Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Obscure tools found on the farm

• 02-11-2018 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭

Hey folks,
    Since the old uncle died a few years back I've been slowly going through the farm, cleaning out outbuildings and the like. Often I'd come across some article that I'd have no idea what it was for, and not being from a farming background and learning on the fly I'd ask a neighbour and usually they would know, but the odd older piece would puzzle all of us, so I decided to start this thread in the hope that people will post up photos of pieces found over the years and hopefully wise old heads on here will identify them. I'll start the ball rolling with 2 found today :

20181102-211341.jpg

20181102-211419.jpg

Looking forward to this, if it hasn't already been done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

That's a saw setting tool in the second picture, used to set the width of the teeth on a handsaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Not a clue, but I'd be interested to see what's suggested..
    Any chance you could put something next to them in the photo for size comparison.?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Second photo a device for checking sheet metal thickness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, here's one here;
    https://www.tooltique.co.uk/shop/old-antique-saw-wrest-or-set/

I thought it might be a device for measuring the gauge /diameter of wire.

Is the first one a hoe for weeding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Ya, here's one here;
    https://www.tooltique.co.uk/shop/old-antique-saw-wrest-or-set/

Is the first one a hoe for weeding?

I'd have said it was an edging tool for a lawn or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

That's a saw setting tool in the second picture, used to set the width of the teeth on a handsaw.
    Fantastic, didn't expect an answer so fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭blackbox

The first one looks like it may be something for working with leather.

The second is definitely a saw set. Have used one myself.

I'd have said it was an edging tool for a lawn or the like.

He was a bachelor farmer in his 90s with no gra for house or garden. This came off his work bench, where only valuable tools were used/adapted/invented. It's safe enough to say it's not a lawn edging tool. Photo with teaspoon for clarification. It's quite sharp on the outer edge, even in a rusted condition.

20181102-215247.jpg

Is it possible he made it himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

blackbox wrote: »
    The first one looks like it may be something for working with leather.

I'd say leather is a good guess. Or even for something like skinning an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

It's a spoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

JJayoo wrote: »
    It's a spoon

I wouldn't stir me tea with it.

Is it possible he made it himself?

Possibly, but while he was brilliant with his hands I think that looks manufactured. It is possible he picked it up somewhere and had an idea to adapt it for something else.

Id go the leather suggestion too. That rivet looks too proud to go skinning, a sheep maybe?

Now THAT sound plausible. Something to do with tanning maybe.

Leather working/cutting tool?????

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/171973608935

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

second one is for setting a saw as said

first ?? any connection with a shop ?

looks like a small tobacco cutter

http://www.clarelibrary.ie/eolas/claremuseum/acquisitions/tobacco_cutter.htm

Very close, but that looks curved. I'm thinking now it's to do with hides. Scraper/cutter? Anyway, looking forward to other photos now.

Great find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Great find.

If only I still lived on the farm I'd post something up! My 78 year old father would have a fit if I went taking photos of his tool shed. And he has real old stuff in there!

There must be loads of old obscure outdated pieces lying about in outbuildings all over the country. It'd be nice if this thread would turn up a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Farmer Dan

Hey folks,
    Since the old uncle died a few years back I've been slowly going through the farm, cleaning out outbuildings and the like. Often I'd come across some article that I'd have no idea what it was for, and not being from a farming background and learning on the fly I'd ask a neighbour and usually they would know, but the odd older piece would puzzle all of us, so I decided to start this thread in the hope that people will post up photos of pieces found over the years and hopefully wise old heads on here will identify them. I'll start the ball rolling with 2 found today :

20181102-211341.jpg

20181102-211419.jpg

Looking forward to this, if it hasn't already been done!

The first one is for cutting a line in leather that the stitching would be flush with the leather.
    Sort of hidden stitching.

Ok, found one today that has me completely stumped. I cleaned it up a bit and it's solid brass. Lovely little piece really.

20181114-000216.jpg

20181114-000625.jpg

20181113-235852.jpg

20181113-235905.jpg

20181114-000448.jpg

It's 6 1/2" long. The arms are 3 1/2". The inside of the shaft is threaded, most likely for a handle. Only one of the arms pivots, the other is solid. The flat plates at the head of the arms are deeply chequered on the inside. It looks like it's designed for gripping something. Any ideas?

The piece at the end of the moving arm also swivels (photo 4). I'm pretty sure now it's a tongs, but I'd say it's one with a specific purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭148multi

Ok, found one today that has me completely stumped. I cleaned it up a bit and it's solid brass. Lovely little piece really.

20181114-000216.jpg

20181114-000625.jpg

20181113-235852.jpg

20181113-235905.jpg

20181114-000448.jpg

It's 6 1/2" long. The arms are 3 1/2". The inside of the shaft is threaded, most likely for a handle. Only one of the arms pivots, the other is solid. The flat plates at the head of the arms are deeply chequered on the inside. It looks like it's designed for gripping something. Any ideas?

Would it be for lighting a pipe with a coal, seen plenty of old lads doing it with a full size tongs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The criss-crossing looks like it is for heat/oxygen supply 'management'.

//Fascinating thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

20181114-000216.jpg

20181114-000625.jpg

20181113-235852.jpg

20181113-235905.jpg

20181114-000448.jpg

Ive a dent on each side of my head from when I was born. Would love to see if this thing matched up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Great thread.

I'm pretty sure the first tool is for cutting leather - I remember seeing one in our own sheds a while back, a throwback to when horses were on the farm.

So on the same theme, I'm wondering if the second tool is part of a bigger kit, and if it's a stitching clamp for leather? I haven't seen one quite like that, but at the name suggests, it's used for clamping two pieces of leather together while you work through them with an awl, and then stitch them. The space between the jaws would suggest it's not used for clamping anything particularly thick, and the flexible tongue at the end of the pivoting jaw would lock it into place once the two pieces of leather were squeezed together. The threading in the handle would be for when you wanted a piece held upright - you could thread it into a clamp on the workbench.

As I said, I've never seen one like this, but I've seen tools similar enough to make me think it is a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Firstly, fantastic thread and well done for creating it.
    Unfortunately, I can be of no help with the item posted so far. :(

Regarding the bit in bold here:
    ...can I please implore people to NOT go nuts with the wire brush, Brasso, and paint stripper?

The antiques and collectables world is littered with cases of well-meaning people radically devaluing items by enthusiastically scrubbing off layers of patina and history.

Unless you're absolutely certain your item is of no value, leave it exactly as it is until someone knowledgeable in the field has had a look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

i thought the first one might have been a hide scrapper but as someone said probobly for hidden stiching in leath.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭kk.man

I think it might be an implement for pulling weeds. There is a larger wooden version of it at home. It was always refered to it as that but I never saw it in action.

Right, another puzzler to me. Not near as nice as the last one though. One side of the jaw is serrated and the other is smooth. It's braced for strength in the middle so must be a lever of sorts. Paint tin opener? But what's the jaws for then?

20181118-155231.jpg
    20181118-155241.jpg
    20181118-155303.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Right, another puzzler to me. Not near as nice as the last one though. One side of the jaw is serrated and the other is smooth. It's braced for strength in the middle so must be a lever of sorts. Paint tin opener? But what's the jaws for then?

20181118-155231.jpg
    20181118-155241.jpg
    20181118-155303.jpg

If I was to put that to use, it would be for lifting and unscrewing the old twisted nail used to fix galvanized sheeting in place. Before the time of angle grinders.

I'd use it for taking on and off a tyre from a rim. The serated side - hmmmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

20181118-155231.jpg
    20181118-155241.jpg
    20181118-155303.jpg
    I think your first instinct of a tin opener was the correct one.
    Tins used to come in all different sizes years ago.
    Also the serated edge and blade on both sides bares many similarities with what Google throws up with antique tin openers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Looks like a bicycle tyre lever. Don't think it would be much use as a spanner.

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/VINTAGE-PHILLIPS-BICYCLE-MULTI-TOOL-SPANNER-WRENCH-CUM-TYRE-LEVER-FREE-U-K-P-P-/302907105516

Any brand could be added afterwards for marketing purposes.
    See the over-cleaning!!

Looks like a bicycle tyre lever. Don't think it would be much use as a spanner.

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/VINTAGE-PHILLIPS-BICYCLE-MULTI-TOOL-SPANNER-WRENCH-CUM-TYRE-LEVER-FREE-U-K-P-P-/302907105516

Any brand could be added afterwards for marketing purposes.
    See the over-cleaning!!

I think we have a winner, thanks!

I'd use it for taking on and off a tyre from a rim. The serated side - hmmmm?

Sorry, two winners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭The Rabbi

The serated side could grip the valve cap and nut to loosen them.One size fits all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Years ago when I was working with the local silage contractor we went to a farm run by two brothers in their late 20's and we spotted a home made four prong pike. The handle was inch and a half galvanized tubular pipe with inch angle iron welded across the bottom and four lengths of rebar for the prongs, we nicknamed them the cavemen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,003 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Years ago when I was working with the local silage contractor we went to a farm run by two brothers in their late 20's and we spotted a home made four prong pike. The handle was inch and a half galvanized tubular pipe with inch angle iron welded across the bottom and four lengths of rebar for the prongs, we nicknamed them the cavemen :D

There was something like that here, used for piking down on Salmon in the river.

If it was straight I'd guess it was the same use intended.

It certainly sounds a rough yoke in any regard.

OK, another one dug out of the back of a shed. I actually found out what it is today, but I'll put it out there anyway to see if someone gets it :

IMG-20200724-105952.jpg

About 2.5 ft in length.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Some sort of yoke for pairing up horses?.

Ah, too quick! It's called a swingle tree around here, very old. For yoking a horse to a plough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

OK, another one dug out of the back of a shed. I actually found out what it is today, but I'll put it out there anyway to see if someone gets it :

IMG-20200724-105952.jpg

About 2.5 ft in length.

Wooden shoulder yolk for carrying buckets of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

A Whickle Tree is the name I would have for it. Behind the horse so the two pulling ropes from his shoulders stayed wide of his backside.
    My spelling is from the phoenetic pronounciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Swingle tree?