Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Pub for watching rugby

• 12-11-2018 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

Any recommendations for good pubs in Dublin city centre, south of the river, to watch the match this Saturday? Preferably around the Grafton St / Dame St area...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Sinnotts is a great place I find. Just off Grafton St/ Stephens Green.

Get there early though. Especially for the All Blacks. I'd be arriving 90 mins before KO. Once you've a good table you're laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Shero1985

Sinnotts is a great place I find. Just off Grafton St/ Stephens Green.

Get there early though. Especially for the All Blacks. I'd be arriving 90 mins before KO. Once you've a good table you're laughing

Thank you. Other recommendations welcome, folks. But Sinnotts could definitely be a runner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Sinnotts will have a huge crowd for sure and has big screens but bear in mind there will be extremely little comfort and the jacks are all the way out the back of the place, and are a nightmare to get out to when the place is rammed. Nuisance getting served too. But it depends what you're looking for

I'm in the same situation myself as I'm up in Dublin Saturday, I'll probably stick my head in a few places about 30 minutes before kick off to assess the scene - there's no shortage of places anyway!

I was trying to figure out what the best pub in dublin to watch a match is and I've come to the conclusion that its Rody Bolands in rathmines. Its huge with tons of screens and seats. Big smoking area. Doesn't get as congested as sinnots due to the layout. Sinnots is also underground which feels a bit weird. Dodgy phone coverage if your meeting people too. Anyone think of a better one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

The Swan on Aungier Street is a good spot. It’s a smaller place than Sinnotts but the owners father (who himself previously owned the pub) played on the 1971 Lions tour to New Zealand and the place is full of rugby memorabilia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Used to love Sinnotts but just find it a bit like a dark dungeon. The toilets are a nightmare too. Although there can be a good decent atmosphere.

Anywhere along Baggot Street would be decent. They’re all rugby bars. Toners would be decent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

It's the second time Sinnots has been pushed on one of these threads, it's a **** hole.

sorry for hijacking can anyone recommend a good pub around phoenix park for watching rugby?

Phoenix Park is Europe's largest city centre enclosed public park, so it's a pretty big net to be casting. Where exactly?

the zoo side preferably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

ronnoco13 wrote: »
    the zoo side preferably

Go up Blackhorse Avenue to the Hole in the Wall. Not a particularly good pub for sports, just a really nice pub on a winter's evening.

Hurrache wrote: »
    It's the second time Sinnots has been pushed on one of these threads, it's a **** hole.

Subjective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,710 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Doheny & Nesbitt on Baggot Street is your man. Small TV's at the bar and then the big screen in the lounge at the back. Any pub along the street is good.

At times like this I really miss Kielys. Watched the 2016 Chicago game there. Best atmosphere I've ever experienced in a pub for a game.

Thanks folks.

I have heard The Old Stand mentioned a bit which doesn't make sense to me - are there even any decent tv's in there?

It has got a ton of screens though

It's good for "watching" the rugby since it has plenty of big screens. Agreed thou its def a s*ithole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Slight hijack of this thread but i'll be in the Shoreditch area of London on Sat, anyone recommend a good bar? Cheers

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

The Royal Oak in Kilmainhan was always my favourite place to watch the rugby. Judging by the fact that they now have an instagram account which they use to advertise their toasties, I'm not sure it's the bar it once was.

Still, give it a shot.

Clegg wrote: »
    Doheny & Nesbitt on Baggot Street is your man. Small TV's at the bar and then the big screen in the lounge at the back. Any pub along the street is good.

At times like this I really miss Kielys. Watched the 2016 Chicago game there. Best atmosphere I've ever experienced in a pub for a game.

Went into Nesbitt's for a Leinster match a few years ago. They didn't know there was a match on and proceeded to show Man utd. on all but one TV. Haven't been back since. Rugby pub me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭clsmooth

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Slight hijack of this thread but i'll be in the Shoreditch area of London on Sat, anyone recommend a good bar? Cheers

For the game? You might struggle a bit down there for it? Quite a trendy place, wouldn’t associate it with watching a game

Big opposition to Sinnotts on here too it seems....I'm none the wiser now then.🀔

the zoo side preferably

There's a few on Parkgate Street just outside the park gates the zoo end. Haven't been in a while but Ryan's is decent, there's another beside it, so I'm sure someone here could answer as to their TV situation these days.
    Shero1985 wrote: »
    I have heard The Old Stand mentioned a bit which doesn't make sense to me - are there even any decent tv's in there?

It's a nice old pub with good Guinness. It's not the biggest so always busy but has a good atmosphere for matches.

Sinnots is just not a.nice premises. Has big TVs but it doesn't know what it wants to be, it's like a piece of Temple Bar, an odd mix of tourists thinking they're getting an authentic slice of Irish pubs, a sometimes rough crowd later in the evening for the dishco, the rest with no interest in the rugby, and expensive drinks. It has the same type of crowd that goes to Break for the Border across the road.

clsmooth wrote: »
    For the game? You might struggle a bit down there for it? Quite a trendy place, wouldn’t associate it with watching a game

Yeah I feared that

I'm willing to go out of my way.....surely some Irish bars around Holloway/Kings Cross area?

Big opposition to Sinnotts on here too it seems....I'm none the wiser now then.��

Mulligans on Poolbeg Street is a great boozer and they always have the rugby on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

It's Ireland vs NZ. There will be a pub within 100m that will have the game on and a half decent crowd nearly everywhere in the city.

If it's a crowd and plenty of screens you're looking for, the Woolshed on Parnell Street is about as good as there is in Dublin. Three big projection screens along with about 15 large televisions dotted throughout. Not all will have the rugby given they cater to a lot of the non-Irish population in Ireland and show La Liga, Serie A etc. but the projectors and most televisions will have it on. It's like Sinnots just without feeling like you're in a dungeon with no phone signal and unable to get to the bar or toilets.

What time do the bars close on Baggot Street?? Going to the game but out for the night afterwards. Just hoping to get into some clubs with the jersey on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Big opposition to Sinnotts on here too it seems....I'm none the wiser now then.��

I'm in the "Sinnotts is a kip" camp. Your best bet is to come into town a bit early, have a wander around and just find a pub that looks welcoming and has a screen.

It's Dublin, it won't take long.

GiftofGab wrote: »
    What time do the bars close on Baggot Street?? Going to the game but out for the night afterwards. Just hoping to get into some clubs with the jersey on.

Late enough but not all night.

Should be grand for wearing the jersey into a club. Especially if Ireland win ha. Only the stupidest bouncer would enforce a no Ireland jersey policy if we took the All Blacks in our back yard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Any recommendations for good pubs in Dublin city centre

Come to Cork.

dregin wrote: »
    Went into Nesbitt's for a Leinster match a few years ago. They didn't know there was a match on and proceeded to show Man utd. on all but one TV. Haven't been back since. Rugby pub me hole.

Strange one. I've never had a problem getting a match turned on there.

I'd say avoid Searson's though. It's a decent pub but it gets rammed on match days. Can barely move in the place. McGrattan's on Fitzwilliam Lane might be a good shout. Just off Baggot Street and doesn't get quite a s many on match days because it's not on the main thoroughfare.

If you want to go really off kilter then try The Sugar Club on Leeson Street. I watched last seasons South Africa game and the 6N game against France there. Get in 40 mins early and you're guaranteed a couch to sit on and it's tiered seating so views from everywhere are good. It'll never be so full of people either so you won't be waiting long at the bar for a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Ive watched games in Dicey's and it always has a good crowd. Also Lemon & Duke is another decent one if you want somewhere different. Although despite its owners, it has that crowd of people to like to say they like rugby but don't actually know lick about it.

Symths in Ranelagh is also a good bar for watching rugby. Although it gets absolutely rammed. Best bet is to get there an hour before KO. Most people start arriving just before KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

I would go to Comiskeys - Hole in the wall will be full of people eating - not a venue to watch sport

In my opinion of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

Clegg wrote: »
    I'd say avoid Searson's though. It's a decent pub but it gets rammed on match days. Can barely move in the place. McGrattan's on Fitzwilliam Lane might be a good shout. Just off Baggot Street and doesn't get quite a s many on match days because it's not on the main thoroughfare.

If you want to go really off kilter then try The Sugar Club on Leeson Street. I watched last seasons South Africa game and the 6N game against France there. Get in 40 mins early and you're guaranteed a couch to sit on and it's tiered seating so views from everywhere are good. It'll never be so full of people either so you won't be waiting long at the bar for a drink.

I didn't know the sugar club was still showing matches. I've watched a few games there in the past and it is by a long shot the best venue I've ever watched a game in. Massive screen, concert level sound, and table service down to your comfortable seat.

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Symths in Ranelagh is also a good bar for watching rugby. Although it gets absolutely rammed. Best bet is to get there an hour before KO. Most people start arriving just before KO.

If you are in Ranelagh McSorleys is better imo, also gets rammed though

I didn't know the sugar club was still showing matches. I've watched a few games there in the past and it is by a long shot the best venue I've ever watched a game in. Massive screen, concert level sound, and table service down to your comfortable seat.

They showed all of last seasons 6 Nations games there. Ireland were playing Denmark in the soccer last November and the South Africa test was right before that so they showed both. But I'm not 100% sure they would have shown the AI were it not for the convenient overlap of rugby and soccer.

As a venue it's top notch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Duffryman

Sugar Club seemed like a great idea to me (making it even better is the fact that a friend of mine works there), but according to their website, they have a different type of event altogether there on Saturday, starting at 5 p.m. and unlikely to pause for the match:

http://www.thesugarclub.com/listings/event/pole-dance-ireland-princess-2018-aerial-arts-competition

It's the Pole Dance Ireland Princess Aerial Arts competition. I'm sure there's some good rugby-related smart alec remarks to make about that one, but it's too late for me right now and I'm just too tired to think of them myself.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Duffryman

the zoo side preferably

Sounds like you're in the same boat as myself...going to the lights thing in the zoo? I'll be there with my wife and our young lad (aged 4), and want to see as much of the rugby as possible afterwards too...

I've thought of the Silver Granite in Palmerstown, probably about a ten minute drive away. Used to drink there the odd time when sharing a house in Palmerstown a good few years ago now. It wasn't the most salubrious of places back then and maybe it hasn't changed much in the meantime (anybody know?), but I definitely used to watch rugby and Premier League soccer there, back in the day....