Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin O'Neill. an embarassment.

• 17-01-2019 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭

sorry folks but i've lost all respect for our erstwhile manager. his latest attempt to promote roy keane as his 2nd in command at Nottingham Forrest is nothing short of embarrassing.

O'Neill said: "I would dearly like him (Keane) to join us. Since this has happened very quickly he has a number of things to sort out himself. There's a spot open for him and I hope it happens. It may not, as he has a few things to sort out himself both personally and professionally.

"He was a great asset to me at Republic of Ireland and we had some really great days.

"He can be a handful. He was a special player, a fantastic footballer who drove Manchester United on for 10 years and you don't win those things just sitting around."

Give over Martin! isn't it time you accepted the guy is a liability, and do the decent thing and cut him loose.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/he-can-be-a-handful-martin-oneill-expresses-hope-that-special-roy-keane-will-join-him-at-nottingham-forest-37722024.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Think Roy might less of a liability than Martin at this stage.

If he landed himself in a club with enough players of a similar mentality to him I would still expect him to do well. But, such players are thin on the ground and he is not best dealing with the newer breed it does seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Think Roy might less of a liability than Martin at this stage.

If he landed himself in a club with enough players of a similar mentality to him I would still expect him to do well. But, such players are thin on the ground and he is not best dealing with the newer breed it does seem.

i have always viewed keane as a wrecker. a good player but a terrible man-manager. i think his abrasive personality is unsuited for modernday management.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

Roy a liability and Martin’s judgement has gone completely. Martin is equally as stubborn.

Seems to be a great bond between the two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

No team on the world in world would pay it's assistant manager €600k a year, not even close. Well apart from Ireland that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

think ye should all take aim at that buffon Delaney for the present shambles of the Irish Football Team

years of mismanagement and cronyism has led us to this debacle

off with his fat fcuking head

Klonker wrote: »
    No team on the world in world would pay it's assistant manager €600k a year, not even close. Well apart from Ireland that is.

We seem to do it across the board, politicians, RTÉ staff.. And we won’t pay nurses adequately.

squawker wrote: »
    think ye should all take aim at that buffon Delaney for the present shambles of the Irish Football Team

years of mismanagement and cronyism has led us to this debacle

off with his fat fcuking head

Completely useless clown. Should be long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I’ve hated that knob Keane ever since Saipan...he is an opinionated mouthpiece and a shït manager!

Marengo wrote: »
    Roy a liability and Martin’s judgement has gone completely. Martin is equally as stubborn.

Seems to be a great bond between the two!

indeed. i heard the interview on radio earlier, and O'Neill came accross as quite emotional while effusing about him.
    all quite strange and totally unprofessional imo.

frag420 wrote: »
    I’ve hated that knob Keane ever since Saipan...he is an opinionated mouthpiece and a shït manager!

Yeah I was blinded by his ‘striving for perfection’ crap at the time but as the years have gone by I changed my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭Odhinn

sorry folks but i've lost all respect for our erstwhile manager. his latest attempt to promote roy keane as his 2nd in command at Nottingham Forrest is nothing short of embarrassing.

O'Neill said: "I would dearly like him (Keane) to join us. Since this has happened very quickly he has a number of things to sort out himself. There's a spot open for him and I hope it happens. It may not, as he has a few things to sort out himself both personally and professionally.

"He was a great asset to me at Republic of Ireland and we had some really great days.

"He can be a handful. He was a special player, a fantastic footballer who drove Manchester United on for 10 years and you don't win those things just sitting around."

Give over Martin! isn't it time you accepted the guy is a liability, and do the decent thing and cut him loose.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/he-can-be-a-handful-martin-oneill-expresses-hope-that-special-roy-keane-will-join-him-at-nottingham-forest-37722024.html

...it's easy to imagine Forrest about to lodge a complaint about abuse from the visitor stands when somebody points out it was a Keane "pep-talk" from the sidelines.

We seem to do it across the board, politicians, RTÉ staff.. And we won’t pay nurses adequately.

Aye! we have a habit of paying caviar and still getting monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,310 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Don't see what's embarrassing about that?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Aye! we have a habit of paying caviar and still getting monkeys.

Nice way of putting it:D

Keane’s role with the Republic was bizarre the last few years.

Comedian: All the witty press conferences. Mentioning Robbie Keane should be available for a game after the birth of his child as he wasn’t breast feeding :D

Falling out with players..

Football wise what did he contribute..

Yeah I was blinded by his ‘striving for perfection’ crap at the time but as the years have gone by I changed my opinion.

when you consider how close we got to getting into the semis that time ... losing out to Mendiata's peno
    and contrast with our more recent "form" it makes me cry. almost.

when you consider how close we got to getting into the semis that time ...
    and contrast with our more recent "form" it makes me cry. almost.

Quality of player has really dropped.

If you’re old enough to rem the Charlton years when 7/8 players were with top first division, as it was then, teams. The others lower first division and maybe one player outside it or from Celtic.

Quality of player has really dropped.

If you’re old enough to rem the Charlton years when 7/8 players were with top first division, as it was then, teams. The others lower first division and maybe one player outside it or from Celtic.

there's no denying it. how many Rep players regularily play 1st team for the top 6 premiership sides?

i'm guessing 1 or 2 at most.

there's no denying it. how many Rep players regularily play 1st team for the top 6 premiership sides?

i'm guessing 1 or 2 at most.

Seamus Coleman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,655 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What the f**k are Forest thinking?

Absolute waste of money, and those 2 muppets won't come cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Seamus Coleman?

Everton aren't a top-6 club.

Seamus Coleman?

not even top 6. 10th atm.
    i wonder if that West Ham lad Rice will declare for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There goes Forest's playoff hopes.

They should have kept Karanka ,they were playing some real nice football under him this season.

Also I'm sure the players don't want that madman Keane anywhere near the club.

Everton aren't a top-6 club.

I know. They’ve occasionally hit 6th place over the last 4 years:D

Just goes to show how poor our situation is. Clutching at straws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I know. They’ve occasionally hit 6th place over the last 4 years:D

Just goes to show how poor our situation is. Clutching at straws.

They have finished 8th, 7th, 11th and 11th in last 4 seasons....

So, yeah, definitely clutching at straws

i think we can all agree the dearth of real top level talent available to us is shockingly bad. personally i dont think Matt Busby, Shankly and Cloughie combined would get far with our current squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Klonker wrote: »
    Chris Coleman was on 300k a yr when he led Wales to a Euro semi final.

These are the type of salaries a small FA like ours should be paying to the top man, never mind the No. 2.

I said occasionally hit 6th place during the campaigns. Generally around mid to late August:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

ONeill was bloody useless managing Ireland.

maybe he want keane on board to deflect some of the heat away from himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,655 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

IMHO Forest won't get a play-off spot now, but sure there'll be a bit of craic at their press conferences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

What's so embarrassing about wanting to bring an assistant to a new job. Managers have been doing it for as long as the game existed?

This thread is just a big "I don't like Roy Keane" whinge. Dry your eyes pal.

A has been. We’re very fond of has beens rather than up and coming talent. And then the one time they go for youth they pick Stan the Gaffer:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Right I am off to the Forest fan forum to assess the carnage!

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

i have always viewed keane as a wrecker. a good player but a terrible man-manager. i think his abrasive personality is unsuited for modernday management.

A good player doesn't make a good manager, anymore than a good chef makes a good farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Roy is the boy and anyone who thinks otherwise is an absolute Langer.

Roy is the boy that never became the man:)

No that’s overly harsh. As a Man U footballer 1993-2005, he was the man. Just other aspects of his personality he never developed.

NIMAN wrote: »
    IMHO Forest won't get a play-off spot now, but sure there'll be a bit of craic at their press conferences.

reminds me of when keane took over at Ipswich Town. they were actually doing quite well having just missed out on promotion under Magilton.
    Keane arrived. pi€€ed off the players. lost their backing and well the rest is history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I wouldn't call the man an embarrassment.

He's a highly decorated former player and manager and for the most part did a good job with a bang average Ireland team, just getting to the Euros was a huge achievement.

I wish him the very best at Forrest.

Roy is the boy that never became the man:)

No that’s overly harsh. As a Man U footballer 1993-2005, he was the man. Just other aspects of his personality he never developed.

i would contend he is emotionally underdeveloped.
    maybe he might feature on a Gillette advert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I’m amazed to see how far Keanes stock has fallen in the last 10-15 years in the eyes of the general public. You couldn’t move for the people telling you what a great manager he’d make because “he has a winning mentality and will always strive for perfection.”

You don’t manage people buy roaring at them or giving them the proverbial kick up the hole as your only motivational tool. And Keane was always going to be that type of manager.

Ill leave aside the rather ropey logic of him always wanting to win which was always bollox. Roy Keane was a great player but he always wanted what suited Roy Keane best. Most of the time that was winning football games and, as a player, he contributed a lot to that cause. But when Roy Keane wanted to settle scores (Haaland, McAteer, Southgate), he didn’t give a flying **** about winning games.

I wouldn't call the man an embarrassment.

He's a highly decorated former player and manager and for the most part did a good job with a bang average Ireland team, just getting to the Euros was a huge achievement.

I wish him the very best at Forrest.

6 years ago I would totally agree with you.

I think more than his results with Ireland I disliked how dismissive he was of the media. Decent guys like Tony O’Donohue. O’Neill became unbearably self righteous towards the end of his term.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I’m amazed to see how far Keanes stock has fallen in the last 10-15 years in the eyes of the general public. You couldn’t move for the people telling you what a great manager he’d make because “he has a winning mentality and will always strive for perfection.”

You don’t manage people buy roaring at them or giving them the proverbial kick up the hole as your only motivational tool. And Keane was always going to be that type of manager.

Ill leave aside the rather ropey logic of him always wanting to win which was always bollox. Roy Keane was a great player but he always wanted what suited Roy Keane best. Most of the time that was winning football games and, as a player, he contributed a lot to that cause. But when Roy Keane wanted to settle scores (Haaland, McAteer, Southgate), he didn’t give a flying **** about winning games.

Exactly. That style of management is 1980s. Note how Alex Ferguson developed to get the best out of footballers in the 2000s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=151

Soccer forum, not AH, for football please.