Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FM104 Phone show at Hellfire Club

• 01-12-2018 3:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭

Does anybody remember listening to this?

https://youtu.be/ua0Bb233H3A

Basically Adrian and Jeremy and some folks head up to the Hellfire Club laat year before Halloween and have some terrible experiences including the devil appearing on the wall and something covered in maggots falling down the chimney

Gotta admit there are some scary moments in this. Definitely worth a listen!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Has anybody ever camped up there at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭mightybashful

DS86DS wrote: »
    Has anybody ever camped up there at night?

Went to a couple of raves at night up there alright :)

Did anything strange happen during the night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

OP you are one gullible fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Does anybody remember listening to this?

https://youtu.be/ua0Bb233H3A

Basically Adrian and Jeremy and some folks head up to the Hellfire Club laat year before Halloween and have some terrible experiences including the devil appearing on the wall and something covered in maggots falling down the chimney

Gotta admit there are some scary moments in this. Definitely worth a listen!!!!

Did it ever occur to you that they might have been a wee bit careless with the truth for that show?

It did to be honest, some parts of it came across as over-the-top.

I still don't know what to make of the overall vibe that the place gives off though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Hopefully fm104 Jeremy will be scorched to death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

The Hell Fire Club is seriously creepy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

It did to be honest, some parts of it came across as over-the-top.

I still don't know what to make of the overall vibe that the place gives off though.

Its hyped up to the nines all this "Hellfire Club" noise. May as well be a disneyworld house of horrors business. I'm amazed somebody hasn't built a souvenir shop selling Heavy metal style t-shirts and key rings up there yet.

Plenty more places to go in the city centre of Dublin to go on a spectre hunt.
    St.Audoen's Church in the city centre, near the old city wall, the old Gate of Hell, a ghost of a woman is supposedly seen down at the end of the steps near the Gate of Hell.

Dublin city centre is very cool at night. Has a dark vibe going on all through the old parts of town.

Make America Get Out of Here

Seen a lot of mad shlt alright......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Load of rubbish. There isn't a shred of evidence that spirits or ghosts exist. Some buildings are odd or strange but that doesn't equate to evidence of an afterlife. The problem with ghosts, ironically enough, is down to people. People lie, people have mental issues and people crave attention. That's really all you need to know about "ghosts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

You could be a ghost for all we know.

Not your ornery onager

Load of rubbish. There isn't a shred of evidence that spirits or ghosts exist. Some buildings are odd or strange but that doesn't equate to evidence of an afterlife. The problem with ghosts, ironically enough, is down to people. People lie, people have mental issues and people crave attention. That's really all you need to know about "ghosts".

Im after getting a few spirits into me this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Saw some blue ghosts there before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Whatever about the ghosts, they really built that place to last.

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    Whatever about the ghosts, they really built that place to last.

This is the thing about that place, it clearly was a "out of town" party house up the mountains where all sort of dodgy shady degenerate $hite was going down by lads in power at the time such as Sheriff Simon Luttrell, they probably dragged people up there and did what ever they liked to them. The place was probably known by the local folk for other local folk not coming back, or just hearing the horror stories about what was going on up there from those who did make it back. That's probably where the notorious stories and horror/ghost myths come from, the actual probable horror that was happening to the local people dragged up there. Those have lasted the same way as the structure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It says a lot that even by looking at an image of the place that is gives off an incredibly oppressive vibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,744 ✭✭✭✭maccored

buried wrote: »
    This is the thing about that place, it clearly was a "out of town" party house up the mountains where all sort of dodgy shady degenerate $hite was going down by lads in power at the time such as Sheriff Simon Luttrell, they probably dragged people up there and did what ever they liked to them. The place was probably known by the local folk for other local folk not coming back, or just hearing the horror stories about what was going on up there from those who did make it back. That's probably where the notorious stories and horror/ghost myths come from, the actual probable horror that was happening to the local people dragged up there. Those have lasted the same way as the structure

lots of stories were fabricated to stop people nosing about. sure hasnt it and loftus hall the same story about the devil and playing cards etc etc

maccored wrote: »
    lots of stories were fabricated to stop people nosing about. sure hasnt it and loftus hall the same story about the devil and playing cards etc etc

Nah I'd say there was heap of dodgy $hit going on up there Mac, the likes of Luttrell was a known frequenter of the local inner city brothels, all those gadges were, other stories of the likes of these guys shooting out the windows at local people from their lavish houses near St.Stephens Green. I'll have to look up that story again, it's in a book I have somewhere here. All these lads were known users of the house up the hill. Wild violent colonial enforcing degenerates. Make more sense to me the horror stories have just lasted in the local folklore, people have been nosing about there for decades, due to these horror stories! It's not keeping anybody away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Didn't the devil play cards in Castletown House in Celbridge too. Clearly Old Nick likes an aul flutter.

I live out in the shticks and there's a nearby local ruined big house he played down there too! He must have cleaned out the whole country the hoor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

buried wrote: »
    Nah I'd say there was heap of dodgy $hit going on up there Mac, the likes of Luttrell was a known frequenter of the local inner city brothels, all those gadges were, other stories of the likes of these guys shooting out the windows at local people from their lavish houses near St.Stephens Green. I'll have to look up that story again, it's in a book I have somewhere here. All these lads were known users of the house up the hill. Wild violent colonial enforcing degenerates. Make more sense to me the horror stories have just lasted in the local folklore, people have been nosing about there for decades, due to these horror stories! It's not keeping anybody away

A shower of sh1tes pr1cking around with the natives.

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    A shower of sh1tes pr1cking around with the natives.

Yeah, well, they knew they could get away with it too. They designed the place, the entire structure of how the town looked, all the impressive buildings. These were the guys that decided to build most of the buildings on or near the waterfront, the likes of the Custom House and the Four Courts, also the original Parliament Building near College Green, which is a class building in fairness to these feickers.

I had a look here and that shooting out the windows story is in in 'Modern Ireland 1600-1972' by R. F. Foster which is a great book about all that sort of stuff

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Did you really just ask someone who went to raves at the hellfire club at night if they saw anything strange up there?

giphy.gif