Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drugs; evidence of intent to supply

• 22-10-2018 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭

So this is a random question, and i guess it came into my mind after a number of stories i have heard about the drugs in some rave festivals that are popping up recently around the country!

While it is a generalisation to an extent, from my experience, most of these festival are full of illegal highs. Im not hear to argue if this should be a persons own choice by the way. Im pretty liberal in my view so tbh, people should be allowed choose what they what to do to themselves, as long as it isn't hurting anyone else( obviously that subjective)

My question is(sorry for the backstory to get to this point) what is the amount that a person would need to have on them be changed on the more serious offence of intent to sell? I get that the it hard for the guards to really identify a drug dealer to just a drug user(a social or an addict(in a way they are both addicted, but thats a different conversation). Do the guards/judge take into a account what class of drug? or is it a bit of a catch all amount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

jus_tin4 wrote: »
    So this is a random question, and i guess it came into my mind after a number of stories i have heard about the drugs in some rave festivals that are popping up recently around the country!

While it is a generalisation to an extent, from my experience, most of these festival are full of illegal highs. Im not hear to argue if this should be a persons own choice by the way. Im pretty liberal in my view so tbh, people should be allowed choose what they what to do to themselves, as long as it isn't hurting anyone else( obviously that subjective)

My question is(sorry for the backstory to get to this point) what is the amount that a person would need to have on them be changed on the more serious offence of intent to sell? I get that the it hard for the guards to really identify a drug dealer to just a drug user(a social or an addict(in a way they are both addicted, but thats a different conversation). Do the guards/judge take into a account what class of drug? or is it a bit of a catch all amount?

drugs divided into multiple baggies, possession of things like a weighing scales / empty baggies usually can surpass quantity in cases. but a fair barometer is what a person could do in a weekend, a half ounce of weed, 2g of coke, 5 yokes would probably pass by as personal, more than that would definitely be questionable , but its at the discretion of the gardai so theres no hard rule on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭johnnykilo

Depends on circumstances I would have thought but I'd imagine the gardai would push for intent to supply with the minimum threshold reached.

It depends on a few other things like how the drugs were packaged; obviously having them wrapped in individual deals would be a red flag, for example if you had a quarter ounce of hash you could argue that it was personal use but having two eighths (the same amount as a quarter) could see you getting done for intent (I think I remember this happening to someone I knew of many years ago). Also having a quantity in excess of that for reasonable personal use could would be intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭jus_tin4

drugs divided into multiple baggies, possession of things like a weighing scales / empty baggies usually can surpass quantity in cases. but a fair barometer is what a person could do in a weekend, a half ounce of weed, 2g of coke, 5 yokes would probably pass by as personal, more than that would definitely be questionable , but its at the discretion of the gardai so theres no hard rule on this.

yeah never took about, i guess the packaging and equipment needed to supply!I guess the weighing scales would be more relevant in a house raid or something of that nature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

yeah never took about, i guess the packaging and equipment needed to supply!I guess the weighing scales would be more relevant in a house raid or something of that nature?

lads at festivals carry them sometimes, but as above, 2g of coke in 1 bag Is personal, 4x bags of 0.5g and you'd be very hard pressed to find a Gard who'd believe its personal use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

It's a mad alright. Two separate cases from my locality spring to mind.

A landlord dropped by for a chat with a guy in my town and noticed a strong smell of weed from the one of the rooms. He informed the Gardai of this and the place was subsequently raised. A few plants where found, the case went to court and a small fine was issued as the defence stated they guy in question was self medicating. It was accepted it was personal use.

Another case where a house was raided, a 4g of weed, a scales, a tick list and lots of baggies where found and the guy got 6 months.

The difference been Garda statements to the court. One fella was not known to Gardai the other was suspected for a few years.

Same goes I suppose if your caught at a festival, if they check with your local Garda stations and there is a file on you for suspected dealing then they may prooscute for intent for a minimal amount.