Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another day.... another silly pay out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Now, now...mustn't be so harsh. Such mishaps are always someone else's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Rabble rabble

Fcuking insurance companies.

Rabble rabble

Cartel

Rabble rabble

Screwing the policy holders over.

Yet again, the stupidity and recklessness of the one is rewarded, and the many will be held accountable.

We are an absolute joke of a country and the legal system is shagging every one of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I could really use 20 or 30k to do up the house. Must be a way I can get in on these pay outs.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRNz-gq315HLl4tfv4DNLtThYDQup0C3C7J4sQpZoTeHfAO_do7

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Makes sense. The pup probably wouldn't be aware of the risks,their insurance company maybe should have more clued up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Drunk injures himself on game while drunk in bar.

Obviously the game is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Bloody civil servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Its evidentary that the Judicary is continually and always the problem here. Always.

People love to harp on about Insurers but ultimately the Judges are hitting every citizens pockets here as they are out of touch with reality on compensation and definitely with Criminal Proceedings too.

The untouchables is what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Ok, so the next logical step is throw a punch at a fella in a bar, break the same bone as this lad and then sue yer man for damages.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm traumatized after reading that. Who do I report this to? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

€30,000 back on €1 entry fee. That's a good return!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

Rabble rabble

Cartel

Rabble rabble

Yet again, the stupidity and recklessness of the one is rewarded, and the many will be held accountable.

We are an absolute joke of a country and the legal system industry is shagging every one of us.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Never mind the circumstances, 30 grand for a scaphoid injury is bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

1. Get Drunk
    2. Hit things with weak civil servant hands
    3. Something something
    4. PROFIT !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

D3V!L wrote: »
    1. Get Drunk
    2. Hit things with weak civil servant hands
    3. Something something
    4. PROFIT !!

#3. is put in a ridiculous claim.

No question marks required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Sky King wrote: »
    #3. is put in a ridiculous claim.

No question marks required.

Ooh spot the civil servant !! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The 30 grand sounds high, but maybe putting that game into a bar full of drunks wasn't the wisest decision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

If it happened to me I would not even consider suing. I would see it as my own fault. I would be mortified if my name appeared in the paper connected with such an embarrassing claim. He wasn’t warned that he might injure himself. Unless he has an intellectual disability I judge him hugely. I would also never hire someone that stupid if he ever came to me looking for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

wellwhynot wrote: »
    If it happened to me I would not even consider suing. I would see it as my own fault. I would be mortified if my name appeared in the paper connected with such an embarrassing claim. He wasn’t warned that he might injure himself. Unless he has an intellectual disability I judge him hugely. I would also never hire someone that stupid if he ever came to me looking for a job.

He did at the time. He was drunk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

As far as silly personal injury stories go this really isn't anywhere close to the level of stupidity I've become accustomed to.

Saw this one the other week - https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-who-lost-finger-climbing-fence-at-luas-stop-wanted-to-get-home-for-dinner-887190.html

This punching machine fella seems absolutely reasonable by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Grayson wrote: »
    The 30 grand sounds high, but maybe putting that game into a bar full of drunks wasn't the wisest decision?

These things are in bars all over Europe. I dare you to find a non Irish judge handing out 30K for an injury on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I wonder could I sue the Catholic Church due to emotional distress at not living in Paradise. Eve ate the apple, even though she was told not to, damning us to this earth. Eve was the original woman created by the Christian god, therefore his creation, his fault. Wouldn't even fall under the "act of God" clause, because her eating it was to show that we had free will!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

Why didn't he also sue the barperson who forced him to buy drink??

It's not his fault he was pissed up and went hammering at a meatheads dream machine.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Rabble rabble

Cartel

Rabble rabble

We are an absolute joke of a country and the legal system is shagging every one of us.

I'm sure the insurance company will be very even handed with Flannerys come renewal time