Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dave Lordan, Ireland's greatest poet speaks out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Gintonious wrote: »
    Who?

OP’s other name, I’d imagine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

He's a jockey.

klaaaz wrote: »
    As our greatest and courageous literary great, Lordan has spoken out on the injustices of our era, the rise of fascism https://davelordanwriter.com/2018/08/02/why-corbyn-is-losing-tommy-robinson-is-winning-lessons-for-the-left/, the rise of racism https://davelordanwriter.com/2018/10/09/i-support-the-tipperary-travellers-righttohorses-notoracism/ , the proposed visit of Trump "the terrorist" https://davelordanwriter.com/2018/09/01/no-irish-welcome-for-trump/ , the ingrained racism of Direct Provision and the misogynistic rise in our society.

This influential writer of our generation knows his stuff with his multiple awards http://davelordan.com/awards.html, I like his anti-fascist stance especially when the far right are rising in Ireland(Mr C. in the presidential election) and across Europe/USA/Brazil

Do you think Lordan is the next Oscar Wilde/Yeats/Joyce, if not better than them?

Not worthy to be mentioned in the same sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

He's a decent enough poet but he is certainly not among the greats. Multiple awards? Have you looked at them? Nothing spectacular among them.
    As I said, he's okay but calling him Ireland's greatest poet is more than exaggeration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

He's brilliant in Fair City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Another great Poet, couldn't be true, there's only one of them and he's in the Arus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The rise of fascism, the rise of racism

Our Taoiseach and leader is a gay man of Indian extraction.
    misogynistic rise in our society.

We just voted for women to make their own choice re termination.
    The far right are rising in Ireland

We seriously just voted to allow homosexual marriage to be a thing.
    Do you think Lordan is the next Oscar Wilde/Yeats/Joyce, if not better than them?

I think Lordan's not the King of this nor the King of that. I think he's the King of Dog Shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

fcuk him the moany prick

these writer/artist types hate the right-wing because they fear a demand for value for tax payers money and an end to their handouts.

fcuk them all shower of workshy liberals, bar kevin sharkey who is sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The real deal

Not 3rd division

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Patrick Kavanagh is our greatest poet IMO. He also wrote some fantastic books. 'The Green Fool', his own account of growing up on our own island, is one of the greatest books written in the history of the entire world. I envy anyone who hasn't read it because you are in for a total magical treat.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

endacl wrote: »
    OP’s other name, I’d imagine?

I'm not a poet and I know it!:) I just thought the guy came across as sensible on current issues

Hover your cursor over the second link you put up in your OP and read it. That'll tell you all the sense he's talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Omackeral wrote: »
    Hover your cursor over the second link you put up in your OP and read it. That'll tell you all the sense he's talking.
    Lordan wrote:
    The Travellers have endured the murderous sadism of the Irish State for 100 years. They’ve been through horrors for a century the rest of us would not survive for a day. And it is still going on – this disgrace in Tipperary is state racism at its worst.

The treatment of Travellers by the Irish State TODAY is every bit as bad and as scandalous – if not far more so – then the treatment of African Americans in 1950s and 60s America.

That's the second link, talking sense indeed

Originally Posted by Lordan

The Travellers have endured the murderous sadism of the Irish State for 100 years. They’ve been through horrors for a century the rest of us would not survive for a day. And it is still going on – this disgrace in Tipperary is state racism at its worst.

The treatment of Travellers by the Irish State TODAY is every bit as bad and as scandalous – if not far more so – then the treatment of African Americans in 1950s and 60s America.

200.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 mikhail gorbachev2

Omackeral wrote: »
    200.gif

get some fresh air mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

He's no Taylor Swift.

get some fresh air mate

Wipe that stain off your Soviet scalp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

He no Fredrick O'Gibbs either