Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ulster v racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

I would say this, though. There have been baseless and conniving accusations of bigotry against Ulster fans before.

You would only have to look at the Guardian having to pay half a million to Patrick Bamford because they ran the story of Trevor Brennan’s da hoping everyone would just assume the Nordies are bigoted monsters and he could fling about whatever accusations he wants.

Are you suggesting that Zebo was making it up? If so, why would he do that?

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    I was at the game..zebo was booed by large sections of the crowd as the panto villain. Only thing I heard shouted at him was ...."where's your finger now.." after Ulster scored.

I don't get what all this booing carry-on is about. Its all very soccerish. I can understand a poor decision being booed, but seriously ... why do you need to select someone as a panto villain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

jm08 wrote: »

Dunno... the same reason Trevor Brennan’s da made it up?

To be clear, I’m not saying he did, and if we can find anyone who said anything racist, they should be hung, drawn and quartered. What I meant is exactly what I said - people have accused Ulster fans of heinous things before because they assume everyone will automatically believe the worst of Ulster fans. And it had been utter ballicks, and national newspapers have had to pay out serious money because they have bought into that narrative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭BoardAtWork

There is a cloud of sexism hanging over rugby in general, so it's hardly fair to single out Ulster. And the allegations that Armitage forwarded ages ago were dismissed weren't they?

Between sexist current/past/underage players, sexist fans abusing a ref, and a sexist former rugby club president, it appears to be a huge issue surrounding rugby in the province. It definitely appears to be a cancerous part of the sport in the province.

There were also claims about racism towards Dragons players in the past also. There have been three inferrences of racism at Ravenhill from what I can recall. Where there is smok,e there is usually fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭BoardAtWork

I don't get what all this booing carry-on is about. Its all very soccerish. I can understand a poor decision being booed, but seriously ... why do you need to select someone as a panto villain?

The Ravenhill crowd are more like football fans than anything else. The booing is normally brushed under the carpet as pantomime behaviour, but I'm not sure I buy that.

To be clear, I’m not saying he did, and if we can find anyone who said anything racist, they should be hung, drawn and quartered. What I meant is exactly what I said - people have accused Ulster fans of heinous things before because they assume everyone will automatically believe the worst of Ulster fans. And it had been utter ballicks, and national newspapers have had to pay out serious money because they have bought into that narrative.

Its all a bit strange that its just at Ulster games that things like this happen. Obviously the Ulster banter isn't appreciated elsewhere.

The Ravenhill crowd are more like football fans than anything else. The booing is normally brushed under the carpet as pantomime behaviour, but I'm not sure I buy that.

Glasgow and Ospreys indulge in it the most - both big football towns. I noticed an Northern Ireland football flag at Ravenhill at the match today. Its a while since they have made an appearance in Ravenhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭damianmcr

What flag jm?

I could swear I watched a Leinster game a month or so ago and the crowd boo'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

If they are more like football fans, surely they’d be watching a football game instead? Really annoys me how many rugby fans turn their noses up at football and use it as an insult.

And does booing really annoy everyone so much? Yea it’s not for everyone but it’s just a mixture of letting a bit of frustration out, putting pressure on the ref, and trying to make the away trip difficult or the opposing team. Fans have always boo’d a player they have a problem with, it’s not an exclusively Ulster phenomen eg Ashton or Cooper. ‘Not sure I buy that’ - so what are you suggesting the booing really is?

Also, obviously something serious needs done if there’s racism involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Such a myth that only certain crowds boo and weird snobbery attempt. I've been in Thomond plenty of times and heard booing. Leinster are usually cruising at home so have no need to but I recall plenty of booing when Scarlets beat them in Dublin in the Pro14 final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Zebo should come out and clarify what exactly it was he thinks he heard. Posting cryptic messages on social media doesn't help improve match day experiences. 17000 people. If a handful of them have crossed a line, then say as much. Give Ulster Rugby the information tonsee if they can find the culprits and dish out bans

Eh Ian Keatley springs to mind.

The booing was fairly lame. And it was also partly down to Zebos actions in Paris. All a bit pantomime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

If Zebo was abused racially it's abhorrent and it will be taken seriously if reported. He's also old enough to know this is a serious accusation and a vague, suggestive Instagram is not the avenue for such a claim. It merely fans the flames exactly as it has done on here through it's vague nature.

He was booed in jest clearly in a pantomime style which was self inflicted. He didn't exactly try to ignore the situation either by making his Z symbol to the crowd before the kick off after his try which was all part of the niggle and banter between them.

If they are more like football fans, surely they’d be watching a football game instead? Really annoys me how many rugby fans turn their noses up at football and use it as an insult.

And does booing really annoy everyone so much? Yea it’s not for everyone but it’s just a mixture of letting a bit of frustration out, putting pressure on the ref, and trying to make the away trip difficult or the opposing team. Fans have always boo’d a player they have a problem with, it’s not an exclusively Ulster phenomen eg Ashton or Cooper. ‘Not sure I buy that’ - so what are you suggesting the booing really is?

Also, obviously something serious needs done if there’s racism involved.

You’re not taking 30 grown men running about throwing a ball about seriously enough. It’s not just “entertainment “ you know. You can’t just be booing players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Glasgow and Ospreys indulge in it the most - both big football towns. I noticed an Northern Ireland football flag at Ravenhill at the match today. Its a while since they have made an appearance in Ravenhill.

What Northern Ireland football flag? The cross of St George with the red hand on it? Getting wound up about that would be like me getting wound up about the appearance of a Tricolour at the Aviva...

Or was it some other flag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

bilston wrote: »
    What Northern Ireland football flag? The cross of St George with the red hand on it? Getting wound up about that would be like me getting wound up about the appearance of a Tricolour at the Aviva...

Or was it some other flag?

Jaysus I'd be very disappointed if someone pulled out a tricolour at an Ulster-Leinster match. I'd expect that to be gotten rid of pretty sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭troyzer

Ah lads, the fleg discussion is out.

Can we not? To quote Nigel Owens:

"This isn't soccer"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Such a myth that only certain crowds boo and weird snobbery attempt. I've been in Thomond plenty of times and heard booing. Leinster are usually cruising at home so have no need to but I recall plenty of booing when Scarlets beat them in Dublin in the Pro14 final.

Sure there was boos at yesterday's game against Toulouse. Happens at almost every game when the crowd don't agree with a decision

Highlights. If anyone gets a full match link let me know - wasn't able to watch on VM1 last night

• Administrators Posts: 55,145 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

ClanofLams wrote: »

Sure Munster do it to their own players. Just ask Ian Keatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

awec wrote: »
    Sure Munster do it to their own players. Just ask Ian Keatley.

No no no. They were merely expressing their displeasure at management's decision to take him off. Or for leaving him on so long. Or something. But they definitely weren't booing an individual player. Oh no... how dare you violate the sacred TP reputation by suggesting Munster fans boo anyone. Boo to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

https://twitter.com/Cumoski/status/1084398063031123973

Inquiries have gone into EPCrugby....could mean anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

2smiggy wrote: »
    Back to ure flute playing

This is one of the more horrible posts I’ve seen on here in quite a while. You should be ashamed. The irony that it was posted trying to defend someone who may have been subjected to discrimination is no doubt lost on you

Zzippy wrote: »
    No no no. They were merely expressing their displeasure at management's decision to take him off. Or for leaving him on so long. Or something. But they definitely weren't booing an individual player. Oh no... how dare you violate the sacred TP reputation by suggesting Munster fans boo anyone. Boo to you!

People will do stuff that they will later regret. What is important is how people react to it. I'd like to think that what happened to Ian Keatly in Thomond Park will never happen again and that everyone has learned their lesson. There was a good debate on Munster fans at the time and from what I could see then, the people who did boo were condemned for doing so by both management and supporters and excuses were not accepted.

What I see coming out of Belfast are just excuses, blaming Zebo because he displayed some poor sportmanship (for which he has sincerely apologised for) for making the Ulster supporters continuously boo him when he was on the field. Absolutely pointless for him to officially complain because he would need some Ulster supporters at the match to actually stand up and be counted as witnesses. I say fair dues to Zebo having the bottle to stand up for himself and call people out on unacceptable behaviour. If the cap fits, just wear it and sort it out.

People will do stuff that they will later regret. What is important is how people react to it. I'd like to think that what happened to Ian Keatly in Thomond Park will never happen again and that everyone has learned their lesson. There was a good debate on Munster fans at the time and from what I could see then, the people who did boo were condemned for doing so by both management and supporters and excuses were not accepted.

What I see coming out of Belfast are just excuses, blaming Zebo because he displayed some poor sportmanship (for which he has sincerely apologised for) for making the Ulster supporters continuously boo him when he was on the field. Absolutely pointless for him to officially complain because he would need some Ulster supporters at the match to actually stand up and be counted as witnesses. I say fair dues to Zebo having the bottle to stand up for himself and call people out on unacceptable behaviour. If the cap fits, just wear it and sort it out.

Really? All you see is excuses? Have you read the many Ulster fans replying to his tweet? Or are you just throwing words together in a meaningless, outraged manner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

He hasn't had any bottle, or called people out on unacceptable behaviour. If he wants to make a stand and call people out, say exactly what it was and file a report.

Making vague riddles does absolutely nothing for pointing out racism/discrimination, just fuels speculation and misdirected anger from all sides.

File a report, have it investigated and get the nitbags who participated in it kicked out of rugby for life, if it was racism.

Really? All you see is excuses? Have you read the many Ulster fans replying to his tweet? Or are you just throwing words together in a meaningless, outraged manner?

You are just trying to deflect from the issue here. You've already questioned / tried to imply that Zebo ''misunderstood'' what happened.

Any kind of abuse (racist or not) of players is not sportsmanlike and I think you should stop trying to normalise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Defunkd

bilston wrote: »
    There is?
    Jim Williams being called a "black bastard" by someone in the crowd. That account came from someone who was on the pitch that night.

So yeah, there is precedent.

• Administrators Posts: 55,145 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You are just trying to deflect from the issue here. You've already questioned / tried to imply that Zebo ''misunderstood'' what happened.

Any kind of abuse (racist or not) of players is not sportsmanlike and I think you should stop trying to normalise it.

I think you should re-read the thread before you blunt your spade any further.