Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Badly assaulted outside Dublin bar

• 31-12-2018 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

I'm in terrible distress to be honest, wouldn't mind some advice if any of you have any experience .

I was in a bar in Dublin on Friday night at about 1.30am I ordered a drink for myself as my Girl still had half hers left.
    I paid for it with my debit card and the receipt was left on the counter.
    I seen my beer being poured and left on the drip container on the counter so I went over and took it, walked back to my Girl, I believe I gave the bar man a nod as to say thanks I got my beer.
    I was kissing my girl when the barman came over took my beer and threw it down he drain, I said what are you doing I paid for that and said there's my receipt. The barman picked up the receipt crunched it up and threw it on the ground behind the bar, I was pissed off as you can imagine and I rose my voice quite a bit arguing give me back my receipt and pour me another beer, he ignored me.
    I was then forcefully ejected up the stairs outside by 2 bouncers, threw me face down on the ground, one got me in a headlock and I may have passed out from the lack of oxygen, not sure but they also kicked and punched me in the head and body.
    I have a damaged throat, can't really swallow, whiplash, bruises all over my body and a bad back.
    Also my very recent girlfriend has all of a sudden got very cold with me, I can't understand it because she knows I done nothing wrong, maybe because I got a bit angry, not sure but I feel I had a right do demand my receipt back and another beer.
    I've gone to my doctor and he's put me on strong anti inflammatory medication.
    I've also given a detailed statement to the Guards, 2 A4 pages long.

Any other things I should do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I'm in terrible distress to be honest, wouldn't mind some advice if any of you have any experience .

I was in a bar in Dublin on Friday night at about 1.30am I ordered a drink for myself as my Girl still had half hers left.
    I seen my beer being poured and left on the drip container on the counter so I went over and took it, walked back to my Girl, I believe I gave the bar man a nod as to say thanks I got my beer.
    I was kissing my girl when the barman came over took my beer and threw it down he drain, I said what are you doing I paid for that and said there's my receipt. The barman picked up the receipt crunched it up and threw it on the ground behind the bar, I was pissed off as you can imagine and I rose my voice quite a bit arguing give me back my receipt and pour me another beer, he ignored me.
    I was then forcefully ejected up the stairs outside by 2 bouncers, threw me face down on the ground, one got me in a headlock and I may have passed out from the lack of oxygen, not sure but they also kicked and punched me in the head and body.
    I have a damaged throat, can't really swallow, whiplash, bruises all over my body and a bad back.
    Also my very recent girlfriend has all of a sudden got very cold with me, I can't understand it because she knows I done nothing wrong, maybe because I got a bit angry, not sure but I feel I had a right do demand my receipt back and another beer.

Matter is under investigation, let the guards do their job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Not post this on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Dermot09127

ED E wrote: »
    Not post this on boards.

Why Not? I didn't mention names or the bars name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Not sure why you are posting here.

If your missus is gone cold I wonder what her side and the bar mans side is.

Hopefully cctv will make it clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Maybe she's gone cold because she knows you were acting the bollox and she's wondering who she's got mixed up with.

Witcher wrote: »
    Maybe she's gone cold because she knows you were acting the bollox and she's wondering who she's got mixed up with.

Did you miss the part where we were kissing at the bar? Maybe the barman didn't like that.... with only 5 drinks had I remember clearly what happened, I wasn't acting the bollox.

Not sure why you are posting here.

If your missus is gone cold I wonder what her side and the bar mans side is.

Hopefully cctv will make it clearer.

In the legal section asking for some advice, do you know how much solicitors cost?.??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Witcher wrote: »

If I ever was dating and a girl had a bad experience where alcohol was involved, I would be gone like a shot. I take it as a sign of deeper problems. I went out with a girl like that and happily to get shot of her after three months. She used to get mouthy and aggressive after 8 drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Did you miss the part where we were kissing at the bar? Maybe the barman didn't like that.... with only 5 drinks had I remember clearly what happened, I wasn't acting the bollox.

He most likely didn't like you taking a drink from the drip tray and couldn't care less who you kiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 kittyIE

Hi. This sounds very strange No explanation as why they did that???? Maybe you were more drunk than you thought and did or say something that you don’t recall but girlfriend saw. I’d ask her what her perception of the event was????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

If I ever was dating and a girl had a bad experience where alcohol was involved, I would be gone like a shot. I take it as a sign of deeper problems. I went out with a girl like that and happily to get shot of her after three months. She used to get mouthy and aggressive after 8 drinks.

More like you got shot coz you were paying for the 8.

kittyIE wrote: »
    Hi. This sounds very strange No explanation as why they did that???? Maybe you were more drunk than you thought and did or say something that you don’t recall but girlfriend saw. I’d ask her what her perception of the event was????

Nope she agrees totally with me, we were texting the day after but since went cold.
    I can deal with losing a woman but the treatment from he bar man and bouncers were off the charts and I told the bouncers what he barman did prior to being escorted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Del2005 wrote: »
    He most likely didn't like you taking a drink from the drip tray and couldn't care less who you kiss.

Pay attention OP "was kissing my girl when the barman came over took my beer and threw it down he drain, I said what are you doing I paid for that and said there's my receipt"

More like you got shot coz you were paying for the 8.

History of Alcoholism in the family. I am not saying it is not a disease that people dont have a disposition to but I dont need that problem in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

You're in the wrong for taking the drink. Barman could have had 3/4/5 orders in his head and you nicked someones pint.

Maybe the security were a bit aggressive but you were roaring at a staff member demanding things which wouldn't look good.

Also no wonder that woman doesn't want to know you after you freaked out over something so trivial.

Top tip, wait for your pint to be served to you, never take anything from behind the counter. Be nice to bar staff and security. And just chill out cos you sound quite aggressive in your posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

History of Alcoholism in the family. I am not saying it is not a disease that people dont have a disposition to but I dont need that problem in my life.

Sorry but It was just a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sounds like there’s more to this than the OPs account.

I’d like to hear the Barman’s version of events.

My advice to OP -stop messaging about it on this

kerry37 wrote: »
    You're in the wrong for taking the drink. Barman could have had 3/4/5 orders in his head and you nicked someones pint.

Maybe the security were a bit aggressive but you were roaring at a staff member demanding things which wouldn't look good.

Also no wonder that woman doesn't want to know you after you freaked out over something so trivial.

Top tip, wait for your pint to be served to you, never take anything from behind the counter. Be nice to bar staff and security. And just chill out cos you sound quite aggressive in your posts

Nope, the bar was quiet enough. He took payment from my card and gave me my receipt, he then proceeded to pour the Heineken which I ordered. He put it on the drip tray on the counter.
    I didn't touch anything behind the bar.

I've often taken my drink from the drip tray in other bars although not in Dublin, I don't live there was only up for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

To be honest, taking a drink from behind a bar was far too cool and cocky. Getting a bollocking for doing that anywhere outside a true local is pretty much how I'd expect that to go down each and every time.

You got belligerent to make matters worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

For what it’s worth.

In all my years in pubs. 20 + I’ve never EVER taken a drink from the drip tray behind the bar and I can’t recall ever seeing anyone doing it.

lawred2 wrote: »
    To be honest, taking a drink from behind a bar was far too cool and cocky. Getting a bollocking for doing that anywhere outside a true local is pretty much how I'd expect that to go down each and every time.

You got belligerent to make matters worse.

Drip tray on the counter, I'd hardly put my hands behind a bar counter.

Nope, the bar was quiet enough. He took payment from my card and gave me my receipt, he then proceeded to pour the Heineken which I ordered. He put it on the drip tray on the counter.
    I didn't touch anything behind the bar.

I've often taken my drink from the drip tray in other bars although not in Dublin, I don't live there was only up for the night.

Ah ok so it was the drip tray on the counter, not the one under the tap??

Tbf, if it was quiet there had to be a reason. Just leave the pint and if he doesn't drop it over give him a friendly shout.

Also, who pays for a pint before it's even poured?? I worked in bars for 10 years and in all that time never took payment before pouring and similarly I've never paid for a pint before it was served when I'm out.

The more you post, the worse you look tbh. It's such a trivial matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Cool story bro

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Dillosk412

I've asked Paddy power for odds on this being a troll.

They said they don't lay dead certs

Ah ok so it was the drip tray on the counter, not the one under the tap??

Tbf, if it was quiet there had to be a reason. Just leave the pint and if he doesn't drop it over give him a friendly shout.

Also, who pays for a pint before it's even poured?? I worked in bars for 10 years and in all that time never took payment before pouring and similarly I've never paid for a pint before it was served when I'm out.

The more you post, the worse you look tbh. It's such a trivial matter.

Yes the one on the counter where people often pick their beer up from.
    Trivial? Getting seriously assaulted by 2 bouncers, one of them foreign calling me a scummy Irish..... while kicking the crap out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Trivial? Getting seriously assaulted by 2 bouncers, one of them foreign calling me a scummy Irish..... while kicking the crap out of me.

He was calling you scummy Irish with an Irish bouncer beside him?

Sorry but It was just a joke.

She was a mucky puppy under the influence. She made a proper fool of herself in a few senarios, kind of felt like Fredo in the Godfather. Lucky I got out in time.

munster87 wrote: »
    He was calling you scummy Irish with an Irish bouncer beside him?

The other one could have been foreign too, I've no idea.

Never seen anyone pick up a pint from that or any drip tray

You were roaring and shouting at staff. For some reason I don't believe you just walked out at the request of the bouncers so they may have had to use force with an aggressive customer.

The pint is the trivial issue I referred to. Either call the barman a prick under your breath and order another or just leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Arguing with bar staff like that is only ever going to end one way.

Sounds like you handled the situation really badly resulting in the staff having to maul you out.

This next statement is general rather than OP specific.

Girls don’t like loud mouth lads that cause trouble and get into fights on a night out, it’s real nasty night out for them.

Some of the replies, seriously..... what do I need to do post pics of all my bruises?

_Brian wrote: »
    Arguing with bar staff like that is only ever going to end one way.

Sounds like you handled the situation really badly resulting in the staff having to maul you out.

This next statement is general rather than OP specific.

Girls don’t like loud mouth lads that cause trouble and get into fights on a night out, it’s real nasty night out for them.

It's probably OP specific. Whole thing must have been a rather ugly scene

Some of the replies, seriously..... what do I need to do post pics of all my bruises?

Doubt anyone thinks that you didn't ship a hiding

But you won't find too many people who won't consider you blameless

I've no doubt the security were heavy handed, I've witnessed it myself when they have to deal with aggressive customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

The girl going cold, likely the Gard's have asked her for a statement to see how it corroborates or not your statement, she may not like being involved at all.

You were roaring and shouting at staff. For some reason I don't believe you just walked out at the request of the bouncers so they may have had to use force with an aggressive customer.

The pint is the trivial issue I referred to. Either call the barman a prick under your breath and order another or just leave.

They grabbed my arm behind my back and pushed me up the stairs outside, was that not enough?
    You think it's ok to then throw me on he ground choke me to the point where I couldn't breath damaging my throat and kicking/punching me all over my body including my head calling me scummy irish, they could have killed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Is this really the legal discussion forum? If a guy is beaten up on a night out it’s a crime and possibly also a civil offense. The bouncers have as much right to attack you as any other person there, ie none.

They grabbed my arm behind my back and pushed me up the stairs outside, was that not enough?
    You think it's ok to then throw me on he ground choke me to the point where I couldn't breath damaging my throat and kicking/punching me all over my body including my head calling me scummy irish, they could have killed me.

Did you resist or kick off in any way? Did you start shouting at them like you did the bar man?

Why did you pay for your pint before the bar man even poured it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Whatever happened to the good old days of getting a box from a bouncer for acting the boll1x laughing it off and moving on to another pub.
    Hell we used to do it weekly and be back the following weekend for more but when we got a box we deserved it I'd say.we had a unique ability in taking things too far.never once was a guard or doctor involved though thank god.lighten up op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 DaverageJoe

I'm confused here. Why is everyone more concerned with the OP's girlfriend gone cold on him (citing issues such as alcoholism as a potential cause :confused:) and having a go at him for shouting in a pub and taking the drink while ignoring the fact he paid for something and not only didn't get it but had his receipt destroyed and was forcibly removed from the premises such that it resulted in a formal complaint being made to the gards about criminal assault?

If the OP took the wrong pint then the barman should have said that. Taking it, throwing it away and then throwing away the receipt is incredibly unprofessional and the OP had every right to demand his money back or what he had paid for and his proof of purchase. The fact that he was subsequently forcibly removed from the premises after his money was taken and reception destroyed and has made a formal complaint to the guards about assault makes it all the more unprofessional and even if the OP was out of line in arguing it's entirely on the business if the facts are true about being charged, having his receipt thrown away and then being assaulted.

OP I'm no solicitor but I'd say let the gards do their job first and then once any criminal investigation/proceedings against the two bouncers for the assault are finished take the bar to small claims court for the cost of everything. Keep all receipts related to the injuries and doctors visits and make notes of the impact that the actions of the staff of the pub have had on your day to day life (you were talking about whiplash etc, whether real or not if you're going to claim based on things like that you need to be clear in how it's impacted you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well there's a couple of things here.
    Firstly you shouldn't be taking a drink until it's served to you.
    Secondly you shouldn't be losing the cool and raising your voice.
    Thirdly there was no way you were thrown out the way you claim without doing something more serious than raising your voice

There is no good reason for you to be battered and bruised. Bouncers should not be doing anything beyond removing people using proper control and restraint techniques. If there is a problem thereafter they should close the door and call the GardaÃ႒႒­.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Anger management classes. It will look good for the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If this is an on going legal discussion, should the thread still be open?

Is this really the legal discussion forum? If a guy is beaten up on a night out it’s a crime and possibly also a civil offense. The bouncers have as much right to attack you as any other person there, ie none.

Yes the legal discussion section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 DaverageJoe

Ignore them seriously. It says "legal discussion" but it's essentially just twitter with people just bursting to give their opinion in the most judgmental way possible.

Just make your case to the gards and then hire a solicitor if you intend to seek compensation for any injuries etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Dillosk412

I'm calling it bull.

And you can get pictures of bruises on Google.

Your post makes no sense as every bar has cctv and Gardai can access that. If it is suddenly wiped, then the bar loses the case.

So complete and utter bull from a regd today poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

Barman, 2 bouncers, and yer ex all seemingly have a different version of this.

I would say your version is like homer simpson’s black and white recollection of what happened in his seriously drunken state at the party...

I say, take your scolding, learn a life lesson, and move on.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well there's a couple of things here.
    Firstly you shouldn't be taking a drink until it's served to you.
    Secondly you shouldn't be losing the cool and raising your voice.
    Thirdly there was no way you were thrown out the way you claim without doing something more serious than raising your voice

There is no good reason for you to be battered and bruised. Bouncers should not be doing anything beyond removing people using proper control and restraint techniques. If there is a problem thereafter they should close the door and call the GardaÃ႒႒­.

Actually yes it was exactly That, I was demanding my receipt back, it's my proof of purchase.
    I never laid my hands on anyone which I think is what you are eluding to in your Thirdly comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

i really need to know where the drip tray actually was. Was it on the upper most counter out in the open or was it behind the taps or under a tap?