Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Waster Culture

• 27-12-2018 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭

So the neighbours have just enjoyed themselves an all night post pub party in the council house next door. Kid they used to get said house dragged off to grandparents or god knows where for the night, will probably be dropped to house with "party" still in swing. No doubt the cretins on the other side will do likewise tonight or tomorrow.

What irks me is the level of acceptance and enablement of this ****. Like the grandparents in question have landed back to the house plenty of times to drop the kid back only to find a house full of drunkards. Try calling the garda, no interest because there are guess what, no laws against such ****baggery in this poxy country.

Call the council? Good luck with that, a constant stream of fobbing off, shoulder shrugging, "We'd need to catch them"- Good luck with that finding a session with your Mon-Fri ,9-5 hours.

Scumbag central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

people who get everything for free are unlikely to have respect for anything. all the rights with no responsibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

This is why an estate would be bottom of my list in terms of house purchasing. You never know what's going to rock up next door.

Dog barking all night and I want to murder someone, a party would set me off altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Same as cats, after about two generations breeding " in the wild " and they're feral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Those shoitebags were probably classed as homeless only a while ago... And everyone crying for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭QuintusFabius

I feel for you OP, nothing worse than scumbag neighbours.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

engiweirdo wrote: »
    So the neighbours have just enjoyed themselves an all night post pub party in the council house next door. Kid they used to get said house dragged off to grandparents or god knows where for the night, will probably be dropped to house with "party" still in swing. No doubt the cretins on the other side will do likewise tonight or tomorrow.

What irks me is the level of acceptance and enablement of this ****. Like the grandparents in question have landed back to the house plenty of times to drop the kid back only to find a house full of drunkards. Try calling the garda, no interest because there are guess what, no laws against such ****baggery in this poxy country.

Call the council? Good luck with that, a constant stream of fobbing off, shoulder shrugging, "We'd need to catch them"- Good luck with that finding a session with your Mon-Fri ,9-5 hours.

Scumbag central.

Sure call in with a few cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭engiweirdo

I feel for you OP, nothing worse than scumbag neighbours.
    One is bad enough but the other side is just as bad. The crowd on the other side actually had the brass neck to approach me on the street and square up to me(As I was walking home with my child with dyspraxia/autism) because I called the gardai at 4.30 am to break up their drunken/drug fuelled party.

These are people in their mid twenties at least with children themselves, not teenagers either.

One is bad enough but the other side is just as bad. The crowd on the other side actually had the brass neck to approach me on the street and square up to me(As I was walking home with my child with dyspraxia/autism) because I called the gardai at 4.30 am to break up their drunken/drug fuelled party.

These are people in their mid twenties at least with children themselves, not teenagers either.

Its not right. You should be more entitled to relax in your home. How could you with that next door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Jaysus folks can ye not even take a few days off over the Christmas period from starting/whinging on the usual dole/"freehouse"/SW threads. Ye all must have miserable lives .

They're my days off too. Am I not entitled to enjoy them in peace?

truth never rests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

truth never rests.

Neither does whinging and whinging apparently.....;-)

but the lads in the OP certainly do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Well clearly the OP's life is being made miserable by dirtbag neighbors, so yes, a lot of people do suffer miserable lives due to this behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sounds like the OP often does have a miserable life caused by such degenerates..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Sadly all housing estates have to have a percentage of houses allocated for the useless, permanently unemployed, gets it all for free, overbreeder demographic. (Incredible the rate they seem to be able to breed at)

The estate i live at has its token feral family down the road. You can hear the knacker car music booming away each time they arrive back from a hard day of parasite'n.

Is it a specifically Irish/UK thing? Have moved around a lot and honestly had similar problems in every area we've lived, mostly mixed private/social, this street is 100% social housing and is by far the worst yet. In saying that, my previous next door neighbour is currently on remand for murder.

Seriously think you can't avoid this ****e anywhere in Ireland. Thinking long and hard about emigration, but is anywhere else better/quieter in this regard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Is it a specifically Irish/UK thing? Have moved around a lot and honestly had similar problems in every area we've lived, mostly mixed private/social, this street is 100% social housing and is by far the worst yet. In saying that, my previous next door neighbour is currently on remand for murder.

Seriously think you can't avoid this ****e anywhere in Ireland. Thinking long and hard about emigration, but is anywhere else better/quieter in this regard?

My honest take on it is that at todays prices, in Dublin inside the M50, you'd want to be spending 500k+ on a gaff to significantly reduce the chances of being stuck beside some of these f#ckers. I can't imagine what it must be like to want to have a quiet, safe environment to raise a family in, only to have to put up with that sort of shyte.

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    My honest take on it is that at todays prices, in Dublin inside the M50, you'd want to be spending 500k+ on a gaff to significantly reduce the chances of being stuck beside some of these f#ckers. I can't imagine what it must be like to want to have a quiet, safe environment to raise a family in, only to have to put up with that sort of shyte.

Even at that you're not safe. I recently saw a story about an estate down the country where people paid 250k for their houses. Council suddenly threw in a load of council houses, residents objected, now they live in a council estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    We did pay 500k for the privilege of a new house in a new estate. The council have acquired a lot of apartments attached to the development, and put in the usual mix of tenants (some fine, some dreadful). At least one traveller family. The partner of the traveller woman recently broke into the garage and smashed the windows of about 20 cars for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Anthracite wrote: »
    The partner of the traveller woman recently broke into the garage and smashed the windows of about 20 cars for some reason.

Sure that's part of their culture. Don't go belittling their ethnicity........

Sorry I couldn't even finsih that sentence without p!ss!ng myself laughing

@OP

A few years ago the council moved a family of the absolute highest order of scum into a house 2 or 3 doors down from him. The residents association got a petition together and presented it to the council with a list of all the Anti Social Behaviour they had caused. low-and-behold they were moved on.

Gannicus wrote: »
    Anthracite wrote: »
    The partner of the traveller woman recently broke into the garage and smashed the windows of about 20 cars for some reason.

Sure that's part of their culture. Don't go belittling their ethnicity........

Sorry I couldn't even finsih that sentence without p!ss!ng myself laughing

@OP

A few years ago the council moved a family of the absolute highest order of scum into a house 2 or 3 doors down from him. The residents association got a petition together and presented it to the council with a lisk of all the Anti Social Behaviour they had caused. low-and-behold they were moved on.
    Id say the residents association (If they exist) around here would more likely petition to have me moved on for spoiling their cosy party lifestyles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

I take it you all live in Dublin guys? Could you you confirm , I live in Limerick and have friends in cork in normal estates and never any issues, are you living in a council estate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

You have to have 2 children to get a council house,
    you are unlucky you live next door to loud neighbours .
    is not illegal to get drunk and have partys .
    i know someone who lived next door to a loud neighbour on a private non council estate who had loud partys every week.
    You could get some sound proofing installed , sell up and move out ,
    or wait till they get old and quiet down .
    I don,t understand how someone on the dole can afford to drive a car ,
    to keep a car on the road costs 5k at least, fuel ,repairs, insurance .
    Even on council estates most people are fairly quiet ,they don,t have loud partys every week .
    Even if you live in a council house you can apply for a transfer to a different area.
    The gardai have more serious issues to deal with than someone who
    is drunk at home and making noise .
    This problem is not just limited to council tenants .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

The people in the (privately-rented) apartment above me are fond of their all-night parties. It can be a bit annoying sometimes, so I bought some earplugs. Far more healthy than whinging about 'wasters'.

Not a good solution really. What will you do if say theres a fire in your building? Intruder in your dwelling? Child crying/difficulty breathing? You wouldnt hear a thing until its too late.

Is a better solution not to introduce and enforce punishments for acting like an immature inconsiderate asshole?

I take it you all live in Dublin guys? Could you you confirm , I live in Limerick and have friends in cork in normal estates and never any issues, are you living in a council estate?
    Waterford, and terraced street more than estate but all/nearly all council tenants.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

People are formed by society and environment.

Social housing should be the norm for young professional couples saving for a mortgage, or anybody who decides not to buy a house.

Instead it becomes a ghetto for the underclass. All a product of bad social planning, and we all have a responsibility for that.

riclad wrote: »
    You have to have 2 children to get a council house,
    Dont think you need any children tbh. I know of single people in 1 bed council properties.

Not a good solution really. What will you do if say theres a fire in your building? Intruder in your dwelling? Child crying/difficulty breathing? You wouldnt hear a thing until its too late.

Is a better solution not to introduce and enforce punishments for acting like an immature inconsiderate asshole?

Earplugs don't completely block noise out - they just muffle it enough to help me sleep. I can still hear the doorbell when I'm wearing them. As annoying as they can be, I'm not sure I'd want my neighbours to be punished for having fun.

"Fun" at others expense is punished in plenty of other instances, why not this one? Because, Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

engiweirdo wrote:

Scumbag central.

Have you no Christmas spirit - peace and goodwill etc to all personkind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

engiweirdo wrote:

Move house.

TCM wrote: »
    engiweirdo wrote:

Move house.

The Irish solution. You have a problem with ****ty behaviour? You are the problem.

TCM wrote: »
    engiweirdo wrote:

Scumbag central.

Have you no Christmas spirit - peace and goodwill etc to all personkind.
    Be grand if it was limited to Christmas. Very much a permanent lifestyle choice for these animals though...

"Fun" at others expense is punished in plenty of other instances, why not this one? Because, Ireland?

The earplugs? €3.99 in Boots.

Not allowing myself to get worked up about trivial stuff? Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I think that fox hunting should phased out and the foxes replaced with these scum buckets. Most of These people have a negative value. Not only do they contribute very little, they actively take from the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

This is why an estate would be bottom of my list in terms of house purchasing. You never know what's going to rock up next door.

Dog barking all night and I want to murder someone, a party would set me off altogether.

The scum across the road are after getting another 2 boxer pups to go with the other 2 that bark all night so happy days here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    People are formed by society and environment.

Social housing should be the norm for young professional couples saving for a mortgage, or anybody who decides not to buy a house.

Instead it becomes a ghetto for the underclass. All a product of bad social planning, and we all have a responsibility for that.

Bull... those that have the kids and deem themselves unfit to look after those kids and know right from wrong are to blame.

My parents had nothing when we were growing up, they taught us how to be respectful of people. Neither of my parents had a formal education, but they worked themselves harder than anyone I have ever known to put a roof over our heads, to educate us and bring us up as proper people.

There are many families living in council estates who have respect for others ... there are alas many who don’t. Do NOT blame this on society, it is the individuals themselves that are to blame

NSAman wrote: »
    Bull... those that have the kids and deem themselves unfit to look after those kids and know right from wrong are to blame.

My parents had nothing when we were growing up, they taught us how to be respectful of people. Neither of my parents had a formal education, but they worked themselves harder than anyone I have ever known to put a roof over our heads, to educate us and bring us up as proper people.

There are many families living in council estates who have respect for others ... there are alas many who don’t. Do NOT blame this on society, it is the individuals themselves that are to blame

Oh me too. You pretty much summed up my upbringing. But I still think environmental factors and social policy carry lot of influence.

When things form a recognisable pattern, then there usually is a common cause.

And it's not about blame, it's about understanding causation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

The Irish solution. You have a problem with ****ty behaviour? You are the problem.

From Maurice McCabe right down to complaining in restaurants, spot on my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

The old man next door has been moved into a nursing home. 10 years of peace and quiet. Dreading to see what gets moved in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Instead it becomes a ghetto for the underclass.

The problem is that it's not contained within a ghetto. That was the previous policy, and it worked perfectly. The new policy of housing wasters amongst normal people is the one that's failing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

This, ive been very lucky these past many years but guaranteed my next house will have acreage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Nermal wrote: »
    The problem is that it's not contained within a ghetto. That was the previous policy, and it worked perfectly.
    The new policy of housing wasters amongst normal people is the one that's failing.

Works perfectly if you want people who can afford it to move out of that place into your new shiny n exclusive development

Nermal wrote: »
    The problem is that it's not contained within a ghetto. That was the previous policy, and it worked perfectly. The new policy of housing wasters amongst normal people is the one that's failing.

Yeah, I can understand :(

NSAman wrote: »

It becomes a societal issue though when there are zero laws prohibiting such behaviour and zero punishment for behaving like an inconsiderate a-hole. When behaviour like this is waved off as "fun" and it is implied the complainant is in fact the problem, it is very much a societal issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

**** off.. We have a country full of freeloaders who think they are entitiled to free handouts.. The poster is entitled to have their say on here.. Ireland should change its name to Knackerville, because the scroungers have well and truly taken over..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ive no problem people wanting to party, none of my business. Have a ball! But when those wanting to party, basically exist as society parasites who will never contribute anything and are hellbent on not working permanently and then want to torment those around them who are working then it pisses me off.

Food / necessity only stamps is what they should get. Getting a free house? And churning out kids by the half dozen. And you want to have a car to run? But you don't want to work as well, ever? No worries, food stamps and vouchers for petrol / gas / electricity. NOTHING else.

Might help them into doing something remotely beneficial for society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

people who get everything for free are unlikely to have respect for anything. all the rights with no responsibilities.

Council houses aren't free.