Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how old is to old to put a female in calf

• 15-10-2018 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

See an advert up on Donedeal the other day-of a person selling a PB limousine heifer @ 26 months of age(I think) -saying ready for AI'ing.. say she was ai'd/served asap-she would be over 3 yr old by calving time... how would this pay? have seen show heifers/cows not get served until were 3/4 year old.. how would money be made on them animals, also would they not get fat fat! so be dangerous to put incalf then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Bellview

The fella buying will only have to worry about 9 months...can't comment for the seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Bought a few that would have been 42 months when calved. Worked out the finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Clearly an animal that never went in calf or aborted early and now they’re trying to find some chump to pay pedigree price.

IMO if a an animal isn’t calved at 30 months at the latest you are wasting your time and she would want a good excuse to be calving that late.

I had a cow just calve down to her second calf at 30 months. Now i’m Not saying that that’s something that should be aimed for but my point is that she is more profitable than the older heifer with a calf with a bigger birthweight calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Some of my Sims come bulling at 6 months so I have to be sure to have the bull pulled early. They will calve down at 24 months no bother. Some of the pedigree lims won't come bulling until 16/17 months. So I know I'm not really going to be able to calve allot of them down at 24 months. I'm going to start calving down my spring born pedigrees in the back end of the year at 27/30 months and ones born at the back end in the spring. As above I'd be fairly skeptical about ones sold for bulling at 30 months as chances are something is wrong with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

I'm not sure I'd pay ped prices for an aged heifer but more likely the beef price at best. If you think there is a twist in her at beef prices then buy her, if you get her in calf your in luck. This year cattle are plentiful both ped and commercial, you would pick up nice in calf heifers for the same money as dry heifers other years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

Some lads like looking at the cow when buying a pedigree bull. if you go in and see a 550 kg cow, you may be put off if you were borderline. if you see an 800kg cow in good order you cant say you wouldnt be more inclined to buy the bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

I have a pb angus heifer-born after Christmas 17, come in heat the weekend...will not serve her until -early spring next year..so calf down around 24 mths +

wiggy123 wrote:
    I have a pb angus heifer-born after Christmas 17, come in heat the weekend...will not serve her until -early spring next year..so calf down around 24 mths +

I would like icbf to show stats on heifers calved at 24 months and how many days to the next calf....
    When looking at the recent calving intervals of suckler herd 2 stand out points came through...1 an increase in mix of 24 month carvings and 2 the calving interval is slipping...my experience is the heifers I calved at 24 months generally were 380 days to next calf where as heifers calved at 27 to 30 are with 365....my herd still averages 365 with the 24 month as outliers...so I'm stopping this 24 month craic and going back to 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

ah i'll let this heifer..grow like.. she get served next april/may like--be grand like! is a nice hfr(well made-not the biggest like)-by cudlobe milliumun ex a mlj cow.. so am unsure what to serve her with.. plenty options...

Bellview wrote: »
    I would like icbf to show stats on heifers calved at 24 months and how many days to the next calf....
    When looking at the recent calving intervals of suckler herd 2 stand out points came through...1 an increase in mix of 24 month carvings and 2 the calving interval is slipping...my experience is the heifers I calved at 24 months generally were 380 days to next calf where as heifers calved at 27 to 30 are with 365....my herd still averages 365 with the 24 month as outliers...so I'm stopping this 24 month craic and going back to 27

You must have them calving all year round if you calve them at 27 months?

I’ve found absolutely no difference in calving interval nor mature cow size with 24 month v 30month calving

You must have them calving all year round if you calve them at 27 months?

Nope Sept to Dec calving...aim to be done at xmas..I move heifers that are too young and any cow that slips gets the road as well .. good export market for the heifers at 12 months

I’ve found absolutely no difference in calving interval nor mature cow size with 24 month v 30month calving

That was reason I would like to see icbf publish the heifers that calved at 24 months allow us understand if it's an issue or not

Bellview wrote: »
    That was reason I would like to see icbf publish the heifers that calved at 24 months allow us understand if it's an issue or not

I think I saw that data before. Must have a search