Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the Cheltenham festival

• 07-11-2018 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2

I’m thinking about going to the Cheltenham festival with 5 year old child this year... good idea/bad idea? Discuss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

dont go the friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Bearing in mine if you're getting the shuttle buses they do be rammed, the queues afterwards can get messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

seanthemon wrote: »
    I’m thinking about going to the Cheltenham festival with 5 year old child this year... good idea/bad idea? Discuss...

Youll have to get club tickets, its well doable and the busses are actually really well organised considering the crowd. Unlike ther racing im not sure how much the 5yo will enjoy it as it would be difficut to see anything.

aidankkk wrote: »
    and the busses are actually really well organised considering the crowd.

Wasn't debating they weren't well organised but last year... it started raining when I was queuing and there was need melees and umbrellas near taking eyes out while people attempted to put them up. Previous years it was fine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

I've only ever been once on the first two days and didn't experience any hassle, decent crowd, not as rowdy as Aintree, heard the Friday can get messy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Wasn't there last year but the year previous I found the Friday fine after the renovations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

The past two years the crowds are getting more and more full of dickheads to be honest. Wouldn't be a problem inside the racing just make sure you have well organised transport leaving the course

redzerdrog wrote: »
    The past two years the crowds are getting more and more full of dickheads to be honest. Wouldn't be a problem inside the racing just make sure you have well organised transport leaving the course

Its only a 25min walk to town anyway, worst case scenario.

I find Friday Grand, you just have to know where to go, for drink , toilets, betting etc. Stupid long queue's are not necessary..

Its only a 25min walk to town anyway, worst case scenario.

Tell that to your missus who's wearing heels :D

Give the poor woman a piggy back ride.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

You're worse for bringing the woman :pac:

The Mig wrote: »
    You're worse for bringing the woman :pac:

Christmas present to each other the last few years - works out handy! :cool: Has to be forfeited next year.... feckin' mates and their marriage arrangements!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Once you have club enclosure tickets you won’t experience any hassle on any day.

Christmas present to each other the last few years - works out handy! :cool: Has to be forfeited next year.... feckin' mates and their marriage arrangements!! :pac:

You'd miss cheltenham for a mates wedding:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

I wouldn't bring a five year old - i'd be waiting until they were well into their teens.

you don't see too many kids over there.

If I was bringing a child I'd go the wednesday & thursday, its a bit less crowded than the other two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Whats the nightlife like in Cheltenham lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Gautama

Sausage-fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Are the women dirty

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Are the women dirty

Only if the going is soft or worse

Haha sausage fest is quite correct

Gautama wrote: »
    Sausage-fest

Was hoping for an over flow of vaginal fluid

Bad idea. It’s no place for anyone under 10. It’ll ruin it for both of ye. It’d be very overwhelming for one so young. (I was in my 30’s before I went for the first time and I was overwhelmed even then!)

Gringo180 wrote: »

Plenty of strippers that are happy enough to be hookers if the price is right.

Whats the nightlife like in Cheltenham lads?

I've only been there til 10.30pm then head back into Birmingham but it's not great. Pubs always rammed out the doors by 6pm.

Was thinking that yeah. Is the town centre big yeah? Hopefully can find a spot where u dont have to que for a piss :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Was thinking that yeah. Is the town centre big yeah? Hopefully can find a spot where u dont have to que for a piss :pac:

Not an issue. Plenty of pubs / restaurants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

get into queens hotel directly after the racing - always a good spot.

plenty of pubs in the town.

21 club the place to be also - get there early . owners / trainers/ jockeys frequent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Give the poor woman a piggy back ride.

I am sure ITV will have a segment on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Although it used to be a decent spot the queens hotel is the biggest kip in Cheltenham and id avoid it at all costs

BumperD wrote: »
    Not an issue. Plenty of pubs / restaurants

Really? Been there the last 3 years and the first two years we found it difficult to find a spot to eat that wasn't out the door. Last year we actually booked something - All Bar One (wasn't anything mind blowing but we were happy we didn't have to wander around).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Leave the kid at home. Seriously.

Really? Been there the last 3 years and the first two years we found it difficult to find a spot to eat that wasn't out the door. Last year we actually booked something - All Bar One (wasn't anything mind blowing but we were happy we didn't have to wander around).

Was replying to his urinal query. You’ll still find a spot for grub but you will que for it

BumperD wrote: »
    Was replying to his urinal query. You’ll still find a spot for grub but you will que for it

Awh my bad!

My recommendation for anyone going over is to book a restaurant in advance unless you're well able for a liquid diet (my fiancee is definitely not :pac:)

Awh my bad!

My recommendation for anyone going over is to book a restaurant in advance unless you're well able for a liquid diet (my fiancee is definitely not :pac:)

Ill be on a kebab diet over there.

When i was going with my brother only, we had greasy fish and chip on the way back if it was a bad day. And slap up meal if not.It all seemed so easy back then , i think we had the fish and chips only about twice in the first 4-5 years.

Since my wife is coming, there is no more greasy fish and chips, no matter how bad the day went, Thankfully, as its not been so easy the last 2-3 years

Dirty boy!!!

The best diet for soakage!

£6 iirc for a pint on track - end up spilling half of it by the time you get away from the bar. Also a shambles - queued up for 30 odd mins last year for two drinks, hiring lads/lassies that clearly haven't a clue how to pull a pint, serve a pint, use a till or count change... I'd say they do well to stand on their two feet tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

£6 iirc for a pint on track - end up spilling half of it by the time you get away from the bar. Also a shambles - queued up for 30 odd mins last year for two drinks, hiring lads/lassies that clearly haven't a clue how to pull a pint, serve a pint, use a till or count change... I'd say they do well to stand on their two feet tbh.

That's typically the UK in general in my experience, awful slow bar staff and non-pressurised taps. We really have drinking down to an art here.

Drink on track is scandalous re pricing. They add 30 pence a year without blushing to the price

Lads, its not that hard to get a pint, just go to Guinness tent and you can elbow your way to a pint (not only Guinness) in 5 mins, on any day. Bars in stands are fairly obviously going to be packed.

Is it handier to get a pint in the club enclosure.

Lads, its not that hard to get a pint, just go to Guinness tent and you can elbow your way to a pint (not only Guinness) in 5 mins, on any day. Bars in stands are fairly obviously going to be packed.

Only been in there afterwards - place does be like a warzone! Will take note for 2020 when I'm back over.
    Is it handier to get a pint in the club enclosure.

Slightly better - I was in Tatter in 2018 and Club in 2017, Tatter was a disaster. Follow aidans advice I'd say.

Sound lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Never an issue getting a pint in the club enclosure. As I said before in my opinion you either pay for the club or don’t go at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

lemush wrote: »
    Never an issue getting a pint in the club enclosure. As I said before in my opinion you either pay for the club or don’t go at all.

I was there in November and Club was atrocious to try and get served in. As has been said on the thread already...not even the staff numbers, just their inability to pull a pint. There was one kid who was literally pulling the pint of Staropramen straight down into the middle of the glass held 5 inches below the tap. It would fizz up, he would start pouring the pint in the same way again. Rinse and repeat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Club was a disaster for me in 2017 on the Festival Tuesday whereas Guinness Village was fine to get a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Could hardly move in Guinness village last year, would definitely pay for the better tickets in future.

Lads if yer paying to go over and stay , it's mental not to go for club in the overall scheme of things .

Yeah was 170 euro for 2 days in the club enclosure well worth the extra few €€'s hopefully