Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it illegal to wish death/harm/destruction upon a person?

• 12-12-2018 1:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

I won't get into details but because of an accident at my college and how they handled it I got extremely angry.

In a fit of rage, i got all the student email's and sent an open letter. I essentially wished death upon the principal because of the way they handled the accident, and that I hoped that the college burned down.

They eventually contacted me (like a week later on the day I left the country) saying they were contemplating legal action against me.

So is what I did illegal, under Irish law?

Edit 1;
    Since people would like to know

I tried to kill myself
    They broke their own terms of service when they didn't inform me of my right to have a third party with me when i spoke with the principal alone
    The response by the principal was to remove me from the college group, even though I didn't even post anything on it. Because of this i almost killed myself again.
    They informed my mother when i gave them no permission to (I'm 18)
    With all of this I had to leave for New Zealand

Yes i am getting counseling

Edit 2;
    With the recommendation of some, I have decided to put this behind me and focus on getting help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

This is surely a troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

I won't get into details but because of an accident at my college and how they handled it I got extremely angry.

In a fit of rage, i got all the student email's and sent an open letter. I essentially wished death upon the principal because of the way they handled the accident, and that I hoped that the college burned down.

They eventually contacted me (like a week later on the day I left the country) saying they were contemplating legal action against me.

So is what I did illegal, under Irish law?

You're not giving us nearly enough to work with.

What was the nature of the accident, did you just say that you hope something happens to the guy or did you say something was going to happen?

OP, I’d perhaps advise you to see a counseller. That behaviour is abnormal and worrying, even if it was an “angry fit”.

To go to the effort of getting students emails to tell them you want to burn down the school and murder the principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Thank Allah for Gun control..

(hides the lighters and matches)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

It may be viewed by them as a threat, which would come under the NON-FATAL OFFENCES AGAINST THE PERSON ACT, 1997

What was the nature of the accident/their mishandling? Depending on what occured you might be able to claims such assertions were made under duress

NSAman wrote: »
    Thank Allah for Gun control..

(hides the lighters and matches)

I looked back on OP’s previous posts.

He claims in one post a few months back that “his brother” (which actually means himself) wants to hang the principle. Jaysus...

Andrew00 wrote: »

He claims in one post a few months back that “his brother” (which actually means himself) wants to hang the principle. Jaysus...

Jaysus thats a little out of order?

Sounds like someone needs a little assistance.

He did say he left the country though?... perhaps better to cool down hopefully somewhere like Switzerland?

I’d say that’s lies now. Most of his posts are about the leaving cert and his principle so i think he’s only a young lad still, a dangerous one at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Orange Juice 935

You're not giving us nearly enough to work with.

What was the nature of the accident, did you just say that you hope something happens to the guy or did you say something was going to happen?

Read the edit

It may be viewed by them as a threat, which would come under the NON-FATAL OFFENCES AGAINST THE PERSON ACT, 1997

What was the nature of the accident/their mishandling? Depending on what occured you might be able to claims such assertions were made under duress

Read the edit

This is surely a troll

I wish it was i honestly do

Read the edit

Seriously fella. relax. let it go and do yourself a favour and stop obsessing over this. Its not healthy for you. It is not healthy for anyone else. Just try and live life without hurting yourself or anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Apologise and go for a run or something the next time you’re becoming hysterical. This will blow over if you do that.

It's New Zealand actually as far from the college as i could get

Talk to a GP

It's New Zealand actually as far from the college as i could get

Good, now do ME a favour. Stop thinking about harming yourself and stop obsessing over this crap. It aint worth it.

Obviously when young there are lots of stupid things that drive us all crazy and you want to prove a point to those who think they did you wrong. Let it go.

There is one thing in this life that is important, LIFE.

You are important, your family, your friends and eventually your relationship(s).

Think about it... where will you be in 30 years, if you hurt yourself, just think about all those countries you have missed out on seeing, think of the friends you will have made, the life you will live. Got it?

I dropped out in 5th year,

My brother is stupid, the rule was removed after student backlash, even some of the teachers agreed.

I dropped out in 5th year,

My brother is stupid, the rule was removed after student backlash, even some of the teachers agreed.

What 'rule' was removed? It seems like you're giving us half the story chara.

Regardless, I do think you need to chill out. As a previous poster said try running. I boxed for a few years and found running a great way to clear the head.

Good, now do ME a favour. Stop thinking about harming yourself and stop obsessing over this crap. It aint worth it.

Obviously when young there are lots of stupid things that drive us all crazy and you want to prove a point to those who think they did you wrong. Let it go.

There is one thing in this life that is important, LIFE.

You are important, your family, your friends and eventually your relationship(s).

Think about it... where will you be in 30 years, if you hurt yourself, just think about all those countries you have missed out on seeing, think of the friends you will have made, the life you will live. Got it?

This nauseating Liberal crap where you can't be happy unless you spend your 20's bagpacking around the Alps would give an aspirin a headache zzz

Perhaps you should try it. Instead of being angry.

That tripe drives me mad. What happened to going out for a few drinks with your mates watching the match or something? NO! You have to go bagpacking in Thailand and the like

Jaysus, I didn't think supermarkets were the main stay of employment opportunities when backpacking around the alps????

Do Tesco or Migros (swiss) pay well?..;)

Perhaps you should try it. Instead of being angry.

Ohh. Well now that's really put me in my place hasn't it?

I've spent years travelling here there and everywhere. Out of necessity. Work reasons. While my family have struggled back home. Im Irish and am proud to be.

I'd rather live and work where I'm from because I've been there and love my country and I'm a man of the people.

So spare me the Liberal 'oh travel and expand your mind' crap. I've seen it from both sides.

Ohh. Well now that's really put me in my place hasn't it?

I've spent years travelling here there and everywhere. Out of necessity. Work reasons. While my family have struggled back home. Im Irish and am proud to be.

I'd rather live and work where I'm from because I've been there and love my country and I'm a man of the people.

So spare me the Liberal 'oh travel and expand your mind' crap. I've seen it from both sides.

Like I said Angry...... tutt tutt.. have you tried Meditation?

I give up on this thread I have to go to see if the trains are running as I have counseling at 16:30

Jaysus, I didn't think supermarkets were the main stay of employment opportunities when backpacking around the alps????

Do Tesco or Migros (swiss) pay well?..;)

If you actually read through the thread it looks as if the OP would be far better being surrounded by family for a while and at home. Well, to me that's how it looks.

Instead we've Liberal no borders twats saying he needs to go bagpacking around the middle east to find himself.

Any normal person reading this can see that's a disaster waiting to happen.

Do they have his interests at heart?

If you actually read through the thread it looks as if the OP would be far better being surrounded by family for a while and at home. Well, to me that's how it looks.

Instead we've Liberal no borders twats saying he needs to go bagpacking around the middle east to find himself.

Still trying to figure out when grocery shopping became the first must do thing for backpackers??? hmmm

Liberal loses his nerve and starts repeating his own crap over and over again, without addressing a single point that was put to him. God I've never seen anything like that before 🀔 🀔
    Like I said Angry...... tutt tutt.. have you tried Meditation?

Hahaahha brilliant but true. OP is a prime example of what’s wrong with today’s society, particularly the youth and their liberal looney mindset. The principle kicks you out of some college group and all of a sudden you want to kill yourself or move to New Zealand. Give me a f*king break

Liberal loses his nerve and starts repeating his own crap over and over again, without addressing a single point that was put to him. God I've never seen anything like that before �� ��
    Hahaahha brilliant but true. OP is a prime example of what’s wrong with today’s society, particularly the youth and their liberal looney mindset. The principle kicks you out of some college group and all of a sudden you want to kill yourself or move to New Zealand. Give me a f*king break

Jaysus Lads I'd say yee are great fun to be with in a pub on a night out..;)

Liberal disects my point by pointing out that I said bag instead of back. I guess that's my argument null and void.
    Still trying to figure out when grocery shopping became the first must do thing for backpackers??? hmmm

Liberal disects my point by pointing out that I said bag instead of back. I guess that's my argument null and void.

"Liberal" has no interest and has enjoyed winding you up.

Jaysus Lads I'd say yee are great fun to be with in a pub on a night out..;)

Why because we don't tell young lads with clear mental problems that the only way they'll get better is to emigrate?

Oh look I'm only on the wind up. When all else fails
    "Liberal" has no interest and has enjoyed winding you up.

Oh look I'm only on the wind up. When all else fails

Das Roight!

So Liberal has no actual point to make at this stage, just needs to get the last word
    Das Roight!

So Liberal has no actual point to make at this stage, just needs to get the last word

Yep

Liberalism is just belief in the rights of individuals.

I personally am very much liberal, and I share your dislike of activities like backpacking around to find yourself - which boil down to self obsession.

Sorry I had to step out as I was trimming my pubes.. you know us liberal metrosexuals anything to keep the boys and girls happy.. anyhow the unicorn got into a fight with a big pack or wolverines... now what were you saying Rural?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: Thread closed for review.