Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Neverland - Michael Jackson Documentary [HBO]

• 20-02-2019 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

A trailer has been released for the controversial documentary. Set to air on March 3rd and 4th on HBO. Will air "later in the spring" on Channel 4, according to Buzz.ie.

The Jackson family, naturally, isn't at all happy with this documentary. They said, "Conveniently left out of Leaving Neverland was the fact that when Robson was denied a role in a Michael Jackson themed Cirque du Soleil production, his assault allegations suddenly emerged."

"We are extremely sympathetic to any legitimate victim of child abuse. This film, however, does those victims a disservice.

Because despite all the disingenuous denials made that this is not about money, it has always been about money – millions of dollars — dating back to 2013 when both Wade Robson and James Safechuck, who share the same law firm, launched their unsuccessful claims against Michael’s Estate.

Now that Michael is no longer here to defend himself, Robson, Safechuck and their lawyers continue their efforts to achieve notoriety and a payday by smearing him with the same allegations a jury found him innocent of when he was alive."

Could be an interesting watch.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,786 ✭✭✭brian_t

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Will air "later in the spring" on Channel 4, according to Buzz.ie.

It's on Channel 4 on Wednesday 6th March at 9pm acccording to DigiGuide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

Can they just leave the king of pop alone? He is gone

cena wrote: »
    Can they just leave the king of pop alone? He is gone

Jimmy Saville is gone too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Is this going to have the same impact on his legacy as that recent R Kelly documentary had on his?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,180 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Is this going to have the same impact on his legacy as that recent R Kelly documentary had on his?
    Well, R Kelly is still alive.. so.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,090 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Breaking News!! What Really Happened in "Leaving Neverland" and with Michael Jackson

https://youtube.com/watch?v=FJmUdkfHOVM

Wade Robson and James Safechuck are scumbag liars and it is all about money. And because Michael Jackson is dead, I don't think they(Robson and Safechuck) can be prosecuted, which they know.

reported in 2015 that Jackson made £134 million in payoffs to the families of 20 abuse victims

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/michael-jackson-paid-134-million-in-payoffs-to-stop-up-to-20-sex-abuse-victims-speaking-out-say-10159103.html

deluded if you think that there is nothing to this.

great music but he was a fcuking sick weirdo when it came to kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

He was a nonce. No fan wants their dream shattered but he was. David Bowie, a nonce. Still not accepted by fans (because the two 14 year olds consented).

When will people learn.

Hoboo wrote: »
    He was a nonce. No fan wants their dream shattered but he was. David Bowie, a nonce. Still not accepted by fans (because the two 14 year olds consented).

When will people learn.

not defending Bowie but I think the Jackson stuff is worse.

sligeach wrote: »
    Wade Robson and James Safechuck are scumbag liars and it is all about money.

I watched less then two minutes of that video.

They mention that their first guest has a book out about the case.

So yes I agree - it is all about money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

When will people learn.

Never knew that about Bowie that's sick.

glasso wrote: »
    reported in 2015 that Jackson made £134 million in payoffs to the families of 20 abuse victims

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/michael-jackson-paid-134-million-in-payoffs-to-stop-up-to-20-sex-abuse-victims-speaking-out-say-10159103.html

deluded if you think that there is nothing to this.

great music but he was a fcuking sick weirdo when it came to kids.

That case was laughed out of court. Waited over 25 years to speak out, ya right.
    brian_t wrote: »
    I watched less then two minutes of that video.

They mention that their first guest has a book out about the case.

So yes I agree - it is all about money.

Their book came out in 2004 and centres around the 1993 allegations, which she worked on and they're highly qualified to speak about the matter.

https://www.amazon.com/Redemption-Michael-Jackson-Molestation-Allegations/dp/1576880362

Thanks for being so dismissive. There's only ever been 4 alleged victims that have come forward, these 2 g0b$h1t€$, the proven fraudster family in 2005 and then the original w@nk€r, which was all about money, not justice. Michael was advised to settle the civil action as he was in the middle of the Dangerous world tour and it could have dragged out for years. There was never a criminal case, after 2 grand juries, and Michael didn't pay a single penny, his insurance company paid the money.

Do you honestly think someone could pay off 20 families and nobody would notice or say a thing about such a cover-up? Why didn't other victims come forward at the time in 1993? Someone mentioned Jimmy Saville earlier in the thread. There were literally hundreds and hundreds of victims there. Where are all of victims of Michael? A paedophile doesn’t molest once every decade, when the Jordy Chandler case emerged, there should have been an onslaught of victims coming forward, but there wasn't. Usually when a paedophile is caught, there's a whole history and trail of destruction.

I also think some people are just plain old racist. Michael was a black man who had a white man appearance and so some people seem to think it's fair game to bash him. When you look into the allegations you can see they're bogus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Dead men tell no tales!

Dead men can't defend themselves.

I also think some people are just plain old racist. Michael was a black man who had a white man appearance and so some people seem to think it's fair game to bash him. When you look into the allegations you can see they're bogus.

pull the race card out of nowhere - bs.

were you saying the same about Bill Cosby and R Kelly?

but he was a white man for a long time before these allegations anyway!

I'll watch the documentary and make up my own mind.

at the very least he was very strange with an unhealthy attraction to children - that neverland place was just bizarre and like a pied piper mansion.

Dead men can't defend themselves.

He had the option when he was alive but he chose to settle the case out of court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

you notice this of footage came from 90s where only vhs existed, where dvds didn't or bluray exist how did they retain of the footage, MJ has being dead for 10 years and they can't leave dead people in peace alone and let him RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭innuendo141

All the reviews coming from the mainstream media in the UK and US are quite worrying in that 99% do not mention the fact that these 2 men have changed their stories several times since 2012.

The first suit was filed sealed- looking for a quick buck. Then theres testimonys online where Robson emails his mother back and forth looking to piece together days and nights, that he then claims he remembers vividly. He went looking for a book deal before the 2nd suit was lodged. Safechuck says he didnt realise til he saw Robson on TV that hed been abused (which was Robsons initial claim) to then both starting they never forgot anything. They are far from credible. Tried to hide emails/evidence etc.

Whether you think he did it or not, whats been reported seems very distorted and leaves outa lot about the 2 mens prior dealings with the Jackson Estate.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Channel 4

Wed 06 Mar 2019 21:00 GMT 21:00 (01:50:00)
    Leaving Neverland: Michael Jackson and Me (Ep1/2): Two-part film telling the stories of two young boys who were befriended by singer Michael Jackson. In this film they speak out about the abuse they endured.

Thu 07 Mar 2019 21:00 GMT

And Channel 4 +1 too.

Always find it amusing the whole 'they just want to make money' rationale. Yeah, because pretending you were sexually abused and putting your family through that horrendous ordeal is always the classic go-to, get-rich plan, right?

We all remember that episode of Only Fools and Horses where Del tells Rodney his latest brilliant scheme: pretending he was sexually abused by a celebrity. "It can't fail, Rodders! Next year we'll be millionaires! Why's Grandad crying?"

Never ceases to amaze me the mental gymnastics people will put themselves through to defend someone who produced some albums they like. I'll keep an open mind for the documentary anyway.

Morrison J wrote: »

"Reveals"? Complete trash. She has been spouting this garbage since the 90's. She was put on the stand in 2005 during the Arvizo trial, and was absolutely destroyed. She was fired by Michael for stealing, and tried to sue him and not only did she lose... you know what, she's not worth my time, so read the comments here, since 60 Minutes disabled theirs, and learn some of the truth.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=Z_5grKwjS5g

https://michaeljacksonvindication2.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/april-8th-2005-trial-analysis-adrian-mcmanus-cross-examination-and-phillip-lemarque-direct-cross-examination-part-1-of-3/

https://michaeljacksonvindication2.wordpress.com/2012/12/22/april-8th-2005-trial-analysis-adrian-mcmanus-cross-examination-phillip-lemarque-direct-cross-examination-part-2-of-3/

https://michaeljacksonvindication2.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/april-8th-2005-trial-analysis-adrian-mcmanus-cross-examination-phillip-lemarque-direct-cross-examination-part-3-of-3/

She's a piece of dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

glasso wrote: »
    pull the race card out of nowhere - bs.

were you saying the same about Bill Cosby and R Kelly?

but he was a white man for a long time before these allegations anyway!

I'll watch the documentary and make up my own mind.

at the very least he was very strange with an unhealthy attraction to children - that neverland place was just bizarre and like a pied piper mansion.

Personally I would look for hard evidence rather than let a documentary sway me in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Always find it amusing the whole 'they just want to make money' rationale. Yeah, because pretending you were sexually abused and putting your family through that horrendous ordeal is always the classic go-to, get-rich plan, right?

We all remember that episode of Only Fools and Horses where Del tells Rodney his latest brilliant scheme: pretending he was sexually abused by a celebrity. "It can't fail, Rodders! Next year we'll be millionaires! Why's Grandad crying?"

Never ceases to amaze me the mental gymnastics people will put themselves through to defend someone who produced some albums they like. I'll keep an open mind for the documentary anyway.

So you honestly think someone would never lie, including claiming they were sexually abused, for financial gain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

During Jacksons trial in the mid-00's one of the accuser’s in the documentary, Wade Robson, testified that Jackson never abused him. He now claims he was manipulated and brainwashed. Would this not amount to perjury? Lying under oath? Surely revealing the sordid decades a decade ago would have resulted in Jackson getting charged.

In 2011, he approached the Jackson estate for a job to direct 'The Immortal World Tour' a Cirque-Du-Soleil like tribute show with Jackson holograms. He didn't get the job. In 2012, he had a nervous breakdown and claimed he was facing martial breakdown and financial ruin.

That same year, he then changed his mind and now claimed he was actually abused by Jackson. He shopped around for a book deal to pick up his accusations but no publishers were interested. It was quite a turnaround in opinion particularly when the person, weirdo and all that he was, that you’re accusing is dead and thus has no right of reply. Also consider that the Jackson estate since his death has earned $2.1 billion. That is a significant amount of money and the Jackson brand/publishing rights is a significant asset.

https%3A%2F%2Fblogs-images.forbes.com%2Fzackomalleygreenburg%2Ffiles%2F2018%2F08%2Fdownload.jpg

I think there is an ulterior motive, a financial one, with Wade Robson and his co-accuser looking to exploit the #metoo movement but the ulterior aspect being they sought to provoke the management of that asset to buy their silence and perhaps have them sign a non-disclosure agreement i.e. here's $1m but we'll take it back and sue you into oblivion if you ever mention MJ again.

Also no longer will stories about Jackson sharing a bed with boys shock people. We all know those stories since the Bashir documentary. What do you do in that case to get attention? You up the ante. Significantly. The more salacious it is the better to get media attention with a transparent motive being they would be very satisfied to receive a substantive cease and desist/STFU pay off from the Jackson estate. Their hedge being that either that estate will look to protect Jackson's reputation and the millions of dollars the publishing rights of his music generates annually or they participate in a documentary and receive royalties, appearance fee's from their involvement. Bear the above in mind when watching this deliberately one-sided documentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Are the three children he has, biologically his own, I think that their moms name was Debbie that worked in his doctor or dentists office when he met her, and is she part of their life

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    So you honestly think someone would never lie, including claiming they were sexually abused, for financial gain?

Do I think someone would never lie for financial gain? No. Do I think Jackson has managed to attract every single person capable of lying about sexual abuse to target him for money, out of sheer rotten luck? Also no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Do I think someone would never lie for financial gain? No. Do I think Jackson has managed to attract every single person capable of lying about sexual abuse to target him for money, out of sheer rotten luck? Also no.

Well that is not what you are saying here:

You are implying no one would ever lie about sexual abuse as a 'get rich quick' scheme.

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    You are implying no one would ever lie about sexual abuse as a 'get rich quick' scheme.

Er no, I'm ridiculing the feigning of sexual abuse for financial profit being presented as if it's a classic problem. To listen to Jackson's most fanatical followers one would think it is an epidemic within the court system concerning celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I could not understand why, a young man, wanted to spend all of his time around young boys, I have and am always been devious of that,

goat2 wrote: »
    I could not understand why, a young man, wanted to spend all of his time around young boys, I have and am always been devious of that,

You mean dubious. Your comment is somewhat devious. He didn't want to spend all of his time around young boys. Did you miss out on your childhood? Did you have no friends growing up? It's hard to imagine the effect of that would have on someone. He tried to compensate on things he missed on as a child later in life.

McCauley Culkin, Corey Feldman and Mark Lester have said these accusations are bogus. If you know the story behind the accusations in 93 and 05 then you know they're lies. And now you've 2 admitted liars coming forward when they had decades previously to do so and when Michael was alive.

Edit: I see now that Mark Lester was on The Late Late Show last night. Here's part of his interview.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=QrXipGZBgrY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

why wait 10 years after he died

confessing now after 10 years

they couldn't confess 9 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Hearing about the documentary and Jackson's name/Estate being dragged through the mud again, it must be infuriating for them knowing they've to deal with Safechuck & Robinson AGAIN.

And the fact that the evidence clearing Jackson of any kind of wrongdoing is out there and publicly available on the internet, brings me to something Slipknot front-man Corey Taylor said on Twitter recently (what he said is unrelated to the topic at hand), but the tweet is spot on when you think about how headline driven we as a society have become.
    As long as people are stupid, letting salacious headlines do their thinking for them, there will always be controversy. Do some research and find the truth- you’ll feel better... and look less ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

It's official, the illuminati murdered him. The man in the video says so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

All utter horse****, I certainly won't be watching that so called documentary anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I think it's all about money, or that they have been convinced by a so called Therapist that what Michael did with them was abuse. We all know he spent time with a lot of families at Neverland, Michael himself talked openly about that in the Bashir documentary, why on earth would he fully admit that he sleeps in same room as kids and defend it as right and loving. He told of sleep overs, and cookies and milk, and movies, why admit all these things to the world if he was up to other things.
    I'll believe it when Paris admits he abused her, or Prince. She's a girl with a lot on her mind, what that is no one knows.

Smertrius wrote: »
    why wait 10 years after he died

confessing now after 10 years

they couldn't confess 9 years ago

Have a read of this thread or elsewhere on the internet.

Very difficult to even get a fair hearing when so many have their minds closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

If your neighbour, a plumber, built a home specifically designed to attract children, created scenarios where the parents couldn’t be around so he could get them into his room and sleep in the same bed with them...that alone would be enough to mark him as inappropriate and worthy of a lot of close attention. People watch Abducted In Plain Sight and are horrified that parents would allow a grown man to stay in the same bed as their child. People react with shock at what parents allowed Barry Bennell to get away with as Crewe youth coach, the stuff they openly knew like having them over for regular sleepovers and taking them away on holidays. That’s enough for people to make up their mind on those cases.

Michael Jackson did all of this. It’s documented fact, he never even denied it himself. I haven’t mentioned anything sexual yet. But that alone is enough to mark the lad as extremely inappropriate and suspicious at the very least.

And have we learned nothing with people trotting out the “But why didn’t the kids say anything? Why are the parents defending them then?” logic?! This is all standard behaviour in these cases. Usually the nonces have the kids and parents brainwashed to cover their arses (mixed with the shame of parents having to admit they were **** parents who pretty much gave their children to an abuser on a platter publicly, as well as the absolute psychological mind**** that is dealing with sexual abuse as a victim, people often don’t tell their spouses about that much less want to talk about it on TV).

Take the blinkers off lads. ‘Man In The Mirror’ is still a tune, I agree. But if it quacks like a duck, it’s a duck. And if it builds a palace to attract children and separates them from their parents to share a bed with them, it’s a pedo.

They've pulled his music from BBC 2 radio apparently. So much for letting people decide for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

A documentary can never be a predetermined story, this one was start to finish. The conclusion as the end was written at the start.
    One could easily create another documentary making Jackson out to be most important person ever born, there is enough material there to make such a claim, but that too would not be the reality.
    A true documentary focuses on facts, on balance and on the viewer making their own minds up, this was a butcher job start to finish, with no facts or evidence to back up the story being told. It was as one sided as it could be.
    I'm more likely to have faith in the American Judicial System and the professionals who put him on trial and threw everything they had at him only for him to walk away an innocent man. Child abusers who stand trial NEVER walk free, if they're guilty then there is an abundant of evidence there to convict them, that trial had nothing concrete only stories, stories of hot air balloons and Jesus juice.
    I never saw a man so happy to go on trial, a man who danced on top of his Limo and spoke of lies running sprints, but of truth running marathons.

I was a boy in Michael Jackson’s life, and nothing of what he’s being accused of in this documentary happened

https://talunzeitoun.com/2019/01/30/michael-jackson-and-me/

I encourage EVERYBODY to read this.

What You Should Know About the New Michael Jackson Documentary

Just an excerpt:
    When Michael Jackson died in 2009, Wade Robson—the former choreographer whose allegations of abuse are at the center of a controversial new documentary, Leaving Neverland—wrote in tribute to his friend:

"Michael Jackson changed the world and, more personally, my life forever. He is the reason I dance, the reason I make music, and one of the main reasons I believe in the pure goodness of humankind. He has been a close friend of mine for 20 years. His music, his movement, his personal words of inspiration and encouragement and his unconditional love will live inside of me forever. I will miss him immeasurably, but I know that he is now at peace and enchanting the heavens with a melody and a moonwalk."

Robson was twenty-seven years old at the time. Four years earlier, he testified at Jackson’s 2005 trial (as an adult) that nothing sexual ever happened between them. Prior to the trial Robson hadn’t seen Jackson for years and was under no obligation to be a witness for the defense. He faced a withering cross-examination, understanding the penalty of perjury for lying under oath. But Robson adamantly, confidently, and credibly asserted that nothing sexual ever happened.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/joevogel/2019/01/29/what-you-should-know-about-the-new-michael-jackson-documentary/

Another great read. I think some people are more interested in being part of a social media lynch mob than about hearing the TRUTH. That quote above from Wade Robson is just a small part of what makes his revised account so incredulous.

Brett Barnes, a kid Robson implies was Jacksons "next victim" in the film has taken a suit against HBO demanding any images and reference to him be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

One could easily create another documentary making Jackson out to be most important person ever born, there is enough material there to make such a claim

Baaaaahaaaa, I nearly choked on my latte.

Damn, maybe next time we'll get lucky. :(

leggo wrote: »
    If your neighbour, a plumber, built a home specifically designed to attract children, created scenarios where the parents couldn’t be around so he could get them into his room and sleep in the same bed with them...that alone would be enough to mark him as inappropriate and worthy of a lot of close attention. People watch Abducted In Plain Sight and are horrified that parents would allow a grown man to stay in the same bed as their child. People react with shock at what parents allowed Barry Bennell to get away with as Crewe youth coach, the stuff they openly knew like having them over for regular sleepovers and taking them away on holidays. That’s enough for people to make up their mind on those cases.

Michael Jackson did all of this. It’s documented fact, he never even denied it himself. I haven’t mentioned anything sexual yet. But that alone is enough to mark the lad as extremely inappropriate and suspicious at the very least.

And have we learned nothing with people trotting out the “But why didn’t the kids say anything? Why are the parents defending them then?” logic?! This is all standard behaviour in these cases. Usually the nonces have the kids and parents brainwashed to cover their arses (mixed with the shame of parents having to admit they were **** parents who pretty much gave their children to an abuser on a platter publicly, as well as the absolute psychological mind**** that is dealing with sexual abuse as a victim, people often don’t tell their spouses about that much less want to talk about it on TV).

Take the blinkers off lads. ‘Man In The Mirror’ is still a tune, I agree. But if it quacks like a duck, it’s a duck. And if it builds a palace to attract children and separates them from their parents to share a bed with them, it’s a pedo.

Excellent post.

It's a good rule of thumb when dealing with scandals like these involving famous people to ask 'what would the reaction be if this involved an ordinary Joe Soap, a Catholic priest, a teacher' etc.

Would it be remotely comparable? Would people shrug their shoulders if one of the above members of society said they thought it was a beautiful thing to share a bed with children?

If the answer is no, then it's useful for those who dismiss the allegations and shame those coming forward to ask themselves if they are really being blinded by celebrity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭JohnCreedon81

The more I read about this documentary the more I want to avoid it. Sounds like the most one sided pile of crap ever.