Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anybody follow Michael Blakey and seen his collection?

• 11-11-2018 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Thought this might be of interest..has anybody seen Michael Blakeys watch collection over on his YouTube channel.

I find to be relatively down to earth given his wealth and status. He has a number of cool pieces. He is a huge fan of Richard Mille and has a few Jacob & Co. also.

He also has an affinity for precious stones which I don't share but still..

Here are a few of his videos which you might like to scan through:

Watch collection (Part 1)

Watch collection (Part 2)

Watch collection (Part 3)

The $1 million Jacob & Co. Astronomia Bleh, he bought a second one too :eek:

There are a few others in his channel also..

What do ye think?

Watch news and trivia to your inbox each Tuesday --> ChronoWeekly.com

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Seems like a really nice guy, with a helluva lot of expensive watches. Not my taste TBH, bit too bling. The Astronomia is a fantastic bit of horology though.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭techguy

Wibbs wrote: »
    Seems like a really nice guy, with a helluva lot of expensive watches. Not my taste TBH, bit too bling. The Astronomia is a fantastic bit of horology though.

Agreed on all of that. He does come across very nice alright, he knows he is minted but always makes reference to how fortunate he is etc and doesn't take for granted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

He knows his onions with regards to watches and cars....has horrible taste in both but thats neither hear nor there....yes comes across as a top chap although I am sure he works very hard for his "good fortune"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Some serious watches, but I watches with stones on them are horrendous imho. Even gold watches I struggle with. Platinum is fine, even rose gold can be nice but gold is terrible looking for a watch.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Some serious watches, but I watches with stones on them are horrendous imho. Even gold watches I struggle with. Platinum is fine, even rose gold can be nice but gold is terrible looking for a watch.

Agreed, I could never understand why people would smother a watch in stones.

Platinum, white gold and stainless for the win -- maybe we are just plain old Joes!

Watch news and trivia to your inbox each Tuesday --> ChronoWeekly.com

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Even gold watches I struggle with. Platinum is fine, even rose gold can be nice but gold is terrible looking for a watch.
    I like gold watches if they're on a strap and are "dress" watches. They work alright, but the full gold with gold bracelet and in an otherwise tool watch I do tend to think used car salesman or third world potentate.

Never really got the buzz for platinum TBH. Always felt it quite a "sterile" metal. White gold even less. It always struck me as a contradiction in terms. I do like silver in a watch case. IMHO it has more depth than platinum and gets a nice patina, but it's almost extinct as a material these days in watches. I suppose because it's quite a soft metal? Though 18Kt and above gold would be softer.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

What about two tone ones Wibbs? e.g. Tudor Black Bay Steel & Gold. I'm coming around to them but they still feel a bit "Swiss Tony".

Can't stand the precious stones for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭893bet

I really like some rose gold watches (yaugtmasters, Patek and jlc).

Could never pull them off though!

Eoin wrote: »
    What about two tone ones Wibbs? e.g. Tudor Black Bay Steel & Gold. I'm coming around to them but they still feel a bit "Swiss Tony".
    Two tone always reminds me of the 80/90's for some reason. Quite dated. And yeah, Swiss Tony, or for my advanced age group; Arthur Daly. :D

The Tudor is nice, though I personally think the Tudor/Rolex brands are overpriced and overcooked at the moment(not just them to be fair). When what was always a mid level, high quality "tool" watch in steel that was competing with similar from other brands and at similar prices when it came out is now going for eight grand or whatever, with waiting lists and the like, TBH I do think g'way to feck. I just get an itch in the centre of what passes for my brain when I feel the obvious cold hand of marketeers and accountants on any product.
    893bet wrote: »
    I really like some rose gold watches (yaugtmasters, Patek and jlc).

Could never pull them off though!
    Aye, I have the kinda face that would suggest I nicked it rather than bought it. :D

I like gold watches if they're on a strap and are "dress" watches. They work alright, but the full gold with gold bracelet and in an otherwise tool watch I do tend to think used car salesman or third world potentate.

Never really got the buzz for platinum TBH. Always felt it quite a "sterile" metal. White gold even less. It always struck me as a contradiction in terms. I do like silver in a watch case. IMHO it has more depth than platinum and gets a nice patina, but it's almost extinct as a material these days in watches. I suppose because it's quite a soft metal? Though 18Kt and above gold would be softer.

Rose gold with a brown leather strap works well too. But add pimp and drug dealer to the list of gold watch and bracelet wearers. Adding stones to it and you're into Floyd Mayweather or Saudi prince with a chrome Ferrari territory.

The Tudor is nice, though I personally think the Tudor/Rolex brands are overpriced and overcooked at the moment(not just them to be fair). When what was always a mid level, high quality "tool" watch in steel that was competing with similar from other brands and at similar prices when it came out is now going for eight grand or whatever, with waiting lists and the like, TBH I do think g'way to feck. I just get an itch in the centre of what passes for my brain when I feel the obvious cold hand of marketeers and accountants on any product.

Rolex for sure, but unless you're counting all the major Swiss luxury brands (which is fair to do), Tudor seem to be considered pretty good value especially now that they're using in-house movements. I may be biased though! Really not a fan of seeing Tudor ads featuring Lady Gaga and David Beckham.

I agree, I dislike their ad campaigns.. I do like the Chronograph Black Bay Chrono though.

David Beckham in ads? Is it 2005?

But using any celebrities in ads is a no-no, it cheapens the brand. Grand for lower end stuff.

Sorry, I misspoke. They're "brand ambassadors".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Sorry if this is off topic, saw this video the other day and i have watched a couple of these videos but have to say that this is one of the best, really enjoyed listening to his stories about his collection.

David Beckham in ads? Is it 2005?

But using any celebrities in ads is a no-no, it cheapens the brand. Grand for lower end stuff.

Yea, for example, I have no interest in buying a bottle of Haig Club... because Becks.