Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car without tax or nct

• 03-02-2019 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭

I'm going to buy a new to me car next week which has no tax or NCT at present. Tax I know I will be liable for from the beginning of this month. However, with the NCT I'm wondering if I booked it for an appointment on the day I collect it, can I put it through the test without a logbook or tax?

If like peace of mind if having it tested don't rather than later, the waiting list in Dublin is quite long but I could drive it home and put it through there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭upinsmoke

jozi wrote: »
    I'm going to buy a new to me car next week which has no tax or NCT at present. Tax I know I will be liable for from the beginning of this month. However, with the NCT I'm wondering if I booked it for an appointment on the day I collect it, can I put it through the test without a logbook or tax?

If like peace of mind if having it tested don't rather than later, the waiting list in Dublin is quite long but I could drive it home and put it through there.

Why doesn't the current owner put it through the NCT first? Major red flag there.

Are you convinced it's going to pass or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Car has been parked up for awhile without tax, NCT just expired. I've test driven it and all seems to be in order, I'm no expert but I would be expecting it to pass

If they put it there I wouldn't be able to afford it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭upinsmoke

Wouldn't be forking out any money without NCT, could be 10 things wrong with it and could still drive okay e.g emissions, hand break cable, suspensions, shocks, rust. There's just some things off the top of my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Car has been parked up for awhile without tax, NCT just expired. I've test driven it and all seems to be in order, I'm no expert but I would be expecting it to pass

You can't afford a car then.

Don't be cutting corners. Do it right or don't do it at all. You don't want to kill yourself, or even worse someone else. You're off to a very bad start when you haven't even bought a vehicle and your trying to cut corners. 20 years ago maybe that was acceptable. It's not now. Do it right or don't do it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

myshirt wrote: »

You can't afford a car then.

Don't be cutting corners. Do it right or don't do it at all. You don't want to kill yourself, or even worse someone else. You're off to a very bad start when you haven't even bought a vehicle and your trying to cut corners. 20 years ago maybe that was acceptable. It's not now. Do it right or don't do it at all.
    What are you on about?
    Plenty of people buy cars without an Nct. What's the big deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

y
    Car has been parked up for awhile without tax, NCT just expired. I've test driven it and all seems to be in order, I'm no expert but I would be expecting it to pass.

If the owner was as sure as you, that it would pass, he'd test it and add 250 to the price.
    Play in joints and bushings, rust, corrosion, corroded brake pipes, endless list of failure points that would not be noticeable whilst taking a test drive.

You need to factor in 2 test fees and 400 or 500 parts and labour into your price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I wouldn't buy it without an nct.
    Only recently I sold a car and got it nct certified to sell it. Peace of mind for the seller and me to know it's road worthy it too was a left sitting for two years car by elderly relation. The car could have some fair work needed for sitting idle too.
    Don't buy with least nct for your own sake.
    If you do once it is booked for a nct and you are traveling to that nct centre you can show to a Garda that it's being driven for the purpose of getting nct. Transfer your insurance though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

kermitpwee wrote: »
    What are you on about?
    Most people who buy it without the NCT have the money to do it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Madness even for contemplating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Jaysis lads, bit of an over reaction there, we don't even know what car it is, never mind mileage, condition, service history etc.

It could be a 151 Toyota Yaris with 10k on the clock being sold by the family of an old lady who's had to give up driving.

It'd be a different story if he's buying an ex taxi Mk2 Mondeo petrol with 450k kms or something.

OP, what are you buying? You definitely aren't excessively crazy, IMO anyway, it's a fairly ordinary thing to do. Maybe a shade risky, but it's highly unlikely anyone will die, or at least not until we know more.

You can put it through an NCT test without the logbook or road tax, photo ID will do. The thing is i'd say you'd be better to buy the car first and book an NCT for a fortnights time, that way all the paperwork is in your name and you probably will be waiting at least a week for a booking in a Dublin centre at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

There's a risk involved that you could get stung with a list of repairs that need to be done to get it to pass the NCT.

But I've seen plenty of people not bothering to put the car through the NCT before selling it as they just want to get rid of the car and aren't bothered to go through the hassle of the NCT.

Just be wary that if he's not willing to put it through himself, and you're thinking of buying it because it's cheaper than one with an NCT and just in your price range, there's more than likely going to be a repair bill involved.

What are you on about?
    the_syco wrote: »
    Most people who buy it without the NCT have the money to do it up.
    Jaysis lads, bit of an over reaction there, we don't even know what car it is, never mind mileage, condition, service history etc.

[snip]

You can put it through an NCT test without the logbook or road tax, photo ID will do. The thing is i'd say you'd be better to buy the car first and book an NCT for a fortnights time, that way all the paperwork is in your name and you probably will be waiting at least a week for a booking in a Dublin centre at the moment.
    There's a risk involved that you could get stung with a list of repairs that need to be done to get it to pass the NCT.

But I've seen plenty of people not bothering to put the car through the NCT before selling it as they just want to get rid of the car and aren't bothered to go through the hassle of the NCT.

Just be wary that if he's not willing to put it through himself, and you're thinking of buying it because it's cheaper than one with an NCT and just in your price range, there's more than likely going to be a repair bill involved.

Thanks all. I'm very aware of the risk and willing to take it, there is a sum of money set aside for any potential work it may need. Car is a mini, it's very well minded with a good service history. PO's circumstances prevented them from putting it through before I got to see it. It's as good as, if not better, than some others I looked at WITH a valid nct. We all know it can be a shambles anyway!

My insurance renewal is due at the end of the month, ideally I have this put through the nct before then, handed over to a mechanic for a good service all before my renewal (quotes on my current car are higher). Worst case I'll know this weekend what it needs and have a month to sort them with a retest.

I just wasn't sure, logistically, on testing it immediately after taking ownership of the car and not having paper work etc back (don't worry, my own insurance will be transferred for the day). I believe it's a fine and points driving without a valid nct. I know back in the day if you could prove you had the test booked you were fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

PO's circumstances prevented them from putting it through before I got to see it.
    At the very least, drive it around the yard. How long has it been sitting up? Things can happen when the car hasn't moved for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I say go for it. Fu ck it, take a chance, just screw the seller down as best you can due to no test, so you have more to cover potential repairs.
    Let us all know if she flies or flops the test.

How old is the mini?

I thought I respond earlier. While it has been sitting up I think it might have been used the odd time to keep it going, it's only been a few months. There was little to no sign of it sitting up really, interior was bone dry, bit of green growth here and there (my own car had that after Christmas also). Tax is out and nct due last month, 4k miles since the last nct, I think it will be ok.

Deal has been made, getting it this weekend. I missed out on dates near home but got one for Dublin Tue week so we'll see then how it goes.

It's a new mini, 1st gen, not the old one unfortunately, I'll leave those to my brother to drive around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

I wanted to sell my Mini last summer. I absolutely loved the car and treated it the like a baby. It was a stunning fully loaded Cooper. The Nct was coming up so I put it in before selling (I couldn't see anybody buying a car without an NCT, that's madness in my opinion.)
    The car failed emissions. We tried a few little tricks of the trade and tested it again, failed again. The car went from offers of 5k to offers of €500 on done deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I thought I respond earlier. While it has been sitting up I think it might have been used the odd time to keep it going, it's only been a few months. There was little to no sign of it sitting up really, interior was bone dry, bit of green growth here and there (my own car had that after Christmas also). Tax is out and nct due last month, 4k miles since the last nct, I think it will be ok.

Deal has been made, getting it this weekend. I missed out on dates near home but got one for Dublin Tue week so we'll see then how it goes.

It's a new mini, 1st gen, not the old one unfortunately, I'll leave those to my brother to drive around!

its not an 02 blue cork reg one is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Just be aware you can't legally drive a car in a public place without a valid NCT and it carries a fine and points of caught doing so.

Change of ownership isn't as big an issue or if the car is signed off the road.

When signed off the road this is the only time a untaxed vehicle can be driven on the road to a booked NCT test.

Gardai of course can use discretion but it is something to be aware of.

PS should also add that the car was in super condition and running fine, you'd never know there was as a problem and the cat had to be replaced,was going to cost €800 approximately. OP you are more than likely making a mistake with this. A 1st generation Mini is between 13 and 19 years old swell, there's loads of them to be picked up cheaply (with an NCT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Do yourself a favour and consider a different make of car... The novelty wont be long waring off. This is coming from somebody that's used to maintaining BMW Mini's.... I'll put it this way, my sister and a cousin were lucky they had me as a relation when it came to looking after their Mini's.

Over priced, expensive scrap box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Also OP, it's also wise to speak to a mechanic when viewing a private sale... Where are you based?

I can't imagine the price difference between a 1st gen mini without any NCT that's been sitting up and a cleaner one with NCT being worth it. Unless you're getting it for well over a grand or more under the average price then I wouldn't bother. They're troublesome cars when they're running.

In this case I get the feeling there's a reason he hadn't bothered putting it through the NCT.

Jesus Christ some amount of control freaks on here that haven't a clue!!
    Let him buy the car and mind your own business, ohhhhh my car has a Nct it's therefore a great car! Clowns 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

What are you on about?

You're grabbing the wrong end of the stick. The man said if the vendor put it through the NCT then he wouldn't be able to afford the car. If he's that price sensitive he has zero interest in putting any money into the car. It's dangerous, and that's the point. The same type of person would out tyres on the car at 30 quid a corner. It's not on.

myshirt wrote: »
    What are you on about?

You're grabbing the wrong end of the stick. The man said if the vendor put it through the NCT then he wouldn't be able to afford the car. If he's that price sensitive he has zero interest in putting any money into the car. It's dangerous, and that's the point. The same type of person would out tyres on the car at 30 quid a corner. It's not on.
    He didn't ask you about that though did he??
    I think you may be talking about a totally different stick then the one I have the wrong end off😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Jaysus, who knew there were so many people who believe the NCT is some kind of guarantee of safety :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Gravelly wrote: »
    Jaysus, who knew there were so many people who believe the NCT is some kind of guarantee of safety :rolleyes:

Ah shut it’ll be grand the owner said it’ll fly through the nct.

I'm looking at this from the OPs point of view. They have already initimated they don't have a big budget and or money to put into the car.
    Therefore not a good idea to be buying a 13 to 19 year old car with no NCT.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Ah shut it’ll be grand the owner said it’ll fly through the nct.

You buy a used car, you take a chance - plenty of used cars with a fresh NCT that are complete disasters, and plenty with no NCT are bargains to be had - go in with eyes open, the NCT is essentially meaningless when buying a car.

It's essentially meaningless except it's compulsory and potentially very expensive.

HBC08 wrote: »
    It's essentially meaningless except it's compulsory and potentially very expensive.

Tax is compulsory too, but until it's made illegal to sell a car without either, people will continue to do so.
    Like I said - the potential for expense with a used car has little or nothing to do with whether there is a piece of paper on the window. I could buy a car that passed an NCT yesterday that has a failed head gasket, failing gearbox, or any one of another hundred things wrong with it. Despite what a lot of people think, the NCT is no reflection whatsoever that a car is "good" or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

So it's clear he knows the risk of buying a car with no NCT and is willing to take it.

What he wants to know is can you book a car in for an NCT and drive it there when it's not in your name and you don't even have tax.

Nobody's saying that. But putting a car through the NCT can cost a fortune, especially one that's been sitting for a while.

To the OP, you can drive a car to the test centre without NCT, I'd probably advise waiting until you have the logbook under your name and with you, just in case you do get stopped it'll be a lot easier to explain.

Nobody's saying that. But putting a car through the NCT can cost a fortune, especially one that's been sitting for a while.

To the OP, you can drive a car to the test centre without NCT, I'd probably advise waiting until you have the logbook under your name and with you, just in case you do get stopped it'll be a lot easier to explain.

No you can't....

It's illegal to drive any untested vehicle.

The vehicle must have a valid test.

Tax is different where I mentioned already that if the car is signed off the road it allows those that their car is running out of NCT even if not using the car to legally drive without tax once booked in for the test that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

No you can't....

It's illegal to drive any untested vehicle.

The vehicle must have a valid test.

I believe you are correct and it is a urban myth that you don't need a test to drive it to the NCT centre
    I think a car trailer is the only legal way of doing it.

tuxy wrote: »
    I believe you are correct and it is a urban myth that you don't need a test to drive it to the NCT centre
    I think a car trailer is the only legal way of doing it.

Obviously as this has come up many times it all falls down on whether one takes the risk, doesn't get stopped, does get stopped but Garda is sound and uses discretion or worst case they pull you up and you get points and the fine for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

OP you need the logbook for the NCT, they will not let you do it without it. Simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

OP you need the logbook for the NCT, they will not let you do it without it. Simple as

You 100% don't need the logbook for the NCT, for what the OP wants.

If you turn up without a logbook, photo ID will do. If you turn up without the logbook or photo ID, they will still test the car but you cannot collect the fail report or pass cert until you come back with ID.

So the OP can still turn up and do a test and pass and drive away knowing the car is mostly legal or they can fail and at least be within the 28 day repair window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Imagine they knew my story: badly maintained but stupidly cheap 607 bought in Longford, high miles, riddled with elec problems and bodged fixes that hadn't a single legal disc on the screen, gearbox constantly in limp mode...

Repaired with a €40 donor 607 and circa €200 worth of consumables. One shot at the ensiti NCT is all it needed to pass and now proudly wears a full window :) almost have it the way I want :cool:

You need to be very brave, very stubborn or very stupid to take on the above!

I say let people believe the NCT is a sign of a good car whom vehemently avoid disc-less cars in prejudice and leave the crocks out there for the rest of us who'll know better with the car in front of us. They'll never know the satisfaction of bringing a car back to life themselves ;)

Imagine they knew my story: badly maintained but stupidly cheap 607 bought in Longford, high miles, riddled with elec problems and bodged fixes that hadn't a single legal disc on the screen, gearbox constantly in limp mode...

Repaired with a €40 donor 607 and circa €200 worth of consumables. One shot at the ensiti NCT is all it needed to pass and now proudly wears a full window :) almost have it the way I want :cool:

You need to be very brave, very stubborn or very stupid to take on the above!

I say let people believe the NCT is a sign of a good car whom vehemently avoid disc-less cars in prejudice and leave the crocks out there for the rest of us who'll know better with the car in front of us. They'll never know the satisfaction of bringing a car back to life themselves ;)

I once bought a Ford Mondeo for an elderly neighbour of mine, who had a €200 budget. I bought the car in Limerick city off a dodgy-looking lad who lived in a caravan for €130. It had no NCT, but looked sound enough. Changed the oil & filters, stuck two nearly-new tyres under the front that I got for nothing from the family garage, and put it through the NCT - it failed on................. incorrect fuel filler cap :D
    Took a cap off a scrapped car at home, brought it back and got NCT cert. Neighbour drove it without a hiccup for over two years (without ever servicing it in that time :( ) until he landed it in a ditch one night coming home from a wake! He replaced it with a dog-rough A4 he bought off my brother for €400. I've seen him carry two ewes in the boot of the A4.

I wanted to do a follow up post on this. I have the Cooper S about 3 weeks or so, parked up and patiently waiting for the NCT.

I think I drove it home when I bought it and to/from the mechanic last week. As of Saturday it's my daily (what ever that means since I don't really need a car) because I sold the BMW.

The mechanic highlighted a few problems, none of which were a concern for the NCT as it failed on something which wasn't picked up on the inspection that was carried out.

I now have a month to get a cv-boot replaced and retest it :pac:

Then fix some of the other minor faults without spending a small fortune.

Not the follow up I was hoping for but considering it's only cracking and not broken yet this isn't to far from a NCT pass sheet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

HBC08 wrote: »
    I'm looking at this from the OPs point of view. They have already initimated they don't have a big budget and or money to put into the car.
    Therefore not a good idea to be buying a 13 to 19 year old car with no NCT.
    Classic cars don't have ncts, FFS control yerselfs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

I have done ncts without logbook during change of ownership??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Pekarirska

As so many said, NCT fail can potentially cost you money.

If you really have to buy one with no NCT check that previous NCTs were all pass in first go and that values are consistent. That will tell you that the car is reliable. If it had to be fixed before, it most likely will need a fix in future.

Then ask the owner to bring the car to your mechanic for a simple test... connect a computer, inspect a chassis, brakes, things like that.

If the answer to the above is yes then there's a chance you'll pass. Every second car doesn't :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Good God... the paranoia level on here is something else ! How do some of you people get through your daily lives, it must be a constant strain trying to decide whether to cross the road, or chose what to eat or drink.... is the light red, will it change to green, should I wait or run... maybe if I run I'll trip over and get hit by an un insured, out of NCT, and non taxed car, towing a trailer and being driven by a muppet on a provisional licence with no fully licenced person sitting in the passenger seat...!
    It's obvious that a car (may) sell easier with a valid NCT, but it's not a given. It's also true that it may be more difficult to sell a car without a valid NCT, but that's also not a given.
    The OP's original question was very simple, and required a very simple answer, not a debate on the merits of the NCT, or tales relating to Mondeo's bought by your sisters friends aunt who was married to your brother, and how the car they bought exploded ten minutes down the road resulting in multiple deaths and injures...
    Every single thread on Boards seems to de generate into a chasm or hearsay, needles speculation, and downright paranoia.
    I often wonder what the average age of posters is on here !

swarlb wrote: »
    Good God... the paranoia level on here is something else ! How do some of you people get through your daily lives, it must be a constant strain trying to decide whether to cross the road, or chose what to eat or drink.... is the light red, will it change to green, should I wait or run... maybe if I run I'll trip over and get hit by an un insured, out of NCT, and non taxed car, towing a trailer and being driven by a muppet on a provisional licence with no fully licenced person sitting in the passenger seat...!
    It's obvious that a car (may) sell easier with a valid NCT, but it's not a given. It's also true that it may be more difficult to sell a car without a valid NCT, but that's also not a given.
    The OP's original question was very simple, and required a very simple answer, not a debate on the merits of the NCT, or tales relating to Mondeo's bought by your sisters friends aunt who was married to your brother, and how the car they bought exploded ten minutes down the road resulting in multiple deaths and injures...
    Every single thread on Boards seems to de generate into a chasm or hearsay, needles speculation, and downright paranoia.
    I often wonder what the average age of posters is on here !

It took 3 weeks for this reply¿

Sometimes it takes 3 months just to read through the threads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

It was worth waiting for and has a lot of truth in it

In fairness I waited 3 weeks to be able to post up that the car passed and you were all worrying far to much. Unfortunately a cv-boot was the only thing that stood in the way of being able to say that... not that I'm complaining about having to fix it to pass the test

[PHP][/PHP]
    In fairness I waited 3 weeks to be able to post up that the car passed and you were all worrying far to much. Unfortunately a cv-boot was the only thing that stood in the way of being able to say that... not that I'm complaining about having to fix it to pass the test

Good stuff...
    But are you sure it was just the CV boot ? I've heard stories (via Google/Facebook/Twitter/ end of bar in pubs) that if the CV Boot is worn, the joint cannot be far behind, chances are you're looking at a complete gearbox rebuild, and who repairs gearboxes these days ? You'll probably need to send it to the UK, but then again Brexit is looming, so who knows how much that will cost. And make sure you get OEM parts, and NOT from a Dealership, thieving [EMAIL="B@stards"]B@stards[/EMAIL], none of your Chinese muck either, I heard of a guy who bought Chinese muck on EBay, took him ages to clean it out of the joint, the muck was EVERYWHERE...And use the proper stainless steel clips, not them cable tie rubbish... the boot will soon split again, spread grease all over the road, then some guy behind you using ditchfinders will career into the central median, causing HAVOC on the M50... the worst motorway IN THE WORLD.... I wouldn't even call it a motorway, ye can barely do 50 on it... and don't get me started on the tolls !!!

Rant over.... for now...