Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The term Ban Garda might make a comeback...

• 01-03-2019 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭
    M

The French are bringing in feminine versions of job titles, could it be the return to the use of the term Ban Garda to describe a female Garda here?

Decades after other French-speaking countries adopted feminine names for professions, the official guardians of the language in France have also backed the change.

The Acade franse, whose members are known as "immortals", has said it has no obstacle in principle to such a "natural evolution" of French.
    Feminine forms for jobs like prosecutor or firefighter are already often used.
    But until recently the academy objected to such changes as "barbaric".

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-47414140

The French have never dropped the gender distinction between most job titles (it's a minor debate in France, at best), and most French people I've met are bewildered by our fixation with it.

Also, the Académie Française is not a liberal body, and its views shouldn't be regarded as progressive or as augering a progressive shift in language.

**Also: Bean Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

See nothing wrong with it but presume I am in the minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

If we can go back to calling female guards Ban Garda then that's feminism over for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

What's Trans-Garda as Gaeilge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is a bean gard the lad on the front gate in Heinz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Optimus?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

French has always had gendered nouns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭beerpong

The bean garda would want to be careful of all the bachelors!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

beerpong wrote: »

Lock up your daughters, Beany and Barney are hitting the town.

My granny refers to women managers as manageresses and it sounds so quaint and outdated.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    French has always had gendered nouns.

Love it!

Candie wrote: »
    My granny refers to women managers as manageresses and it sounds so quaint and outdated.

My Mum's birth certificate describes her Mum as a farmeress. Or it may have been her Mum's death certificate. Had to look at it twice before I even understood what it meant.

Seems it was a reasonably common term a few decades ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

Are the soyboys and wokebros in favour of this or appalled by it's 'sexism'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Really don't see how gendered job titles are discriminatory.

professore wrote: »

Me either but there will be others with an opposing view

I agree. I think it was far more relevant during the second wave (or was it the first wave?) of feminism when women were assumed to be naturally inferior to men.

Nowadays, if given the choice, I'd opt to be seen by a doctoress above a doctor! That's probably quite sexist, but anecdotally I have always thought female doctors were a little more rigorous in examining me whenever I've had a tumble or similar mishap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭holliehobbie

Isn't it Ban garda? Not Bean garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think you mean your Grandmotheress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Ban Garda and Man Garda. :P

Isn't it Ban garda? Not Bean garda.

Ban Garda makes no sense. What does it mean?

Bean Garda is the equivalent of Female Guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Means the guard is white.

We could have Bán Bean Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

My mother refers to 'lady doctors'. "We had to go to A&E last night and it was a lady doctor"
    Drives me fcuking insane! She never feels the need to say 'a man doctor'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Whos the sexy bean garda.... Whos the sexy bean garda.... Na na na nah!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,406 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I really don't see how gendered job titles are in any way necessary. What is the point of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

flick the Bean Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Once they bring back the skirts I'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,606 ✭✭✭✭blade1

beerpong wrote: »

No, they'd want to be careful,or they'll end up in the can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Bean Garda is the equivalent of Female Guard

The title was “Ban Garda”. Can’t remember the grammatical reason but “bean” changes to “ban” for the title

Having female variants of jobs/professions feels redundant. A female version should only be there if it adds something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Trasna Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

My mother refers to 'lady doctors'. "We had to go to A&E last night and it was a lady doctor" Drives me fcuking insane! She never feels the need to say 'a man doctor'

Yes. But similarly you always hear. Male nurse. And never female nurse. Which I know annoys a lot of those lads.

dudara wrote: »
    The title was “Ban Garda”. Can’t remember the grammatical reason but “bean” changes to “ban” for the title
    actually, you're right.

I was thinking 'Bean' was the object and Garda was modifying it, but actually it should be Garda that's the object. So according to our old enemy the Tuiseal Ginideach, Bean should change to Ban in that case.

I'm going to have a nightmare about the leaving cert tonight, after typing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Yes. But similarly you always hear. Male nurse. And never female nurse. Which I know annoys a lot of those lads.

Whenever a profession is dominated by one gender, people often remark when they see someone of the minority gender doing that job.

A relative's young daughter came home from school at the start of the school year and said, "Mammy, I have a new teacher, and he's a man."

Given that only 13 percent of Irish primary school teachers are men, getting a male teacher is now a noteworthy event for children.

Similarly, even though female Gardai now make up around 25 percent of the force, some people still feel compelled to make note when they see one.

However, terms such as "lady doctor" have fallen into disuse now that the majority of Irish doctors are women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

See nothing wrong with it but presume I am in the minority.

No your in the majority however due to our incessant pandering to the snowflake generation we have to bow to the minority....as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

dudara wrote: »
    Having female variants of jobs/professions feels redundant. A female version should only be there if it adds something different.

I don't bother with any of it. Sometimes we need to rein in the language, simple can be good.