Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving unlicensed

• 02-12-2018 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

So i was pulled over having been in process of renewing driving licence for holding phone in car. When guard asked me about license i said i hadntit with me but ran in following day to get it renewed and dropped it down to station within 10 days. got 3 summons and trying to figure out what to do and how screwed i am. one for driving without license (which i now realised technically is correct) for not having one on me (again technically correct) and not producing one which i did? any ideas how screwed am i? cant find law around this anywhere and worried about consequences for my job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Drumorig

Just bring your licence to court and say you produced within 10 days. The judge should strike it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Did you hold a full licence?

You can of course be done for not having on you.

If you did and do have a licence that is valid then the rest should be struck out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Drumorig wrote: »
    Just bring your licence to court and say you produced within 10 days. The judge should strike it out.

What if the guard or judge sees the renewal date on the licence?
    If the guard does his job correctly he will inform the judge about this.

If you did and do have a licence that is valid then the rest should be struck out.

He didn't renew the licence he had previously lost until after being pulled over by the guard.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

From reading OP it was not valid as "ran in following day to get it renewed".
    So license was not valid on date in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

csfo wrote: »
    should add guard does not seem a reasonable man

But you were the one on the phone driving not in possession of a valid licence...

Yeh.. He's the one with the problem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

F1ngers wrote: »

Exactly. If he was in the process as claimed the licence would be in the post and he would have had a receipt to produce.

Assuming these are full licences I cannot see a judge throw the book at you. You have passed the test and I assume no major points issues?

More administrative and forgetfulness than trying to do anything illegal.

Get solicitor involved. Preferably one the judge is used to.

Points and a fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Drumorig

tuxy wrote: »
    Hold your hands up and say you forgot but you defo produced at the station. He should still strike it out.

Assuming these are full licences I cannot see a judge throw the book at you. You have passed the test and I assume no major points issues?

My understanding is he had no licence as he had previously lost it for points acquired for using the phone while driving.
    Enough time had passed for him to get his licence back but he was driving around before he bothered to go do that.

But the OP is a bit confusing so I may be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

F1ngers wrote: »

I get that but in most cases if one does let it lapse they have 10 years to renew if a full.

I've done it myself for a few months where licence is in wallet and completely forget it's out.

Most judges will see you had no reason to not renew just lapse of thinking of getting it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

My understanding is he had no licence as he had previously lost it for points acquired for using the phone while driving.
    Enough time had passed for him to get his licence back but he was driving around before he bothered to go do that.

Reading it again I'd say you're right.

And the garda has the problem???????

Perhaps stick to the rules from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cockadoodledoo

Is it not that he was pulled over for using his phone and then was asked for his licence which he didn’t have

It could be either as he didn't use correct punctuation I can't tell for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

It could be either as he didn't use correct punctuation I can't tell for sure.

I'd say you're right Tuxy, considering driving with a phone is not one of his summons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭mr c

if you didn't have a licence on the day you were stopped
    then it is correct you didn't produce a licence
    as it was not covering the date of the traffic stop

did you have a licence that you misplaced and were getting one reissued ?

or were you not registered with any driving licence on the day of the traffic stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cockadoodledoo

Naos wrote: »
    I'd say you're right Tuxy, considering driving with a phone is not one of his summons.

Ohhhhhh I didn’t think of that! Is it possible he would have received his points/fine for that and the summons are separate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 csfo

Yes a full valid licence. I had appointment in to get it renewed but earliesf appointment given was several days away.

yes this is what I'm asking about

Ohhhhhh I didn’t think of that! Is it possible he would have received his points/fine for that and the summons are separate?

yes thats what happened

mr c wrote: »
    if you didn't have a licence on the day you were stopped
    then it is correct you didn't produce a licence
    as it was not covering the date of the traffic stop

did you have a licence that you misplaced and were getting one reissued ?

or were you not registered with any driving licence on the day of the traffic stop?

reissued

Does anyone know what the consequences are ?

Will be grand, just explain to the judge that you lied to the garda but you have the upmost respect for them.

I didnt actually lie to the guard. I should also add my driving licence was out by 6 weeks as I misread the date on it and thought it was still in date.

Well since you got a summons for not producing a licence even though you did there is a good chance the garda noticed the date of renewal on the licence you did produce.

Just state your case to the judge.
    He will either dismiss it, ask you to donate to charity or give you a minor fine.
    It's unusual that a garda is so unreasonable that you feel you can't contact the station and get him to give you a quick call but I guess it does happen.

Well since you got a summons for not producing a licence even though you did there is a good chance the garda noticed the date of renewal on the licence you did produce.

Just state your case to the judge.
    He will either dismiss it, ask you to donate to charity or give you a minor fine.
    It's unusual that a garda is so unreasonable that you feel you can't contact the station and get him to give you a quick call but I guess it does happen.

Thanks for your help. The garda I spoke to suggested contacting the man himself. I'm debating contacting him but just dont want to make matters worse. I think I need to remove that statement I'm not trying to slander the man in anyways. I'll cope with a fine and probably deserve that but I'm so unfamiliar with this procedure am concerned about imprisonment or being put off the road.

Well don't worry about prison, there are people with hundreds of convictions walking the streets as prisons are full!

Talking to the garda won't harm your case. Just be polite and ask why you are being summonsed for not producing when you did ( state time and date)

Not legal advice so get a second opinion but you won't be taken off the road the worst case scenario is a small fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Driving without a valid license would also invalidate your insurance, so surprised you weren't summonsed for that as well.

Guard will definitely or has already noticed the date on your new license issued after the day he stopped you and he can easily check out your license history anyway, so I'd expect a fine and points on your license. Might be worth contacting a solicitor to speak for you in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Well don't worry about prison, there are people with hundreds of convictions walking the streets as prisons are full!

Talking to the garda won't harm your case. Just be polite and ask why you are being summonsed for not producing when you did ( state time and date)

Not legal advice so get a second opinion but you won't be taken off the road the worst case scenario is a small fine.

He told the guard he had a license on the day he was stopped. He lied, and wasn't currently holding a license. He went and got his renewed and produced that. That license doesn't cover him for the day he was stopped. Hence the summons for non production.

Guard will definitely or has already noticed the date on your new license issued after the day he stopped you and he can easily check out your license history anyway, so I'd expect a fine and points on your license. Might be worth contacting a solicitor to speak for you in all honesty.

You don't know for sure, it could be the guarda at the desk that day didn't record it correctly.

As for no insurance cover that will depend on the policy the OP has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

You don't know for sure, it could be the guarda at the desk that day didn't record it correctly.

As for no insurance cover that will depend on the policy the OP has.

Are there policies that cover unlicensed drivers?

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

I believe there are some where the contract is still valid if it's a full licence that has only recently expired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Etc

Going through the ordeal of reading the replies on this thread has to be worse than any penalty a judge will hand down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Every policy I've seen says - provided driver had licence or is not banned from holding a licence.
    A lapsed licence does therefore not mean uninsured.

Yes that sounds correct to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Driving without a valid license would also invalidate your insurance, so surprised you weren't summonsed for that as well.

Driving with an expired licence does not invalidate your insurance

Good that we got that cleared up. The OP is freaking out enough as it is.
    I know of people with worse convictions that were not banned. If you need your car for work and the offence is not one that carries a mandatory ban your licence is fairly safe. Judges are very understanding(sometimes too understanding) in such situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It would appear the offence here is using a phone while driving and having a recently expired licence - which he was not banned from holding and was renewed and presented within 10 days.
    I'd imagine judge would be more upset at the garda for putting this in front of him than the driver.
    I'd imagine the whole lot will be struck out assuming points have been applied for phone use already.

mickdw wrote: »
    I'd imagine judge would be more upset at the garda for putting this in front of him than the driver.
    This is why I think there may be a chance the garda thinks he didn't produce any licence at the station. I think it would be a good idea to contact the garda.
    If the garda is being awkward at least you know what you're dealing with and no harm done once you are polite.

yes thanks for all the advice. Its just all new to me and I know i messed up.

Im thinking I'll clarify details with station and talk to guard (eventhough I'm not looking forward to it). i noticed the summons has misspelled my address so maybe he checked the system for wrong address or something and failing that have to get legal advice.

I phoned insurance company who confirmed about the license and also said there's a month long grace period in law for renewal of licenses so murphys law i would be out by a fortnight.

this isnt like me at all but hopefully like you said if its not something that results in imprisonment or ban from driving i can cope! i imagine may get more points but can cope with that too.

Get this idea out of your head, none of those things will happen. The judge can't even give you points as the offences on the summons do not carry points.
    You will get a small fine but only if both judge and garda are being stubborn.
    You made a small mistake, have owned up and are doing everything you can to sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Talking to the Garda will be of no benefit. The OP is going to have to turn up in court and hope for the best because even if the Garda has a look and says its grand they could forget to cancel the summons, if they can cancel the summons, so the OP will be convicted in their absence.

Can you ring the court a few days beforehand to see if the case is listed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

should add guard does not seem a reasonable man

But you were the one on the phone driving not in possession of a valid licence...

Yeh.. He's the one with the problem...
    Must be some Langer to be in a phone whilst TRYING to drive FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Scaremongering and untrue.

OP, talk to the Garda.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The advise to anyone asking a similar question in the Legal forum is to always turn up on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

Don't do this while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

I thought that your License was held in Shannon and that the the card you have is only the required proof that you have said license.

mookishboy wrote: »
    I thought that your License was held in Shannon and that the the card you have is only the required proof that you have said license.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1994/act/7/section/25/enacted/en/html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

That is the penalties for not producing and the requirements to carry one. Does not mean he doesn't have one. only the card that proves he has a license

mookishboy wrote: »

The law says you have to produce the licence there and then.
    and if the person refuses or fails so to produce the licence there and then, he shall be guilty of an offence.

It says nothing about producing a card that is proof of licence.