Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buy land with ringfort

• 17-01-2019 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭

I am applying for planning permission on a site that i own. There is a bit of ground adjoining my site owned by another person. There has been trouble in the past regarding an entrance and ot went to court. He has offered to sell me the ground it is less than an acre and has a ringfort in it. My question is can i do anything with it ? Its is just thick cover at the moment. Could i clean it up and maybe plant trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It'd be a lovely addition to your house. And trees lile birch and alder would be the way to go. How much is he looking for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Archaeology is very heavily protected in this country, so I'd strongly suspect there's no way you'd be allowed do anything with or to it.
    Here's the Forest Service's policy document on the subject:
    Forestry & Archaeology Guidelines

Have a look here to see if your site is listed:
    http://webgis.archaeology.ie/historicenvironment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭dathi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

ring forts--some say do not remove, disturb the fairies! I do see farmers around me, reclaim land,etc.. and do leave them alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭brianmax88

He wants crazy money for it. It is useless to him and me really the bit of disputed ground is about 10ft. He wont sell that piece will only sell the whole lot. All i could with it really is sow trees i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

brianmax88 wrote: »
    He wants crazy money for it. It is useless to him and me really the bit of disputed ground is about 10ft. He wont sell that piece will only sell the whole lot. All i could with it really is sow trees i think.

You can't plant trees on it, as far as I know.
    Most farmers that own one just let sheep graze them, or a few light cattle.
    My cousin owns a super one, moat ten feet deep all around it, twenty feet high when you are standing on the ramparts.
    Big thorn tree in the centre and a ring of holly and hazel growing around it.
    If I owned it, I'd be advertising it as a venue for weddings/ nuptials/ new age hand-fastings or whatever they call it, star gazing, summer and winter equinox venues for Druids etc. etc.
    Or pitch a marquee and put a big four poster bed in it for first night honeymooners, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    You can't plant trees on it, as far as I know.
    Most farmers that own one just let sheep graze them, or a few light cattle.
    My cousin owns a super one, moat ten feet deep all around it, twenty feet high when you are standing on the ramparts.
    Big thorn tree in the centre and a ring of holly and hazel growing around it.
    If I owned it, I'd be advertising it as a venue for weddings/ nuptials/ new age hand-fastings or whatever they call it, star gazing, summer and winter equinox venues for Druids etc. etc.
    Or pitch a marquee and put a big four poster bed in it for first night honeymooners, :D

Ooh arh missus - sounds very risque altogether! Would ye not be worried about having some young one being abducted by the fairies :pac:

gozunda wrote: »
    Ooh arh missus - sounds very risque altogether! Would ye not be worried about having some young one being abducted by the fairies :pac:

You'll never have a night like it again ..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

gozunda wrote: »

The older generation yoused to tell stories of people entering ringforts and not being able to find their way out again.
    They'd go round and round and round the boundary and never be able to find the way they got in to get out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Could end up like the bakery Court case with all the fairies around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

I see someone near me pulled one up very recently and is reclaiming the field. I know allot of digger drivers wouldn’t touch them but he obviously got one to do it.

I think I would leave it as it is. They are kind of special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

The older generation yoused to tell stories of people entering ringforts and not being able to find their way out again.
    They'd go round and round and round the boundary and never be able to find the way they got in to get out again.

That was associated with famine fields aswell called the hungry fields, my grandfather said it happened to him once before coming back from our neighbours one night however were not in a major famine area (his parents and grandparents didnt think it was as bad there anyway) nor was there fairies on the land either and tge man never drank in his life so we cant say that caused it either. He grabbed the rosary beads and eventually got out but i heard turning the jumper inside out and youll find youre way out too.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I heard a story similar to that of someone who entered a field while out hunting rabbits at night and they spent hours going around the boundary trying to find the gateway that they came in. The man was completely serious about the story and told that to my father in a pub late at night. :D

I've also heard the same thing from Waterford, south Kilkenny about the raths at night and even priests being called to get that person out.

Up Meath direction too.
    https://www.duchas.ie/en/cbes/5008999/4975403/5111926

There's a pub the far side of Cavan town called "The Stray Sod".
    Man's a fellow got lost on his way home from there too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Knocking a fairy fort would be very serious around here. My dad suspects he knocked one accidentally-he had bought land and was clearing it and noticed a lot of big stones together after. He was v upset about it actually as he would be the superstitious type. He isn't 100% and there was no record of one being there. It's great as the superstition around them has protected them in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,828 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I suppose it depends how big the Fort and associated ditches are, they may not take up that much of the acre, or if you own some suitable surrounding land it might be worth planting a few bits,
    It used to be that parts of a block of land that couldn't be planted for environmental reasons would still be paid out on, (ie you offer an acre for planting and a portion had, say, a rare orchid growing on it, then that bit wouldn't be planted, but you'd stíll get paid for an acre..(probably up to a max percentage) Worth checking out...
    Ór course if the Fort is the whole acre then...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

If it's an acre and there's a fort in it, it isn't much use for a site.
    To a farmer it may not be of any value as legal costs will make it an expensive acre.

Has he sheep? He could be grazing it with them if he wanted to. Or does he see you as a soft touch for a few grand.

If there was handy money in trees he may have planted it himself. Or does he see you as a soft touch for a few grand.

Is there any other adjoulining land or the party who had the dispute who may have an interest? If not It may leave you as his only option for an avenue of sale.
    Or does he see you as his only option?

If it wasn't for sale would you have gone looking for it?

How far away is the ring fort from the proposed site location of your house?
    Just in case the planners have an objection to building works taking place within a certain distance of an antiquity.
    It would be a pity to buy it, and then find out that ownership ment that you couldn't build because of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

They say if you take off your coat and turn it inside out, then put it on inside out, you'll find your way out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭148multi

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    How far away is the ring fort from the proposed site location of your house?
    Just in case the planners have an objection to building works taking place within a certain distance of an antiquity.
    It would be a pity to buy it, and then find out that ownership ment that you couldn't build because of it!

Have it in my head that you can't build within 70 meters.

148multi wrote: »
    Have it in my head that you can't build within 70 meters.

I think you are correct the father had planning on the site before about 15 years ago. He had to get an archaeological assessment done. I should be ok in that regard

If it's an acre and there's a fort in it, it isn't much use for a site.
    To a farmer it may not be of any value as legal costs will make it an expensive acre.

Has he sheep? He could be grazing it with them if he wanted to. Or does he see you as a soft touch for a few grand.

If there was handy money in trees he may have planted it himself. Or does he see you as a soft touch for a few grand.

Is there any other adjoulining land or the party who had the dispute who may have an interest? If not It may leave you as his only option for an avenue of sale.
    Or does he see you as his only option?

If it wasn't for sale would you have gone looking for it?

He has no sheep. He only wants to sell it to make money cause it is worthless to him. I only need about 10 ft of an entrance that already exists that belongs to him. He wont sell that bit only the whole lot.

It is not for sale. I apporached him to see could we come to an agreement on the entrance. At first he said no but then came back with a price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

The older generation yoused to tell stories of people entering ringforts and not being able to find their way out again. They'd go round and round and round the boundary and never be able to find the way they got in to get out again.

They weren't just yarns. Human remains have been found in those structures as well as caves that suggest they went in for whatever reason and died in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Bog Man 1

If you plant it you will not be able to use the sticks as firing because you will hear the fairies screaming as they burn .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭TalkingBull

It is not for sale. I apporached him to see could we come to an agreement on the entrance. At first he said no but then came back with a price.

make him an offer he cant refuse...