Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

7 seater advice please

• 28-11-2018 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭

Hi
    I'm currently driving an A6 Avant.
    i'm looking to change sometime in 2019 to a 7 seater for extra space for kids + luggage.
    I can't afford Q7 or XC90 prices but could stretch to a decent spec Skoda Kodiaq or similar.
    Any ideas what is the best option in this bracket? - I'd like something that is good to drive (if that is possible in a 7 seater).
    I probably do about 20,000 km per year.
    I'd appreciate any input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Any ideas what is the best option in this bracket? - I'd like something that is good to drive (if that is possible in a 7 seater).

Ford S-Max. End-of-thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭ace_irl

There's a new 7 seater SUV being launched by Seat next year I believe, probably similar to Skoda Kodiaq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

ace_irl wrote: »
    There's a new 7 seater SUV being launched by Seat next year I believe, probably similar to Skoda Kodiaq.

The Seat Taracco looks nice - I haven't been able to find prices for it. I don't know if they're available yet?

No I don't think prices are available yet. The Ateca starts at €26K so I'd say around the €32K - €36K for the Tarracco. I am only guessing now based on the prices of their other cars. I think it's tipped to start at around £27K in the UK for SE models.

I test drove the Ateca and the Arona and they were both lovely to drive so I'd keep an eye on that one for the 7 seater version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

ace_irl wrote: »
    No I don't think prices are available yet. The Ateca starts at €26K so I'd say around the €32K - €36K for the Tarracco. I am only guessing now based on the prices of their other cars. I think it's tipped to start at around £27K in the UK for SE models.

I test drove the Ateca and the Arona and they were both lovely to drive so I'd keep an eye on that one for the 7 seater version.

Most will go for the diesel option and they will be 40k plus, no cheaper than the skoda kodiaq apparently but depreciation should be steeper with seat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I also have an a6 avant.

We're getting the 5008, GT line.

3 seats in the middle, we'll have 4.5 year old, 3 year old and new born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

5008 would be a very good choice I checked them all out thoroughly before buying, q7,x5, galaxy etc, very nearly bought the 5008 but made the extra stretch for the XC90 as we got a great deal from the peugeot garage who happened to have one.
    Have you looked at importing, the volvo prices are still very high here, our car seem to have appreciated over the last year not depreciated.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Most will go for the diesel option and they will be 40k plus, no cheaper than the skoda kodiaq apparently but depreciation should be steeper with seat.

I was reading that it is largely based on the Kodiaq so I would imagine the pricing would be very in line with it. Although it's meant to be a better version of the Kodiaq based on the few reviews I've read, more stuff as standard (I think).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

depending on age of kids, kodiaq may not be a good option.

sister in law bought one, but middle row are 40/20/40 splits, the older kids seat doesnt fit between the iso fix and the seat of the other kid. Older one sits in boot.

depending on age of kids, kodiaq may not be a good option.

sister in law bought one, but middle row are 40/20/40 splits, the older kids seat doesnt fit between the iso fix and the seat of the other kid. Older one sits in boot.

Good point!

3 isofix fit across the middle row of a 5008, I tried them in it. There's a pic I posted somewhere in the main 5008 thread.

Found it, there 3 big seats https://ibb.co/ewxnnm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭ravendude

New CRV also comes in 7 seater, and excellent build quality. People seem to be divided on whether it is a thing or beauty or not-so though, ...not sure.
    http://www.honda.ie/Page/201/all-new-honda-crv-hybrid

I was disappointed with the Kodiaq to say the least, - thought it was quite boring and overrated.

Looked at the Tiguan Allspace Highline also, - 40K plus for bog standard fabric seats and hard scratchy plastic on the back doors, no thanks.

Was surprised at the build quality of the Peugeot 5008, - they have improved since I last looked at a Peugeot (to put it mildly!) and really seem to have turned a corner.

New Kia Sorento also looks nice, you'd be pushing 50K though for a nice one.

XTrail, - dunno are they a bit underpowered, but nice enough.

The new Seat Teracco looks nice, - but the read looks a little awkward, - think you'd have to see it in the flesh really when it comes out.

I'm torn between getting a nice estate/sportswagen (new Peugeot 508 SW, Volvo V60) or a 7-seater, - hard call.

I must admit all the entry level 7 seaters look very basic - they really need to be upgraded but this does add to the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Zoney

I can recommend C4 grand Picasso if you want to go second hand and higher spec. Plenty available from UK.

Try exclusive+ spec with panoramic sunroof. You can get half leather seats (incl even the fold up third row) and 2.0 litre engine ones from UK too (or dealer here who's imported). Nice power only negative no space even for space saver wheel due to exhaust and adblue tank. Giant windscreen (recommend you make sure you have windscreen cover on insurance). Up to 2014 you get particular little extras compared to newer ones like led lighting inside the door handles even at the back, puddle lights from the wing mirrors, metal door steps even at the back, built in hard drive for music.

360 cameras and parking assist are very nice.

Main thing newer models get is Android auto (or maybe three Apple one?) and the adaptive cruise control has active braking, not just engine braking. Although the active braking seems a bit alarming tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Greentree_uk

S-Max, but go for the XSport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Hi
    I'm currently driving an A6 Avant.
    i'm looking to change sometime in 2019 to a 7 seater for extra space for kids + luggage.
    I can't afford Q7 or XC90 prices but could stretch to a decent spec Skoda Kodiaq or similar.
    I probably do about 20,000 km per year.
    I'd appreciate any input

The A6 back seats are probably bigger to the Kodiaq. Do you want a proper 7 seater....as if 3 proper seats in the back and then 2 proper sized seats.....

Kodiaq, 5008, Xtrail etc all have back seats which are only useful for smal kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Do you actually need a 7 seater ?, the missus convinced herself she needed one because "everyone" apparently has one, we have 3 kids. I was kind of skeptical as all the prices seemed to be € 5k - €10k more expensive than your average car.

She spoke to a few friends who already had them, they all said avoid like the plague unless you have 4 plus children becuuse you end up driving everyone else's kids around.

She has since had a change of heart and thought wiser of the purchase !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Do you actually need a 7 seater ?,

!

Hint is in the title of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Nobbies

Seat alhambra here.very happy with it.ticks alot of boxes for us.as for the s max.well it's grand till u have teenagers or ask a adult to get into the 3rd row. you'll need a rope to pull them back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Hint is in the title of the thread.

The OP may indeed need one, but I can understand the question as I have seen threads with "2nd kid on the way, what 7 seater should I buy" - to which of course the answer might well be "you don't need one".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

You can fit 3 kids in the back of a saloon without too much hassle, so if money is an issue you can get by without changing.

Having tried this myself however, I now have a pain in the !~#@ with some of the associated hassle. While the three kids technically fit in, there is a constant race to the car in a bid not to get the middle seat. Every journey seems to incorporate a game of elbow wars and an argument over ownership of the correct belt buckle....there will be skin grazings trying to get the seat belt between booster seats. With the boot loaded with a pram and a baby bag etc, the car can get very cramped in the back...throw in school bags, jackets, and anything in between and it’s starts to get a bit claustrophobic....thank god for Tesco Home delivery or the kids would be holding the bags on their laps....that would be some craic in my car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You can fit 3 kids in the back of a saloon without too much hassle, so if money is an issue you can get by without changing.

Having tried this myself however, I now have a pain in the !~#@ with some of the associated hassle. While the three kids technically fit in, there is a constant race to the car in a bid not to get the middle seat. Every journey seems to incorporate a game of elbow wars and an argument over ownership of the correct belt buckle....there will be skin grazings trying to get the seat belt between booster seats. With the boot loaded with a pram and a baby bag etc, the car can get very cramped in the back...throw in school bags, jackets, and anything in between and it’s starts to get a bit claustrophobic....thank god for Tesco Home delivery or the kids would be holding the bags on their laps....that would be some craic in my car!

All true of course, we are a family of 5 ourselves.

But if you are a family of 4, most saloons cars should suffice, and bigger ones such as a Skoda Superb or Audi A6 should be more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭nu_90

Volkswagen Shuttle 8 seater with captain chairs ? More space inside than anything else and massive boot. If you can get one in your budget.