Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 years same company only 50c payrise.

• 19-02-2019 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭

Is that not a bit of a kick in the face?

I started a job about 9 months ago on minimum wage. In the contract it was stated it would go up 10c after 6 months which it did then when the minimum wage went up in january they said ah f it we will give ye a tenner an hour. Happy days for all us young people in there having the job for pocket money and all that.

Woman i was chatting away to says she is there 10 years and her wages have gone up 50 cent.

I could not believe this! Some of us going up 50c in 9 months and her 10 years.

If that doesnt scream 'we dont value you' i dunno what does...

Disclaimer: its a level entry job which only really has one option for progression (TL) call centre. But still?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I could not believe this!
    And you shouldn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

****e, I left the grill on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I think you should be more shocked by your colleague spending 10 years in a call centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

We had a recession in those intervening years. My pay has only just come back to 2007 levels this year. Loads of people lost jobs and wages collapsed in those years. When she says 50c in 10 years, ask if it fell and has only just come back to the same level again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭floatwinner

Yeah but he's a great rapper. It's only right he gets more than the rest of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,290 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

If she's been doing the same job all along, then why should the wage have gone up, given that inflation was very low as well.

Obviously she's happy enough, or she would have bothered herself to find a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

name & shame OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

o1s1n wrote: »
    I think you should be more shocked by your colleague spending 10 years in a call centre.

True

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

There’s very little room for improvement or progression in CC work in general and I doubt anyone who has sat there for 10 years on the same wage has much improvement to offer, so I’m not surprised.

amcalester wrote: »
    There’s very little room for improvement or progression in CC work in general and I doubt anyone who has sat there for 10 years on the same wage has much improvement to offer, so I’m not surprised.

Yeah i suppose it just gave me a view of reality what life would be like if i didnt progress my education further!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

You re some ungrateful bastard op, keep recovery going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Woman i was chatting away to says she is there 10 years and her wages have gone up 50 cent.

Then she is an utter fool with nobody to blame but herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Yeah i suppose it just gave me a view of reality what life would be like if i didnt progress my education further!

You have 3 choices -

1 progress internally (either to TL or into non CC work)
    2 be happy in your lot
    3 gain some experience and leave

Options 1 and 3 will probably involve some education or upskilling.

There are good skills to be gained in CC work but it can be draining as well, best to decide why you’re there early so you can manage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

sugarman wrote: »
    Doesnt seem like shes the one complaining, maybe she just likes it there? Money isnt everything to everyone.

Could be that its close to home and/or family, near the kids school, flexible working hours. Maybe her husband/partner is a big earner and their combined income is more than enough. Theres a multitude of reasons why someone would stick it out.

Not complaining won't make her any less of a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Minimum wage has gone up by about a euro during since 2009 so sounds like your colleague is spoofing if they also started there on minimum wage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Call centre work is a race to the bottom. Most companies who outsourced that work to companies like Abtran are thinking of bringing it back in-house. Try and get the vast majority of customers to do self-service or use chatbots, and have a small cohort of employees actually dealing with customers through voice. Margins are razor thin in general.

For example, there’s a well known company in Ireland who make no profit off a customer if they deal with the call centre for more than 8 minutes.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Does that woman sit inside an arcade machine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Public service pay cuts in what. 2007?.. Whatever, I've lost count. But when it happened that's been my wages since and not a cent more.. Cry me a river, I don't care.

Nixxered in various private sector jobs (security mostly), got yearly pay rises.. Why do I stay in the defence forces?.. I love it.

Wanderer78 wrote: »

Will do wanderer 😉

Ohmeha wrote: »
    Minimum wage has gone up by about a euro during since 2009 so sounds like your colleague is spoofing if they also started there on minimum wage

My bad. I forgot that.. Suppose my point was really just being shocked at how little 10 years of service clearly means in a somewhat dead end job

Wanderer78 wrote: »

How am i ungrateful btw? Please dont say 'for having a job'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Public service pay cuts in what. 2007?.. Whatever, I've lost count. But when it happened that's been my wages since and not a cent more.. Cry me a river, I don't care.

Nixxered in various private sector jobs (security mostly), got yearly pay rises.. Why do I stay in the defence forces?.. I love it.

Do you not get increments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

That's her problem for probably never mentioning it to her boss.
    A quiet child gets no sweets.

That's her problem for probably never mentioning it to her boss.
    A quiet child gets no sweets.

Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Minimum wage has increased by €1.20 in the last ten years (€2.20 strictly speaking since it was cut by €1 in 2010). So she's either full of it, or she earns more than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

How am i ungrateful btw? Please dont say 'for having a job'

Ah it's ah, I was only taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

o1s1n wrote: »

She's very dedicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Some people are incapable of asking for more.

Most employers don't go around increasing employees wages 'just because'.

If you want something, go ask for it. 'No' would be the worst thing that could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

My bad. I forgot that.. Suppose my point was really just being shocked at how little 10 years of service clearly means in a somewhat dead end job
    It's not prison or the public service. In the private sector thankfully you don't get rewarded for "time served". In that intervening 10 years I've more than doubled my salary, through upskilling and showing why I deserve to be paid more. Others that started in the same (basic) role I started in are still there, whinging why amn't I promoted.
    Call centre work is a race to the bottom. Most companies who outsourced that work to companies like Abtran are thinking of bringing it back in-house. Try and get the vast majority of customers to do self-service or use chatbots, and have a small cohort of employees actually dealing with customers through voice. Margins are razor thin in general.

For example, there’s a well known company in Ireland who make no profit off a customer if they deal with the call centre for more than 8 minutes.

Call centres are a necessary evil for most companies, a dead cost, that they are required in a lot of cases to offer as a prerequisite to doing business but that the company would rather not have.