Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming: A dangerous occupation.

• 14-10-2018 3:43pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭

A few recent comments on the suckler thread about injuries and near misses led me to create a thread dedicated to the hazards of farming.

I believe that highlighting some of the more minor incidents could help others identify hidden dangers. This could ultimately lead to a safer working environment for everyone.

My own incidents would be mainly livestock based as I'm not a machinary man. I've sustained countless kicks and knocks over the years from stock, thankfully none serious. A recent encounter with cow however was my closest shave to date, I consider myself very lucky to have escaped without serious injury or worse.

Perhaps others could share there own stories. I would have no fear of stock, be they my own or other's but since the incident I have taken time to consider my escape route before handling animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The sub-forum of Safety & Off-Season already had one big thread- Farm accident stories...be careful folks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

The sub-forum of Safety & Off-Season already had one big thread- Farm accident stories...be careful folks!!
    I didn't know that was there-sobering read!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

Farming is like construction its dangerous if its not treated with respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,990 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Joe Daly wrote: »
    Farming is like construction its dangerous if its not treated with respect.

Dangerous even then, got a fine kick to the head today from a 400kg Polly Heifer who was in the crush.

One behind lifted her up and as she was falling back down kicked out over the rails and my six foot ceann.

I wasn't even trying to dose her.

Went down like a shot dog.

If I dosed everyday for a year, it wouldn't be replicated. Still hard to figure out.

One off freak accidents tend to be common risks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Dangerous even then, got a fine kick to the head today from a 400kg Polly Heifer who was in the crush.

One behind lifted her up and as she was falling back down kicked out over the rails and my six foot ceann.

I wasn't even trying to dose her.

Went down like a shot dog.

If I dosed everyday for a year, it wouldn't be replicated. Still hard to figure out.

One off freak accidents tend to be common risks.

Livestock are unpredictable and a lot of accidents could be described as freak.

I had a hereford bullock once who would stand quiet as a mouse in the crush. Inserting the needle into the skin and giving the injection was no bother. However removing the needle would cause him to draw a wallop of a kick that would demolish a war memorial. He did this repeatedly during his term with me and I'm sure it was out of spite, he was an awkward so and so at the best of times.

I tend to inject on the opposite side of the beast to where I am standing. This usually means any kicks are delivered away from the person injecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I would like to think I have a very good, safe setup for handling and calving livestock. In spite of this i’ve Been knocked unconscious a few times, got a broken heal bone, broken wrist and had the spring clip on the chain to secure a calving gate go straight through my finger. Farming has turned into an extremely dangerous occupation. Higher stocking rates, lack of available help and overwork have contributed to this. Age demographic might contribute a bit but to a lesser extent than the other factors I mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Cattlepen wrote: »
    ......In spite of this i’ve Been knocked unconscious a few times, got a broken heal bone, broken wrist and had the spring clip on the chain to secure a calving gate go straight through my finger.

You'd want to be earning McGregor money for that crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

I would like to think I have a very good, safe setup for handling and calving livestock. In spite of this i’ve Been knocked unconscious a few times

Dont be bringing the wife to work with yea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I would like to think I have a very good, safe setup for handling and calving livestock. In spite of this i’ve Been knocked unconscious a few times, got a broken heal bone, broken wrist and had the spring clip on the chain to secure a calving gate go straight through my finger. Farming has turned into an extremely dangerous occupation. Higher stocking rates, lack of available help and overwork have contributed to this. Age demographic might contribute a bit but to a lesser extent than the other factors I mentioned

The age thing definitely is a contributing factor I think. I see my own father now that thinks he is still 21 when we are at cattle. Only for arthritis in his knees he would be getting up to a lot more than he is and could be dangerous. They are alot slower than they are used to don't realise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Got an awful fright a few months ago pouring concrete for the cattle crush. Had a fella helping me and I was driving the tractor and loader. Was coming to the end of it and the concrete truck was backing up to the sculling gate with the spout out and the fella helping me with his back turned was within a few inches of getting pinned to the sculling gate and totally unaware. Thanks be to jaysus the horn was working in the tractor and the truck driver heard but there was absolutely no need for the fella to be standing in his blind spot in the first place. I was actually shaking for a few minutes after it.

He had no high vis on him or he had no expierence where to stand when something is backing, I filled in for one of the drivers on the lorry one day backing up a lane way to a green house there was a lad guiding me in as he thought one minute he was on my back left wheel then he was on my right I got out to him told him to stand on the footpath where I could see him that I had two mirrors I could see where I was going the reason I was going slow was because I was afraid I would back over you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Apart from kicks to the knees, broken scapoid bone in the wrist ( needed pin and a bone graft) a broken finger and a concussion changing a tractor tyre, the closest to dieing was sbout 7am one morning when I took the quad out to check a fresh calved cow.
    No sign of the calf, so drove along a water filled drain to make sure he wasn't in it.
    Went right into the corner and no sign, so went to reverse back a bit.

Somehow the back tyre skidded on a large stone, and in an instant was in the drain.
    Luckily I was thrown off, ended up standing in 3 feet of water with my back to the bank of the drain. Quad totally upside down pinning me to the bank.
    Four tyres barely breaking the surface.
    If I hadnt been thrown off, I was drowned for sure.
    Was shaking for hours.
    Still think of it.
    Our wee lassie was a year old, asleep in her cot, and her mum gone to work.
    Wouldnt have been missed till that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I had a relative, with an artificial leg, get pinned in under a quad. He was something like 6 hours in under it. A few years ago now. Those quads are lethal.

Only last month, an older relative in his 80's was turning silage with a haybob. I called down to him as I wanted to borrow it and keep an eye on him aswell. We were taking the haybob off afterwards and I was at the back of the tractor taking it off. I handed him the pins in the back window and I could see him kinda grimmace as he turned around. I just stepped back and his leg slipped off the clutch. He drove the tractor back about 10 feet pushing the haybob. I got some fright. He did too, as he just drove away and never looked at me.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Apart from kicks to the knees, broken scapoid bone in the wrist ( needed pin and a bone graft) a broken finger and a concussion changing a tractor tyre, the closest to dieing was sbout 7am one morning when I took the quad out to check a fresh calved cow.
    No sign of the calf, so drove along a water filled drain to make sure he wasn't in it.
    Went right into the corner and no sign, so went to reverse back a bit.

Somehow the back tyre skidded on a large stone, and in an instant was in the drain.
    Luckily I was thrown off, ended up standing in 3 feet of water with my back to the bank of the drain. Quad totally upside down pinning me to the bank.
    Four tyres barely breaking the surface.
    If I hadnt been thrown off, I was drowned for sure.
    Was shaking for hours.
    Still think of it.
    Our wee lassie was a year old, asleep in her cot, and her mum gone to work.
    Wouldnt have been missed till that night.

That really sounds like a close one. The quads are serious especially when yer mind is on something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

He had no high vis on him or he had no expierence where to stand when something is backing, I filled in for one of the drivers on the lorry one day backing up a lane way to a green house there was a lad guiding me in as he thought one minute he was on my back left wheel then he was on my right I got out to him told him to stand on the footpath where I could see him that I had two mirrors I could see where I was going the reason I was going slow was because I was afraid I would back over you.

I laughed at this one! Reminds me of drawing home the turf for parents. One of them either side 'directing' me back to tip!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭148multi

That really sounds like a close one. The quads are serious especially when yer mind is on something else

Neighbour got me to graze off land few years ago, sucklers were in it for 4 weeks, alot of holes in internal fences, go taking them out and one lm keep breaking through a fence on the dogs, so I leave the dogs driving behind and cut along beside miss limo with quad, bi**ch goes down on two front knees turns around with head and flips quad 360, luckily she gave it such a whack it went completely over me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

i know its very easy said but slow down folks, almost every near miss this year has been due to rushing or getting into a temper because another is pushing you,its only a matter of time before someone gets hurt here and it will be machinery most likely forklift based, of the 6 regulars here 4 will always watch your back even in temper but one retarded c*nt will do serious damage here someday,already clipped a guys heal with forklift , ran over my toes with pallet truck while wearing wellingtons and very nearly pinned me between two pallets while my back was turned as i was wrapping the other one,animals dont know any better but humans should, be safe out there guys and girls

Is it farming or wrestling some of ye do for a living.

Muckit wrote: »
    I laughed at this one! Reminds me of drawing home the turf for parents. One of them either side 'directing' me back to tip!!

Lock hard. Lock hard. :D

Lock yhard. Lock hard. :D

Or the most baffling instruction while reversing "keep to your own side" :confused:
    The flipping steering wheel is in the centre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Or the most baffling instruction while reversing "keep to your own side" :confused:

Ah no tis the swinging hands and fingers that mean something different to every fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I use hand motions when backing ppl indicating which way they should be aiming for. no shouting cause the windows aren't always wound down.
    My ould lad uses hand motions too...indicating what way they steering wheel should be turned :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

ganmo wrote:
    My ould lad uses hand motions too...indicating what way they steering wheel should be turned

That's my favourite one too. I especially love when they change direction for no apparent reason when you're still going straight :-)

At work one day and moving a heavy piece of machinery with a crane. I shouted 'wooo' to stop and a younger guy there started laughing. He said his father, a farmer always said that too. I thought everyone did. Must go back to ploughing with horses - 'wooo betsy'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

I thought it was just me that had this issue. My father does this flappy thing with his hands that I have no idea what he means! Had a huge row last week as he was telling me to turn right and I was turning the steering wheel but he meant the wheels to turn right...v confusing and he was doing the moving around thing as well. Tempers got frayed and slurry tanker got parked but 3feet over from where it was supposed to be parked apparently!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Come on back......full lock now.........NO! the other fu**n lock!

Also, people seem to have a habbit of standing precisely in a spot where neither mirror will pick them up, then they get pissed off when you have to stop and check where they are in case you run over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 BFMadden

L1985 wrote: »
    I thought it was just me that had this issue. My father does this flappy thing with his hands that I have no idea what he means! Had a huge row last week as he was telling me to turn right and I was turning the steering wheel but he meant the wheels to turn right...v confusing and he was doing the moving around thing as well. Tempers got frayed and slurry tanker got parked but 3feet over from where it was supposed to be parked apparently!!!

Same here, cracked auld lad that does that. What's even more laughable is that I'm looking at him from the mirror which naturally reverses whatever spinning his hands are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭joe35

The father here flicks his hand up and down for you to tip the loader up or down. Its as funny him flicking his thinking i should know which way he means when both signals are exactly the same. I always go the oppisite way to what i think he wants

Do it right;

excavator1.jpg

excavator2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blackbox

I worked for a large manufacturing multinational for many years where safety was considered to be a high priority.

The fact that you had multiple serious incidents would have indicated that your setup was far from very good and safe (no offence intended).

Every setup would have been reviewed before being put to use to anticipate any possible issues and eliminate them. If issues arose afterwards (and an issue that caused someone to miss a day from work was considered very serious) the setup and method of use would be reviewed again to see how and why it happened. Either the equipment or work method would be changed to prevent a recurrence. Not quite air crash investigation, but you get the picture.

This might sound very time-consuming and inefficient and costly. It definitely took some time, but in the medium to long term it boosted efficiency and saved money.

In addition to this it boosted morale and improved industrial relations.

The motto was that everyone was entitled to go home safe to their families after a day's work.

Unfortunately it is very difficult to see where the leadership will come from to make a similar transformation in farming, where there are so many individually run farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blackbox

I'm delighted to see this important topic in the main farming forum rather than sidelined into "safety and off-season".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,990 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

blackbox wrote: »
    I worked for a large manufacturing multinational for many years where safety was considered to be a high priority.

The fact that you had multiple serious incidents would have indicated that your setup was far from very good and safe (no offence intended).

Every setup would have been reviewed before being put to use to anticipate any possible issues and eliminate them. If issues arose afterwards (and an issue that caused someone to miss a day from work was considered very serious) the setup and method of use would be reviewed again to see how and why it happened. Either the equipment or work method would be changed to prevent a recurrence. Not quite air crash investigation, but you get the picture.

This might sound very time-consuming and inefficient and costly. It definitely took some time, but in the medium to long term it boosted efficiency and saved money.

The motto was that everyone was entitled to go home safe to their families after a day's work.

Unfortunately it is very difficult to see where the leadership will come from to make a similar transformation in farming, where there are so many individually run farms.

Things can be improved, safety wise, but you are talking chalk and cheese.

Its the lityle things that make s big difference.
    The broken PTO cover you've been meaning to fix.
    Changing an agitation gang slat for a safer version.
    A better crush headgate or walkway etc.

Its a pity the grant scheme a few years ago only kicked in if you spent several thousand euro, because a thousand spent on 3 or 4 tbings could make a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

4 weeks ago ended up in accident and emergency from getting straight avalkasan in my eye luckily there was water close by otherwise I'd have been in serious trouble.. Still spent 3 hours with a drip in my eye and 2 weeks on drops. Guy there said the place was full of farmers losing eyes. Needless to say I went out and bought 10 packets of safety goggles and I have 2 everywhere there is lime or chemicals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

blackdog1 wrote: »
    4 weeks ago ended up in accident and emergency from getting straight avalkasan in my eye luckily there was water close by otherwise I'd have been in serious trouble.. Still spent 3 hours with a drip in my eye and 2 weeks on drops. Guy there said the place was full of farmers losing eyes. Needless to say I went out and bought 10 packets of safety goggles and I have 2 everywhere there is lime or chemicals.

I got 12 hours of that horrible drip in the eye after getting skim in it. It's a rotten feeling especially when they let the fluid run out of half an hour before changing the next pouch!

blackbox wrote: »

I can see how this works well and it is the way it should be. Everyone is entitled to go home safely
    BUT, how do you tell that to a cow who’s chin you can scratch out in the field all year turns in to a ferocious near tone weight of a beast that wants to kill you when she calves? You can say she should be removed from the herd but I have seen third calvers that had no aggressive history turning into maniacs.
    My cattle handling setup was imported from new zealand and is state of the art with immobilizer crush, curved panels etc. I have 5 calving pens each with its own calving gate. Cattle sheds are setup so that cattle can be easily herded without walking through them.
    Even with all this,especially with large numbers of cows, there is that chance danger factor that can’t be accounted for. Animals have their own mind and attitude that can change in the blink of an eye. Systems or analytics won’t change that.
    But one thing that will make it safer for me is Bye Bye sucklers!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I would like to think I have a very good, safe setup for handling and calving livestock.

In spite of this i’ve Been knocked unconscious a few times, got a broken heal bone, broken wrist and had the spring clip on the chain to secure a calving gate go straight through my finger.

Those two statements contradict each other.

Farming is safer than it's ever been.

There seems to be an almost sneering attitude to health and safety amongst some farmers. As if taking safety precautions is some sort of cowardly act, not for real men.

riemann wrote: »

Farming is safer than it's ever been.

There seems to be an almost sneering attitude to health and safety amongst some farmers. As if taking safety precautions is some sort of cowardly act, not for real men.

Personally I dont think they contradict each other. Read my last post. My set up is clearly described. State of the art . I’m not sure if your used to farming on a large scale or what type of farming your at but dry stock can’t carry the cost of Labour and if you get into it in a big way accidents are inevitable.
    I’m not being macho. It is just the realty of it as I see it

And I certainly don’t sneer at health and safety. I have an up to date safety statement. Pto shafts covered etc. I have been inspected by teagasc to have students and passed with flying colors. Farming is just a dangerous occupation especially with cattle although it was a ram that broke my wrist

Farming is safer than it's ever been.”

And if you want to talk about contradiction your statement is a good one. 24 deaths in 2017. Real safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

It's reading things like this makes me so glad that I didn't get involved in taking on the family farm. A mugs game as far as I'm concerned. It's leased now which, for me at least, is a lot safer and less hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Personally I dont think they contradict each other. Read my last post. My set up is clearly described. State of the art . I’m not sure if your used to farming on a large scale or what type of farming your at but dry stock can’t carry the cost of Labour and if you get into it in a big way accidents are inevitable.
    I’m not being macho. It is just the realty of it as I see it

Mate you just stated that you've been knocked unconscious a few times. Once would be worrying but a few times?

That is just unfathomable. If you have all the necessary equipment like you say, then by process of elimination it's easy to figure out where the problem lies.

Good luck out there.

Mate you just stated that you've been knocked unconscious a few times. Once would be worrying but a few times?

That is just unfathomable. If you have all the necessary equipment like you say, then by process of elimination it's easy to figure out where the problem lies.

Good luck out there.

Thanks for that. I ain’t yer mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Durrus Boy

Good luck out there.

Unfortunately animals (especially cattle!) neither read or abide by the farm safety statement!!!

An uncle of mine had cattle sheep he was the coolest man I ever saw around animals he had a great dog that sorted lambs with him for market never saw him using a stick forcely a little tip . He had big cattle never saw him getting hurt with any of the animals .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

An uncle of mine had cattle sheep he was the coolest man I ever saw around animals he had a great dog that sorted lambs with him for market never saw him using a stick forcely a little tip . He had big cattle never saw him getting hurt with any of the animals .

Ya. This is a video of cattle mans setup. He makes great use of the whip.
    https://youtu.be/m92xY2wIKJk
    No wonder he gets hurt all the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

You control as much as you can, where the cattle walk and are handled, etc escape routes, guards on machinery, etc but when dealing with animals and weather conditions can change fast so accidents can and do happen. Having the phone with you or a lone work alarm for older relatives or neighbours would help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Neighbour who is a woman nearly 50 and her dad were gathering sticks with their 35 and transport box yesterday. He has a load of stents in and wouldnt be very agile, the tractor started to run away from them and he went to run after it :eek: She pulled him back reckoned he would have been run over otherwise, it's the split minute decisions that lead to injuries and death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Why was the tractor not secured with a parking brake?
    Was the machine properly maintained?
    Was the parking brake working?
    Were there even any brakes at all?
    If not, then why was the tractor even in use?
    And if the aul lad was no longer competent to operate the machine safely then why was he even anywhere near it?

The agri industry has an attitude towards safety that is outrageously cavalier and more or less unheard of in any other industry. And for the most part, it's those with the power to implement safe working practices and their families that suffer. No excuses.
    Despite death after needless death, the message never seems to get through.

This used to be the case in construction and things only improved when three HSA started to come down heavy on those who disregarded basic safety, either through hefty fines or by shutting sites down with prohibition notice until the contractor pulled up their socks.

The carrot approach in use with farming currently isn't working and it's only a matter of time before the stick method is brought to bear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Why was the tractor not secured with a parking brake?
    Was the machine properly maintained?
    Was the parking brake working?
    Were there even any brakes at all?
    If not, then why was the tractor even in use?
    And if the aul lad was no longer competent to operate the machine safely then why was he even anywhere near it?

The agri industry has an attitude towards safety that is outrageously cavalier and more or less unheard of in any other industry. And for the most part, it's those with the power to implement safe working practices and their families that suffer. No excuses.
    Despite death after needless death, the message never seems to get through.

This used to be the case in construction and things only improved when three HSA started to come down heavy on those who disregarded basic safety, either through hefty fines or by shutting sites down with prohibition notice until the contractor pulled up their socks.

The carrot approach in use with farming currently isn't working and it's only a matter of time before the stick method is brought to bear.
    They are not farmers, I was giving an example , he has been lorry driving and tractor driving all his life