Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attempted abductions.

• 27-11-2018 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭

Every so often we hear about a story about an attempted abduction of a child.
    Is there any truth in these or are they just people being overly dramatic about an incident.
    The people locally I've seen big into these would generally be over dramatic.
    Of course it's important to be vigilant/etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Have any children been taken from bathrooms while wearing a wig/head shaved/wrapped in a blanket/wearing different clothes right past the parent waiting outside?
    It seems like it happened in every town in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Those random men in vans trying to abduct kids from their street that people spread around Facebook are never true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

These stories are always posted on Facebook by some illegible lunatic and nothing ever comes of them.

There was some fool in Galway last week claiming two lads tried to kidnap his child at a Christmas market. He posted pictures of the two lads and everything. The Guards followed it up and he took the posts down. I hope they charged him with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Given how many of these appear on Facebook by the law of averages we should at least by losing a few kids a week...or else we just have the worst kidnappers in the world ...

My only other theory is that they are a load of horse sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Thought this was going to be about alien abductions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Hurrache wrote: »
    Those random men in vans trying to abduct kids from their street that people spread around Facebook are never true.
    But dey sed de gards had issued a warning, how cud dey b lieing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Unfortunately people don't always think before sharing stuff they see on Facebook.
    Don't share something about an missing or abducted child unless it comes from a police source or other trusted source.

You could be sharing info about a "missing child" that in reality could be a child and mother hiding from an abusive father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

VeryTerry wrote: »
    These stories are always posted on Facebook by some ILLEGIBLE lunatic and nothing ever comes of them.

There was some fool in Galway last week claiming two lads tried to kidnap his child at a Christmas market. He posted pictures of the two lads and everything. The Guards followed it up and he took the posts down. I hope they charged him with something.

Illiterate even 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I've given up on FB, people share posts from 3 years ago, not once but again and again, even when it's pointed out to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I see a lot of appeals about foreign young wans going missing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

I don't (thankfully) see slot of abduction attempts on fb. However, in the mid 90s me and my brother walking home from school were nearly taken. Cannot find any reference to it now online but it was in the papers at the time iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭harr

I see a lot of appeals anout foreign young wans going missing
    I have a cousin who does this ...not only kids but animals as well she shared a post last week about someone taking dogs out of gardens ..cctv showed two lads doing it ... only problem was it was in queens New York, and she was telling people to be careful.
    Same one knows about 10 people who’s kids got autisum from vaccines and another 5 or 6 girls who can’t walk after cervical cancer vaccine and would believe Mary on Facebook quicker than a guard or a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

VeryTerry wrote: »
    These stories are always posted on Facebook by some illegible lunatic and nothing ever comes of them.

What was great about that was that someone on the thread in the Galway forum said they had seen it/was there when the Gardai arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

There are a lot of doors out there.
    Remember that pediatrician in England’s north east who was attacked because dopes thought pediatricians are the same as peados?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

They always drive a white van. With British plates. I used to be concerned but I literally see about 3 a day posted or shared in a town near me and was like surely if it was happening that much someone or the Garda would have stopped them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

99.9% of abduction stories are false and spread by racists and nationalists mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

99.9% of abduction stories are false and spread by racists and nationalists mainly.

Oh I forgot that. Yes they are mostly brown people in the white vans. With British plates. That no one ever remembers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

Hurrache wrote: »
    What was great about that was that someone on the thread in the Galway forum said they had seen it/was there when the Gardai arrived.

He was just after arriving home after giving the Brits the slip in the GPO I'd say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Reati wrote: »
    Oh I forgot that. Yes they are mostly brown people in the white vans. With British plates. That no one ever remembers.

With "De Press Won't Tell You About Dis!" as a caption.
    Because the press don't cover imagined stories.
    It's just to spread hate and fear about either unspecified eastern Europeans or some even vaguer "brown" people.
    No point even commenting, either some nebulous government conspiracy or "muslim rape gangs" being mentioned.
    Mentally ill people used to be treated in hospital. Nowadays they get to post wild accusations and, quite franky, deranged fairytale versions of their own reality on social media.
    The same people will tell you about razorblades in Halloween apples and they will have daily reports aout poisoned meat lying around to kill dogs and cats with.
    I'm not saying none of this happens, but some pople live in some weird Walter Mitty bubble, where dramatic sh*t like that happens every day and they're out to save the world, at least in their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I can just imagine Van dealers around the country,
    So Sir what will you be using the new van for , Oh abductions by law we must sell you a white one so,

Lets just pray one day and abductor doesn't decided to use a black car instead of a white Van cause we will never spot them.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

That's very sad ,
    Its a shame they didn't succeed and take the poor child out of Tallaght for a better life ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

With "De Press Won't Tell You About Dis!" as a caption.
    Because the press don't cover imagined stories.
    It's just to spread hate and fear about either unspecified eastern Europeans or some even vaguer "brown" people.
    No point even commenting, either some nebulous government conspiracy or "muslim rape gangs" being mentioned.

Hmm. Definitely happened. Definitely wasn’t reported at the time. Bad example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Written by idiots for idiots on Facebook.
    Delete Facebook and the stories go away.

If it was an ongoing issue, it'd be on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

fineso.mom wrote: »
    Illiterate even 😆

He’s obviously referring the latest Handwriting app on Facebook

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Frunchy

Lots of aliens with anal probes around where I live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The world's worst paedophiles all drive white vans. Always have failed abductions.

This article made me laugh last year.

Gardai asking for information from anyone who saw a white van at a busy roundabout.

I'm sure it's all made up by kids on the hop from school or over protective parents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Even worse are the endless Larry Murphy "sightings". That fella manages to get around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Even worse are the endless Larry Murphy "sightings". That fella manages to get around.

You would want to see the carry on when Dessie O'Hare was on the run