Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bedroom Air vent in buildin wardrobe

• 27-11-2018 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

I recently snagged a new build and the airvent in the master bedroom is in the built in wardrobe. Our snagger said ir should be moved. However, the builder said the show house is the same and its grand.

I had a quick google regs on air vents but none the wiser.

Any thoughts on who is correct?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF

the vent for ‘room ventilation’ isn’t functioning inside a wardrobe. I’d argue it’s against the spirit of the guidance documents.
    As a mater of interest, what was the air-tightness test? And is it a 6” vent?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I recently snagged a new build and the airvent in the master bedroom is in the built in wardrobe. Our snagger said ir should be moved. However, the builder said the show house is the same and its grand.

I had a quick google regs on air vents but none the wiser.

Any thoughts on who is correct?

Where is this estate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭The boarder

The estate is in drogheda.

Yeah thought it is strange and pointless in there.

The size would be standard. Not sure of the air test, but the house is rated as A3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Ginger83

We had a bedroom built and no vent was put in at all.

Ginger83 wrote: »
    We had a bedroom built and no vent was put in at all.

Yes and you recently documented several other non compliance’s

The size would be standard. Not sure of the air test, but the house is rated as A3

Is it your responsibility to know whether each room should have a 4 or 6inch vent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

BryanF wrote: »

You gave a thread on them concreting in your radon cap and not putting any membrane under the floor.

Seems you may now have another issue. More serious than the radon one for now until you get radon levels tested.

OP cannot see how such a vent would provide free air movement

"It's grand" coming from a builder is not any answer.

Now if his eng or arch will put that in writing then you'll have an argument on your hands

You gave a thread on them concreting in your radon cap and not putting any membrane under the floor.

Seems you may now have another issue. More serious than the radon one for now until you get radon levels tested.

OP cannot see how such a vent would provide free air movement

Do i? A window has a trickle vent. Does that count?

Thats correct but how is that relevent to this problem?

Do i? A window has a trickle vent. Does that count?

It should. Some would argue that as it can be closed it does not fulfill requirements.

Cannot tell if sufficient. Up to your designer

It should. Some would argue that as it can be closed it does not fulfill requirements.

Cannot tell if sufficient. Up to your designer

There was no designer, the builder spec'd and built it.

That’s your first mistake.
    One, which you were advised not to do I believe.

Is it your responsibility to know whether each room should have a 4 or 6inch vent?
    I dont think it would be my responsibilty as we are purchasing the house from.the builder. Its their responsibility to build.the house to current building regs. I was just asking what the current reg say about air vents in bedrooms.

That's fair.

I would look at it this way too.

It's a snag that you will have to pay money to rectify in the medium term.

You will have moisture issues in a bedroom of an A rated house if the vent is blocked by bring in a press

kceire wrote: »
    That’s your first mistake.
    One, which you were advised not to do I believe.

I don't get that. We got a council grant. The council told us a pick a registered builder which we did. We told the builder we need a disabled bedroom and bathroom. The builder built it and got paid the grant.

Someone in the council signed off this job but it was never checked. Sure there were no safety grab rails fitted in the bathroom and the sink was not a disabled sink, who'd sign that off after checking it. The builder is full of excuses and the council engineer doesn't want to know and said go back to the builder.

Cowboys ted :) (and probably backhanders)

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I don't get that. We got a council grant. The council told us a pick a registered builder which we did. We told the builder we need a disabled bedroom and bathroom. The builder built it and got paid the grant.

Someone in the council signed off this job but it was never checked. Sure there were no safety grab rails fitted in the bathroom and the sink was not a disabled sink, who'd sign that off after checking it. The builder is full of excuses and the council engineer doesn't want to know and said go back to the builder.

Cowboys ted :) (and probably backhanders)

i sign off a lot of these kind of jobs and ive noticed that different councils can have vastly different systems of compliance.

1. did you have a specification from an occupational therapist for the builder to work to?
    2. did you, or the builder, have to supply drawings for approval prior to commencement?
    3. before grant was paid out, did you have to get the work certified by an appropriate person with PI insurance to say its compliant with planing and building regulations?

if 2 and 3 are no, then the councils due diligence is severely lacking and id put the blame square on them for building regulation non compliance.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    i sign off a lot of these kind of jobs and ive noticed that different councils can have vastly different systems of compliance.

1. did you have a specification from an occupational therapist for the builder to work to?
    2. did you, or the builder, have to supply drawings for approval prior to commencement?
    3. before grant was paid out, did you have to get the work certified by an appropriate person with PI insurance to say its compliant with planing and building regulations?

if 2 and 3 are no, then the councils due diligence is severely lacking and id put the blame square on them for building regulation non compliance.

1. Yes but the builder was never on site, his men wouldn't follow spec which resulted in many arguments between o/t and builder. (One example...o/t specified 900mm doors for wheelchair use, builder put in 800mm frames and instead of admitting the error argued that a wheelchair will still fit through the door.

2. We and the o/t discussed my needs and builder did drawings.

3. NO.

That's fair.

I would look at it this way too.

It's a snag that you will have to pay money to rectify in the medium term.

You will have moisture issues in a bedroom of an A rated house if the vent is blocked by bring in a press

Thats what I was thinking.
    Ill get back ontp the builder and ask them to move the vent as its not compliant being in the wardrobe that was fitted as standard for the development.

1. Yes but the builder was never on site, his men wouldn't follow spec which resulted in many arguments between o/t and builder. (One example...o/t specified 900mm doors for wheelchair use, builder put in 800mm frames and instead of admitting the error argued that a wheelchair will still fit through the door.

2. We and the o/t discussed my needs and builder did drawings.

3. NO.

What County Council was this?

Cavan

Cavan

Feck.
    In Dublin, to do these works, you need a Declaration from an Architect, Engineer or Surveyor before the works start, and then they need to inspect and submit their inspection to the DCC before the grant is paid.

That's pretty shocking from Cavan and I would be screaming at them until they came out and fixed the issues.

Feck.
    In Dublin, to do these works, you need a Declaration from an Architect, Engineer or Surveyor before the works start, and then they need to inspect and submit their inspection to the DCC before the grant is paid.

That's pretty shocking from Cavan and I would be screaming at them until they came out and fixed the issues.

You couldn't make up what went on on this job, maybe the builder got one of his mates to sign that.

We've had a nightmare and to this day we can't get paperwork for vat as builder keeps claiming it was a cash job.

You couldn't make up what went on on this job, maybe the builder got one of his mates to sign that.

We've had a nightmare and to this day we can't get paperwork for vat as builder keeps claiming it was a cash job.

Can you report to Revenue?
    For extensions in DCC, drawings are also required.

The Grant paperwork has to show a VAT payment.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

WTF ???

how was he paid the grant then?
    i assume you were paid , and then your transferred the funds to the builder?

were you required to present two quotations to the council prior to approval of the grant?

WTF ???

how was he paid the grant then?
    i assume you were paid , and then your transferred the funds to the builder?

were you required to present two quotations to the council prior to approval of the grant?

He was paid directly by council.

We got 4 quotes.

Can you report to Revenue?
    For extensions in DCC, drawings are also required.

The Grant paperwork has to show a VAT payment.

I'm trapped in a situation where i am terminally ill, the builder is local and i have a young family so i'm not able for any repercussions.

He was paid directly by council.

We got 4 quotes.

This is another WTF :eek:
    In Dublin, the Applicant gets the payment and then he pays the builder.
    Cavan seems to be arseways doing this.

Can any Local TD or Councillor help?
    I'm trapped in a situation where i am terminally ill, the builder is local and i have a young family so i'm not able for any repercussions.

Sorry to hear this, you have my thoughts.

You should have representation An arch, eng or surveyor who has PI - they should check the house is compliant. You should also have all certs pertaining to building and planning regs from the builders arch/eng.