Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a Saab in 2019

• 03-02-2019 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭

Currently have a 1.3 3dr 04 Yaris, had it the last 2+ years. Love the car, so reliable and good craic to drive.

However, I'll be driving longer distances and more often quite soon with my work. The only thing I don't enjoy about the Yaris is the tiring nature of driving on the motorway in a small car so looking for something a good bit more comfortable.

I'm 33 male with a few years NCB so insurance should be OK. Are parts still easy to source for Saabs? What's your opinion on the below example? (also open to something like an Insignia, Mondeo)

08 Saab 9-3 Estate: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-saab-93-1-9-tdi-estate/20858833

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    Currently have a 1.3 3dr 04 Yaris, had it the last 2+ years. Love the car, so reliable and good craic to drive.

However, I'll be driving longer distances and more often quite soon with my work. The only thing I don't enjoy about the Yaris is the tiring nature of driving on the motorway in a small car so looking for something a good bit more comfortable.

I'm 33 male with a few years NCB so insurance should be OK. Are parts still easy to source for Saabs? What's your opinion on the below example? (also open to something like an Insignia, Mondeo)

08 Saab 9-3 Estate: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-saab-93-1-9-tdi-estate/20858833

I’ve been driving Saab’s for the last few years now and only wish I’d found them sooner..

What’s not to like

Parts are cheap and easy to get..

People are afraid of them so they’re cheap to buy.

And you get night panel mode and a kickass drinks holder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Saab is basically a better engineered Opel. All the parts underneath are GM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Looks like and import, I'd request the UK reg and do a check on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lovely car but you may find parts can be more expensive.

That said, they are so cheap and good that you may just buy it cheap and drive it into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

biko wrote: »
    Lovely car but you may find parts can be more expensive.

That said, they are so cheap and good that you may just buy it cheap and drive it into the ground.

Well, couldn’t be much cheaper than the Yaris :)

Happy to hear the positive responses, definitely interested now once the right one turns up when I’m seriously looking.

I love the estates and spent a long time trying to find the right one.

Started with a 06 93 that I cost a grand. It was a 2.2 diesel which ran perfectly for a year and was still running perfectly when I sold it on. Super little car.

Bought an absolute heap of a 95 then, again with the 2.2tid. I spent a few quid putting an aero interior into it but it was never right. The engine didn’t skip a beat but you could tell the car had been abused. I only paid €700 and so I flogged that one on.

I enjoyed the 93 so much that I bought an 08 saloon 93 1.9ttid. The aero makes quite a difference in feel, spec and comfort so worth hanging on for one if you can. The Ttid engine is mile muncher and very lively in sport mode but easy on juice.

Having my alternator done just now and the loan car is a 95 estate 2t petrol. Absolutely beautiful car to drive but I’d hate to be watching that needle all day if it were my own.

Just sharing my experience with them in the hope that it’s of some use to you when the time comes.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

I think you might have convinced me! The saloons are cheap but the estates look better. They just look like one of the comfiest cars you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭wandererz

Have a 07 9-3 1.8t petrol.
    48,000KM /29,000M
    Heated seats - perfect for this weather
    Paddle shift - hardly ever use it
    Half leather seats - great idea & very comfortable

Still as new & drives better than my 3 series BMW.
    Very refined & smooth driving experience.

Only problem is that these cars chew headlight bulbs for some reason and need to drop bumper to remove headlight assembly (that's the proper way).

Highly recommended. If you can get a well cared for example, snap it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Love my '06 9-3. Have been looking for something new recently but I'm being drawn to a new SAAB. Not sure what to do :/

wandererz wrote: »
    Have a 07 9-3 1.8t petrol.
    48,000KM /29,000M

Wut? thats some mileage

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Love my '06 9-3. Have been looking for something new recently but I'm being drawn to a new SAAB. Not sure what to do :/

autotrader dot co dot UK

Search, Make: Saab

ewj1978 wrote: »
    Wut? thats some mileage

Yup.
    Was 8,000km when i got it 3 years ago but the wife is now piling on the pounds.... errrm... miles.

These cars are a fantastic buy when well spec'd and taken care of. Age shouldn't matter, but license plate envy seems to be all the rage.

I love driving this more than the BMW. Fantastic on the motorway.
    Parts still easy to source as they are mainly GM/Ford/Opel.
    Also a good second hand spares market out there.

Don't settle for a basic spec, try to get one with as many extras as possible.

Have a 05 93 2.0t Vector myself. God its so comfy. Has 6 times the mileage of yours though..

ewj1978 wrote: »
    Have a 05 93 2.0t Vector myself. God its so comfy. Has 6 times the mileage of yours though..

OP, there you go. Proof is in the pudding.

IMO, there were two types of people buying these cars new:

Families : needed space, trusted reliability/ safety record of Saab
    Corporate: bought for exec level, so came extremely well spec'd

In my case it was slightly different, as it was a woman in Ballsbridge who traded it into Audi Ballsbridge for a new Audi, at 8,000km.
    I can only assume that the other half had the main family driving vehicle as the rear & passenger seats on this seemed never sat on!

Edit: Wifey just said that she could drive 3.5hrs non-stop in the Saab but not in the BMW. According to her the seats are super comfortable & supports the spine really well.
    I can attest to that. It's a luxury drive for peanuts.

FYI, I've also owned: Volvo S40's & C70, BMW 3 series , Jag Xtype, Subaru, Opel, Ford, Mazda

Do look to the UK, you will find great examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Are the petrol turbos that bad on juice? Have an inkling for a turbo Saab or volvo.
    There's a lovely 95 2.3t on done deal :)

I'm driving a loaner 07 95 2t estate at the moment and it's a beautiful car to drive but it's also reminded me why i don't drive petrols any more.

Put the boot down anyway at all and the needle drops like a feckin stone.

The refinement of the petrol engine is lovely for a few days though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭BigAl81

bear1 wrote: »
    Are the petrol turbos that bad on juice?

I got 7 liters per 100kms on the motorway and 11 liters per 100kms in urban driving (with a very heavy right foot) in a 2008 1.8t petrol.

Lovely cars if you can get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

As mentioned there are loads of good value examples in the UK.

I was looking at value diesel estates in the UK a few months ago and was shocked at how many came up. Kinda regret not going for one after reading this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭basskebab

another Saab convert here. Got a 03 93 2.0t 6 years ago. Has served me well ever since. For me the biggest thing was the seats and the comfort in the cabin. I'm tall and most cars I was trying out felt very cramped. The seats in the Saab are amazing. I can do long motorway drives and my back is fine.

Will be changing up to a newer Saab in the next few months. You can pick up very nicely spec'd models for cheap these days. Just make sure you get it serviced and maintained by someone who knows about Saabs. While the arey mainly GM build and parts they have some quirks that your average mechanic may not know

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The only reason I didn't go for a 2011/12 Saab 9-5 this time around was because it's interior is surprisingly spartan.
    Ended up getting a very vanilla 2012 520d.
    The Saab looked gorgeous though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Baaaaa, Baaaaa.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

Guys would you go for petrol or diesel for one of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

zweton wrote: »

diesel

preferably aero version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nerd central for Saab in ireland: https://www.facebook.com/groups/411275612569350/

Plenty of expertise available.

I’ve my 93 for one year now. Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

akelly02 wrote: »
    diesel

preferably aero version

Petrol. Incidentally, Petrol is always the correct answer to this question.

I had a 2.0 9.3t Vector, petrol of course. Loved it.

Agreed on the Aero and Diesel.

Also get the ttid if you can.

Won't cost you any more in tax but it's a good bit nippier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

Are the petrols thirsty? Any good examples I should be looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭paulpd

I have a 06 9-3 Petrol

Have it since 2010. Alternator needed to be re-conditioned (2014) and fuel pump went (2016). In the nearly 9 years I have it they're the only "big" things that needed to be fixed.

280,000kms on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

My brother has an 07 2.0 Petrol turbo 9-3. Its a great car. Lovely to drive. At the price they go for now they are an absolute bargain and not much better value for money out there I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Are the petrols thirsty? Any good examples I should be looking at?

Fairly thirsty alright, but I'd a heavy left foot. Loved the sound of the engine.