Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog attack.

• 08-11-2018 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭

Quick question, restricted breed , off lead, attacked mine in public park, owner won't pay vet to get mine checked. Garda or dog warden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

Quick question, restricted breed , off lead, attacked mine in public park, owner won't pay vet to get mine checked. Garda or dog warden?

Firstly, does your dog need to be checked or is your dog injured? If you know where the owner lives then contact the dog warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Dog warden wont start until 9.00 am. I'd contact the gardai now if you hve all the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭bernard0368

Dog has been checked minor injuries thankfully. I have found out where the owner lives. Not letting him away with it. Just curious as to the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Is your dog actually injured OP? Your post isn’t clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Regardless whether the dog is on the restricted breed list .. if a dog attacks your dog and your dog requires medical assistance.. yes the owner of the attacking dog should pay .., if this is the case .. guards

tk123 wrote: »
    Is your dog actually injured OP? Your post isn’t clear

Yes it was injured but not seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Do you have any proof it was their dog? Photos, CCTV, etc?

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

VonVix wrote: »
    Do you have any proof it was their dog? Photos, CCTV, etc?

Yes, he is well known in the park. That's how I found his address in less than 10mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Report it to local council.

Report to local Garda station.

If you have vet bills he will be liable if you can prove fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

If you report it their dog is as good as killed. Do you want that on your conscience? Maybe the dog os a monster and it is deserved. Do they know where you live? If I was a knacker and someone did that to my pet my rage and revenge would have no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If you report it heor dog is as good as killed. Do you want that on your conscience? And do they know where you live? If I was a knacker and someone did that to my pet my rage would have no end.

They will only put down in extreme cases and if pushed to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

If you report it their dog is as good as killed. Do you want that on your conscience? Maybe the dog os a monster and it is deserved. Do they know where you live? If I was a knacker and someone did that to my pet my rage and revenge would have no end.

Better their aggressive dog dead then mine though as it appears this dog has form. A visit from the Dog Warden & a vet bill for damage caused might help somewhat encourage them to be a bit more responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

This post has it all. Emotional blackmail, racism....
    I really don't think anyone should need to be told at this stage about derogatory comments about the travelling community. Tone down the hysterics JustAThought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Bring your dog to the vet.

Approach owner with vet bill and threaten dog warden if they don’t pay up and agree to keep their dog under control.

I have a restricted breed (GSD). She is ALWAYS on lead, I have lost count of the amount of small little yapping off lead aggressive handbag dogs that harass her out on walks and yet people will cross the road to avoid me and my (on lead) dog.

Personally if two off lead dogs get into a scuffle and no one gets hurt seriously (needing treatment) I’d leave it go. Dogs will be dogs and scraps will happen and the “restricted breed” list is, frankly, horse ****.

@sittingpretty, I brought the dog to the vet immediately after and have a bill for same. His dog was off lead ran a couple of hundred yards to attack. I know the breed is irrelevant.
    Anyway on information received last night on the owner I am going to the gardai for safety reasons as opposed to approaching him myself
    Thanks for the advise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

@sittingpretty, I brought the dog to the vet immediately after and have a bill for same. His dog was off lead ran a couple of hundred yards to attack. I know the breed is irrelevant.
    Anyway on information received last night on the owner I am going to the gardai for safety reasons as opposed to approaching him myself
    Thanks for the advise.

Absolutely, if you feel you’re dealing with some nasty piece of work better to report it just to be safe.
    It might be enough to teach him a bit of a lesson to keep his dog on a lead.
    Best of luck :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I think you're being a bit naive going to the Gardai if you're going to them due to safety concerns. The State shows time and time again that it cannot protect society from these anti social ingrates. You are going to make yourself a target, and just as easily as you found this guy he is going to find you.

There is no happy ending here or justice for you, there is potential for a world of pain. If I were you I would find somewhere else to walk my dog to avoid this guy and his dog.

Yes it sucks. Welcome to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

spockety wrote: »
    I think you're being a bit naive going to the Gardai if you're going to them due to safety concerns. The State shows time and time again that it cannot protect society from these anti social ingrates. You are going to make yourself a target, and just as easily as you found this guy he is going to find you.

There is no happy ending here or justice for you, there is potential for a world of pain. If I were you I would find somewhere else to walk my dog to avoid this guy and his dog.

Disagreeing as if we all did this nothing would ever improve or be safer. Op is right and responsible to report and follow it up. That has been my policy and it has benefitted far far more than just myself . These characters thrive on not being challenged. They soon cave in.

There was a similar tool allowing his dog to attack others in our park and this was NOT the outcome for him. He had a court order banning him from setting foot in the park again with the dog. Once one person complained (the guards just happened to be in the park one time patrolling on bikes when the dog attacked) more and more people came forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

The policy of letting the incident go is the best policy.

Ireland does not have the same respect or fear of authority that you get in other countries.

The Gardai will not get involved and the dog wardens are non existent unless a child is attacked.

The advice about the person getting to know where you live and retaliating is very true.

10 yrs ago I had foreign national tenants who were harassed and bullied out of their home for complaining to the guards about football playing kids playing in an adjacent open space kicking the ball off a side wall of the house and in over the back garden wall.

The problem was solved by renting to a former local resident who was returning to his home town and knew the local kids and their families well enough to reduce the noise and nuisance down to more civilised levels.

The local tenant was clever enough to avoid reporting to the gardai and just complained directly to the kids and their families in a low key casual way.

The dog warden in Dublin at least is extremely active...

doolox wrote: »
    The policy of letting the incident go is the best policy.

Ireland does not have the same respect or fear of authority that you get in other countries.

The Gardai will not get involved and the dog wardens are non existent unless a child is attacked.

The advice about the person getting to know where you live and retaliating is very true.

10 yrs ago I had foreign national tenants who were harassed and bullied out of their home for complaining to the guards about football playing kids playing in an adjacent open space kicking the ball off a side wall of the house and in over the back garden wall.

The problem was solved by renting to a former local resident who was returning to his home town and knew the local kids and their families well enough to reduce the noise and nuisance down to more civilised levels.

The local tenant was clever enough to avoid reporting to the gardai and just complained directly to the kids and their families in a low key casual way.

This is a very different situation and hardly relevant to the OP. And dangerous.

If the Gardai do not respond, dog warden and try local rescue/welfare folk? I have done that to good effect... and if not then a legal letter....

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Graces7 wrote: »
    Disagreeing as if we all did this nothing would ever improve or be safer. Op is right and responsible to report and follow it up. That has been my policy and it has benefitted far far more than just myself . These characters thrive on not being challenged. They soon cave in.

The OP specifically said he was advised to go to the Gardai for his own safety. If that's not ringing alarm bells then I don't know what more to say.

I read that as safety from being attacked by the dog... either way, still valid and safe. Might not be the OP gets attacked next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 GemmaOG

I agree with cocker5, regardless of the breed if a dog cannot be controlled and creates a dangerous environment for other park users then the dog needs to be on a lead.

I owned a border collie who I couldn't let off the lead for awhile because she was too hyper and could hurt someone if she ran into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

glad your doggy is ok with nothing serious or permanent

sit on it for a few gays and then decide whats best for you and your future peace of mind

I think I would be thinking exactly like you at this stage so soon after the event

sorry I only seen now your post is dated 8th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

jimf wrote: »
    sit on it for a few gays
    The dog?

Weird...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

endacl wrote: »
    The dog?

Weird...

:P:P