator

https://configurator.seat.ie/seat-cc/desktop-desktop-009_DEFAULT-en-normal.view?msk=2

Had a look around one it's a nice machine prefer it to the Kodiaq. Back row seats are very tight though only for small children. They'd be too tight for teenagers. I'd sit in the back row of my Zafia tourer if I had to but I couldn't even put the middle seat down in the Tarraco. Boot is actually bigger in 7 seat mode in the Tarroco.

Rarely use the back row though but it has come in very handy and I do like the massive boot in 5 seat mode. If I was to change for a another 7 seater it could tempt me but more likely I'd save my money and go for a faster estate.

Ryath wrote: »
    It's up on the SEAT configurator

https://configurator.seat.ie/seat-cc/desktop-desktop-009_DEFAULT-en-normal.view?msk=2

Had a look around one it's a nice machine prefer it to the Kodiaq. Back row seats are very tight though only for small children. They'd be too tight for teenagers. I'd sit in the back row of my Zafia tourer if I had to but I couldn't even put the middle seat down in the Tarraco. Boot is actually bigger in 7 seat mode in the Tarroco.

Rarely use the back row though but it has come in very handy and I do like the massive boot in 5 seat mode. If I was to change for a another 7 seater it could tempt me but more likely I'd save my money and go for a faster estate.

Maybe I am doing something wrong, any of the options I pick and I only get the manual petrol 1.5TSi or the 2ltr TDI manual. No auto option:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

This I don't understand.

You make a massive vehicle for transporting families and don't make the row across the bench suitable for 3 kids.

What sort of research do these geniuses do?

I assume all of Europe is similar to here and UK in the use of child seats?

This makes the 5008 way more useful.

Not much use putting the 3rd child in the front seat but what self respecting adult is going to jam in between 2 kids for the next 3 years?

Can the 2 back seats take a non isofix booster?
    Would solve some of this in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

Maybe I am doing something wrong, any of the options I pick and I only get the manual petrol 1.5TSi or the 2ltr TDI manual. No auto option:confused:

Strange was sure it was there a few weeks ago. Wouldn't expect SEAT Ireland to be any help. I emailed a few months ago about the Leon when all that was on the configarator was the SE spec 1.0 petrol and 1.6 tdi and they had no info about it.

Think all most of the showroom Tarraco's are high spec 4WD 2L 190BHP DSG models are €55k plus. Salesman was saying it's going to be hard get buyers for them at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

5008 boot seems a bit small

This I don't understand.

You make a massive vehicle for transporting families and don't make the row across the bench suitable for 3 kids.

What sort of research do these geniuses do?

I assume all of Europe is similar to here and UK in the use of child seats?

This makes the 5008 way more useful.

Not much use putting the 3rd child in the front seat but what self respecting adult is going to jam in between 2 kids for the next 3 years?

Can the 2 back seats take a non isofix booster?
    Would solve some of this in my eyes.

Peugeot sales guy told me when people come in looking at a 5008 they encourage them to bring their own car seats from their car and stick them in the showroom model, it usually sells the car for them there and then. It’s a huge selling point.

You could use boosters in the extra rear two seats yes.

I also found if you moved the middle row forward a little in the Tarraco then the extra row legroom wasn’t too bad.

I actually have several child seats at the moment due to one child just after growing out of the 1-4 year old seat so I’ll try fit 3 seats into the crossover / 7 seater stuff that I’ve coming up as it might help.

One of the good things that VW and Seat do is the integrated booster seats. I first seen them many years ago in a Passat I got in from UK....

Why they dont offer them in more cars, especially in this size baffles me

No your not, there is no auto option with the seat configurator.

When I asked in the dealers they gave me a price of at least €44k with metallic paint for a se model Tarracco diesel auto.

That to me seemed a steep jump for auto and for that price youre up damn close to a style spec on a kodiac. You can get an ambition spec kodiaq for €40k which is my limit really.

Maybe the dealer was mistaken, don’t know.

No your not, there is no auto option with the seat configurator.

When I asked in the dealers they gave me a price of at least €44k with metallic paint for a se model Tarracco diesel auto.

That to me seemed a steep jump for auto and for that price youre up damn close to a style spec on a kodiac. You can get an ambition spec kodiaq for €40k which is my limit really.

Maybe the dealer was mistaken, don’t know.

It seems a large jump alright.....

Misses wants Kodiaq but I would prefer the Terraco.....must try go dealer today but I won’t be happy if just vague prices

In a VW badge I guess these are the Tiguan Allback?

Tiguan Allspace. It needs an R-Line kit inside and out though for me and that will also push the price.

I meant in terms of size? I guess they are all build and similar size inside??

Just to save me driving around all the garages.....

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

The Kodiaq is the largest on paper.

Allspace feels much smaller inside (especially narrower). I looked at one but by the time I specced it the way I wanted (leather etc.), it was way too expensive.

Went with a Kodiaq Style 4x4 190 in the end..

Price list for the 7 seater attached

The automatic is only 4WD which might explain the price jump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭wilser

If you want an automatic have a look at the Kodiak, automatic is €1000 cheaper than the manual for some reason.

wilser wrote: »
    If you want an automatic have a look at the Kodiak, automatic is €1000 cheaper than the manual for some reason.

By the looks of it the spec is fairly basic on the Kodiaq.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Have you looked at the Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento as well? Both 7 seaters and both good cars and in the same class as the 3 mentioned here.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    Have you looked at the Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento as well? Both 7 seaters and both good cars and in the same class as the 3 mentioned here.

PCP rates are terrible and the choice is limited for auto

I actually disagree but its a matter of what ye want really.

The ambition model Kodiaq for c 40K (2ltr diesel Auto) is what im going with having looked at the other options Tarracco and 5008.

In reality all that comes with the next spec up for me that interests me is the leather seats.

I can live without the other extras on the style but definitely would like the leather seats.

I actually disagree but its a matter of what ye want really.

The ambition model Kodiaq for c 40K (2ltr diesel Auto) is what im going with having looked at the other options Tarracco and 5008.

In reality all that comes with the next spec up for me that interests me is the leather seats.

I can live without the other extras on the style but definitely would like the leather seats.

So went to Skoda today. Started with Ambition till the guy told me I had gone past the cost of the Style with extra's so we jumped to the Style and then started adding the extra's to it....:p......was ok deal but no idea why Skoda have advertisement for 0% finance and a Kodiaq on picture but it is not available on Kodiaq....small bit of false advertising:mad:

Anyway headed over to Seat, they have no interest in selling to be honest. Current Tarraco available is way overspeced sales guy told me. Anything else is long delay, no 2WD auto and 12 months at least before a 2WD wil probably come in....got a quote anyway and the offer for trade in was woeful....like even Skoda guy admitted he was giving me a sh*t offer better offer than Seat. Skoda said they would do better if I was going to put in deposit by end of next week which was ok.....Seat, nah thats what I can sell your car for.....

Peugeot, well we will see.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Anyway headed over to Seat, they have no interest in selling to be honest. .....Seat, nah thats what I can sell your car for.....

I was going for a Kodiaq Ambition and like you the price shoots up with the few extras. I cut these extras down a bit and went to put a deposit down...Suddenly the price they quoted went up as they said I would be waiting a few months on the new car, and my trade in would lose €1,000-€1,500....they also said the new car had gone up in price by €1,000.....walked out of the showroom.

I had gone to Seat beforehand and was shocked at the level of interest in selling a Tarraco. I was given a trade value for my car and nothing off the list...left a bit perplexed. I then tried another dealer who could not have been more helpful....like polar opposites...I got a returned call when promised which was a shock after my previous experience trying to buy a car. I got the same trade value for my car, but he dropped €4,000 off the list price and had a service pack thrown in. I actually preferred the Tarraco initially but it was just a tad too expensive....this sealed the deal. Hoping to collect in the next week or two.

I'd say Peugeot will offer a better trade in price. The last week in March is a great time to buy a car as dealers want to get their Q1 figures as high as possible.

I was going for a Kodiaq Ambition and like you the price shoots up with the few extras. I cut these extras down a bit and went to put a deposit down...Suddenly the price they quoted went up as they said I would be waiting a few months on the new car, and my trade in would lose €1,000-€1,500....they also said the new car had gone up in price by €1,000.....walked out of the showroom.

I had gone to Seat beforehand and was shocked at the level of interest in selling a Tarraco. I was given a trade value for my car and nothing off the list...left a bit perplexed. I then tried another dealer who could not have been more helpful....like polar opposites...I got a returned call when promised which was a shock after my previous experience trying to buy a car. I got the same trade value for my car, but he dropped €4,000 off the list price and had a service pack thrown in. I actually preferred the Tarraco initially but it was just a tad too expensive....this sealed the deal. Hoping to collect in the next week or two.

Skoda more or less said the same, sounded to me like they knew they had a car in stock once we choose a colour and was pushing to close out....I mentioned about swapping something and suddenly it was 3 months and they wouldn't give trade in price against my car, would have to wait 3 months etc

Didn't mind to be honest but just the Skoda.....ehhhh....just a no for me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Hmmmm - Thread title promises so much and yet delivers no consensus at the end of the day.

Which vehicle is the best of these 3 folks?

- Whats the best 7 seater on the market as of March 2019?

Mango Joe wrote: »
    - Whats the best 7 seater on the market as of March 2019?

Depends :p

If you need a proper 7 seater with size for adults then Alhambra and Galaxy is the best job

The Tarracco looked good but options limited and over priced so wait for 12 months and could be good option

Kodiaq is good but personally its not for me and the back seat row is not going to hold 3 children seats

Peugeot is best for 3 kids seats in back row...

So as I say it depends.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Thanks for that - The kids are almost all out off car seats so the 3 separate seats isn't as much of an issue for us as it once would have been.

Must look once more at the S-Max, Galaxy and Alhambra as well as the others.

Technically a 6 seater would do - Used to be just the Honda FRV is there more since!?