Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home of the year 2019

• 19-02-2019 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭

Didn't see a thread on this already, but feel free to correct me if I'm wrong :)

Ah, who is this new guy and what have they done with Patrick Bradley? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Watched it, was also sad Bradley wasn't in it but I assume he's ridiculously busy now, apparently his business really took off.

To the houses, I think the right one made it today.
    The first was a beautiful house but the decoration was kinda tacky and boring imo. The whole matchy-matchy didn't help their case either.
    The second was nice but I don't dig a nautical theme, no matter how pretty it is.

I was screaming at the screen when Deirdre was writing the "8". Who the f writes an 8 like that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I liked the first one myself.

I noticed that with Deirdre's handwriting, but I think it might be because she's left handed.

I'm left-handed, so is my partner, my son and my mother and I've never seen anything like it :D

LirW wrote: »
    I'm left-handed, so is my partner, my son and my mother and I've never seen anything like it :D

Are any of you artistic? Most of the lefties I know are all very good at art.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Glad this is back. On for eight weeks, the supergarden programme should be on then soon enough after it, assuming it's making a return. :)

The homes tonight were so interesting, it's the way Deirdre writes an '8' that got everyone's attention. :D

I really liked the last house too. I can't remember seeing any of them get a 10 before so was pretty impressed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Didn't see a thread on this already, but feel free to correct me if I'm wrong :)

Ah, who is this new guy and what have they done with Patrick Bradley? :confused:

Paddy was great. His Grand Designs episode remains one of my favourites-he comes across so well. New guy was on Celebrity Home of the Year. His voting can often be quite different than other judges. Winning house tonight was beautiful-very unusual to have 2 tens this early in the competition...will take a lot to beat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

So glad this show is back! Thought the houses got better as the first episode moved along.
    The first house seemed to have all this space but didn't really do anything with it. I'd imagine that kitchen with mezzanine would be quite echoey. Was there a lift in the building - can't imagine the couple in 15/20 years time going up all those flights of stairs. Does she have to carry all the groceries upstairs?
    2nd house was nice, the house had a lot less room inside that what it looked from outside but they used the space well. Loved that little table area out in the patio.
    3rd house was my favourite. Deceiving looking house, a lot more room inside than how it looked from the outside. Loved their use of colours I wouldn't think to put on a wall, green, navy. Lovely little fittings and details in the house.

My son had a chuckle at her writing the number 8 - he said it looked like a snowman melting and the head was sliding off!

Are any of you artistic? Most of the lefties I know are all very good at art.

I graduated from art school, my mother is an artist, my son has no patience for it and himself is too busy for art but I find he's creative once you get him out of the shell.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    So glad this show is back! Thought the houses got better as the first episode moved along.
    The first house seemed to have all this space but didn't really do anything with it. I'd imagine that kitchen with mezzanine would be quite echoey. Was there a lift in the building - can't imagine the couple in 15/20 years time going up all those flights of stairs. Does she have to carry all the groceries upstairs?
    2nd house was nice, the house had a lot less room inside that what it looked from outside but they used the space well. Loved that little table area out in the patio.
    3rd house was my favourite. Deceiving looking house, a lot more room inside than how it looked from the outside. Loved their use of colours I wouldn't think to put on a wall, green, navy. Lovely little fittings and details in the house.

My son had a chuckle at her writing the number 8 - he said it looked like a snowman melting and the head was sliding off!

Seeing the first and the second back to back made me realise that I prefer to live in a smaller space... My thought always is about the cleaning and upkeep of a big space!
    But as always, this show is so much about individual taste and at the end of the day so many places are fab!

I think the house from oldvictoriannew will be featured this year, I'm really looking forward to that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

I enjoyed the programme and like most of you I loved the last house. They were brave to use such dark colours in a small house but it really worked. Great sense of style.
    As for the 8 :eek: WFT !
    I can't remember her name but the female designer who did the show before Deirdre had the most amazing writing. We used to be in awe of the way she did her numbers.

honeybear wrote: »
    Paddy was great. His Grand Designs episode remains one of my favourites-he comes across so well.

I've searched online for that episode before, but never been able to find it. A 10 minute clip is the best I can get. By any chance, do you know if the full episode is available anywhere?

It's on the All4 player. Paddy is lovely on it. The site is amazing. End result pretty special. Cost is unbelievable (with the exception of the bath!!!)

Just had a look there, but can't find it :(

Think it's on dailymotion too (shipping containers episode)

Found it on there. Thanks a million :pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

That last house was a stunner, so cost as well.
    The house in Co down was soulless, not my thing at all.

Paddy was great. His Grand Designs episode remains one of my favourites-he comes across so well.
    Grew to love his house on Grand Designs - just loved his way of thinking. Really enjoyed him as a judge on Home of the Year, he was a welcome addition to the judging panel.

That place in Belfast wow!
    Absolute mansion of a place.

That place in cork....I just don't get the appeal are all...

I didn't like the first house - the Victoria with modern extension. Loved the glass in the front porch and the front door - after that it was a no for me. It was hard to put my finger on it but it felt like a very grey dull kind of house - it lacked warmth and colour. Fab access directly on to the beach but then blocked the beach views from the bedroom window.

I think the second house - the mansion in Belfast was very impressive. I thought I wasn't going to like it but I actually did. It was very well restored and got the balance right between the original style and the modern elements. Huge house though.

The last house was ok - I can see why it was on the program. I felt it was more of a house that was preserved, rather than restored, if that makes sense. It felt like you had stepped back in time and you'd wonder how comfortable it would be for modern day living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

gmisk wrote: »
    That place in Belfast wow!
    Absolute mansion of a place.

That place in cork....I just don't get the appeal are all...

The one in Belfast was pretty much a castle.

It's an extreme programme really, I guess '**** home of the year' or 'regular home of the year' wouldn't get much of an audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Brave use of colour in the first house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

I think they overdid it a bit with the paint. Fair play to them for being so brave but I didn't like the walls/doors/architraves/radiators all painted the same. Lovely house all the same, best of luck to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Deirdre’s predecessor had the most glorious handwriting. For that reason alone she should have been retained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭angeleyes

Did you all enjoy last night's show? The house in Limerick is not that far from where I live so delighted to get a peep inside. Not mad about all the statues in the house. I liked the purple kitchen, not my style but it worked well in the house.

I loved the colour schemes in the second home but this as well as a lot of other houses are well guilty of going ott trying to create "style" in their homes and the judges are noticing it.

angeleyes wrote: »
    Did you all enjoy last night's show? The house in Limerick is not that far from where I live so delighted to get a peep inside. Not mad about all the statues in the house. I liked the purple kitchen, not my style but it worked well in the house.

I loved the colour schemes in the second home but this as well as a lot of other houses are well guilty of going ott trying to create "style" in their homes and the judges are noticing it.
    I thought the church last night was absolutely bizarre, literally my least favourite house I have seen on this show.
    Shall we go have dinner on the coffin?....what the hell!

The second house was perfect for what it was, if it was overstyled....what the heck about the first one?!?!

I loved the last house, the wheelchair accessible one, timeless bright and airy.

I liked the church house, but I'd be taking a few statues out if it was me!

The second house was nice, but if I see ONE more Belfast sink! I HATE them and they seem to be in 90% of houses that the judges visit.

Wasn't too keen on the third house. I din't like that plywood style kitchen at all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

angeleyes wrote: »
    I've been posting about this in the other Home of the Year thread in Reality TV. Didn't know there were two threads!
    As I said there, I didn't like the church house at all. Eurgh. I thought House 3 was far better. The statues and coffin just gave me the creeps. I found it strange and oppressive.

I'm finding this year's homes are a lot more weird and wonderful, and have included several what I'd call mansions. I know it's Home of The Year but I'd like to see a few more normal houses that are still decorated well. Maybe I'm just boring. :pac:

gmisk wrote: »
    I thought the church last night was absolutely bizarre, literally my least favourite house I have seen on this show.
    Shall we go have dinner on the coffin?....what the hell!

The second house was perfect for what it was, if it was overstyled....what the heck about the first one?!?!

I loved the last house, the wheelchair accessible one, timeless bright and airy.

The coffin table “killed me” also! Delighted it got through though-a labour of love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭airnwater

Liked the church , work of art , nice to see someone with a creative vision & who did the majority of work themselves , get a high score from the judges !

Afaik it was in Open House a couple of years back , so lots of inquisitive folk were able to wander through it !

I think quite a few houses in the series could well almost be blank cheque builds , with pro architects / designers / builders / landscapers etc , so it's nice to see the judges look past that.

Loved the derelict 1948 Cadillac 60 special parked out front too :)

Will be interesting to see how the final goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Fantomas9mm

Hey folks.

Didn’t see a 2020 thread .

Is it possible to go online and look at floor plans for the houses that were finalists ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

2020 thread is here
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057403964&page=23

Doubt you're going to find floor plans, they never showed them in the program itself