Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senior Garda suspended from duty.

• 03-01-2019 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭

The officer is facing allegations of serious misconduct and is the subject of a Garda Ombudsman inquiry.

I wonder has the case been in the public domain already.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

You have got me uninterested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The officer is facing allegations of serious misconduct and is the subject of a Garda Ombudsman inquiry.

I wonder has the case been in the public domain already.

I wonder has it anything to do with the Castlerea affair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I wonder has it anything to do with the Castlerea affair?

I dunno, would the guy who was recently involved in the shooting of the man (and dog?) be considered a senior garda?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

A bit of back up would help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I dunno, would the guy who was recently involved in the shooting of the man (and dog?) be considered a senior garda?

That was Strokestown. There was an incident a week before in Castlerea were 2 men were badly beaten by Garda and 700 to 1000 people protested over their treatment.
    GSOC were involved.

Independent is reporting the investigation began in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

I doubt very much if it is him. HE didn't do any wrong in fairness. The dog still hasn't been found.

Allinall wrote: »
    A bit of back up would help.

Probably a union member or has legal adviser.

The Irish Times have said he is a member of senior Garda management and the investigation is into allegations of corruption.

This new Commissioner is shaking things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The Irish Times have said he is a member of senior Garda management and the investigation is into allegations of corruption.

This new Commissioner is shaking things up.

Ye'd hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He was framed by Internal Affairs!

It's the Assistant Garda Commissioner Fintan Fanning that has been suspended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Not very nice thing to do to name a person. By any chance are you a Garda and playing a bit of the old politics.

I hope you're better at sheep breeding than you are at playing the amateur detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

How is it not nice when the name is reported in the Indo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

TodayFM news reported the suspension relates to a protected disclosure made by a Garda last November.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

That's an unfortunate photo, looks like dougal made it to be a high ranking Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fanning's name has been associated with a couple of high profile internal Garda HR rows in recent years, including the treatment of himself in a promotions process and the disciplinary process surrounding a couple of other Gardaí.

This is not me speculating, they have been reported in mainstream publications.

zapitastas wrote: »
    That's an unfortunate photo, looks like dougal made it to be a high ranking Garda

Its the one on the Executive Team profile page of the Garda website. Make of that what you will.

zapitastas wrote: »

It's like someone with an old Nokia caught him by surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Slasher

"Asst Commissioner Fanning has an impeccable record spanning decades of service, and is highly experienced and respected."

Piece co-written by Paul Williams. Surprise, surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

A google of his name brings up some Facebook pages on supposed corruption. Which means this is fake news. Russian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

He has been a member of An Garda Síochána for 39 years, having joined in 1980, and is due to retire on age grounds in August of this year.

Nice, due for retirement, they'll give it to him early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Anybody any idea regarding what type of allegations are being investigated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

BattleCorp wrote: »

Yes...serious misconduct allegations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Drew Harris making a strong point here. Good to see.

The Irish Times yesterday evening reported it was corruption.

I presume there will be more details revealed in the coming days but it's obviously something of major concern to have someone of that rank investigated never mind suspended.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Drew Harris making a strong point here. Good to see.

I know nothing about the man but he seems to be taking his new job very seriously.

It is some statement of intent to the rank and file and it's all credit to Maurice McCabe at the end of the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

A google of his name brings up some Facebook pages on supposed corruption. Which means this is fake news. Russian.

facebook pages that also mention the likes of joe doocey stephen manning ben gilroy ACT ect

all well on the far side of sanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Our police force is a thundering disgrace, barely a week goes by when there's not a story about their seedy goings on.

The general rank and file do a thankless job, and most of them do it flawlessly, but there's a deep set rot from within, as is evident from all these relentless stories.

Given the culture of the organisation, there's no way I'd be reporting anybody for anything, that's for sure.

Protected disclosure me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Examiner story

This is the classic disclosure and then revenge template that was revealed in the Maurice McCabe case. A garda discloses wrong doing then there is a botched stitch up job. Garda is attacked in a hotel lobby but let's flip it around and charge him with the attack. With a bit of luck nobody will look at the cctv.

They used to get away we these stitch ups so easily. The invention of CCTV and Tape Recorders has now posed a major obstacle to the blunt force methods of these not particularly bright, crooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It does go to show that despite the wailing from chuckies, the appointment of Drew Harris is an essential component in removing the weeds that have grown around Garda management. Someone with no previous relationship to members of the force is the only way to make sure that people get brought to account.

Would Noirín O'Sullivan or Martin Callinan have suspended an AC with 39 years service? No fncking way. They'd have brought him - no doubt a trusted friend - out for a steak dinner to have a chat about the allegation and discuss what they're going to do to make it "go away".

I would expect a lot more of this stuff over the next five years, and I'd be disappointed if we don't see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

He has been a member of An Garda Síochána for 39 years, having joined in 1980, and is due to retire on age grounds in August of this year.

Nice, due for retirement, they'll give it to him early.

On full pension with hefty lump sum and no questions asked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Given the culture of the organisation, there's no way I'd be reporting anybody for anything, that's for sure.

Protected disclosure me hole.

I believe it didn’t go well for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

seamus wrote: »
    It does go to show that despite the wailing from chuckies, the appointment of Drew Harris is an essential component in removing the weeds that have grown around Garda management. Someone with no previous relationship to members of the force is the only way to make sure that people get brought to account.

Would Noirín O'Sullivan or Martin Callinan have suspended an AC with 39 years service? No fncking way. They'd have brought him - no doubt a trusted friend - out for a steak dinner to have a chat about the allegation and discuss what they're going to do to make it "go away".

I would expect a lot more of this stuff over the next five years, and I'd be disappointed if we don't see it.

Despite being the commissioner, surely he cant do this alone.

Wont he need to co-operation of the department of justice and the court system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

The Senior Garda will probably go to the High Court.

Very unfair to name anyone until they are actually charged with a crime.

Everyone is entitled to their good name until good solid evidence of wrongdoing is produced and that goes for senior Garda management as well as everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

tretorn wrote: »
    Very unfair to name anyone until they are actually charged with a crime.
    Being charged with a crime doesn't mean the person is guilty.

On full pension with hefty lump sum and no questions asked

Under the ags own rules you can't retire while under disciplinary investigation.
    (You await suspended while this investigation could potentially lead to your dismissal. So the record shows you were sacked for malpractice rather than you handed in your resignation. Although this wouldn't effect your pension)
    They don't seem to enforce that rule though, or haven't in many cases in the past.

Despite being the commissioner, surely he cant do this alone.

Wont he need to co-operation of the department of justice and the court system

The biggest contribution Drew can make is to ensure GSOC receive co-operation from AGS.
    GSOC have consistently said they are obstructed and receive none.

For what is called an "over sight" body they actually have little or no legal powers. When they receive a complaint or disclosure they have to write a letter to ags and ask nicely for documents and files and information. They are usually left to wait months or years before getting any response. Which will of course a carefully selective response.

If Harris begins a policy of AGS volunteering to do what they are not legally obliged to do and begin actively assisting GSOC in their investigations then you have some chance of people being held to account. And where AGS or its members are innocent then there is nothing to fear from GSOC having access to the evidence and information it needs. It will only lead to an early clearance of the matter and stand to the reputation and transparency of the force.

Under the ags own rules you can't retire while under disciplinary investigation.
    (You await suspended while this investigation could potentially lead to your dismissal. So the record shows you were sacked for malpractice rather than you handed in your resignation. Although this wouldn't effect your pension)
    They don't seem to enforce that rule though, or haven't in many cases in the past.

They can hardly keep you on paid suspension when you are past your retirement date? If they did, you'd be financially better off than if they let you retire.

If he a decision is made to charge I would think this will become suspended without pay. At present there is only the commencement of a criminal investigation. Which if not obstructed ought to have a file with the DPP before this man's retirement date next september. He is a wealthy man anyway the dishonorable discharge would hurt him more than the loss of what is (to him) pocket change.

Its not the Marine Corps, no one can be 'dishonourably discharged'. Any previous cases of criminal wrongdoing by serving Gardaí have resulted in dismissal.

That dismissal obviously ends their service, but it does not remove their pension entitlement accrued up to that point.

Theres no chance that any investigation / proceedings will be completed by the time Fanning hits automatic retirement age later in the year, so it will be nobody's choice that he departs on full pension entitlement, or not.

Nothing whatsoever can be done about that unless the law around all public service pensions is changed to make them dependent on conduct. In the meantime theres no point griping about the Guards or anyone else 'looking after each other'

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Its not the Marine Corps, no one can be 'dishonourably discharged'.

Using a term of expression. As you probably know.

You maintain the investigation file will not be completed in nine months time?

Can you explain the delay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

The biggest contribution Drew can make is to ensure GSOC receive co-operation from AGS.
    GSOC have consistently said they are obstructed and receive none.

For what is called an "over sight" body they actually have little or no legal powers. When they receive a complaint or disclosure they have to write a letter to ags and ask nicely for documents and files and information. They are usually left to wait months or years before getting any response. Which will of course a carefully selective response.

If Harris begins a policy of AGS volunteering to do what they are not legally obliged to do and begin actively assisting GSOC in their investigations then you have some chance of people being held to account. And where AGS or its members are innocent then there is nothing to fear from GSOC having access to the evidence and information it needs. It will only lead to an early clearance of the matter and stand to the reputation and transparency of the force.

Well no thats not true raheem .

GSOC can and do seek warrants to search Garda station lockers and homes of gardai for documents or other things.

in general its GSOC who are the ones who go months without responding or acting no the gardai which might be due to manpower and resource issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

From framing people for murder (Donegal) to large scale penalty points wiping it's fair to say our police force needs a major culture change. Glad to see change is taking place.

If he a decision is made to charge I would think this will become suspended without pay. At present there is only the commencement of a criminal investigation. Which if not obstructed ought to have a file with the DPP before this man's retirement date next september. He is a wealthy man anyway the dishonorable discharge would hurt him more than the loss of what is (to him) pocket change.

Nope. He can't be suspended without pay pending the outcome of a trial. That wouldn't be fair procedure. And even if he was convicted, then an investigation etc. would still have to take place. He'll be long retired before this reaches any sort of conclusion. Which means that it won't reach a significant conclusion.

It might impact his future employment prospects though if he is found to have carried out any wrongdoings and decides he doesn't want to retire with his feet up. He's a very well educated man so one would assume that with a clean record, he would have very good employment prospects.

This is taken from Garda.ie
    Qualifications:

Management Course at French Police College at L’Ecole Nationale Superieure de la Police de Saint- Cyr, Au Mont D’OR.

Strategic Command Course at Bramshill in 2005.

Cambridge University UK “SCC Cambridge Policing in Contemporary Societies” course at the Institute of Criminology in Cambridge.

MA History – The Irish Revolution 1912 – 1923 – UCC (to be conferred)

Professional Diploma in Corporate Governance – UCD (ongoing)

TOPspoc Course in Police Leadership in the EU

LLM – Masters Degree in Law - 2013

MSc - Masters Degree in Police Leadership - 2010

MBA - Masters Degree in Business Administration, University College Dublin - 1996

LLB - Bachelor of Laws Hons University of London - 1994

Post Graduate Diploma in Employment Law in UCD - 2010

Post Graduate Garda Executive Leadership Diploma at Garda College in conjunction with UCD - 2006

Post Graduate Diploma in International Arbitration, University College Dublin - 2002

Post Graduate Diploma in Advanced Management, University College Dublin - 1995

Post Graduate Diploma in Conflict & Dispute Resolution Studies in Trinity College Dublin - 2011

Post Graduate Diploma in Project Management, Trinity College Dublin - 2001

Post Graduate Diploma in Management Information Systems, Irish Management Institute - 2000

Certificate in Supervisory Management, Irish Management Institute - 1988

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Well no thats not true raheem .

GSOC can and do seek warrants to search Garda station lockers and homes of gardai for documents or other things.

in general its GSOC who are the ones who go months without responding or acting no the gardai which might be due to manpower and resource issues.

Well GSOC seem to think it's true.

Maybe they're lying?