Advertisement
We've partnered up with Nixers.com to offer a space where you can talk directly to Peter from Nixers.com and get an exclusive Boards.ie discount code for a free job listing. If you are recruiting or know anyone else who is please check out the forum here.
If you have a new account but can't post, please email Niamh on [email protected] for help to verify your email address. Thanks :)

General Arcade & Retro Chat' Special Championship Edition

1165166168170171175

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭ Inviere


    My first pc was an Athlon 350Mhz, or possibly 450Mhz...64MB ram I think, and shortly after I upgraded it with a Voodoo 3200....the difference going from software rendering to hardware in Half Life blew me away, I still remember picking my jaw up off the floor after seeing it. Then of course hours and hours on Civilization 2...some great games back then



  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 47,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭ Retr0gamer


    My first PC was a 16MB P100 with a 1 gigabyte Hard Disk from Gateway 2000 in xmas of 1996. Gateway offered a pretty decent games package with it. The CD rom drive kept breaking on the thing and needed to be replaced until they just gave me a different better model. The model they used was a real Piece of **** like the PS1 OG laser.

    I upgraded it with 32MB RAM and a 2 MB graphics card so I could run a Power VR2 card on it (couldn't get a 3DFx that christmas and was so disappointed when it wouldn't would with my graphics card). The Power VR was awesome, blew away the 3DFx in Direct 3D but unfortunately all Quake engine games stuck to Open GL and it took forever for them to get Power VR updates, if they got them at all. That machine lasted me way too long as my parents wouldn't get me a new console or PC. It went out of date quickly but thankfully I discovered emulation and used it to play old games along with Half-Life in 320x240 at 10 fps in software mode.

    I got a few hand me down PCs from a mate, a 350 MHz PC was nice as it could run 16 bit games in mame unlike my P100 (I could play capcom games in Callus) until I got my first summer job and built a 1GHz machine with a Geforce 2 in the summer of 2001 just in time for Max Payne. And that PC was still hobbled with Dial up.....



  • Registered Users Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭ sniper_samurai


    Still remember my first PC too. 233mhz AMD K6 with 16mb of ram, 3gb hdd and a 2mb S3 Savage3D gpu. Got this in mid 1998.



  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 27,006 CMod ✭✭✭✭ johnny_ultimate


    I know there are some Vampire Survivors players here. God that game hits the same magic beats as a good bullet hell game. There’s a point where you’re hilariously overpowered, dozens of monsters are just ‘popping’ dead, and a stream of gems is just hurtling your way. It’s a simple idea (and one I believe is a bit of a clone, which is a shame) but so satisfying - with just the right amount of decision making on the fly. Some of the builds can get deliriously broken.

    I think I’ve unlocked the last stages now, but there were some genuinely cool secrets and surprises during tonight’s session… just when I thought I’d maybe seen most of what the game had to offer, there’s some fun extras to discover.

    Only major lesson I learned the hard way was to pay more attention to the roguelite stuff. Thought I’d hit a level wall in level three I just could get passed… but pumping some gold into power ups was what I was missing.



  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    Not far off my first proper PC. Think I also bought it in 1998. Was an IBM Aptiva K6-2 333mhz with 32mb of ram, a 4gb hdd (which made it's way into my next PC) but unfortunately no GPU, was all software rendering! Did manage to get Half Life running in OpenGL in 1024X768 at a playable framerate though so was happy enough.

    I'd a hand me down computer before that though, an older IBM, can't remember exactly what it was but it was running Windows 95.

    Never forget the day I was browsing through it, not really too sure how to use a PC really and most of it was fairly empty of content and finding a folder that contained Doom! Was like finding gold.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    You really can't beat those moments where you've fully levelled up your main weapons and waves of enemies are just being obliterated as they approach you. Can nearly step away from your computer and let the game play itself!

    Really satisfying stuff though, I keep telling people to buy it, especially as it's practically being given away for free.



  • Registered Users Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭ sniper_samurai


    Tbf the gpu was awful and may as well not been there, still had to use software rendering for Quake 2 and Half-Life.



  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 33,968 CMod ✭✭✭✭ CiDeRmAn


    I am still getting used to the idea of not having to use disk spanning to download larger games from an internet cafe on O'Connell St, before bringing them back to my non-networked PC at home and reassembling the file!



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    First PC I bought was a generic white box P120 running Win95, can't remember memory or disk capacity but nothing too fancy anyway. Eventually upgraded with a 3DFX Orchid Righteous and Soundblaster card bought in Clerys for a mad amount of money no doubt.



  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 47,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭ Retr0gamer


    I never realised how bad the soundblasters were until I saw videos on the gravis and roland sound hardware. Of course no one but music professionals was going to have a Roland for playing games but the Gravis sounded sooooo much better than the **** Soundblaster midi library.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Cards like those were way out of reach for most people I guess, that's if you could even buy one over here.



  • Registered Users Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭ Jack burton


    I remember my first pc was a beige build from a local guy. No idea of the specs

    Came with big box Quake 2 & Tomb Raider 2. 2 boxes I wish I kept



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    I picked up a Sound Blaster AWE32 from a work placement I did back in the late 1990s. Load it up the SIMM sockets with RAM and you could upload sample packs. Exciting times :D



  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    I don't want to thread spoil over in the guy's advert, but I think that TNT pillball machine is the weirdest thing I've ever seen. :eek:

    https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058250632/for-sale-tnt-courier-pinball-machine#latest



  • Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭ Hallaz


    That's me (and it is so no offence!) but it might suit some who could gut it to make a virtual pinball machine. The unit is quite strong and could save someone a few quid on materials for the sake of giving something to charity. I planned to do it myself but spend all my time trying to complete Ghost 'n Goblins on various platforms! It'll likely get dumped if no takers.



  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    Any idea the background behind it? I'd love to know how such a thing even comes into existence.

    Definitely a great contender for a conversion alright!



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Too big to fit in my car, would need a courier :)



  • Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭ DaveyDave


    TNT are FedEx now, definitely retro!



  • Registered Users Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭ Inviere


    Definitely a strange Pin, but so weird I kinda like it 😊 Fair play for the charity donation thing, that's a nice touch.



  • Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭ Hallaz


    I just assumed it was a really old type style of pinball. if you search Bingo Pinball you'll find an article or 2.

    TNT used to do competitions to encourage people to book online (and save them having to do the work).

    For every shipment you booked online you were put into a draw to win a prize.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭ Jack burton


    Yeah a lot of the time it's an older machine repurposed into a new theme.


    There's a a few companies that do it.

    I'd actually love to get that pin. It's wierd and totally unnecessary, I love it haha.



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭ Mr.Saturn


    Any idea why Adverts is flooded with Oculus Quests recently?



  • Registered Users Posts: 9,673 ✭✭✭ McDermotX


    Usually you'd say, its the now traditional expectation of another revision being announced after the summer. Or the rumours of a higher-end model.

    Of course, every weekend there's a rumour that the next Quest will be announced at the next event etc etc........I suppose the rumour sites will be right at some point


    Could be people having regrets with their pandemic purchases, not in the house so much etc ? Or just plain bored with it ?

    I'd certainly say with any VR down the years, whether it's Quests or Vives, they are a pain in the hole to use in the summer.



  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 47,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭ Retr0gamer


    Treasure's 30th anniversary came and went and they tweeted they are bringing out a game that's been requested by lots of people. The rumours are not to expect something new but could well be a port of Radiant Silvergun or Guardian Heroes. I'm kind of hoping for Bangai-O missile fury. It's stuck on XBox 360.



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    Have an interesting problem - I have a few arcade cabinets. They are all connected to those assistant type plugs, one for each cab BUT most likely all on the same circuit. When I do that 'OK Google, turn on the arcade cabs' BAM! They all turn on...and sometimes pop the breaker.

    My current thinking (joke intended) is that its the CRT initial surge that is prob popping the B class 20amp breaker. Will see about changing it to a C class 20amp breaker to see it stops a poppin'

    Anyone else have an issue like this with many CRTs/cabs?

    Post edited by KeRbDoG on


  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    How many are we taking?

    I used to run two arcade machines and three CRTs all on the same circuit and it never tripped - however I don't think I'd ever booted them all on completely simultaneously. I'd say five CRTs starting together with their degauss would probably have thrown something alright.



  • Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭ dav09


    We have this issue in the arcade yep. It's usually one machine, i.e. our max tune is the culprit at the minute, but once it's on, it's on. I know we had to take one or two off that clicker system and it seemed to help, but still can't figure out the max tune issue why it keeps tripping the switch (other machines are on on this trip as well), maybe it's a ground or something but I can't find it, it's both P1 and P2 that causes this issue. Trip switches have a max load too so might be initially taking too much load on start up.



  • Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    3 cabs, 2 DinoKings and a Naomi...also an Arcade1Up but I don't think that really counts :)

    Yup, same issue I have - once they are on all is fine, just the initial power up that can be an issue. I believe thats due to the inrush current of the CRTs/transformers (the cabs run the stock Sega 220/240V->100V transformer bricks to run everything).

    From further reading, indeed it's the type of MCB - with type B being installed by default in homes. Those are fine for most electronics, but with a number of CRTs etc. the large inrush current is the problem which trips the breaker. Type C I believe is more suited so I've ordered on up to pop it in and see how we go. Whats the worst that can happen? :)



  • Registered Users Posts: 31,856 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    How about the lazy man's option and just stagger them switching on by a few seconds? So have the two Dinokings come on together and the Naomi separately?

     'OK Google, turn on the Dinokings'

    'OK Google, turn on the Naomi'

    Also means you get to say 'Dinokings' which just sounds so unbelievably 90s and awesome that you should probably put on a pair of black shades and a backwards cap first. 😁



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    That will be plan B :D have an effort to make this other half friendly and 'say this one thing and BAM! games to distract kids', will report back on MCB changing



Advertisement