Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camera setup for slatted unit

• 27-11-2018 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, Hoping to set up a camera setup on the farm for the winter and in particular calving season. Farm is too far away from the house for it to access its wifi (500m away) so what would be the best way to go? Id want to access it from as many devices as possible, phone computer tv etc.
    Camera that runs off of a 4g sim maybe?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated as im not really up to speed on camera technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

If you can view it on phone wouldn't that be enough really? Sur your phone will always be at hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Hey lads, Hoping to set up a camera setup on the farm for the winter and in particular calving season. Farm is too far away from the house for it to access its wifi (500m away) so what would be the best way to go? Id want to access it from as many devices as possible, phone computer tv etc.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated as im not really up to speed on camera technology.

With line of sight 500m is not to far for WiFi (with appropriate access points/ antennas).

But 4g is an option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,124 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Extend your internal network to the shed with 2 Nanostations.
    I've it done here. They work up to 10km, I think.

https://www.ubnt.com/airmax/nanostationm/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Log Range Wifi TX - about €60 for a 3km one (means you'll have decent wifi on the farm)

https://www.gearbest.com/wireless-routers/pp_009733670816.html?wid=1433363

Then get yourself a semi decent wifi camera that will connect to it. About €50

https://www.amazon.co.uk/CPVAN-Security-Waterproof-Wireless-Detection/dp/B07G95KK35/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1543436698&sr=8-8&keywords=wifi+cctv

Thats what your looking at. Free Android apps means you access on your phone/android box connected to tv etc, and remotely ie another county by opening the ports on your router.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

STB. wrote: »
    Log Range Wifi TX - about €60 for a 3km one (means you'll have decent wifi on the farm)

If someone wanted something similar but distance was 20miles....what are my options also no wifi nearby...

grange mac wrote: »
    If someone wanted something similar but distance was 20miles....what are my options also no wifi nearby...

Well you wont do that with any wifi transmitter.

If you had good 4G reception at the camera point I'd be looking at a Outdoor CCTV camera that has a 4G sim card slot. Then I'd find some cheap sim only phone package that has unlimited data and request the requisite sim size and stick it in the CCTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

https://www.amazon.co.uk/CPVAN-Security-Waterproof-Wireless-Detection/dp/B07G95KK35/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1543436698&sr=8-8&keywords=wifi+cctv

Thats what your looking at. Free Android apps means you access on your phone/android box connected to tv etc, and remotely ie another county by opening the ports on your router.

That extender, do you need one at the router in house and another in shed in line of sight? Would you need a router in shed? Want to yoke up something like this, have a pre pay router with my camera and that’s grand but costs €20 pm so might as well have all year round WiFi for a bit more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

you can get a cam with sim card or get a lte router or dongle , provided you have mobile internet signal at the site

good reading here
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=80517924

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

orm0nd wrote: »

you can get a cam with sim card or get a lte router or dongle , provided you have mobile internet signal at the site

good reading here
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=80517924
    31 pages of reading will keep me quiet for a while. Do have good 4g reception at site so I'll go look up tesco or one of them providers. Any more tips keep them coming and go to research those lte routers...never heard of them.

simx wrote: »
    That extender, do you need one at the router in house and another in shed in line of sight? Would you need a router in shed? Want to yoke up something like this, have a pre pay router with my camera and that’s grand but costs €20 pm so might as well have all year round WiFi for a bit more

For 500m no. Anymore and you'll need two in CPE mode. One basically talking to the other.

Heres another version of that one.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-Outdoor-Access-Extender-Repeater/dp/B00HJUHX68

The CCTV camera connects wirelessly if it can see an access point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

So in theory this will blast WiFi in the direction of my shed, and the camera will run off of the WiFi coming from that device alone. Have you any links for one of those extenders on Amazon? Would rather get it all through Amazon than waiting for Chinese post.

it is very unlikely you will get stable wifi connection at 500 mtr. It might /could work if you have a very clear run of sight, but most likely you will have to form a network by using a second "extender" configured as an access point

seems like an awful pain in the arse to setup right, particularly because there is no 'clear' line of sight directly to the shed, blocked by trees etc.

really thinking something like this gsm (runs off a 4g sim card i presume) is the way to go

seems like an awful pain in the arse to setup right, particularly because there is no 'clear' line of sight directly to the shed, blocked by trees etc.

really thinking something like this gsm (runs off a 4g sim card i presume) is the way to go

Looks expensive for a simple camera and router.

Gives no specs or model numbers. It looks like a 30 euro camera. Comes with separate 4g router and ip rated outdoor box which means it is a cheap indoor router. Also comes with HD cables from camera to router????? (They are Just making stuff up in the last bit)

emaherx wrote: »
    Looks expensive for a simple camera and router.

Gives no specs or model numbers. It looks like a 30 euro camera. Comes with separate 4g router and ip rated outdoor box which means it is a cheap indoor router. Also comes with HD cables from camera to router????? (They are Just making stuff up in the last bit)

ive tried looking for a sim camera on amazon but am not having much luck, i suppose i could setup a lte router in the shed giving off wifi for a camera to work off of

Well that's all that's been offered in the link anyway. The biggest issue I have with your link is they are not giving any specs or any details on the equipment they supply and it could be pure rubbish.

If you setup a LTE/4G router in the shed use wired network cameras, they'll be cheaper and more reliable.

maybe something like this with a three ireland sim in it, the camera then is the question, how about this?
    id assume you could just connect most cameras to the router with a cat6 cable?

Well that's all that's been offered in the link anyway. The biggest issue I have with your link is they are not giving any specs or any details on the equipment they supply and it could be pure rubbish.

If you setup a LTE/4G router in the shed use wired network cameras, they'll be cheaper and more reliable.

i would be a bit suspicious of the 2 reviews also , Aug and Sep of this year, :rolleyes:

maybe something like this with a three ireland sim in it, the camera then is the question, how about this?

what ever else you do get a ptz camera, 1 ptz properly positioned is as good or better than 3 or 4 fixed

Maybe...
    If the camera is adequate for your needs. Is the night vision good enough for you or will you have another light source? Is the viewing angle wide enough for the area you'll be recording? Is a fixed position ok?

Interesting idea to use an LTE router instead of what I suggested earlier a camera with a 4G aerial. It would certainly give you the option to add a few cameras and wifi in that area in general and the signal would be easier to pull in.

The LTE routers that work for 3 (they have the €20per month AYCE) Sim only plan are the
    "Huawei B593s-22". You will get a second hand one of those "unlocked" on ebay for less than 40 yo yos.

There are many APN for 3, one from memory that gives you a static IP, which is handy for watching it remotely without DNS services!

Those Huawei Routers also take an external aerial so you can pull in better signal from the local 4G mast. See can you pick up a second hand Poynting Cross Polarised 4G Omni LTE Antenna if the signal is not strong with the indoor ones supplied. They are very good.

Finally choose a suitable wifi CCTV camera(s).

https://www.photospecialist.ie/foscam-fi9828p-pan-tilt-camera?gclid=Cj0KCQiAoo7gBRDuARIsANeJKUZK6U7OnyyUmfWBJCtLmTU2hzQ9Fvnc_xZnPlM7Wlifhbcy_Z27dKcaAjBrEALw_wcB

These are the cams we use. I know there are higher spec's available but these have proved reliable and adequate for our needs

https://www.photospecialist.ie/foscam-fi9828p-pan-tilt-camera?gclid=Cj0KCQiAoo7gBRDuARIsANeJKUZK6U7OnyyUmfWBJCtLmTU2hzQ9Fvnc_xZnPlM7Wlifhbcy_Z27dKcaAjBrEALw_wcB

These are the cams we use. I know there are higher spec's available but these have proved reliable and adequate for our needs

One of them combined with a router looks much better value than that equicom.ie offering.

It dosen't mention P2P which may make it more difficult to setup particularly with 3G/4G routers. It's not necessarily a bad thing as P2P is horribly insecure but it works regardless of NAT/Firewalls/port forwarding/static IP's etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Gudstock

I have 2 pens/stables in lean-to near house that have WiFi reception from the the house WiFi already.
    Pens are 14'x12.5' with roof 11' to 13' high. Block dividing wall 8' high.

Is a single ptz camera or 2 fixed ones required to cover both pens?

There are many APN for 3, one from memory that gives you a static IP, which is handy for watching it remotely without DNS services!

That dosen't sound right!
    They give you a static IP.... i.e. a permanently assigned IP address if you use one APN but an entirely different IP address if you use a different one? That would mean they have a static address for every customer but also assign them a dynamic one too in a world where there is a known shortage of Public IPV4 addresses? They probably don't even assign public addresses to every customer, so maybe one APN offers addresses from a dynamic pool of public addresses and the others offer shared private addresses?

So a Dynamic DNS service would be required if offered a dynamicly assigned public address. And only P2P will work if offered a shared private address.

Gudstock wrote: »
    I have 2 pens/stables in lean-to near house that have WiFi reception from the the house WiFi already.

Ptz should do. But you would want to check range of motion on it to be sure. 2 fish eye cameras could be an option either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Extend your internal network to the shed with 2 Nanostations.
    I've it done here. They work up to 10km, I think.

https://www.ubnt.com/airmax/nanostationm/

If you can get WiFi to reach the shed, you will be saving money. Even a cheap 4G plan would be €10 a month, so it is at least €120 a year. WiFi cameras are also cheaper and there is better choice of them.

Below is the description of my experience with a 4G camera:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=108720885&postcount=8

Yes 1 ptz over the divding wall,

we lamb sheep in a shed 60' X 57' with just 1 ptz in suspended in the centre

That dosen't sound right!
    They give you a static IP.... i.e. a permanently assigned IP address if you use one APN but an entirely different IP address if you use a different one? That would mean they have a static address for every customer but also assign them a dynamic one too in a world where there is a known shortage of Public IPV4 addresses? They probably don't even assign public addresses to every customer, so maybe one APN offers addresses from a dynamic pool of public addresses and the others offer shared private addresses?

So a Dynamic DNS service would be required if offered a dynamicly assigned public address. And only P2P will work if offered a shared private address.

More Private vs Public.

I had this setup prior to getting FTTH. Infact I still have the router and the Omnidirectional aerial. The ones I described above. I used it for a CCTV DVR and internet access. It allowed port forwarding etc.

They have two APN's. One is 3ireland (broadband), another is 3internet(mainly used for phones). There is sensoring on one from memory.

3internet did provide a public IP address without NAT, from memory.

Either way I think you can request a public IP otherwise you are at the mercy of leasetime (if its permanently connected that might be ok for a while). Dyndns will obviously work anyway, unless there has been a sudden change whereby its private ip's they are handing out. Something to check in the midband forum if going down the cheapo 20euro a month no contract sim.

More Private vs Public.

I had this setup prior to getting FTTH. Infact I still have the router and the Omnidirectional aerial. The ones I described above. I used it for a CCTV DVR and internet access. It allowed port forwarding etc.

They have two APN's. One is 3ireland (broadband), another is 3internet(mainly used for phones). There is sensoring on one from memory.

3internet did provide a public IP address without NAT, from memory.

Either way I think you can request a public IP otherwise you are at the mercy of leasetime (if its permanently connected that might be ok for a while). Dyndns will obviously work anyway, unless there has been a sudden change whereby its private ip's they are handing out. Something to check in the midband forum if going down the cheapo 20euro a month no contract sim.

A public address perhaps but that is different to a static public address. May well be possible to get a static address but you will most likely pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Gudstock

Any users of Floureon or Foscam cameras here? Are they robust enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

https://www.donedeal.ie/farmsheds-for-sale/calving-camera-discount-code-quotddeal-quot-for-5-off/18100899
    Would one of these cameras be good for calving
    Shed I'm putting it in is 50m away from the house but the parlour is in the middle. I can't pick up wifi from my router there at all

https://www.donedeal.ie/farmsheds-for-sale/calving-camera-discount-code-quotddeal-quot-for-5-off/18100899
    Shed I'm putting it in is 50m away from the house but the parlour is in the middle. I can't pick up wifi from my router there at all

Hard to say. They don't really say what's on offer or how many cameras. They have the same add on adverts for €550 and their website is down. They have "their" patented wireless system but seem to be advertising standard Samsung wireless NVR system.

Getting your WiFi extended 50m even with the parlor in the way is not that big a deal either.

THE ptz in the second pic but I would prefer a fully enclosed globe like the one in the link I showed a few posts back.

Less problems from the mechanics down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Any users of Floureon or Foscam cameras here? Are they robust enough?

I've 6 Foscam scattered around the farm. Some indoor ones and 2 outdoor. I went for pan/tilt/zoom options. No major issues to report after 4 years usage,just had to replace all of the power supplies (10 euro each) after the transformer was hit by lightning. Though that was a lot cheaper than all of my other ruined equipment.

Use a surge protector on the power line. We lost a nano station after a lightning strike and a psu due to dampness. My own fault. Other than that the foscams have been trouble free.

Hard to say. They don't really say what's on offer or how many cameras. They have the same add on adverts for €550 and their website is down. They have "their" patented wireless system but seem to be advertising standard Samsung wireless NVR system.

Getting your WiFi extended 50m even with the parlor in the way is not that big a deal either.

Would I be able to set up something like whether been mentioned back in the thread myself?
    I wouldn't really class myself as tech savvy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭onrail

As a complete novice in wireless networks, is the wireless TX a simple plug & play? Is a line of sight required to the camera?

onrail wrote: »
    As a complete novice in wireless networks, is the wireless TX a simple plug & play? Is a line of sight required to the camera?

Do you know how to login to a router through a browser? If yes should be no bother..... If no ask a teenager....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

50M is close enough to wire directly. You can get either indoor or outdoor cat 5 cable, depends on how easy it is for you to run. You could also wire part of the way until you reach wifi.

Extended internet here for two years with a cheap 70M indoor cable temporally draped on bushes on the ditch. Very little loss on speeds even after a calf ate it and we botch joined it again with twist joints and insulating tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

50M is close enough to wire directly. You can get either indoor or outdoor cat 5 cable, depends on how easy it is for you to run. You could also wire part of the way until you reach wifi.

Extended internet here for two years with a cheap 70M indoor cable temporally draped on bushes on the ditch. Very little loss on speeds even after a calf ate it and we botch joined it again with twist joints and insulating tape.

Hope you had all you can eat data plan on it.

There's two concrete yards and a shed in the middle that we drive up and down daily. I'd need an was load of cable to get it any where near the shed

Do you know how to login to a router through a browser? If yes should be no bother..... If no ask a teenager....

I'm almost legible for the OAP :eek: & I figured it out with no technical background

nearly all the info is on the net mainly YOU Tube if you take time to search and ask on forums like this if you get stuck.

I'm almost legible for the OAP :eek: & I figured it out with no technical background

nearly all the info is on the net mainly YOU Tube if you take time to search and ask on forums like this if you get stuck.

There is no actual reason why anyone of any age couldn't figure this stuff out, fear of the technology is probably the biggest barrier for most. But the younger generation tend to have less fear of such things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭onrail

There is no actual reason why anyone of any age couldn't figure this stuff out, fear of the technology is probably the biggest barrier for most. But the younger generation tend to have less fear of such things.

Cheers lads. Thanks for the help.

Funnily enough, I'd consider myself reasonably tech-savvy (I'm only 30!) but for whatever reason, Wireless Networking is a bit of a blind-spot for me. It's always been a matter of Username, password, job done so never took the time to read up on the finer details!