Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

151 passat failed NCT

• 14-12-2018 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭

This is just a big rant .So my car failed the NCT this morning. I couldn't believe it walking out of the test centre in limerick. It failed because the break lights were sticking on. MAJOR FAULT. The car was very recently serviced and the last thing I needed in the run up to Christmas was the car to go back to the main dealers to get fixed. I sucked it up and decided to stop in the dealership and book it in as I was passing. So I told them the problem, they took one look at it which is surprising because it usually costs 200 if they have to do anything and started laughing at me. The break light stays on until you start to move because the automatic handbrake is on. I felt like a right fool. So back I had to go to the NCT. I had to explain to them what it was. No apology or nothing just they had never seen it before because it was a newer car. What a load of sh$te. I was 4 hours and 60kms sorting it all out and it could of easily cost me a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Whatever it is about the NCT tester being clueless, in all fairness you should know how your own car works. It sounds like you've never checked your rear lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

in all fairness you should know how your own car works. It sounds like you've never checked your rear lights?

Pretty insulting response. Not everyone knows their auto handbrake operates the rear brake lights. The NCT centre should be well versed on this, it has been a feature on cars for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

A brake light switch can go in anycar..regular servicing means feck all as a switch or bulb can go faulty the following day..brake light sticking would be fair annoying for someone traveling behind you..its like all the vehicles in general traveling the roads with front lights out.. cant fault nct. Just get fixed and rebook don't forget to retest within 28 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Sounds like a pointless feature tbh, and very annoying for the people behind you in traffic.

Turbohymac wrote: »
    A brake light switch can go in anycar..regular servicing means feck all as a switch or bulb can go faulty the following day..brake light sticking would be fair annoying for someone traveling behind you..its like all the vehicles in general traveling the roads with front lights out.. cant fault nct. Just get fixed and rebook don't forget to retest within 28 days

You might want to read the full OP.

Pretty insulting response. Not everyone knows their auto handbrake operates the rear brake lights. The NCT centre should be well versed on this, it has been a feature on cars for years.

Brake lights are a critical safety feature - you should know when they are expected to be functioning and when they're not. I didn't need an NCT to tell me my brake lights were in fact sticking on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Brake lights are a critical safety feature - you should know when they are expected to be functioning and when they're not. I didn't need an NCT to tell me my brake lights were in fact sticking on.

There is nothing wrong with the car. Nothing broken, nothing at fault. The OP is right to be pissed off the 'trained' inspector failed the car because they don't know their job.

There is nothing wrong with the car.

My point is the OP should know how their brake lights work, and be able to tell when (if) there's something wrong with them or if they are working as expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

My point is the OP should know how their brake lights work, and be able to tell when (if) there's something wrong with them or if they are working as expected.

Thats, excuse me french, is BS.

Modern cars have so many systems that are changing all the time. "experienced" NCT personnel who do this for a living should know these things. That is what you are paying them for.

Do I know all the systems work on my new car, like other cars ??? NO! As is evidenced by a small issue that came to light in a call from the Garage that sold me the car. Yes I know the lights etc work, do I know the nuances between my car and something else? NO.

It is easy to say people should know, but it is imperative that paid professionals should know especially if it is their job to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭legrand

Hmm, will need check mine I figure. Clearly break light will come on when you break, but I would expect light to go off once you lift your foot off brake pedal, car stopped and auto-hand break on. No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Pelvis wrote: »
    Sounds like a pointless feature tbh, and very annoying for the people behind you in traffic.

How is the brake lights staying on when the parking brake auto hold is engaged a pointless feature? Putting your foot on the brake pedal to keep the car from moving does the same thing except the auto hold feature eliminates the risk of the car rolling back or forward accidently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

You point is valid imo. People make mistakes even the professional people so you "as the owner" should know how your vehicle works.

NSAman wrote: »
    Thats, excuse me french, is BS.

Modern cars have so many systems that are changing all the time. "experienced" NCT personnel who do this for a living should know these things. That is what you are paying them for.

Do I know all the systems work on my new car, like other cars ??? NO! As is evidenced by a small issue that came to light in a call from the Garage that sold me the car. Yes I know the lights etc work, do I know the nuances between my car and something else? NO.

It is easy to say people should know, but it is imperative that paid professionals should know especially if it is their job to know.

I'm not defending the NCT tester's lack of knowledge. If you drive a car on public roads, it's your responsibility to make sure the lights are operable. If you don't know what normal expected functionality is, then that's a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

99% of drivers have no idea how their car works and have no need to. They rely on their garage and the NCT to know what they are doing, clearly here the NCT didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

bazz26 wrote: »
    How is the brake lights staying on when the parking brake auto hold is engaged a pointless feature?...
    Because, at night, when stopped at traffic lights, as a courtesy to the driver behind, it's good practice to engage the parking brake. Utterly pointless doing so if the brake lights remain on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I'm not defending the NCT tester's lack of knowledge. If you drive a car on public roads, it's your responsibility to make sure the lights are operable. If you don't know what normal expected functionality is, then that's a problem.

Are you arguing with yourself?

No one cares bud. It's Friday, no need to be so angry.

How is the brake lights staying on when the parking brake auto hold is engaged a pointless feature? Putting your foot on the brake pedal to keep the car from moving does the same thing except the auto hold feature eliminates the risk of the car rolling back or forward accidently.
    The purpose of brake lights is to warn those behind you that you are breaking. They serve no purpose when you are stationary, other than to half blind those behind you. That's why when you come to a stop you (are supposed to) release the brake and apply the handbrake.

Because, at night, when stopped at traffic lights, as a courtesy to the driver behind, it's good practice to engage the parking brake. Utterly pointless doing so if the brake lights remain on.

The car in question has a parking brake switch, if you want to actually use the parking brake.

Good practice yes, common practice not always. Plenty of lazy drivers out there who sit on the brake pedal while stationary and roll when they take their foot off the pedal before engaging gear. The auto hold eliminates that so I see it as a useful feature and a car with their rear brake lights on in front of me doesn't really bother me anyway.
    The purpose of brake lights is to warn those behind you that you are breaking. They serve no purpose when you are stationary, other than to half blind those behind you. That's why when you come to a stop you (are supposed to) release the brake and apply the handbrake.

So how are approaching cars from behind supposed to know your stationary ahead of them if your brake lights are not on? And half blind from them? I think some people get annoyed more easier that others.

Also most modern cars now have an electric parking brake with an auto hold function instead of a stupid hand brake lever that will engage automatically when the car stops. I recommend trying a car with this feature and you might then think a bit differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Squeaksoutloud

I have a passat and didn't know my car does this either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

Do you ever or have you ever checked your lights ??

I'm not judging, when I started to drive ( not that very long ago) I was taught to check my lights at least once a week and also to check oil, coolant tyres etc. I still do but have realised that I am very much in a minority.

So how are approaching cars from behind supposed to know your stationary ahead of them if your brake lights are not on?

By using their eyes.

Next stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

knipex wrote: »
    Do you ever or have you ever checked your lights ??

I'm not judging, when I started to drive ( not that very long ago) I was taught to check my lights at least once a week and also to check oil, coolant tyres etc. I still do but have realised that I am very much in a minority.

you press the brake pedal to check the brake lights not check them on autohold - must check the OH tiguan assuming it does this as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭pnpweirdo

Whatever it is about the NCT tester being clueless, in all fairness you should know how your own car works. It sounds like you've never checked your rear lights?

I did check the lights but when you get the piece of paper saying major fault it stumps you. I taught the break lights were staying on as I was driving.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

By using their eyes.

Next stupid question.
    Given that in my years of driving I've seen a fair number of rear ended cars at traffic lights, it seems enough people have difficulty using their eyes. If I'm the last in the line at the back I'll keep my foot on the brake pedal. I'm unlikely to blind anyone as my brake light bulbs are old style, never mind that I'd be lower to the ground than most and have never been dazzled by brake lights that would be at my eye level. Gobshites with fog lights on yeah, brake lights no.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

If a simple thing like brake lights half blind you when there on then all oncoming traffic with their lights on must blind also, i suggest anyone blinded by brake lights get an eyetest done, i am nearly 70 wears glasses and brake lights dont bother me at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

Thank you for the post, my care is probably the same

By using their eyes.

Next stupid question.

The accidental irony in your response, says it all really. Jog on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

The brake lights on Mrs.O's car stay on when it's on auto/hill hold. They only go off when the accelerator is pressed. It's a pain in the hole applying the foot break every time you stop at a set of lights,so I use the hill hold all the time,it's a pain for those behind me,but...

With regard to the op,I feel he should have known this feature of the car. He at the very least should have noticed it in reflections in the mirror at night time.
    As for the tester...he was being a duck. Bet he had a right giggle failing a car on its first test. He also should know the features on the cars he's testing....that's part of his job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Did you not read the op's entire post. Read the entire post in full before giving a solution. :P

The brake lights on Mrs.O's car stay on when it's on auto/hill hold. They only go off when the accelerator is pressed. It's a pain in the hole applying the foot break every time you stop at a set of lights,so I use the hill hold all the time,it's a pain for those behind me,but...

With regard to the op,I feel he should have known this feature of the car. He at the very least should have noticed it in reflections in the mirror at night time.
    As for the tester...he was being a duck. Bet he had a right giggle failing a car on its first test. He also should know the features on the cars he's testing....that's part of his job.

Did Mrs O know her car did this if so if Mrs o car failed for this reason would she of known and corrected the tester there and then.

Emmersonn wrote: »
    Did you not read the op's entire post. Read the entire post in full before giving a solution. :P

You're expecting a lot :):)

pnpweirdo wrote: »
    Did Mrs O know her car did this if so if Mrs o car failed for this reason would she of known and corrected the tester there and then.

Emm yes !;)

A brake light switch can go in anycar..regular servicing means feck all as a switch or bulb can go faulty the following day..brake light sticking would be fair annoying for someone traveling behind you..its like all the vehicles in general traveling the roads with front lights out.. cant fault nct. Just get fixed and rebook don't forget to retest within 28 days[/quote

Thanks for that positive feed back.
    When a bulb goes in the car you get a warming every time you turn on the car. Not only does it tell you you have a bulb out it tells you which bulb and what side

Emm yes !;)

Well she does now anyway and so do the NCT centre so at least she hopefully wont have the same problem I did.

pnpweirdo wrote: »
    Well she does now anyway and so do the NCT centre so at least she hopefully wont have the same problem I did.

Hope not. It's in next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Didn't realise brake lights being on at a red light was an issue for people. Or are people just running out of things to complain about against other drivers?

Are we against Scandinavian rear daytime lights too?

I understand some rear LED brake lights can be bright but you can just look away if you need to, as the theory test suggests you do with high beam.

I've never once had an issue with this but I don't spend an entire red light cycle staring into a bright light.

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Didn't realise brake lights being on at a red light was an issue for people. Or are people just running out of things to complain about against other drivers?

Are we against Scandinavian rear daytime lights too?

I understand some rear LED brake lights can be bright but you can just look away if you need to, as the theory test suggests you do with high beams.

I can understand that the led lights nowadays are a bitch to be stuck behind at lights,especially the high ones in the window of moat of the vag models. As you say look away,even considerate drivers cant help it sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

legrand wrote: »
    Hmm, will need check mine I figure. Clearly break light will come on when you break, but I would expect light to go off once you lift your foot off brake pedal, car stopped and auto-hand break on. No?

Normally auto hold uses the main brakes not the hand brake. the brake lights stay illuminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

OSI wrote: »
    Auto-hold doesn't apply the handbrake, it applies the regular brakes, hence the brake lights being on.

Others don't have the brake lights staying on though do they? I rented a qashqai in England a couple of months ago and I'm 99% sure the lights went off when auto hold came on.

Or possibly they do. Trying to remember something I didn't 0ay much attention to at the time,

That seems the logical way to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

DaveyDave wrote: »
    ht.

Brake lights are as bright as fog lights. Idiots driving around with fog lights on is very annoying , especially at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

There was roadworks recently near my place with traffic lights and I noticed loads of cars with their brake lights on and was thinking there must be an upsurge in Automatics, I drive an Automatic but in such a situation where I know I'll be held like 5 mins I pop it in Neutral and pull the handbrake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

That's fúcking hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

NCT Centres are notorious for this kind of stuff.

I was once told by an inspector that a break light bulb was gone.
    Grand I thought, I'll just pop to the garage across the road and be back in a few minutes.

Went over to the garage and the mechanic told me my lights were perfect.

Drove back into the centre and the fella that had failed me happened to be outside and saw me coming in and looked at the back of the car as I was parking.
    I got out of the car and he said "That's fine now, they'll give you the cert in the office".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Isambard wrote: »
    99% of drivers have no idea how their car works and have no need to.
    That explains an awful lot....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

If you know it's been a feature for years, why did you not tell them.

Maybe the truth is YOU had not a clue about a feature of a car YOU have been driving for almost 4 years, but expect everyone else to know???

Seriously???

No wonder the dealer laughed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

A large percentage of cars on the road these days are auto and you can't expect them to put them into neutral at every set of lights, if anything you get more annoyed if you had to wait for everyone to out it back into drive because its not and quick as selecting 1st gear in a manual, especially in a dsg.
    Brake lights are bright deal with it and stop moaning about it folks. P. S the only car I've ever notice had really bright brake lights was a Prius and I don't even notice that now.

Op the story is hilarious btw:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Maybe the truth is YOU had not a clue about a feature of a car YOU have been driving for almost 4 years, but expect everyone else to know???

Seriously???

Probably because he's not he OP ;)

Seriously !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Seriously???

I'm laughing here tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

"It has been a feature on cars for years".All the more reason the driver/owner of the car should know this.