Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antisocial boy racer with modified exhaust

• 30-12-2018 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

A neighbours son about 2kms away has recently started driving and he'd be about 18 or 19 and he drives a modified car with an Exhaust so loud it could be heard for literally miles. My house is located on a main road with a junction to the R road directly opposite my house, this guy lives like 2 kms down the side road and everytime he emerges at the junction it is like a Rally is occurring and the noise can be heard all over my double glazed and insulated house. You'd hear him coming for 2 to 3 minutes before the car arrives at the junction if you were outside.

He is driving on L plates and the car is a literal junker good only for making noise. The father is an intelligent man in a respectable wellpaying job and I'm really surprised of what is happening to be honest.

There was another guy making a racket like this around two years ago (didn't effect me) but the Guards seized his car and took him to court for doing doughnuts on the public road.

If I report him to the Guards do you think they will do anything about it? The noise is the problem and he should be made fit a normal exhaust like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

video him and post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Gardai would be very interested in the L driving unaccompanied and also the car would fail the nct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

Let the lad have his fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Let the lad have his fun

It's not fun and called being a knob and I was woken up at 2 and 3am by him recently over the Christmas period, and it is incredibly annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bring it up with the neighbours and the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Let the lad have his fun

You have fun on private property, on the road you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Let the lad have his fun

Typical words sitting behind a phone when it don't impact you.

tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

bazz26 wrote: »
    Typical words sitting behind a phone when it don't impact you.

tenor.gif

Do you think i live on the moon?? i hear the same thing day in and day out, if it annoys the op then complain to his parents. there is no point complaining on boards about it :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Let the lad have his fun

Its called being a knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Do you think i live on the moon?? i hear the same thing day in and day out, if it annoys the op then complain to his parents. there is no point complaining on boards about it :).

That's a big turnaround from your opening post there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

Let the lad have his fun

It's all fun until you grow up and have kids.
    Then, you worry about these immature idiots when your wife and kids and walking on country roads to school wearing hi-viz vests.

Is this idiots playstation trained reactions good enough to avoid the family or does he get more points for mowing down pedestrians ?

Why don’t you complain to him or his father and give them a chance to fix it rather than landing him in trouble with the guards. It will be fairly obvious you reported him and will make for very poor neighborly relations going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Why don’t you complain to him or his father and give them a chance to fix it rather than landing him in trouble with the guards. It will be fairly obvious you reported him and will make for very poor neighborly relations going forward.

When nothing is done about my complaint and I then have to complain to the Guards it will be obvious I reported him then.

What is stopping me reporting him so far is I know a farmer locally (unrelated to this guy) who's 15 year old son was driving back-roads in a huge €90,000 tractor this summer, drawing silage and hay etc. and someone there along that road reported him as he was driving fast with the tractor on a single lane bohereen and he obviously frightened the daylights out of people in and out that road.

Anyway the Guards called to the house and had a word and that stopped the young lad driving the tractor until he is licenced and insured at 16 next year. However what shocked me was he was able to tell me who reported the son as they have a guard in the family stationed in another county, who must have got them the information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Used to have a neighbour complaining about the noise from my car for years, told him exactly where to go each time. He had the gaurds onto me a load of times over it, it didn't make an ounce of difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Used to have a neighbour complaining about the noise from my car for years, told him exactly where to go each time. He had the gaurds onto me a load of times over it, it didn't make an ounce of difference

It's an indescribable level of happiness when you have a car that passes the db test by the slimmest of margins ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

It's an indescribable level of happiness when you have a car that passes the db test by the slimmest of margins ;)

The two tests the gaurds done it was under the limit by 1db

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

99db is the allowed limit which is incredibly loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Young boys and loud exhausts......

Seems to be a cock thing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I did similar about 12 years ago,
    A friends son. ( And I do mean friend. I would consider him a close friend)
    I spoke with his son about it and it appeared to be like water off a ducks back.
    So I said it to his Father that I spoke to his son and that he might want to have a word with him, I knew almost instantly it did not go down too well. About a week later his son mounted a roundabout and did a lot of damage to his car.
    Point of my post is, his father literally ignores me since unless we meet in a shop or something I speak first.

I would be flagging the lad down next time and ask him to do something about the noise and the driving as it affects you and your family.
    If he ignores then go the the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Ah memories, i had a nissan Silvia about 13 years ago that would spit flames at times from the exhaust! Everyone's car had a loud exhaust back then, see feck all around with them these days. We got a few complaints, or more so asked to keep it down at night, when we were younger so we would crawl in and out of estates so we wouldnt wake everyone up.

Id say if you mention it to them they will quiet down near your house, be a right asshole not to after being asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭bitburger

It's an indescribable level of happiness when you have a car that passes the db test by the slimmest of margins

out of interest what is the Db limit? Db is non linear unit of measurement.
    Is there a standardised distance the measurement microphone is placed from the exhaust tip? as even moving this by an inch or 2 would read a lower Db level.

OP be thankful you dont live next to me, I ride a 2 stroke scooter with a large expansion chamber and a pod air filter. the clutch doesnt engage until nearly 4000 rpm :pac:, being quite as i ride down the road is not an option:D, have had one or 2 of the neighbours pass comments back my way regarding the noise but it sure as **** isnt going to get me to change my vehicle or how it sounds any time soon, it took me long enough to find this and get it on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

We were all young once op.he could be at a lot worse.and incase you say I don't have to listen to it there's loads of them here also in rural location and we have a crossroads they meet at for diffing.
    They grow out of it after time.

rex-x wrote: »
    99db is the allowed limit which is incredibly loud
    I wouldnt say that its THAT loud

NoiseHealth_2013_15_64_183_112369_u5.jpg

Power-Tool-Decibel-Levels-Infographic.jpg

More often than not I am woken up early in the morning by neighbours using one of the above tools, normally i find the best course of action is just to suck it up and close the window till i fall back asleep until im ready to wake up as unfortunately these noises are stationary and not just passing by my house.

of course by the time these sound sources reach my ear the actual Db level is a whole lot lower, as is dictated by the inverse square law.
    http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/Acoustic/isprob.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

bitburger wrote: »
    More often than not I am woken up early in the morning by neighbours using one of the above tools, normally i find the best course of action is just to suck it up and close the window till i fall back asleep until im ready to wake up as unfortunately these noises are stationary and not just passing by my house.

Tools are generally used for a purpose, digging a hole or whatever. In this case the tool is driving for no purpose, only aggravation.

Young boys and loud exhausts......

Seems to be a small cock thing.....

FYP. O

bitburger wrote: »
    I wouldnt say that its THAT loud

From an exhaust perspective basically only an NA car with a totally straight exhaust will surpass 99db, a turbo car even with no exhaust will not come near it.

Don't get me wrong i'm happy for the high limit but for an exhaust 99db is a very generous limit, especially measured at 1m away at a 45 degree angle :)

From an exhaust perspective basically only an NA car with a totally straight exhaust will surpass 99db, a turbo car even with no exhaust will not come near it.

Don't get me wrong i'm happy for the high limit but for an exhaust 99db is a very generous limit, especially measured at 1m away at a 45 degree angle :)

99db isn't that loud, my bikes is 122 afaik and that's with the standard exhaust on it. Need to wear the old ear plugs though it would damage your ears riding it for sure

Tools are generally used for a purpose, digging a hole or whatever. In this case the tool is driving for no purpose, only aggravation.

Perhaps he works nights, and the car is his only way of getting to and from work, is he not using the car for its intended purpose then?

I doubt hes sitting at home at 2AM and decides "ah yeah time to tear down the road so i can aggravate all the neighbours by waking them up lolol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

theguzman wrote: »
    It's not fun and called being a knob and I was woken up at 2 and 3am by him recently over the Christmas period, and it is incredibly annoying.

If that is the case you can report him as it is after 11:30 at night, otherwise just see it as a part of life and move on.

99db isn't that loud, my bikes is 122 afaik and that's with the standard exhaust on it. Need to wear the old ear plugs though it would damage your ears riding it for sure

94db is the max allowed for any bike used on the road and 100 is the limit for a bike to be used offroad, if yours is 122 then its not a standard exhaust :pac:

Loud cars sound good, he is likely doing it for fun and enjoyment not to annoy anyone. You would be surprised how loud a car can be without breaking the rules.

especially measured at 1m away at a 45 degree angle :)

How strict are they on this measurement part? Even if the tester were to take a step or 2 back it would instantly knock off some db from the reading.

1 meter away without the 45 degree angle would most likely overwhelm the measuring microphone with wind noise
    94db is the max allowed for any bike used on the road and 100 is the limit for a bike to be used offroad, if yours is 122 then its not a standard exhaust
    out of interest do you have a source for this? not attacking just a curiosity as I study acoustics in college and Find this info very interesting.

did you know 100Db is percieved as double the loudness of 94Db to the human ear?

120Db is the threshold of pain for a human so 122 is defintely a loud machine, however the Db level will definitely be considerably lower at the riders ears but as already stated microphone placement can make a massive difference to Db levels even with small enough movements.

And how do we go about enforcing the 100db level for an offroad bike? if the rider is on private land hes not going to allow anyone to come and inspect his bike, if hes riding somewhere he shouldnt be hes not going to stop for anyone anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Loud cars sound good, he is likely doing it for fun and enjoyment not to annoy anyone. You would be surprised how loud a car can be without breaking the rules.

A GTI or an M5 sound good. Jono from round the estate in his slow as balls Civic that takes forever to redline in second gear isn't good.

There's a link road behind my estate and I hear some absolute crap. Someone got a GTI recently and the DSG bangs are nice. The Honda driver who revs it and has his exhaust sound like a machine gun when he lets off is just a knob, especially when he keeps doing it 5-6 times. It must take him forever to actually get anywhere.

I appreciate a nice exhaust note as much as the next guy but the majority of these loud exhausts are some boy racer wannabes who would probably get schooled by a 1.4 Golf.

94db is the max allowed for any bike used on the road and 100 is the limit for a bike to be used offroad, if yours is 122 then its not a standard exhaust :pac:

Dunno where you got that stat from I don't believe it's true.

They are the stock exhaust, Ducati Panigale. If you Google it the tracks in the UK had to change from static to ride by measurement to get it to pass. It's not as high as I said though people are saying 106-110 static most likely because the exhaust fire down.

Dunno where you got that stat from I don't believe it's true.

They are the stock exhaust, Ducati Panigale. If you Google it the tracks in the UK had to change from static to ride by measurement to get it to pass. It's not as high as I said though people are saying 106-110 static most likely because the exhaust fire down.

Its actually lower again now! This is the current: http://www.fema-online.eu/website/index.php/2018/07/09/sound/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Loud exhaust, small dick syndrome.

Its actually lower again now! This is the current: http://www.fema-online.eu/website/index.php/2018/07/09/sound/

Dunno, it's a 2014 euro 4 complaint bike. They must have paid off the tester haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Something does not to be illegal for it to be acting the bollix.

It is very annoying, there's a difference between the nice rasp off off a supercar or something performance like an m3 than some **** job jap car with 160 bhp

Yeah but it probably makes 162bhp with the exhaust..... cool as ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

they usually grow out of it when they get some fugly chubster up the stick with their tiny tool and have to settle down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Loud cars sound good.

They do in my hole. I think it is one of the saddest things to see young men drive around in shltboxes, effectively making vroom vroom noises like they did with their toys at 5yrs of age. Improving performance of your car is one thing, but the noise from your exhaust, jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Think this is the answer for the OP, unless the young lad is caught doing something he shouldn't be the gardai probably won't be interested. There is little use in talking to the parents, the guy is 18, so his parents can really do bugger all.

As for the gard in another region, I know that one alright, neighbour here is the same, works in different region, but tells everyone they are friendly with what is going on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Agreed. Why is the OP talking about going to the Guards despite not talking to the lads father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 The golden gimp

Nows your best opportunity, Mr Ross has given the green light to the Garda in relation to The "I'm a great driver, yes I am" brigade who don't need to sit a test because they're bleeding deadly driver's
    While they are under pressure to be seen to enforce these measures they'll hunt him down like the villain he is and trow the book at him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

What are you talking about gimp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Call the cops to report unaccompanied learner driver driving dangerously.

Or get a can if expanding foam from Woodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

This got six likes

Amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

lawred2 wrote: »
    This got six likes

Amazing

Lot of scumbags read this forum.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Lot of scumbags read this forum.

So only scumbags have loud cars? What about bikes? Go to the motorbike forum and see how many lads would have bikes louder than this lads car, are they also scumbags?