Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW M4 - any thoughts?

• 11-12-2018 2:16pm
    Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Thinking of buying a BMW M4 16/17 reg.
    Any thoughts or experience of the car, anybody here own one?

Love to hear your thoughts.

Many thanks
    TCP/IP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Think Fitzgeme on here has one.
    He’s knowledgeable on all things BMW anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

TCP/IP wrote: »
    Hi All,

Thinking of buying a BMW M4 16/17 reg.
    Any thoughts or experience of the car, anybody here own one?

Love to hear your thoughts.

Many thanks
    TCP/IP

I've driven it twice on the track and was just an unbelievable experience in every way, also drove an M2 and M3 on previous track days and they are all superb experiences, not a lot to separate them, M4 felt the most powerful but I don't think there is much difference between the M3 and M4 engine, I guess its a bit lighter though.

I personally love them to look at but would rather an M3 as its more practical for my needs.

Is it a 2 door coupe you are looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Haven't driven the current M3/4, but there is usually a 181 one parked nearby at work and I must say it looks the absolute business - orange / copper paint and serious 20 or 21" alloys. Also looks bloody expensive! Replaced his 'old' 151 mustard colour M4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Yeah I have one, and have/had a number of M cars.

THe M4 is cracking car, good looking, comfortable (enough), very powerful, most importantly it has a very good gearbox in DCT spec. Its almost too fast, and can be ferocious on the road, especially if your not smooth with your inputs. Traction is on a fine line, mostly engineered in to cause some safe but dramatic drama. If thats your cup of tea then there are few better. Not that thirsty for the power. Generally they are seen as very reliable with few know issues.

On the bad side, insurance is pretty expensive, tax is expensive enough, depreciation is a killer (10 k a year down to a level), I think they sound great but some people mistakenly think they dont sound good. Can be hairy if your not used to this type of car. And they are not going to win drag races against 4wd cars.

Its by far my favourite M car. I have driven them all except the M2 comp ( I have issues with the size of the m2 as a car to drive around in, albeit a excellent track car). I would look at Nick Murrays youtube channel for a good review of owner experiance. Plenty around used, with service packs and warranty.

The must have options are
    1. No bloody sunroof, you want the carbon roof.
    2. HUD is essential.
    3. DCT IMHO is much more suited to this car than a manual, it revs too quick for a manual change.
    4. Harmon Kardon Sound is good to have and it one of the better sound systems I have tried.
    5. Get one with a colour, black and grey M4;s are very bland and dont accentuate the lines. Get one of the stronger colours, the car can take it. The launch blue is nice, the yellow is nice and the orange is nice, all the individual colours are awesome especially IMHO tanzanite blue.
    6. Flash to the GTS software on the diff and gearbox it really reduces the "bunnyhopping" effect and limits torque in first and second to give better traction.

Comp packs are interesting. I dont like the wheels myself, and they are a harder ride and the last thing that car needs is more horsepower. But if you want horsepower a 300 euro remote tune evolve will bring it above 500 bhp with ease, which I think personally is suicidal. If the comp pack is the same price get it, if its a premium dont bother.

The character of the car is very very dependent on the mode you have it set to, especially the throttle response, and the sport plus setting has an anti-lag function that makes the car super fast. If you on a test drive make sure not to get too excited and remember to set all the modes to sport plus and the gear box to fast speed 3. If you get in the default setting can make it feel sluggish as its in super slushy warm up mode. DO NOT turn off the DCT all the way if its raining unless your a driving god. The MDM mode will allow a shocking amount of slip but always catches it and pulls you straight, DCT off will allow you to spin especially if you not fast at crossing your hands and giving it power to correct A very fun car and always a occasion to drive. My wife herself a spirited driver, does not like it. She find it all a bit aggressive, but in comfrot, comfort, efficient, mode 1 its as tame a car as any 200bhp autobox. To this day I always look back at it in car parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭JustARandomGuy

Absolutely pointless for this country imo, even though it is a fabulous and a wonderful car.

Personally for my money I'd go with a 435d or a 440i if you're doing low miles.

Fitzgeme makes absolutely valid points about the M4 - it'll bite you in the ass if you're not careful. Colour-wise I always liked the Yas Marina Blue on these, imo the best colour.
    Comfort isn't that great. It's not awful for a sports/track car, but compared to a regular 4 Series, it's just uncomfortable. That said, the seats are fantastic.

Drivewise, I personally prefer the M2. Haven't driven the Competition model yet.

Definitely go for DKG if you're interested in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Just read the parkers review. Its essentially the master document that the resident Jeremy Clarksons will read and adapt to sound like experts.

Short summary.

High performance car is difficult to insure, expensive to tax and maintain and will suffer significant depreciation. While at all times maintaining the ability to wrap you and the car around something static due to lack of ability.

If you can afford it and are not a moron on the road then enjoy it.

Don't buy into the bluff (the character etc) you read as it is almost word for word a copy and paste from elsewhere. Go and drive it for yourself.

Absolutely pointless for this country imo, even though it is a fabulous and a wonderful car.

Personally for my money I'd go with a 435d or a 440i if you're doing low miles.

I would have to disagree there, I had a 640d and a 335i in the past so I speak from some experiance here. The M4 is a car not for normal driving, when your doing that its as competent and relaxed as a 420d, its for those times you get to open it up. Runway events, trackdays, that on ramp on the motorway or toll plaza and those times your on a twisty road when the difference between the m car and the non m come out, the diff the gearbox..oh lord. The M4 excels at being all things. In a 640d and 440i you are within a hairs breath of having the full fat car and your paying 80% of the price and running costs, but its that difference that makes you wish you have spent the extra. Having the M is a hobby, you bring it to cars and coffee, you go on forum meets, the other cars while terrific are not membership into a club. The engine in the m cars is a work of art and a very different animal than the m lites. I am super big into engines and drive trains and the technology in a car beyond that is not my interest. If you just want to win traffic light grand prix's get a 4wd car, but I was always disappointed with those cars. They feel too soft, too domesticated, monkey press pedal stuff,,,,.

Now as I said if you not into that, then save your dosh. But here in Ireland there is plenty of fun to be had. I have 0 points on my licence, I had 8 at one point with a 335i. But a 420 can get you in as much trouble. In the M4 if somebody overtakes me its because I allow it, I have nothing to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Idbatterim wrote: »

No interest in a Duracell bunny mobile.
    Petrol only for me. Drove an i8 and did not really like it hate the interior as well looks cheap.

I would have to disagree there, I had a 640d and a 335i in the past so I speak from some experiance here. The M4 is a car not for normal driving, when your doing that its as competent and relaxed as a 420d, its for those times you get to open it up. Runway events, trackdays, that on ramp on the motorway or toll plaza and those times your on a twisty road when the difference between the m car and the non m come out, the diff the gearbox..oh lord. The M4 excels at being all things. In a 640d and 440i you are within a hairs breath of having the full fat car and your paying 80% of the price and running costs, but its that difference that makes you wish you have spent the extra. Having the M is a hobby, you bring it to cars and coffee, you go on forum meets, the other cars while terrific are not membership into a club. The engine in the m cars is a work of art and a very different animal than the m lites. I am super big into engines and drive trains and the technology in a car beyond that is not my interest. If you just want to win traffic light grand prix's get a 4wd car, but I was always disappointed with those cars. They feel too soft, too domesticated, monkey press pedal stuff,,,,.

Now as I said if you not into that, then save your dosh. But here in Ireland there is plenty of fun to be had. I have 0 points on my licence, I had 8 at one point with a 335i. But a 420 can get you in as much trouble. In the M4 if somebody overtakes me its because I allow it, I have nothing to prove.

Fitzgem thanks a million for the reply and wonderful information. Petrol and Insurance costs don’t bother me at all.

You are correct M is all about the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Fitzgem thanks a million for the reply and wonderful information. Petrol and Insurance costs don’t bother me at all.

I’ve only driven the M2 and M4 on a track but I did own an M3. If you haven’t owned a proper M car before and you’re thinking about it, just do it. It’ll be a love hate relationship with driving being the love and running costs being the hate but you won’t regret it.

I will say I found the M2 more fun to drive but for real life ownership, the M4 is probably the one. Probably.

Its actually really good on fuel, and combined with a good sized tank you never feel like your always at the pumps. I had a v10 m5 where you could actually see the needle moving, and while the cost of the fuel was par for the course, the constant filling got tiresome.

If you interested in the ///m and you are into all the wonderful little details and characteristics of these cars just do it, you wont be regretting it. However....you must post pics...and lots of them.

I am the same with the i8....not for me, its not as good to go as it looks, and it think its a lot better looking than it is. dating badly, and does not stimulate my petrol head glands.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

Id look at the E92 M instead - much better value and a V8 to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

McCrack wrote: »
    Id look at the E92 M instead - much better value and a V8 to boot

They sound good but they are quite dated, not that fast especially compared to the M4 and that was not a good era for buying an M Bmw, or any Bmw really for that matter! not to mention the rod bearing cockup....

rex-x wrote: »
    They sound good but they are quite dated, not that fast especially compared to the M4 and that was not a good era for buying an M Bmw, or any Bmw really for that matter! not to mention the rod bearing cockup....

Agreed the E92 M3 is not a good buy, also the automatic box on the M4 is light years ahead of the E92 M3.

The e92. Cracking engine and great sound. Not as ferocious as the M4 but maybe more usable power, more like the e46 m3 (now thats a legend of a car and creeeping up in value). e92 was in that terrible era for BMW when they seemed to make cars out of cardboard. So many big expensive issues.

That being said 20-24k would get you a e92 m3 low mileage good original condition...a cracking second m car. But its not old enough to be retro cool, cheap enough to be a track car. Its in limbo at the moment...but its time will come, I would not mind hanging onto one if I had the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Sorry now lads but if a man has the readies and ability to buy an M4 why would he want an e92 335i or M3. Buy the M4 and enjoy it, this is a motoring forum after all, not a money saving expert forum.

Have an appointment next Wednesday to take one out for an extended test drive.

You know it makes sense. If it was me I'd get an M3 as I prefer the sleeper factor of the saloon in either Yas marina blue or sakir orange.

I love sakir orange but never seen an M4 in that trim.

Fitzgeme has an orange one. Head over to BMWhaus and you'll see it.

Petrol only for me. Drove an i8 and did not really like it hate the interior as well looks cheap.

and McGregor has one - surely making the depreciation curve even steeper.

Sakhir Orange...I love it,not orange, not red, depends on the light. When I saw Nick Murrays youtube videos I had to have it. Rare enough to get, for me the second hand buyer. I found one from a BMW dealer with a lovely Sonomo Beige interior and fully loaded except for carbon ceramics.

Really like the yellow too.

image.jpg
    mIHZ9AM.jpg
    7b3485690442e640c08668017a3b96d8.jpg
    image.jpg

Oh man :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Savage motor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

These are the kind of threads I loved seeing on Boards years ago. Fair fecks to you TCP! The M4 is at the top of the list for my next car followed by a 435d and 535d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

C63 worth a look maybe or just not a fan?

Well Santa delivered a little bit early this year and he was very good to me.
    To say I am delighted is an understatement, what a machine its a monster and I love it.
    Big thanks fitzgeme for all the information over PM during the buying process - much respect.

If you want to see pictures here is the link to the original ad.
    https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/m4/used-2015-151-bmw-m4-208-per-week-waterford-fpa-201807048115005

That is a beaut. Well wear. Get yourself over to BMWhaus and keep us updated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Congrats. I was at the lights on the belgard exit for the n7, just under the flyover.

To my right had green and a black m4 turning towards clondalkin floored it for maybe 2 secs.

Its all I needed to hear. Wonderful car.

Enjoy !

That is a beaut. Well wear. Get yourself over to BMWhaus and keep us updated!

Will do for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Well wear!
    Beautiful car and a lovely Christmas present.
    That two year warranty is a great bonus too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Beautiful car, I would not be looking at m cars but that seems a great deal, what kind of money are they new?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Beautiful car, I would not be looking at m cars but that seems a great deal, what kind of money are they new?

They’d be up on 100k plus the rest if you dip into the options. I remember my local dealer had a sunset orange “Competition pack” one in the showroom this year. €125k. It sold too!

Well wear, it’s class.

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Well wear!
    Beautiful car and a lovely Christmas present.
    That two year warranty is a great bonus too.

Yes the two year warranty and the service pack is a big plus.
    JoeA3 wrote: »
    They’d be up on 100k plus the rest if you dip into the options. I remember my local dealer had a sunset orange “Competition pack” one in the showroom this year. €125k. It sold too!

The base car is pretty reasonable starts to add up quickly with options though.

Well wear, it’s class.

Many thanks took the car out for a Christmas morning blast, holy god the performance is unreal it pulls like a train. Have some mods planned for the new year as well so will keep improving the package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

There’s a couple of little cosmetic mods I’d recommend you do that cost buttons but are great bang for buck:

- Gloss black grills. I’m surprised they aren’t already on it.

- the LCI (facelift) radio surround. The gloss black area is larger (yours has a Matt black edging) and it has a very nice LED back light, matching the rest of the interior lights. Needs a bit of wiring and coding but it’s easy. And cheap.

If you’re feeling more flush, the LCI tail lights (full LED) would be nice ;)

Get yourself Bimmercode too for easy little tweaks.

Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Beautiful car, well wear with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Sakhir Orange...I love it,not orange, not red, depends on the light. When I saw Nick Murrays youtube videos I had to have it. Rare enough to get, for me the second hand buyer. I found one from a BMW dealer with a lovely Sonomo Beige interior and fully loaded except for carbon ceramics.

Really like the yellow too.

That car is stunning Mckenna Quiet Pennant and the colour really sets it off.

Not to knock your purchase OP but I always thought those M cars need a strong colour.

A beauty either way and something I'll most likely never have the opportunity to drive. Well wear OP and hope you have many enjoyable and trouble free miles ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

JoeA3 wrote: »
    There’s a couple of little cosmetic mods I’d recommend you do that cost buttons but are great bang for buck:

- Gloss black grills. I’m surprised they aren’t already on it.

- the LCI (facelift) radio surround. The gloss black area is larger (yours has a Matt black edging) and it has a very nice LED back light, matching the rest of the interior lights. Needs a bit of wiring and coding but it’s easy. And cheap.

If you’re feeling more flush, the LCI tail lights (full LED) would be nice ;)

Get yourself Bimmercode too for easy little tweaks.

Doesn't look like it has tinted windows either? A must for any M car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I have 0 points on my licence, I had 8 at one point with a 335i. But a 420 can get you in as much trouble. In the M4 if somebody overtakes me its because I allow it, I have nothing to prove.

This is a key point I think. In my experience it's very rarely is it the guy in the genuinely fast car that's acting the arsehole on the road.

I know we have been talking on the PM TCPIP but I publically congratulate you and wish you may happy and safe miles of motoring.

I would not rush into mods (except for the software mod we discussed that adds a lot of drivability). I try to eek them out over time. Its funny how quickly you get used to a cars power, or features or looks. A subtle mods over time can reinvigorate your interest in a car. Enjoy the car and drive it. So many people forget to do that. These cars rolled off the production line almost perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

BMW (and others) have played engine noises over the sound system for years :

Maybe Tesls should play BMW engine noises over their speakers

gctest50 wrote: »
    BMW (and others) have played engine noises over the sound system for years :

Maybe Tesls should play BMW engine noises over their speakers

Maybe they should but doubt they need to. Electric cars have a wonderful place in the market but there will always be motoring enthusiasts that are into actually driving.

This is a key point I think. In my experience it's very rarely is it the guy in the genuinely fast car that's acting the arsehole on the road.

Totally agree with your comment. When your old enough and experienced enough you don’t care about performance only when you actually need it and safe to do so. I find the worst people are drivers driving **** box cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

How did I not see this thread until now! Congrats TCP/IP, fabulous car! Always makes me smile to see people taking the plunge and buying ///M cars (the real ones, not the SUV things). Best of luck with it.

Many thanks, Leonard I am loving it and also been off over Christmas I have had the time to get used to the car and get some miles in.

As a cruiser, it can be made very relaxing and you get around 30mpg which for a car like this is amazing. When you want to play drop two gears and away you go it's incredible the performance of it.

I would highly recommend it to anybody if they were thinking about getting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

Maybe they should but doubt they need to. Electric cars have a wonderful place in the market but there will always be motoring enthusiasts that are into actually driving.

I would have agreed before

Certainly what's out now isn't for drivers

Porsche Taycan out next year will change all that

Looks fantastic

Good job on the car, amazing machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Mike9832 wrote: »
    I would have agreed before

Certainly what's out now isn't for drivers

Porsche Taycan out next year will change all that

Looks fantastic

Good job on the car, amazing machine

Still a nope for me. Acceleration in itself isn't all that exciting, of course it matters but it's not the only thing. There is only so fast you can go on public roads, and you can break the speed limit quite easily in even the most humble of cars. It's how the car delivers the power and all the noises and drama from the engine, gearbox, tyres etc when you ask more of the car is what makes it so enjoyable. You need a big petrol or diesel engine for that. Even just walking along the street, hearing a large engined car is interesting; sadly we won't hear cars making those kind of noises in the future - and that's a real shame.

Have to agree there is nothing exciting about electric cars I would miss the performance of a large engined car and the excitement that it delivers.