Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's loolaa's are offended by a Santa and the unicorns tea towel

• 01-12-2018 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭

The lunatic fringe which is now lead by Gemma O'Doherty are offended at TK Maxx for selling a tea towel which says Santa is Fake and Unicorns are Real. It seems that the slogan offends the religious tradition of Xmas in their eyes :rolleyes:
    https://ibb.co/w78dsHz

Are you also offended by the slogan, are you upset by what's written on a tea towel ? :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 TightyWhiteys

Transgenderism?? Am I missing something!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Think thats bad, an Ohio radio station has decided not to play the Xmas favourite "Baby Its Cold Outside" as it (supposedly) advocates date rape.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-46413209

klaaaz wrote: »
    The lunatic fringe which is now lead by Gemma O'Doherty are offended at TK Maxx for selling a tea towel which says Santa is Fake and Unicorns are Real. It seems that the slogan offends the religious tradition of Xmas in their eyes :rolleyes:

Are you also offended by the slogan, are you upset by what's written on a tea towel ? :pac: :D

She missed the tinfoil Santa hats on adjoining shelf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

I'm far too busy to be offended just for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Clearly unicorns are fake, and Santa is real...It's a fcuking joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

ODoherty is a racist, homophobic, anti choice, anti traveller, TERF who is also anti vax. Best to be ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

The world seems to be full of cnuts..... on both sides.

To be fair, regardless of your religious affiliation Christmas and Santy should be a fcuking absolutely joyous occasion for a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,558 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well that's a total tosspot of a product...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Apparently, they killed Santa by knocking him off his sleigh using a flying unicorn! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

This will confuse some people because THIS outrage is being lead by not-a-liberal, AFAIK. Will those who can never wait to complain about liberal snowflakes being outraged object to this person being outraged?

I dunno, this is AH. Where is the outrage to counter act the outrageous? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wrong.

Yes.
    I'm far too busy to be offended just for the sake of it.

Correct.
    c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Clearly unicorns are fake, and Santa is real...It's a fcuking joke

Not sure.
    P_1 wrote: »
    ODoherty is a racist, homophobic, anti choice, anti traveller, TERF who is also anti vax. Best to be ignored

No.
    The world seems to be full of cnuts..... on both sides.

To be fair, regardless of your religious affiliation Christmas and Santy should be a fcuking absolutely joyous occasion for a child.

Abso-****ing-lutely....
    lawred2 wrote: »
    Well that's a total tosspot of a product...

... case in point.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

When will TK Maxx be releasing their "Muhammad is fake and Unicorns are real" tea towel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

How does santa and unicorns tie in with the religious tradition?

I understand that atheists think god is probably santa for adults but seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

DS86DS wrote: »
    When will TK Maxx be releasing their "Muhammad is fake and Unicorns are real" tea towel?

I'll buy that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

NIMAN wrote:
    Think thats bad, an Ohio radio station has decided not to play the Xmas favourite "Baby Its Cold Outside" as it (supposedly) advocates date rape.

Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer promotes drink driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

I thought the problem was that the towel says Santa is fake, or some such, and it's written in a public place. Which is pretty mean to small children who can read, to be fair. I'm not big into over-hyping Santa but a bit of magic and mystery in childhood is worth preserving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

How do you make that out? I’ll admit I don’t know who the woman is, looked her up -

O'Doherty highlighted issues in the investigation into the 1985 death of Fr. Niall Molloy. Her work led to the reopening of that case. According to O'Doherty, the priest's murder 'exposed a cover up of staggering proportions involving several institutions of the State and the Catholic Church.'

Doesn’t appear as though she is particularly enamoured with defending religion?

Am I offended by “what’s written on a tea towel” as you put it? Nope, and I’m still not offended in the slightest now that I’m aware she is referring to the gender unicorn and how the unicorn as been co-opted as a symbol of the trans movement. Now that I am aware of the association though, it does beg the question as to why a group claiming that they are authentic either men or women would claim that something which is entirely imaginary would best represent their cause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Lads, it's Saturday night.

Have you nothing better to be doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

ODoherty is an anti traveller.

That is true but who isnt, has never met a traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Lads, it's Saturday night.

Have you nothing better to be doing?

Theres a queue for yer aul wan.

We post on boards to pass the time.

LOL

Chewbacca wrote: »
    Theres a queue for yer aul wan.

We post on boards to pass the time.

LOL

Are you going to be long? I dont mean to be pushy but myself and the girl friend are watching reruns of the toy show and she popped out to put on the kettle during the break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Are you going to be long? I dont mean to be pushy but myself and the girl friend are watching reruns of the toy show and she popped out to put on the kettle during the break

I just left the queue, the midgets are in there doing their '7 dwarfs' routine again.

Zorya wrote: »
    I thought the problem was that the towel says Santa is fake, or some such, and it's written in a public place. Which is pretty mean to small children who can read, to be fair. I'm not big into over-hyping Santa but a bit of magic and mystery in childhood is worth preserving.

Tbh, as a child I heard from various sources that Santa wasn’t real but I still believed in him because I wanted to. I just dismissed all those sources. It’s impossible to completely shield kids from sources that say he’s not real.

The towel is mean but something to be angry at or outraged by? Nah.

Chewbacca wrote: »
    I just left the queue, the midgets are in there doing their '7 dwarfs' routine again.

Sorry you missed it but she is going to be tag matched by Snow white and the Big bad wolf if you are interested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

I can picture this been the new must-have in the home of any sneering Liberal Hipster. After all, what better way to prepare a pot of Skinny Lattes for your equally sneering friends than to bring to the pot to the table covered in a towel denigrating Western and Christian traditions.

All the while, you and your fellow Liberal Hipster friends in all of their glorious smugness can sneer at all those foolish parents who get the kids to leave out biscuits for Santa under the tree.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Let's not mentioned the fuppin atheists on boards.ie who haven't a problem ruining kid's classrooms Christmas by telling them to go into school and tell their friends santys not real.

Hard to believe it, but it's true..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It has nothing to do with religion nor transgenderism but have TK Maxx no cop on? It's a joke but it's not the store to have it in; too many children about for that. Leave the kids a bit of the magic for a few years. It doesn't warrant outrage just a roll of the eyes.

She appears to be someone who is quite anti-establishment, a defining characteristic of a liberal mindset -

AN award-winning Irish investigative journalist was made redundant shortly after approaching the home of Garda commissioner Martin Callinan, seeking to confirm he had speeding penalty points wiped out.

The story behind the compulsory redundancy of Irish Independent senior features writer Gemma O’Doherty has so far been ignored by Ireland’s newspapers and RTÉ - a move that has brought condemnation from journalists at top British and international publications.

A report on O’Doherty’s removal went viral on Wednesday after Roy Greenslade blogged about it in his Guardian column. This followed a report in the Phoenix magazine on the issue.

In his lead-in to the article, the veteran journalist said: “O’Doherty’s paper was ‘appalled’ at her making the approach [to Callinan’s home] without first informing her bosses.”

The editor in chief of the Dublin based Independent titles is Stephen Rae, a former editor of the Garda Review magazine, who at the time of O’Doherty’s approach, was editor of The Irish Independent.

Source: British media reacts strongly as leading Irish journalist Gemma O'Doherty forced out of job

It appears in this instance she is challenging the establishment of identity politics, and given some of the responses in this thread already so far, she may well have ruffled a few feather boas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,558 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

... case in point.

Say what?

Tbh, as a child I heard from various sources that Santa wasn’t real but I still believed in him because I wanted to. I just dismissed all those sources. It’s impossible to completely shield kids from sources that say he’s not real.

What sources do you let your kid's hang out with ?
    Shame on you....

Santys real

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Confession - I'm the oldest of six and I was the last one of us all who still believed in Santy. :o If I had seen that towel I would have been really upset and confused haha, so I'm just standing up for the kids who were nerdy and soft in the head like I was. :D

It has nothing to do with religion nor transgenderism but have TK Maxx no cop on? It's a joke but it's not the store to have it in; too many children about for that. Leave the kids a bit of the magic for a few years. It doesn't warrant outrage just a roll of the eyes.

Actually that is not strictly true. Unicorns are being used to condition children towards Transgenderism and other nonsense:

http://www.transstudent.org/gender/

If I handed out strawberry and black berry lolly pops with swastikas on them would you shout Nazi? They are only lollies?

nthclare wrote: »
    What sources do you let your kid's hang out with ?
    Shame on you....

Santys real

Kids? I HAVE KIDS? When? Where? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

DS86DS wrote: »

Are you mixing up god and Santa ?

Actually that is not strictly true. Unicorns are being used to condition children towards Transgenderism and other nonsense:

To be fair though, it’s not an association that’s all that common, and certainly not one that Irish children would immediately make. It’s far more likely to be an association made by adults.

I’d simply have dismissed the tea-towel after reading the first line that suggests Santa isn’t real. Idiots, of course Santa is real. I wouldn’t even get down as far as the second line before I’d get a clip round the ear and told I can’t be brought anywhere :pac:

How do you make that out? I’ll admit I don’t know who the woman is, looked her up -

O'Doherty highlighted issues in the investigation into the 1985 death of Fr. Niall Molloy. Her work led to the reopening of that case. According to O'Doherty, the priest's murder 'exposed a cover up of staggering proportions involving several institutions of the State and the Catholic Church.'

Doesn’t appear as though she is particularly enamoured with defending religion?

Oh she is, have a look at her ramblings on fb, they and her followers lean to the religious right. Says no to any progressive issue that the populace has enacted by referenda. They also embrace any conspiracy going, especially vaccinations. Think of her like the wife of a certain Waters :P
    Am I offended by “what’s written on a tea towel” as you put it? Nope, and I’m still not offended in the slightest now that I’m aware she is referring to the gender unicorn and how the unicorn as been co-opted as a symbol of the trans movement. Now that I am aware of the association though, it does beg the question as to why a group claiming that they are authentic either men or women would claim that something which is entirely imaginary would best represent their cause?
    Thing is the unicorn has not been co-opted by the trans movement, its really a symbol for everyone. And they get upset by a Santa is Fake slogan on a tea towel as if Santa is solely a Christian symbol when nowadays its really a cultural symbol even embraced by atheists!

Kids? I HAVE KIDS? When? Where? :eek:

Are they goats now, billy gets offended if you don't call him nanny...

And nanny loves being called billy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

klaaaz wrote:
    The lunatic fringe which is now lead by Gemma O'Doherty are offended at TK Maxx for selling a tea towel which says Santa is Fake and Unicorns are Real. It seems that the slogan offends the religious tradition of Xmas in their eyes

They don't understand their religion so. St Nicholas is religious. Santa Claus is definitely not religious and the church avoids any mention of the man in the red suit

If I handed out strawberry and black berry lolly pops with swastikas on them would you shout Nazi? They are only lollies?

I couldn't give a toss what some people try to link unicorns to. My grandchildren enjoy the childish innocence of playing with and reading about unicorns just like my children did.
    The issue with the towel is the Santa reference.

As for your lollies: I wouldn't personally be shouting anything at you. And I don't see the comparison.

To be fair though, it’s not an association that’s all that common, and certainly not one that Irish children would immediately make. It’s far more likely to be an association made by adults.

I’d simply have dismissed the tea-towel after reading the first line that suggests Santa isn’t real. Idiots, of course Santa is real. I wouldn’t even get down as far as the second line before I’d get a clip round the ear and told I can’t be brought anywhere :pac:

Have you got kids in school? I dont but I do have a nephew and he came home shout "Trump is a racist". I asked him what a racist was and he didnt know, I asked him Did he know Donald Trump recieved an Equality award with Al Sharpton and he didnt know. I asked him did he know that Donal Trump gave the job of designing Trump towers to a woman for the first time in history? He didnt know that. Teacher said it and it was true.

I couldn't give a toss what some people try to link unicorns to. My grandchildren enjoy the childish innocence of playing with and reading about unicorns just like my children did.
    The issue with the towel is the Santa reference.

As for your lollies: I wouldn't personally be shouting anything at you. And I don't see the comparison.

I know a grown woman living in the Burren, she believes in unicorn's.
    She's sound out, call into her and she'll offer you tea and a scone.
    If she asks do you want a spoon of honey in your tea, go for the honey with mushrooms added.

You'll actually see the unicorns on you drive home, along with the wish dragon from the neverending story.
    And when you get home your house will have turned into a wardrobe...

Woah! Is she single? ;)

Oh she is, have a look at her ramblings on fb, they and her followers lean to the religious right. Says no to any progressive issue that the populace has enacted by referenda. They also embrace any conspiracy going, especially vaccinations. Think of her like the wife of a certain Waters :P

You could easily have described me in the above paragraph, and I’ve already admitted I haven’t heard of her before now, perhaps because I don’t frequent Facebook and Twitter which are generally packed to the rafters with gormless idiots regardless of their ideological and political persuasions.

Thing is the unicorn has not been co-opted by the trans movement, its really a symbol for everyone. And they get upset by a Santa is Fake slogan on a tea towel as if Santa is solely a Christian symbol when nowadays its really a cultural symbol even embraced by atheists!

It’s not a symbol for everyone as this was the first I’d heard of the unicorn being a symbol for anyone who isn’t a child, and even for children it’s a mythical creature. I don’t imagine she is “upset”, but she is pointing out what she sees as the tea towel symbolises. It’s admittedly a bit of a stretch, and given I wouldn’t be caught dead shopping in TK Maxx anyway given it’s unique selling point is it’s abundance of cheap, poor quality clothing and household items, an item like this simply doesn’t appeal to me, nor am I offended by it’s existence, nor do I particularly care about Gemma O’ Dohertys opinion on the matter.

All jokes aside I do think femminazis, sjw's, snowflakes etc need to get professional help.
    They're full of anger and definitely have a touch of borderline personality disorder.

A lot of femminists I know are narcissistic and full of ****.
    I have female friends who can't stand femminists they think they're a shower of cee u next mairts

nthclare wrote: »
    I know a grown woman living in the Burren, she believes in unicorn's.
    She's sound out, call into her and she'll offer you tea and a scone.
    If she asks do you want a spoon of honey in your tea, go for the honey with mushrooms added.

You'll actually see the unicorns on you drive home, along with the wish dragon from the neverending story.
    And when you get home your house will have turned into a wardrobe...

Fascinating. It may even be enlightening, if I could figure out what it has to do with the topic or the quoted post. But thank you for the effort.

Someone mentioned unicorns and santy
    Have you read the whole thread.

Sorry if I offended you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Oh FFS it's a bloody tea towel. I don't know why GOD let's these stupid things bother her, too much time on her hands.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Oh FFS it's a bloody tea towel. I don't know why GOD let's these stupid things bother her, too much time on her hands.

Maybe her evil twin is offended too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

For once (and hopefully last) time I agree with Gemma O’Doherty and only because I have young children who are super excited by Christmas and I would have for anything (especially a stupid fcukin towel) to ruin that.