Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Licence Plate - Reserving for later import.

• 09-10-2018 8:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭

If you reserved a number say ; 191-D-123 and imported a car in Q1 2020, could you use that number for it ?

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

No. Must be same year (and after it has come up in the normal sequence).

https://www.revenue.ie/en/importing-vehicles-duty-free-allowances/documents/vrt/vrt-15a.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Think OP is buying a car from England that was first registered in 191 period in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    Think OP is buying a car from England that was first registered in 191 period in England.

Ah. I skimmed past the import bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Don’t think you can either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's a grand to reserve a number, would want to be something really really special to even think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Doesn't reserving a number cost something like €500?

Don't imports get an extra '1' put in front of the number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Victor wrote: »

Use to be 120### not anymore only years is it was in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭steinbock123

I believe it’s now €1000 to reserve a number for a new car.
    I was talking to a buddy of mine recently who works for Revenue who told me that he heard on the grapevine that the plan was that they’re going to put it up again and charge substantially more!

Victor wrote: »

Used to be €325 or something, think it changed to €1k around 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I believe it’s now €1000 to reserve a number for a new car.
    I was talking to a buddy of mine recently who works for Revenue who told me that he heard on the grapevine that the plan was that they’re going to put it up again and charge substantially more!

The UK government, and many others, make a fortune selling number plates and our government does its best to not sell number plates and misses a good revenue stream. Not my idea of a car mod but people are willing to spend big money on a personalised number plate so they should be allowed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I couldn't imagine paying a grand just to have a plate on a vehicle that I couldn't use on anything else.
    Its attached to the car permanently so once you sell it that's it.
    A farce of a system.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I couldn't imagine paying a grand just to have a plate on a vehicle that I couldn't use on anything else.
    Its attached to the car permanently so once you sell it that's it.
    A farce of a system.

Tell me about it I am dieing to have punisher on my plate....

I tried reserving a number for an import about 10 years ago and couldn’t. Know a guy who was able to back around 2006 or so. Maybe it’s changed again. With newer cars (2013 on?) they’re starting from 1 anyway so all the small numbers would be gone, you used to have to wait for the number to come around on new cars so I don’t think you’d be able to just pick a number on a newer car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Technique

If they charged something like €200 to reserve a number, I think a lot of people would go for it and the overall revenue from it would be greater. It's a very small number of people who would be willing to pay €1,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

When it was a reasonable price to reserve a number I did it years ago to reserve the model number (so the reg matched the model number). I looked at it again recently (again to reserve the model number) but at €1,000 they can feck off! If it was €200 or so I'd be reserving a number again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If they had any common sense and just charged a reasonable amount to reserve a number or personalised plate it would be a nice little revenue earner for them. But as usual it's all about just trying to extract as much blood from the stone that is the motorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Technique

Also should be able to change the county on the registration for a fee. But I'm sure SIMI wouldn't agree so it'll never happen.

Technique wrote: »
    Also should be able to change the county on the registration for a fee. But I'm sure SIMI wouldn't agree so it'll never happen.

All ya would see is DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

All ya would see is DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

true plus it would be another statistic on any cartel report, car was changed from CW to D in 2018... not buying that, suddenly CW becomes even harder to sell.

Not picking on Carlow lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Technique wrote: »

You can't just change the county as then you could have over 20 vehicles with the reg 152D123 and that would be illegal. They would have to issue the next number in line for the county you want to change to.

Del2005 wrote: »
    You can't just change the county as then you could have over 20 vehicles with the reg 152D123 and that would be illegal. They would have to issue the next number in line for the county you want to change to.

I think what’s being suggested is to allocate a whole new number when changing county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I paid €325 to get the reg i wanted on an import before.

Now it’s gone up to €1000 I wouldnt even consider it unless you could get a properly customized reg like in other countries.

€1000 to simply choose a particular number IF it that number is even available is just laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

ION08 wrote: »
    I paid €325 to get the reg i wanted on an import before.

Now it’s gone up to €1000 I wouldnt even consider it unless you could get a properly customized reg like in other countries.

€1000 to simply choose a particular number IF it that number is even available is just laughable.

I don’t think you can reserve/pick a number for an import anymore like you could in the past.

Remember seeing a Audi a3 with ##D43 but the 4 was tweaked a little to look very close to A.

Have to say it looked well.

The Lexus L450 looks well with an L reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I used to have a saab 93 with reg xx-D-93 I bought it second hand and always wondered how much it cost to reserve the number. I had a complete stranger offer to buy the car off me because he liked the plate outside the Rotunda while my wife was having our first. Coincidentally it was stolen 2 days later but recovered shortly after.

I've always thought lads with personal plates were tossers to be honest UK plates incuded even more so the ones over here that try and alter the numbers to make them look like a letter.

As for personal plates over here they wouldn't work with our system unless they decided to go free range and let you use words like the murica. You see the odd one thar works on a BMW but even the porshe ones I've seen seem to always be a series of numver with a space 98 911 etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Use to be 120### not anymore only years is it was in place

On a sidenote - I brought in two cars recently and both got 129xxx regs?

On the subject of the Right Reg on the Right Car ... it’s pretty hard to beat this!..

:cool:

53339401-E08-D-4256-B26-D-1-C64076-D6970.jpg

newmember? wrote: »
    On a sidenote - I brought in two cars recently and both got 129xxx regs?

They still do the “import reg” up to 2011 I believe.

I like them though... it’s easier to spot the higher specced, better maintained cars on our roads! :D

Remember seeing a Audi a3 with ##D43 but the 4 was tweaked a little to look very close to A.

Have to say it looked well.

The Lexus L450 looks well with an L reg.

Would be better with an LS reg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

While we're on this subject.
    Do you think that fully personalized plates with just the standard initial part would work in Ireland.
    And how much would people be willing to pay?

I'm saying about reg's in style 151-D-ANYWORD

So I could get for next year 191-MO-CINIO

What do you think?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would be better with an LS reg?

I'm half asleep.... Meant to add the s thanks for fixing that :-)

CiniO wrote: »
    While we're on this subject.
    Do you think that fully personalized plates with just the standard initial part would work in Ireland.
    And how much would people be willing to pay?

I'm saying about reg's in style 151-D-ANYWORD

So I could get for next year 191-MO-CINIO

What do you think?

Punisher would look real cool....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Punisher would look real cool....on my Fiat 126

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What I do is I get in the car and enjoy driving it.

Buying number plates of a certain number is the equivalent of teenage Instagram.

But sure look if it pays for a few hospitals knock yourselfs out.

listermint wrote: »
    What I do is I get in the car and enjoy driving it.

Buying number plates of a certain number is the equivalent of teenage Instagram.

But sure look if it pays for a few hospitals knock yourselfs out.

Nah, it’s a small detail that certain people enjoy and depending on car can really be a nice subtle touch.

Sure its only aesthetic, but then same thing can be said for having a preference of wheel design, Colour or “paying extra” to get metallic paint.

Makes no perceptible difference to enjoying the car but adds to your own sense of satisfaction.