Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

zell12 wrote: »
    Is there some reason Leo is on this show?

I heard it from the start, it was a bit of a surprise. Brendan just read out the headlines, may of which involved Leo and then all of a sudden "Taoiseach Varadkar, good morning".

Brendan is really conforming to an RTE-type presenter, he must be looking for the gig full time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Fairly testy interview. Brendan is as guilty as them all of lazy journalism - just ask the same mantra of questions on the same issues that have been thrashed to death. Can he not come up with a few original topics & questions?

You might also observe that RTE really have a hard on in terms of putting the boot into poor ol Verona Murphy. Maybe she's just an easy target that is unlikely to fight back?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Sounds like an opening salvo for an election.
    Otherwise he'd say that he is not discussing same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Sounds like an opening salvo for an election.
    Otherwise he's say that he is not discussing same.

First out of the traps.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mattser

Is there some reason Leo is on this show?

Is there some reason Marian isn't ?

Brendan is really conforming to an RTE-type presenter, he must be looking for the gig full time.

You could be right, Marian's days must be numbered now. I suppose you'd have to give him a chance over several weeks, but he always comes across as a bit limited/ one dimensional in his style & nuance to my mind.

mattser wrote: »
    Is there some reason Marian isn't ?

Maybe she's ill - fair amount of coughing and spluttering last Sunday..

BarryD2 wrote: »
    You might also observe that RTE really have a hard on in terms of putting the boot into poor ol Verona Murphy. Maybe she's just an easy target that is unlikely to fight back?

It's exactly this that I was referencing in the previous post. It's not Brendan's job to tell us that Verona Murphy's comments were disgraceful and ask Leo whether he agrees with his own opinion that the comments were disgraceful. But it's popular now amongst journalists to be seen to put out your own virtuous opinions first, and then have the interviewee try to dare disagree with you.

I've said it already but it's a strange country where an actual ISIS member gets more favourable treatment from the media that somebody who makes a few remarks about ISIS.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,253 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Oriole just live the drama.

Nothing ever constructive talked about in the media.

All about the clickbaits and headlines.

Every Christmas they wheel out Barry Devlin for "humourous" anecdotes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The shower of idiots talking about Christmas, is there anything worse than a Corkonian trying to tell a joke ?...And one of them is an actual ' comedian' as well ?...ala Deirdre o' Kane .

It's exactly this that I was referencing in the previous post. It's not Brendan's job to tell us that Verona Murphy's comments were disgraceful and ask Leo whether he agrees with his own opinion that the comments were disgraceful. But it's popular now amongst journalists to be seen to put out your own virtuous opinions first, and then have the interviewee try to dare disagree with you.

Cormac has her lined up in his sights now for the lunchtime slot. She was a bit unwise in her public comments but hardly deserves the public flogging being handed out by the RTE hacks. It's pathetic at this stage. There's plenty of other people in public life who would have slightly colourful views.

Cormac O'Hara now going after Staunton about Verona Murphy. The media will hound FG to the point that they are forced to get her to stand down. The media are basically dictating the candidates that are to be put in front of the electorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Cormac O'Hara now going after Staunton about Verona Murphy. The media will hound FG to the point that they are forced to get her to stand down. The media are basically dictating the candidates that are to be put in front of the electorate.

It's a fine line before the old "sympathy vote" kicks in & the Dublin media get blamed, à la Tipp North, for picking on one of us. ;);)

Callan57 wrote: »
    It's a fine line before the old "sympathy vote" kicks in & the Dublin media get blamed, à la Tipp North, for picking on one of us. ;);)

There is that "siege" mentality for sure that certain (who shall remained unnamed) politicians use to their advantage alright. The problem for FG is that most of the people on the ground will respect Verona Murphy because she is a ballsy straight talker, but her straight talking will be frowned on by the academics and journalists who get on the maintream media panel shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,451 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is that "siege" mentality for sure that certain (who shall remained unnamed) politicians use to their advantage alright. The problem for FG is that most of the people on the ground will respect Verona Murphy because she is a ballsy straight talker, but her straight talking will be frowned on by the academics and journalists who get on the maintream media panel shows.

She finished in third place with 23.8% of the vote.

It's only fair to point out that she got a lot of airing on mainstream media panel shows herself.

It wasn't academics and journalists that were her problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

So the Media are going to decide who FG can/cannot run in Wexford. A hit job on the Marian Finucane Show followed by a full on attack on the Saturday with Cormac O'HEadhra Show.
    Disgusting

And if the media were going easy on LV over this there would be people complaining about that.
    The story is not about VM anymore it is about LV's judgement.

Easy way out for FG to say Murphy didn't win a seat because of what she said.
    What did the other 3 candidates say to stop them getting elected, it must have being bad otherwise the would have got elected.

People didn't vote for Murphy because she was in FG, not because of what she said, simple as that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

Murphy got the biggest vote of any of the 3 FG candidates in the recent by-elections

• Registered Users Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

mgn wrote: »
    Easy way out for FG to say Murphy didn't win a seat because of what she said.
    What did the other 3 candidates say to stop them getting elected, it must have being bad otherwise the would have got elected.

People didn't vote for Murphy because she was in FG, not because of what she said, simple as that.

Your posts are getting very predictable and agenda based.

Can you provide evidence for your statements, my friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

elperello wrote: »
    She finished in third place with 23.8% of the vote.

It's only fair to point out that she got a lot of airing on mainstream media panel shows herself.

It wasn't academics and journalists that were her problem.

Which would see her easily win a seat in a general election

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

If VM had been an Independent rather than FG, and had stuck to her guns over what she said, I would have considered voting for her.

Your posts are getting very predictable and agenda based.

Can you provide evidence for your statements, my friend.

With your agenda you can't see that FG is the problem with the voters.

Ellen Coyne - talking about the "misinformation". A bit rich given that she typifies the modern journalist, i.e. a liberal activist who pushes their own opinions and to hell with objectively reporting the news. Even her "anecdote" from earlier - she went to the North to talk to young unionists about the changing political landscape, and came back with a story about abortion and same sex marriage. She came back with the message that she herself wanted to bring us, not the story. But this is what modern journalism has become.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

Ellen Coyne - talking about the "misinformation". A bit rich given that she typifies the modern journalist, i.e. a liberal activist who pushes their own opinions and to hell with objectively reporting the news. Even her "anecdote" from earlier - she went to the North to talk to young unionists about the changing political landscape, and came back with a story about abortion and same sex marriage. She came back with the message that she herself wanted to bring us, not the story. But this is what modern journalism has become.

Bang on the money. The panel this morning are just resorting to the same old Establishment way of looking at things. They didnt understand Trump, or Brexit, and now they dont understand Boris. People are not prepared to put up with being told that they don't know their own mind, that they need to be told what to think and when to think it. Witness the constant media stories lately, telling us, we wont be allowed to have open fires, we wont be allowed to have diesel cars, as examples. These are small fry compared to the bigger questions like immigration. Its Big Brother, dressed up as our betters showing us the errors of our ways. Well, for the moment, this isnt China, and the establishment may find that, just like in the USA or UK, people still have a voice, and their will be a mighty shock ifthey use it

It's a sad state of affairs when a panel of adults all agree with what a 16 year old kid says, Greta said that, Greta says this, no one dare questions what she says.

No climate change deniers on the panel then.

elperello wrote: »
    No climate change deniers on the panel then.

So everyone that doesn't agree with the great Greta is a climate change denier then.

She just says listen to the science and make the necessary changes to protect the planet.

Nothing really radical and certainly little for a panelist on a radio show to get their teeth into.