Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time online casino

• 05-11-2018 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Okay so I don't know if I'm in the right thread posting this let me know if it needs to be moved thanks!

I just want to know where I stand with this company,

It was my first time to play an online casino as a friend told me she had tried it a few times for the craic, so I said I might give it a go. Set up an account, grand told my husband he laughed said don't spend all the money on it, so I went on the site no hassle signing up etc. They asked for card details so I put in my husbands debit card obviously he was with me so I didn't do it without consent!
    Anyways me and my husband deposited €15 into the account without any hassle and we tried a few slots on it. I litterly played two slots seen as i don't have a clue about what else and on the second slot it went into a bonus round and it said we had won a mini jackpot for €5k. We were both in shock about it! So he said go and withdraw it and when it comes into the bank just close the account on the site.

Now this is where things started getting interesting for us. We went to withdraw and it automatically said verify account naturally, so we sent on all the necessary documents for it and just incase their was NY hassle I contacted customer support to inform them that although account was set up by me the card that was used was my husbands and he said that wasn't an issue, he even spoke to my husband on phone and told him all he needed to do was send on his proof of address and ID , a few days later they get back to us saying the documents were too blurry to verify so I contacted them again this time a different agent who Tbh wasnt very friendly with me informed me that I had breached their terms and conditions, again I explained the case and i said why is it such an issue now when it wasn't before with another colleague. So he said he would check with their security team and then when he got back to me his attitude had changed saying it wasn't a problem just to resend all documents again as they were too blurry. Same cr*p again. Fair enough.

So we send everything on again and few days later they contact saying that the proof of address my husband sent had no date at the top of it.
    . This has being going on with them since the 17th of October. we sent them his proof of address with everything perfect on it last week and I thought finally they have nothing now, so they have to verify account so we can withdraw the money, and then we tried logging in Friday to withdraw money because we got no email off them nothing, and it wouldn't let me login kept saying account closed due to self exclusion, now I don't know much about them sites so I googled it and it said you only get exclusion when you request it. Which we definitely didn't with 5k sitting in it.

I have being contacting them all weekend and they keep saying we will get back to you by email but they haven't!!!! What do I do???

I never played it before so I don't know how these things work but I do know that I will never ever do something like this again even if it seems abit of craic at the time.....

I don't give a sh*t about them or their games or whatever I just want to find out how we can get the money that we won fair and square so I can withdraw it and close the bloody thing down altogether!!!!

Very truly sorry its long but thanks for reading any advise would be great!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,260 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Where is this online casino based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Tell them you have recorded the calls and screen shotted the emails and your account with the winnings balance of 5000 and your going to send it to the media and black list the **** out of them if they dont pay up.. they might fall for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭ASOT

It's usually in the t&cs that the card used must be in the account holders name, so if set up if your name and using your husband's card it would breach t&C's. Now there would be a way around that if it was a joint account.

The fact that there staying self exclusion though is weird, has your husband ever held an account and self excluded himself? If he has theres your issue as you wouldn't be able to use a card/account connected to himself. These casino/betting sites are very advanced these days and have multiple ways to check.

I hope you get your money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 FuNKy102

ASOT wrote: »
    It's usually in the t&cs that the card used must be in the account holders name, so if set up if your name and using your husband's card it would breach t&C's. Now there would be a way around that if it was a joint account.

The fact that there staying self exclusion though is weird, has your husband ever held an account and self excluded himself? If he has theres your issue as you wouldn't be able to use a card/account connected to himself. These casino/betting sites are very advanced these days and have multiple ways to check.

I hope you get your money!

Hi thanks for replying no neither of us ever played with an online casino before?

Yes I agree about the terms and conditions it wasn't the best thing to do setting it up in my name but at the time we didn't think, I explained it to them however and my husband was talking to them and they had no issue they just said to send on his details and he sent on everything that was required so they can't pretend that it's fraudulent.

I'm sorry we signed up for the stu**D thing at all but I just want the money we won. Its one mistake iv learned anyways!

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Where is this online casino based?

Thank you for replying its based in the uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If you get nowhere with the company you should try the UK Gambling Commission. Assuming the casino is actually based in the UK the UK Gambling Commission will be the licensing authority.

Hi thank you for replying, when I contact the gambling commision do I just state what exactly happened and what will they do about it do you know? Sorry I'm abit dumb struck to that sort of thing lol. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

FuNKy102 wrote: »
    Hi thank you for replying, when I contact the gambling commision do I just state what exactly happened and what will they do about it do you know? Sorry I'm abit dumb struck to that sort of thing lol. Thanks

Pretty much just tell them what happened. What they will do about it i dont know but that is really your best option.

Hi guys I know this is long but bear with me!!! After chatting to you all I decided I would give them another chance so I contacted customer support on the matter and this is what I got... Bear in mind I was in the middle of writing a reply and she just ended the chat??

Customer Support
    C: Hi I have being in contact and I am still waiting for my reply as to why self exclusion is activated on my account as I did not activate it?? I don't understand why this has happened when I had only on thing left to send on to verify my account which I sent on and then suddenly I go to login and it comes up about self exclusion??? My husband and I have sent on all the relevant documents he has even being talking to other colleagues so why is this happening???

Chat started
    S: joined the chat

S: Hi C

Before I can look into this for you, I'll need to ask some security questions, is that okay?
    C: Yes that's fine

S:Can you confirm your date of birth for me?
    C: 0/0/0000

S: What welcome offer did you choose on sign up? (Casino/Live Casino/Sports)
    C: we didn't choose a welcome offer? Well I don't think so anywys we just deposited money and played a few slots

S: What payment method do you use on the account?
    C: Debit

S: What device did you use to log in last? (Desktop/Mobile)
    C: desktop

S: Thank you for answering these questions c, bear with me a few minutes!
    C Okay

S: Okay I'm just following up with the relevant team regarding this C, as I can see that the self-exclusion was applied on your side, however I'm just waiting to hear back from them at the moment

C: It wasn't applied on my side though that is the problem why would I apply a self exclusion when I have winnings in my account that I want to withdraw and I was in the middle of sending on mine and my husbands details to verify account

S: Okay I am just waiting to hear back from them at the moment, I do apologise for the delay, we are looking into this for you now

C: I have emails from this company about me verifying my account if I self excluded shouldn't I have at least got an email

C: Okay that is fine thanks

S: Okay on our side it is showing that a self-exclusion was applied to the account, unfortunately as we are bound by our license with the MGA, we can reopen the account but there would be a 7 day cool off period before you can re-enter the account. I sincerely apologise for this.

C: THIS IS ABSURD WHY WOULD WE APPLY A SELF EXCLUSION WITH €5k winning in our account!!!

I can see we're still waiting on some documents from you in order to be able to authorise your withdrawal, you can upload these while you are locked out, however your withdrawal bounced back onto your account due to being in a pending state for 7 days, and the withdrawal has to be requested before we can proceed

C: What do you mean bound by the mga?? But the last document ye requested by email was bout the date on proof of address which I resent, and that the only thing ye needed and I resent it A FULL WEEK AGO.

C: So what does this mean about what I won

S: Your funds are still on the account, however you won't be able to log into your account until next Monday, and you will be able to request your withdrawal then. I can see that my colleague was not able to accept the proof of address documents as they didn't show an issue date or company logo, and so we had to re-request this

C: Yes nd I résent them on, this is very unfair to be honest, we played a few slots and won the mini jackpot of €5000 I don't think this is right that this company has locked me out of my account when I went verify it, and also I am being falsely accused of self exclusion.would

S: Iunderstand this is not an ideal situation at all, I have followed up with the relevant team in this case and they have advised these are the steps we need to take. If I could override this I would, but I'm afraid I cannot

Chat ended

I would kindly request that the company you work for would get in touch as soon as possible to correct this matter or I will have to take it further with the company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

MGA is Malta Gaming Authority.

Just play ball for now keeping a record and screenshots of everything. see if you can get back in on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭davindub

Online gambling is a bit messy, you never know really what Jurisdiction they are in, a lot are based in Gibraltar, and it appears this one is in Malta. In some jurisdictions they have no obligation (including Ireland) to pay out the proceeds of gambling.

Upload the documents they requested and give it one last go, it is probably the issue before the funds cannot be released, if you can screen shot the balance in the account when you regain access. It might be more effective airing this with UK media than pursuing legal action, but try a solicitors letter before going down that route. There is a consumer program in the UK, I can't remember the name, but they love this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Your 1st mistake was actually investing in an 'online casino' (i.e. not real-world events).
    At least with the lotto they actually draw physical balls using mechanical device, during a live, televised and independently verified event.

None the less, now your in this predicament and assuming your being purposefully hampered (see T&C's)...

The best route is kick up enough fuss (without causing corporate defimation), through proper channels, and later via social media and even the tabloid press as a very last resort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Why did you even kick up a fuss in the first place you should know verification documents need to show dates.

As for self exclusion you probably did it accidentally seen as you stated you havent a clue about those sites.

Did you withdraw?

They didnt do anything wrong anyway looks like the hold up was caused because you had to re send verification documents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Closing this for mod review