Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fatal car crash today, pics & video circulating

• 24-01-2019 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭

If someone in your social circle sends you pictures or video of the aftermath of the fatal car crash on the N2 near Finglas today, you're advised to delete them, since they are Bad. Really Bad. Darkest corners of Reddit -level Bad. I haven't seen them myself, but someone in my office was sent them, and was horrified, and some of the comments on that article tell of similar experiences.

tl:dr; People Suck. :mad:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

So sad that the camera is out quicker than the helping hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

horrible crash :( cannot unsee what i saw :O

Is that you bollaig?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

bnt wrote: »
    If someone in your social circle sends you pictures or video of the aftermath of the fatal car crash on the N2 near Finglas today, you're advised to delete them, since they are Bad. Really Bad. Darkest corners of Reddit -level Bad. I haven't seen them myself, but someone in my office was sent them, and was horrified, and some of the comments on that article tell of similar experiences.

It takes a special kind of person to 1. take these pics 2. share them.
    I'm delighted to say I don't know anyone who is part of that sub-species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

I got one pic but not sure if it is related as it was not deepest levels of Reddit bad. Awful to be sending them around and people rubbernecking taking pics when driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,530 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

It's someone's father/brother/uncle (could be someone's here) sharing pictures/videos of it is tasteless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod: Individual who posted that comment has been banned.

Anybody who tries to make fun of this situation will be getting a banhammer up the hole. Remember that Ireland is a small country and as such, threads like this can easily be seen by friends and family of the deceased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

The video is already being sent around disguised as something completely different. Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

markc1184 wrote: »
    The video is already being sent around disguised as something completely different. Pricks.

Heartless scumbags. I hope the culprits are caught, including those forwarding on the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

bnt wrote: »

Haven't seen it but got a warning not to open it too. Sick ****s, both the person who took the initial image and the people who are sharing it.
    You'd have to wonder about humanity and the lack of respect in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Yeah the picture was sent to me.
    I won't be sending to anyone not that it will do anything.

Do know how someone could take a photo like that.

In the comments section of the link, it mentions that the uploader of the photo has been reported to Instagram.

Thoughts are with the families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

He has deleted his Instagram and most 'likely' fb profile.
    Must be terrible images!?
    R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Came up in three seperate whatsapp threads I'm in. Pretty graphic alright.

But look, there is a general issue at present with how people use social media, the urge to be "first" or to be in the know. The AMOUNT of stuff going on about a serious rape incident that has been widely reported is outragous. It would appear that either dozens of people are talking bollox, or there is a "Garda Sergeant" that is absolutely dreadful at their job

TheDoc wrote: »
    Came up in three seperate whatsapp threads I'm in. Pretty graphic alright.

Who are these heartless idiots sending on these types of videos? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I got it in a Whatsapp group I'm in for a ****ing charity cycle I'm doing of all things.

Video and pictures. I really think we have gone past peak living and we should just let the human race wipe itself out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Wtf is wrong with people? Not only must you be sick in the head to actually take a picture in the first place, but those sending it on are just as bad. Jesus Ireland is so small you could end up sending it to someone who might even know the deceased. Someone’s tragic death being used as fodder for half wits in WhatsApp groups. As grim as it gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I got it in a Whatsapp group I'm in for a ****ing charity cycle I'm doing of all things.

Video and pictures. I really think we have gone past peak living and we should just let the human race wipe itself out

That's not very charitable of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Unfortunately I seen it and am not best after it. It is horrific. God bless that person and their poor family. Do people not have any morals when it comes to stuff like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

M50 is absolute carnage with the volume of traffic on it.
    In my view we should have rules like France where the HGV's stay in the
    inside lane regardless and by suggesting this I'm not laying the blame at the
    feet of the driver of the HGV involved.

I travel quite regularly and it's quite amazing what you see and have to deal with.
    What really gets me is the amount of drivers that over take you to take the next slip road 100 m further up the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

I got one pic but not sure if it is related as it was not deepest levels of Reddit bad. Awful to be sending them around and people rubbernecking taking pics when driving.

Neither the pic or the video are anything close to the level of videos you could find elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

What repercussions would there be if any for sharing it? What would/can the Garda do? (Just curious is all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭R.F.

Was sent the video as well and turned it off as soon as I realised what I was looking at...

It is some sick level **** whoever thinks about recording that at a scene of an accident. WTF is wrong with people?

M50 is absolute carnage with the volume of traffic on it.
    In my view we should have rules like France where the HGV's stay in the
    inside lane regardless and by suggesting this I'm not laying the blame at the
    feet of the driver of the HGV involved.

I travel quite regularly and it's quite amazing what you see and have to deal with.
    What really gets me is the amount of drivers that over take you to take the next slip road 100 m further up the road!

Sure look a Merc was driving like a maniac todya on the m50 southbound up to the exit that leads to liffey valley. Literally beeping and flashing people out of the way and flying at 140+ between lanes.

Driving like it was stolen.

Like yourself I'm on it twice a day five days a week. It's generally on most days a **** show.

Certain aspect of to be expected considering we don't factor motorway driving into our Learner training or lessons.

That's just a seperate comment to this incident btw. No idea what happened.

I am shocked at the amount of posters saying they have people sending them on the video. WTF is wrong with people?

I can safely say that I'm not friends with sickos who would send on such videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Sadly there are people wanting there few minutes of fame

"Oh look at poor me and what I had to go through looking at this" so you take picture? **** off

GBX wrote: »
    What repercussions would there be if any for sharing it? What would/can the Garda do? (Just curious is all)

None.

As I mentioned in my post, there is generally mass whatsapp hysteria around rape cases or serious crimes that already take place and nothing much comes of it.

Like, you probably already know the one going on at present if you are in anyway active in whatsapp groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Heartless scumbags. I hope the culprits are caught, including those forwarding on the video.

'Caught' for what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I wasn't aware of the accident but the content popped up in a whatsapp group. Shocking stuff. Disgraceful that someone would reach for their phone to record such a horrible accident. May the deceased rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

People are idiots
    as someone said the youth of today are only interested in being the first to post something or get the most likes, In cases like this they should actually make it offence to post the video's it disgusting and someone's family member,

What if you get sent that and go home to find out its your da, brother, son Uncle , friend, whatever its disgusting ,

Young people literally post any sort of attention for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

There's always a thick around charity or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Very relieved that I’m only connected to decent, empathetic people on Whatsapp. I know none of them would share anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

TheDoc wrote: »
    None.

As I mentioned in my post, there is generally mass whatsapp hysteria around rape cases or serious crimes that already take place and nothing much comes of it.

Like, you probably already know the one going on at present if you are in anyway active in whatsapp groups.

Yeah, I've received them as well. Which include the mention of names, pics etc. Nothing is off limits anymore on Whatsapp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

seen this earlier someone in the office was sent it I just hope it turns out to be fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Thankfully I haven't received it - if I did, I think I'd have to block whoever sent it on to me. What's wrong with people?! :(

ZiabR wrote: »
    I wasn't aware of the accident but the content popped up in a whatsapp group. Shocking stuff. Disgraceful that someone would reach for their phone to record such a horrible accident. May the deceased rest in peace.

Disgraceful that people would forward on that video causing stress to other people and risking the victim's family seeing it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

I just seen a video clip of the accident and victim

It's sad - it should not of been shared - however I do hope that people that have seen it are reminded of the vulnerabilities on our roads and perhaps change driver behaviours - if anything good can come of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

Not the worst I have seen in some whatsapp groups by a long shot. Terrible for the family that this video is going around but this is the world we live in and nothing is going to change that.

Repercussions for those who take these kind of videos should change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

It's not the world I live in.

Seems to be a few people trying to outdo each other as to what they've seen on WhatsApp too. Sure yer all deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

It was the same when the chap jumped from a balcony in Stephens Green SC, he was surrounded by people capturing video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭EarlyStorms

I heard about the incident but I'm glad I'm not in any whatsapp groups with people who would spread this type of content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It was the same when the chap jumped from a balcony in Stephens Green SC, he was surrounded by people capturing video

Imagine jumping to your death and the last image you see as you lay dying is people around you filming you. You’d swiftly close your eyes and realise you made the right decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

Repercussions for those who take these kind of videos should change it.

WhatsApp groups are peer to peer encrypted so it would be almost impossible to track back. If the person is dumb enough to post on social media then thats another story.

Then you come into other legal hinderences so it would be very hard to invoke and police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

McCrack wrote: »
    I just seen a video clip of the accident and victim

It's sad - it should not of been shared - however I do hope that people that have seen it are reminded of the vulnerabilities on our roads and perhaps change driver behaviours - if anything good can come of this

I have heard the victim was a diabetic and had a drop in blood sugar that would have cause him to basically pass out at the wheel ,

Not sure how they would know that ,

God bless his family and shame on anyone who passes on the pictures , Surely as humans we need to show more tact in these situations .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Last year I was standing at a bus stop on Parnell Square West. No traffic was coming up from Parnell Street and news filtered up that a cyclist had been knocked off his bike on the part of Parnell Street that joins O’Connell Street to Parnell Square West. We were told to expect big delays. I waited a few minutes then decided to use the time to get some groceries from the Tesco beside Kingfisher on Parnell Street. I hurried past the accident scene which luckily wasn’t too close to where I was passing so I didn’t see anything.

But I noted whilst passing that there was a bank of gawpers standing there at the corner of Parnell Street and Parnell Square watching the rescue. When I came out of Tesco maybe twenty minutes later, I noted with disgust that some of the SAME people I had seen when passing by twenty minutes earlier were still there watching proceedings.

Some people treat things like this as entertainment. Did those people feel a shred of shame for standing there, treating somebody else’s misfortune as entertainment? I doubt it.

I’ve had the misfortune of having to be taken away in an ambulance after collapsing on a busy street about a decade ago. I was pretty out of it from the pain I was experiencing but I still remember feeling annoyance at the slack-jawed yokels who were standing there watching me being loaded into the ambulance. What were they hoping to see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Unfortunately some poor soul will receive that video not realising or even worse recognising it's a family member.
    Guarantee,.such is the momentum and speed of the circulation of such graphic content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Unfortunately some poor soul will receive that video not realising or even worse recognising it's a family member.
    Guarantee,.such is the momentum and speed of the circulation of such graphic content.

That's an absolutely horrific (and not wholly unlikely) outcome that I hadn't considered. Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Not something I would be at all interested in viewing, but for those who have - would you be able to make out or recognise the person from what's being circulated?

Not that it makes it any better, but I certainly hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

You would definitely not recognise any individual from the photo/video or even the make or model of car. Its not a nice thing to be forwarding around on social media/whatsapp but if you haven't seen it then relax...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Seen a picture and video i assume its the same thing body part on the road / car ?